Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your real life experience of vegans?

• 10-06-2018 10:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

This thread is inspired by the numerous pro/anti vegan posts in YLYL which get kinda boring. I know that if I go onto YouTube or any type of social media I will find a lot of far out there vegans. I have only known one vegan (that I'm aware of) and she wasn't someone who rammed her views down everyone else's throats.

At the time when I knew her, I was cooking a Christmas dinner and I wanted her to feel included without making a big deal out of it. I posted a thread on boards about gravy and I was advised that packet gravy doesn't actually contain meat so it's ok to serve (this was news to a lot of us).

So I served her a Christmas dinner of vegteables and gravy and she was fine with it.

Anyone else just served up a vegan dinner and there was no drama?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Only ever met one IRL (to my knowledge). He was IT support in the company I worked for. We exchanged a few recipes, but only worked together for a few months before he left the company for another job.

My husband recently asked if we could have a few vegan days a week. We're vegetarians, have been for a good few years now, but I usually cook the main meal of the day for us. So now I'd usually make vegan dishes 3 or 4 times a week.

Other than that, I know plenty of vegetarians, but no vegans. Not offline, anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

The vast majority of vegans are insufferable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,543 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Couldn't eat a whole one meself

even given that they're skinny bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭dmc17

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    This thread is inspired by the numerous pro/anti vegan posts in YLYL which get kinda boring. I know that if I go onto YouTube or any type of social media I will find a lot of far out there vegans. I have only known one vegan (that I'm aware of) and she wasn't someone who rammed her views down everyone else's throats.

At the time when I knew her, I was cooking a Christmas dinner and I wanted her to feel included without making a big deal out of it. I posted a thread on boards about gravy and I was advised that packet gravy doesn't actually contain meat so it's ok to serve (this was news to a lot of us).

So I served her a Christmas dinner of vegteables and gravy and she was fine with it.

I made a chickpea curry the other day and it was delicious. There was no drama whatsoever :eek:

It''s a nice break from the usual meat and potatoes, but I would't be eating it full time either :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I admire what they are doing. On the downside, a lot of them reek of raw garlic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

I know a few. None of them broadcast it too much. The most insufferable person I see on social media banging on about animal rights isn't even a vegetarian. I'm assuming she's just insane though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,847 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I've yet to meat one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,838 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Was asked to a dinner at theirs once in Copenhagen. They asked was I at least a vegetarian.
    I said i was a meatetarian, I didn't believe in the mindless killing of vegetables!
    They got a laugh out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Smug, patronising, obnoxious, preachy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

You'll always notice the mouthy vegans, just the same as you'll notice the crazy drivers, the stupid cyclists and the Barking dogs.

But most vegans don't preach to others. Same as most drivers drive normally, most cyclists respect rules and most dogs are not annoying barkers.

I'm married to a vegan and whilst she won't cook me a rare steak, she won't stop me eating one ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Honestly I only know a handful personally, they're all girls in their early twenties that I can think of off the top of my head and they're mostly not that vocal about it in any annoying way and are just quite nice well rounded people who care about their own health, animal welfare, and the planet's environment very strongly and sincerely

Anybody who's not a healthy, conservative, male, meat-eating, tax-paying, property-owning misogynist in his 30s or 40s should be shot for being a burden on society.

Yours,

After Hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I've two in the family, total cnuts that thoughts they were better than everyone else before they were vegan. Nothing has changed, the don't really preach about it, but they keep saying things like "would you not just try the vegetable burgers in iceland" despite being told I'm not interested several times. The granny gave in and used fake meat from iceland for the sunday dinner, it was the nastiest ****e I've ever put in my mouth. I like and eat a lot of vegetables but vegetables pretending to be meat is awful.

They both say they don't give a **** about animals they are vegan because it's much healthier so that annoys me even more because they are idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

If someone is vegan on grounds of principle, then I say fair play. If it's the annoying hipster vegans craving attention I find them a turn off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

My cousin is one and is a pain in the backside. Even as a child there was always a fuss about her eating habits whenever she came to visit or whenever we went out.

Nowadays she's still miserable, is pale as a ghost and is always either too cold or too hot or whining about something. She sits with a face on her picking at the meal specifically prepared for her and never finishes anything, she takes loads of tablets to make up for the nutrients she's missing out on. I don't see the appeal really of being vegan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭corks finest

Wouldn't eat one(vegan)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I don't think I've ever knowingly met one. The only thing I find strange are the pro vegan billboards popping up around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Inedible

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Know a few, it's was never any sort of issue at all.. I can't help bit wonder where the problem really lies when I see so many people on boards complain about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

I did know two. Unfortunately in addition to being vegan, they were Lidl/Aldi loving *****.

