Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bi-Annual Final Marathon Then Retire Log

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭and still ricky villa

Wednesday

Morning - Swim - 1000m
    This was a Dory swim. I hopped in and swam until I ran out of time and had to go to work. I haven't done that in too long

Afternoon - Nothing
    Work has not improved. Watching IT experts lock themselves out of meetings and applications never gets old but I need this bloody thing fixed as work is backing up

Thursday

Afternoon - Run - 5 Miles MP
    I was trying to offset the loss of yesterday's speed work by upping the pace of today's easy session. 5 miles at 4:14-4:16 per km wasn't too bad.
    Work is still hell

Friday

Morning - Swim - 2400m
    Since I've plonked a goal into the Swim Smooth account I now have sessions to complete so the distance has ramped up a bit. Stops me being lazy and doing my gradual increase

Afternoon - Bike - 22Mins
    Another missed run for this week. Work has been a big pile of doo doo this week. Nothing is working and I'm leading endless calls to try and fix things. I knew the run wasn't going to happen so jumped on the bike during one of the calls I wasn't running

Sunday

Afternoon - Run - 1E + 8M + 1E + 6M + 1E
    This started well, got very bad and then finished well
    Overall my average pace for the 17 miles was 4:35. I'm pleased with that. Not because of the pace itself but because I gave myself a kick in the ar$e and finished it
    The marathon pace was very hard to maintain. I do have a slight cold (surprise! surprise!) and breathing was heavy and the effort level felt cat. I was only about 5km into the whole thing when I stopped and worked out how much I would complete before quitting. I started to head back to the house but the realisation hit me "In two weeks you are going to run possibly your last 'hard' marathon. If you make a balls of it after training sufficiently, so be it. If you make a balls of it because you have a little sniffle then you'll regret it"
    I ran past the house and continued on for another 10 miles. The M pace parts were in flashes, physically I couldn't maintain it but mentally I was not stopping either.
    If nothing else this was a victory for my stubborn side. A side I should listen to more often

Week|Run (Km)|Time|Swim (Km)|Time|Bike (Km)|Time|Gym (hrs)
    1|37.83|3:07|1.20|0:38|0.00|0:00|0:44
    2|45.07|3:40|1.60|1:10|0:00|0:00|0:20
    3|52.32|4:14|4.40|2:22|21.33|0:40|0:50
    4|59.56|4:50|0:00|0:00|0:00|0:00|0:00
    5|66.77|5:26|1.50|0:49|9.20|0:20|0:41
    6|76.44|6:10|3.20|1:30|20.00|0:45|0:00
    Total|337.99|27:27|11.9|6:29|50.53|1:45|2:35

7|52.77|4:10|3.95|1:55|17.89|0:40|1:01
    8|59.99|4:50|4.00|1:56|17.91|0:40|1:05
    9|62.30|4:54|4.20|2:02|18.11|0:40|0:51
    10|26.90|2:09|0.80|0:21|10.90|0:27|0:41
    11|71.00|5:41|3.60|1:51|9.10|0:20|0:31
    12|71.79|5:47|2.80|1:21|18.27|0:40|0:20
    Total|344.75|27:31|19.35|9:26|92.18|2:47|4:29

13|71.61|5:39|4.60|2:23|9.28|0:20|0:44
    14|67.13|5:25|3.80|2:11|0.00|0:00|0:49
    15|80.28|6:25|4.00|1:58|9.03|0:21|0:47
    16|81.67|6:22|5.00|2:24|8.71|0:20|0:21
    17|80.55|6:24|5.20|2:33|9.82|0:20|0:40
    18|72.63|5:44|4.80|2:33|20.31|0:44|0:40
    Total|453.87|35:59|27.40|14:02|57.15|2:05|4:01

