Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U.S. Open 2018

Sky no sure what's happening but he putted a ball that was still moving seems to have just taken a penalty and be playing on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Phil takes a two shot penalty for a laugh. That’s out of character to say the least.

It was funny too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Panrich

Phil withdraws but plays on as a marker? Wtf

Just switched over to the coverage and Sky are talking in riddles about this Can someone explain what has gone on? Is there a brief synopsis because he's still out there and there is still a score up for him?

He putted a ball up to the hole. Ball won’t stop at the hole and looked like was going to roll down off the green. So he runs up to the rolling ball and flicks it towards the hole laughing.

Like I said a slight bit out of character. Funny though.

Never saw this before and certainly didn’t expect Phil to be the guy...

He played a ball up to the hole. Chip presumably wasn’t looking. Ball won’t stop at the hole and looked like was going to roll down off the green. So he runs up to the rolling ball and flicks it towards the hole laughing.

Thank you

Just found it on youtube He'll definitely be looking at some sort of sanction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

He putted a ball up to the hole. Ball won’t stop at the hole and looked like was going to roll down off the green. So he runs up to the rolling ball and flicks it towards the hole laughing.

Can only think it was his way of a protest againist usga as its out of character for him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

sky88 wrote: »
    Can only think it was his way of a protest againist usga as its out of character for him

Or a rush of blood to the head.

Well whatever it was i look forward to his explanation what a birthday for him

Rooting for Fowler now Hope he can keep things together and give it a run from here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Edna_Ennky

As Ewen Murray pointed out on Sky Sports the course is not unplayable. There are some good scores out there. My opinion is that it was intentional by Phil as if he "didn't act" the ball could have gone off the green. Clearly a statement has been made by Phil over the set-up of Shinnecock Hills. Whether he gets the support of his fellow competitors I don't know. Whatever happens the ramifications of this are huge one way or the other.

Panrich wrote: »
    Rooting for Fowler now Hope he can keep things together and give it a run from here.

Sorry Ricky. Double on 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Well case closed

Phil is with me :P:D

Fair play Phil

The champion now of all lads that NR in the monthly medal. :D

Playing pierce purcell next year.

Have to say ive lost intrest in the tornament this year ill obvs keep up to date but i just dont like how usga sets up courses

Fair play Phil

The champion now of all lads that NR in the monthly medal. :D

Playing pierce purcell next year.

What happened (watching footie)? DQ?

Post 156

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Mickelson wtf....only ever seen John Daly do that!

Post 156

Oh yes I know. Just wondering was it worse than a 2 shot penalty after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Really should be a DQ in my opinion for Phil under rule 1-2. At the bottom of Rule 14-5 it states the following....

"(Ball purposely deflected or stopped by player, partner or caddie - see Rule 1-2)"

It's clear as day then that he should have not been penalised under 14-5.

Phil making a fool of himself with his comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Oh yes I know. Just wondering was it worse than a 2 shot penalty after.

Well, he did a rubbish job of trying to explain it. I fear his brain is fried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Also.. Phil just admitted it was a deliberate act. Has to be a DQ now.

If he was really trying to be clever with the rules, he should have declared his ball unplayable and re-hit the original putt under penalty of 1 stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,703 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Zach not holding back there.

Delighted to hear top pros and people in industry coming out and totally agreeing with me.

Unusual to see golf forum lacking any balance on issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Delighted to hear top pros and people in industry coming out and totally agreeing with me.

Players have had good scores. They just don't want to blame themselves

I thought I was imaging things when I heard Johnson say "I totally agree with Fix" :D

fullstop wrote: »
    I thought I was imaging things when I heard Johnson say "I totally agree with Fix" :D

Not a drink in me - but he said it :D

Daniel Berger said it was fine earlier so there you go

Mushy wrote: »
    Players have had good scores. They just don't want to blame themselves

The point is - a bad bounce or change in conditions changes outcome with excessive impact on event.

it is not the cliche you hear from some weekend hacker - " all have to play the same course" - bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

The point is - a bad bounce or change in conditions changes outcome with excessive impact on event.

it is not the cliche you hear from some weekend hacker - " all have to play the same course" - bull****.