Every time food was mentioned, "there is a vegan version of that" or "you are an idiot for buying that in Dunnes/Tesco etc. The Lidl/Aldi version is half the price and nicer"

Dont talk to them anymore. Breath always smelt of **** as well. Not sure if that was the vegan diet or because they were so far up their own arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,543 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

CeilingFly wrote: »
    I'm married to a vegan and whilst she won't cook me a rare steak, she won't stop me eating one ��

But she wasn't always a vegan was she?

By all accounts, back in her college days, she couldn't get enough meat into her.

Allegedly

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Mrmoe wrote: »
    I don't think I've ever knowingly met one. The only thing I find strange are the pro vegan billboards popping up around the place.

Same here, I've never knowingly met one either. Apparently they are total head wreckers, so I won't be seeking them out. I know several vegetarians, some of them wear leather - I don't get that at all :)

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭HelenT

Time to give it up lads.

Vegans are everywhere.

They have infiltrated factories and farms.

What you think is dead animal matter is in fact pretend meat.

You are all living in a universe where ye think ye are eating dead flesh but its really lab created.

We are all vegans. Each and every one of us.

HelenT wrote: »
    Time to give it up lads.

Vegans are everywhere.

You are all living in a universe where ye think ye are eating dead flesh but its really lab created.

Well the itty bitty bunny wabit I made a casserole out of yesterday was not factory made.

Unless they make robot bunnies that can walk (or hop) and bleed when you shoot them.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭HelenT

Perception is reality my lovely. Imagination is a wonderful source.

Conspiracy theories here..

https://touch.boards.ie/forum/576

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Time to give it up lads.

Vegans are everywhere.

Soylent Green... Isn't people....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭AllForIt

wakka12 wrote: »
    Honestly I only know a handful personally, they're all girls in their early twenties .....

Interesting. When I was in my early twenties I though meat was 'fattening'.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 potatohouse

Anybody who's not a healthy, conservative, male, meat-eating, tax-paying, property-owning misogynist in his 30s or 40s should be shot for being a burden on society.

Yours,

After Hours.

every thread on after hours:

well lads what do ye think of the latest thing? they've some notions don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Most vegans I know have to remind you that they are vegan.....

Me: "Do you want something to drink......water or something?"
    Vegan: "Oh, I'm vegan. Do you have any water?"
    Me: ............

or

Vegan: "Myself and my husband became vegan in January"
    Me: ......"errr......your laptop battery is dead! Do you want me to order a new one or will you be using plant power to run it?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Know a few, it's was never any sort of issue at all.. I can't help bit wonder where the problem really lies when I see so many people on boards complain about them

Well said.. In the eye of the beholder. Labelling folk by what they eat is suspect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

My friend went vegan recently. His one thing is cheese, he misses that. vegan cheese isnt that great according to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭SuperS54

I have a vegan colleague who I had the misfortune of having to take a business trip with. He's a Buddhist who also doesn't eat onions, garlic and a few other smelly things. I didn't know this before the trip however my colleagues did and so made sure they were not sitting beside him for the plane trip.

I got 3 hours on the plane and 1 hour from airport to hotel on how difficult it is to eat in restaurants or other peoples houses as even if he orders a vegan meal he can tell if the pots, pans, plates, cutlery or chopsticks have come into contact with meat at any time in the past.

The first meal about all he could order was vegetable fried rice and this after a long consultation with the waitress and stressing that the wok had to be thoroughly washed and only vegetable oil used to cook his meal. We still got regaled as to how he could still get a taste of meat from the rice, ate half and had the waitress take the rest away with his complaints to the chef.

The second night we went to an Italian style restaurant and he ordered some sort of spaghetti dish accompanied by his long list of demands to the chef. Meal arrives and he dives it, surprises us by commenting on how the chef had followed all his instructions and his meal was great. All was good until one colleague who was sick of his c*&p pointed out the large chunks of onion in his spaghetti! Super sensitive could tell that meat had been cooked in a wok days ago but couldn't tell that he was eating big chunks of forbidden onions! Thankfully the whole thing had a dampening effect on him for the rest of the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,672 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

3 vegans that I know of. All girls that are early to mid 30s.

First was quiet about it. Brought her own food to a BBQ. Brought more for other people; said she wasn't trying to convert but was sick of having to describe what tofu sausage tasted like, so was like "here, have this". Was all about the animal welfare and environment rather than health. Fed her dog meat. Owned a car but only used it if absolutely necessary.

Second two, I never ate with them and wouldn't have known they were vegan if it weren't for seeing them comment on vegan recipe pages on Facebook.