19|88.69|6:52|5.40|2:30|20.38|0:44|0:40
    20|81.31|6:32|5.50|2:38|21.21|0:47|0:40
    21|47.59|3:42|5.50|2:31|19.84|0:44|0:20
    22|21.27|1:45|0.00|0:00|0.00|0:00|0:00
    23|59.66|4:41|1.20|0:35|30.59|1:06|0:40
    24|79.12|6:16|5.60|2:35|20.07|0:44|0:20
    Total|377.64|29:48|23.20|10:49|112.09|4:05|2:40

25|77.82|6:16|2.20|0:58|0.00|0:00|0:00
    26|62.82|5:03|2.50|1:19|10.14|0:22|0:43
    27|64.82|5:12|2.40|1:13|20.29|0:44|0:40
    28|49.89|3:50|5.70|2:30|20.12|0:44|0:00
    Total|250.35|20:21|12.80|6:00|50.55|1:50|1:23

Considering the amount of training I've logged, 7 months to now, I have been incredibly lucky with how I've held up. I lost some time due to illness and last week was severely curtailed by work but things have been consistent.
    When this is over I might compare the plan to the actual.

I had thought of summing up what could go wrong but thought that was just going to turn into a list of pre-excuses for if things don't go to plan.
    Talking to a guy in the pool this morning, I had to admit - I'm well trained and am currently healthy. Weather in Valencia today is a cloudy 15 degrees.
    Everything at the moment is in my favour

Monday

Morning - Swim - 2200m
    Another lump of the plan done. I've set it in such a way that I won't be chasing workouts. I did that last time and found myself jumping into the pool for a manic ten minutes to try and hit my goals for the week. Pointless

Afternoon - Run - 4 Miles Easy
    Went out in my new runners. To call them yellow is like calling the sun orange. These things are bright. What do I land in 10 minutes into the run? One of those puddles that seems to be made entirely of ink. At least they look broken in now and still bright enough for Audi's to aim for

Tuesday

Morning - Bike - 24Mins
    The Trainer Road Sweet Spot Base Plan has come full circle so I've tacked a couple of minutes on. I felt it when I'd finished. This will have to be dropped next week though. Proper taper

Afternoon - 6 Miles Easy
    Trying to make things interesting as I'm fed up with running at the moment. I ran down one side of the road and up the other side. Rock and roll. The fed upness is a sure sign that I'm feeling tense and ready. A good sign for me

Wednesday

Morning - Swim - 700m
    Could not get the child to shift her ar$e this morning so my quick dip was very quick.

Didn't run later in the day as I was feeling a bit sore. Unfortunately this turned into a bit of a theme for the week

Thursday

Morning - Bike - 24Mins
    Grand stuff. Nothing too tricky

Afternoon - Run - 1E, 1T, 2M, 1E, 1T, 2M, 1E
    This was magnificent. Hit all the paces with ease and felt superhuman. A good sign this close to race day

Evening - Gym - 20Mins
    Nothing too heavy today as I taper off. There's no strength going to be gained in the next week so no sense in pushing this

Friday

Morning - Swim - 1400m
    Cut this short. I was probably feeling the effects of yesterday and was a bit tired and unenthusiastic.
    I dropped the afternoon run too as the legs were pretty heavy

Weekend

Nothing!!

It was my daughter's birthday over the weekend so Saturday was spent getting stuff ready and making hang sangwiches.
    I thought I would get the weekend run done on the Sunday morning. My wife convinced me that after that party would be best. Not a hope. The kids that were terrified of me last year couldn't stop asking me for stuff. I watched in horror as more and more of them arrived. I estimate there was between 30 and 800 of them there.
    I was asleep on the couch by 8 - Run gone by the wayside

29|30.58|2:19|4.30|1:58|21.85|0:48|0:40
    Total|280.93|22:40|17.10|7:58|72.40|2:38|2:03

Not a good week last week. I should have ran on Saturday, I should know better. I hope it doesn't impact on race day but no excuses, I have given it my best shot and barring something disastrous in the next week I've gotten what I wanted. Well trained and healthy at the start line