That's golf, bad bounces can happen anytime. You're outdoors, conditions can't be guaranteed, deal with it. It's a test of skill and adapting, fad better than they play on most other weeks

Daniel Berger said it was fine earlier so there you go

Well the course has changed massively over the last few hours. Rich Beem just said as much

Phil making a fool of himself with his comments.

110% agree with you. That is utter b/s from a man that has supposedly lauded in the US media and further afield. The minimum sanction for Phil is a DQ. Minimum.

He has done a very serious thing. He has disrespected the integrity of the the game and to the field. Yet the USGA did not raise any questions barring giving a nonsense 2 shot penalty and Phil gladly accepted.

On a separate note, after the recent debacles of recent US Open's, this is a dark day for America's national championship with this crazy set-up of this course. I for one is finding it exceptionally difficult watching on TV and I'm a a huge lover of golf. This is utterly unfair. Thank you USGA for destroying this once fine event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

I must be the only one enjoying this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Thepoet85 wrote: »
    I must be the only one enjoying this!
    No I am too, you are getting paid well enough, deal with it.

I like it too but it does seem the greens are getting bad now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭lostatsea

Edna_Ennky wrote: »
    110% agree with you. That is utter b/s from a man that has supposedly lauded in the US media and further afield. The minimum sanction for Phil is a DQ. Minimum.

He has done a very serious thing. He has disrespected the integrity of the the game and to the field. Yet the USGA did not raise any questions barring giving a nonsense 2 shot penalty and Phil gladly accepted.

On a separate note, after the recent debacles of recent US Open's, this is a dark day for America's national championship with this crazy set-up of this course. I for one is finding it exceptionally difficult watching on TV and I'm a a huge lover of golf. This is utterly unfair. Thank you USGA for destroying this once fine event.

Phil's explanation for what happened should cause him to be disqualified. His thinking is that he is using the rules to his advantage which is total nonsense. It means if I putt or chip a ball off a green where a steep downhill will cause it to roll out of bounds I can run after the ball and hit it before it goes OB and accept a 2 shot penalty!! Phil made a mockery of the game today.

It would not surprise me when he reflects on what happened and how he gave his explanation he will disqualify himself.

I like it too but it does seem the greens are getting bad now

You drinking. :D

Just seen backspin on a putt

You drinking. :D

Just seen backspin on a putt

LOL nope.... I like carnage though. :pac:

You wont believe it - I'm enjoying it more now.

It is a freak show at this stage.

Genuinely in my 30 years watching golf - never seen putts go backwards on line to hole - very strange

And like them crazy golf holes you come in from the back.

Poor poults

You wont believe it - I'm enjoying it more now.

It is a freak show at this stage.

Genuinely in my 30 years watching golf - never seen putts go backwards on line to hole - very strange

And like them crazy golf holes you come in from the back.

The players on a saturday was crazy a few years back if I remember correctly probably the worst I half remember in recent history besides this

Is amazing how accurate DJ is considering speed and power.

But I'd never back the bloke in anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Poor poults

Why? He is doing alright

Happy4all wrote: »
    Why? He is doing alright

When I was watching - he has having a hole he was all over shop

But they are all having them - so about damage limitation

He is doing incredibly well for a lad who almost had no card fairly recently

Some rounds from brooks and henrik being only ones on the course not over par so far considering most around them are having rough times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Just like playing Ballyhaunis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,357 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

Daniel Berger and Tony Finau must be feeling pretty good at the moment!

How in the hell is Rose only +1 through 9...1/9 GIR.

DJ dropping F-bombs!

lol

Down the ****ing hill - lol ---- dustin

This sort of sums up why Rory is a bit daft.

When he was giving up at say 7/8 over on Friday - he was still in this.

He would be out early today - and in the mix in a major.