All were sound and non preachy. But all looked emaciated. They weren't the image of health at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

I know a few, most are sound out.
    One bloke is a royal pain in the ass (though not as much as the Buddhist colleague above). He has a little print out he brings everywhere so he can see what ingredients were tested on animals. If a meal contains anything from a packet, he has to see the packet before he'll eat. If he can't see the packet, he'll just drink water.

I'm am omnivore, know some flexitarians as well, vegetation by choice, but if someone has prepared a meal like cottage pie, not knowing they are vegetarian, they will eat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

My friend went vegan recently. His one thing is cheese, he misses that. vegan cheese isnt that great according to him.

Had a vegan friend (fell off the wagon since) leave a packet of vegan cheese at the house ages ago....

I dropped it when cleaning out the fridge and it bounces....

Cheese, or food in general really, shouldn't bounce when dropped. It should just go splat.

Don't eat bouncy food folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I know a load of them (London is full of them) and never had any get preachy with me at all. In fact I would say vegans getting harangued by meat eaters about their diet is a far more common scenario than the one described in the OP.

Environmentally, the amount of meat we eat is unsustainable and harmful and we could do with eating less of it. Also there are seriously legitimate criticisms about factory farming. That having been said, there is nothing unhealthy per se about eating meat and a lot of vegans I know don't look the healthiest at all. A lot of vegan products are horrendously processed as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I've known a few and they've all been grand, it only came up when we were booking restaurants for work. There was one girl, a friend of my wife's who came to dinner and we went all out vegan for her meal, while having meat ourselves. I declined an invite to her's as it was vegan only, I would have happily made the effort had she not had leather bags and shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

About those leather comments - most times, it's a compromise.
    We're vegetarians, but we also have 4 rescue cats living with us (and yes, we feed them regular cat food!). A leather sofa is a must, they scratch any fabric sofa to bits.
    I try and avoid leather shoes if at all possible, but as I don't have off-the-shelf sized and formed feet, sometimes I have to take what's available and will fit.

I'm not going to make any excuses for the leather handbag, though, I haven't had any of those in years now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I know two vegans. One is a friend of one of my sons - he never mentions his veganism, and I wouldn't even know he was one only for the fact that he eats at our house sometimes. The other one I know is involved in a volunteer organisation I help out in, and she is the classic stereotype of a vegan; loud, preachy, obnoxious, and even has the blue hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Sirsok

I once had a vegan friend state that people cant be a feminist if you drink milk as you are taking advantage of another females reproductive rights.

Also all farmers who artificially inseminate cows are rapists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

headed by a fiery singing socialist feminist republican vegan

she sounds like she's great craic at family gatherings

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭zedhead

I have 2 friends that are vegan. Neither pushy or in your face. One is a very close friend and is very insistant on not being a burden when invited for dinner with a group of us. Will always offer to bring her own food etc so as to not put us out. Cooking vegan is not a big deal and I would do at least one vegan/vegetarian meal a week anyway so always tell her its fine.

The other is an old friend I rarely see, but again only knew she was vegan when we went on holiday together and were buying food.

I'm sure ive met plenty of vegans but don't know as it wouldnt generally come up in normal conversation. Have never met in person one of the militant vegans you read about online.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

One of my best mates is a vegan. Never really gets militant over it, she did get upset when I called the Happy Pear lads "busy w@nkers" though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,056 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Being asked the ingredients when I offered him a salt and vinegar Hula Hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I really don't get the current billboard campaign going on. Esp. the one with 'no such thing as humane eggs'
    If you have a few hens in the yard, I don't see how taking and eating their bum-nuts is cruel.
    Hens get fed and housed, owner gets eggs and maybe a sense of well-being. Everyone's a winner.

Can't they just lay off on the preachyness?

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

One of the girls at work is vegan. She makes it her mission to let everyone know as well.

Management posted a picture of a chocolate bunny for Easter on the intranet, she started commenting under it that she can't accept this because it's not vegan chocolate. It's a picture FFS.

Whatever topic you bring up, she somehow turns it into an announcement how we all should be vegan.

The most annoying thing about her though is that she ends every post on the intranet with "bahahahaha".

Her boyfriend is a big InfoWars fan and has "Bush did 9/11", "Stay woke" and "Stop chemtrails" on his car.

I don't like them much.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Worked in hotels and restaurants all my life, have vegans regularly preaching to me about menu options, we have a couple of vegan dishes and a couple more that can be made vegan on request. Have had more than one who has brought in their own frozen vegan meal and expected our chef to cook it, thankfully those people are told to clear to f***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Pretty similar. Had a vegan over for Christmas dinner. Filled a plate of veggies before adding butter. He brought his own dessert. No big deal.

Poor ****er struggles to get enough calories and nutrients. I tend to have the opposite problem....