Quick update from Dublin airport

Monday
    Morning - Swim - 1600m
    This was a CSS test. Not surprisingly, I'm no quicker. I'm hoping to book in with the coach in the New Year though

Afternoon - Run - 10 Miles Easy
    This was a breeze. Felt loose and ready to shift up a couple of gears the whole time

Tuesday

Afternoon - Run - 8 Miles Easy
    Another strain at the leash type run

Wednesday

Nothing
    The plan was 7 miles with a few at tempo in the middle but there was a storm blowing outside so sod that

Thursday
    Afternoon - Run - 6 Miles Easy
    Work was trying to kick off but I'm in the zone now so they can feck off

Friday

Evening - Run - 5 Miles Easy
    Long day. Left the house at 3:45, the poxy plane was late landing and then the bags took another half hour to come out. The result was I missed my train to Valencia and had to buy another ticket. I sat in Starbucks and watched Minecraft to kill the time.
    It's nonsense but entertaining
    On the train and watched Central Intelligence. The Rock is long overdue an Oscar.
    Into the hotel and changed for a quick 5 miles.
    The dry run for the half is paying off. My wandering around has been minimized by knowing where everything is in advance. I did more or less a full loop of the park next to the hotel and going to sleep shortly.
    All going to plan so far

Saturday

Evening - Run - 2 Miles Easy
    It was a long day.
    I slept really well and had a leisurely breakfast before heading for the expo. I used my tourist card to take public transport as far as possible and strolled over. So did everyone else. The queues were mental. I queued up for the number and then again for the bag. Even with the quickest of looks at the stands I was back in the hotel 4 hours later. My sightseeing plans went out the window. Quick spot of lunch and then a handy 2 miles in the park.
    Back for a shower and a call home and it was time for more food. A settled on a sambo as I was still pretty full from late lunch. A couple of old Big Bang's on the telly when it was still funny and off to sleep

Sunday

So here I'm sat having my after brekkie coffee.
    Quickly summing up, I've no excuses for today.
    My foot is sore but it always is but I'm feeling really good apart from the usual butterflies.
    The plan is to hitch onto the 3 hour train and if I have anything to give at mile 20, I'll head off and see if I can take a couple of seconds off.
    2:59:59 - I'll be delirious
    Less than 3:05:00 - I'll be happy
    Less than 3:09:00 - New PB. Not sure how I'll feel though
    Greater than 3:10:00 - meh

I'll post a number here either way

3:07:43
    A 2 minute PB and I'm thrilled. Was perfect for sub 3 till about 27km then the wheels came off a bit. Pulled myself together and brought it home.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great stuff - congrats!

29|30.58|2:19|4.30|1:58|21.85|0:48|0:40
    30|92.42|7:09|1.60|0:49|00.00|0:00|0:00
    Total|378.35|29:49|18.70|8:47|72.40|2:38|2:03

Total|1892.60|150:34|100.55|49:33|384.35|13:20|15:48

So, there it is. Training done, pretty much for this year. I'll try to some up how my race went though, no doubt, some more stuff will come to me at a later date but anyone who has read this has suffered enough

I had broken the race plan down into 3km followed by a bunch of 5kms. This worked for me mentally as I never looked down at the Garmin and saw big lumps of distance, I just ticked off 5ks.

Race morning went to plan. Up at 6, down for a decent breakfast and out to the bus at 7am. I had booked the hotel through the Valencia tourism site so there was a few nice touches. A welcome pack when I got to the hotel, late checkout till 3 and a bus to and from the start. I'd definitely do this again, takes some of the worry out of the process.

I arrived at the start and got myself lubed up and ready to rock. Dropped my bag and headed for the start. Directions to my pen were well posted and I was there with about 20 minutes to spare.

I had planned to follow the 3 hour pacers but to my horror they went into the sub 3 pen (at least that's how it appeared to me) and stayed there. No panic. I have a plan B. The gun goes off and we're off.

0km - 3km - I quickly spotted 3 lads running together and checking watches. My plan to follow the pacers quickly went out the window. Chip time is chip time and they were a good bit up the road already so I was not chasing them down. My 3 new friends were talking about 4:15 pace which I understood in my pigeon Spanish so I sat directly behind them
    Split - 4:16

3km - 8km - Gel at 5km as planned and practised in training and feeling good. The 3 boys were keeping decent pace and I only found myself checking my watch at about 1km intervals. I have an awful habit of checking it too often. To the point that any pictures of me in a race I have a permanently floppy left wrist, I can't help it now.
    Split - 4:17

8km - 13km - It was at the 10km water station that I noticed my involuntary pacers were putting in surges away from the water stop. Not sure how I feel about that. I'm aiming for consistency lads, this is not what I'm paying you for. This 5km was quicker than I would have liked. Gel at the Garmin 10km, the real 10km about 100m way
    Split - 4:13

13km - 18km - Ok lads, this is silly. Another surge after the 15km water stop which I had covered but I was starting to feel uncomfortable with it. Gel at 15km but still feeling in control
    Split - 4:14

18km - 23km - I passed through halfway in an involuntary race PB (been quicker in training once) of 1:29:14 but I was starting to feel the surges were wearing on me. Another gel at 20km with the 20km marker a couple of hundred meters away (you get the picture by now)
    Split - 4:13

23km - 28km - And now the fun really started. One of my personal pacers stopped at the 25km water station to tie his lace. The other two slowed (which is understandable) but when they were back together they shot off. Nuts to this, I'm beginning to feel the crunch and starting to wonder what will happen if I continue to follow these loonies. I've decided to let things settle for a bit
    Split - 4:23

28km - 33km - Yep, I'm in trouble here. I continue to stick to my plan but as I've let my pacers go I am having trouble convincing my body to work on it's own. I've debated, post race, if I should have dug deep and stuck with the lads but I thought it better to look for a PB and accept that today is not my day for sub 3. If I go with the lads I may be reduced to a shuffle or walk. I'm not walking today
    Split - 4:31

33km - 38km - Ok, I don't like running anymore. Give me back my bike. Even swimming you can catch a nice current and float a bit but this running lark is all work. Nothing out of the ordinary going on in my head so. But I'm not giving up. I've slowed to a crawl but I'm still in with a shot of sub 3:10. I only need a few seconds for a PB
    Split - 4:54 (Jaysus)

38km - 42km - With the finish in sight and the nice city centre crowds I perked up a bit. So close now, the pain can't be much worse so you may as well try and pick up the pace a bit. The turn down to the finish was one of the most horrific experiences of my life. 800m to go and you are sent down a hill. On cobbles. Who the feck designs these things? Next up though is the bouncing blue platform to the finish. In fairness, this is glorious. The crowds are great and I soaked it up as best as I could and crossed the finish line in 3:07:41 (Official!)

It's a new PB and I'm delighted. Could I have stuck with my pacers (I must look them up)? Probably but I'm not sure I would have made the finish. It could have been a rough patch but you never know. I think I made the right choice.
    Could I have trained any better? You always can train better. I'm not trying to make any excuses. I would have liked to get a couple more long runs in. I probably should have got more time at marathon pace.
    But with all that said, I achieved most of what I'd set out to
    1 - My training was solid. Only a handful of missed runs for genuine reasons
    2 - I stayed healthy. One cold that took about 10 days out was a success
    3 - Race day conditions were perfect. I may be back

What's next?
    I've signed up for the half in Challenge Madrid in September so will spend some time on the dark side.
    If there was another marathon in 4-6 weeks times I'd probably give it a shot but that could just be the endorphins talking. I think I have more to give in the pursuit of sub 3 but I'm not sure I want to give up so much to get there.
    It's 21 marathons in the bag and I wouldn't change a thing