Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your take on wearing an England Jersey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Berserker wrote: »
    I don't find football jersey as bad. GAA jerseys are a different story. I am a t-shirt man myself, so I will be wearing my England tshirt on Monday. Think t-shirts are much better value than the jerseys.

What is it with After Hour's and GAA jerseys? There seems to be serious hate for them here. While all jerseys can be tacky at least GAA jerseys are sported by people from that particular place.

I don't find football jersey as bad. GAA jerseys are a different story.

Nothing if not predictable, Berserker. God save the Queen and all that, old chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

What is it with After Hour's and GAA jerseys? There seems to be serious hate for them here. While all jerseys can be tacky at least GAA jerseys are sported by people from that particular place.

They also tend to be worn on match day only, which is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I bought a Palestinian flag today, is Israel in the world cup?.

Nothing sexier than a beautiful country girl with big bouncing boobies in a GAA shirt, gurrrrrrr :P

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,282 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Until Yorkshire declares independence you mean?
    Yorkshire was a People's Republic a long time before the Rebel County thought they could try and copy them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

They also tend to be worn on match day only, which is good.

Or on a beach in Sydney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Could you tell us please why you find the wearing of one less pleasing to the eye than the wearing of the other?

Nothing sexier than a beautiful country girl with big bouncing boobies in a GAA shirt, gurrrrrrr :P

Calling all her female friends 'lads'. Meow!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Nothing if not predictable, Berserker. God save the Queen and all that, old chap.

Getting all patriotic for the WC, Fuaranach. Think we are in with a chance. Will probably be in high spirits until 8pm on Monday!

I didn't say anything bad about the ladies. I was talking about middle aged men.
    feargale wrote: »
    Could you tell us please why you find one the wearing of one less pleasing to the eye than the wearing of the other?

I find the whole country and parochial aspect of the GAA strange and the wearing of the jersey is part of it. I'm not Irish, so I don't really understand the GAA or it's attraction to be honest. Dublin fans are fine though. Might be a city v country thing that has built up in me over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,452 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I was at hurling in Kilkenny at the weekend and I cannot disagree with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,216 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Menelaun wrote: »

Is this a common reaction still considering the majority of fans support English teams?

I never get this argument, it actually baffles me that seemingly logical people actually trot it out.

In Ireland football refers to Gaelic Football.

billyhead wrote: »
    I will be supporting England and couldn't give a rats ass what anyone else thinks. I support an English club. I would always support our nearest and dearest including Wales and Scotland and I know a lot of the people form these countries would do likewise and support us as long as we weren't playing one another or n the same group.

You are soooooo edgy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

I'm aware of that. I'm in the habit of calling association football, football. I sit beside a Dublin GAA season ticket holder, so I hear a lot about GAA from him and some of my colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,475 ✭✭✭secman

Not in Dublin... it's football or footy and then there 's Gaah

Omackeral wrote: »
    Calling all her female friends 'lads'. Meow!!!

I picked the wrong week to stop masterbating :mad:

Exccept for the Football Association of Ireland, Shamrock Rovers Football Club, Cork City Football Club etc etc etc. Football can and does mean both.

secman wrote: »

For a period from 1800 until 1922 in the knacker areas of Dublin from which the British garrison used to recruit, perhaps. Not being a viewer of British sports TV, I've always continued to call football football (naturally enough) and soccer, soccer. Although I can see "Wanderers Football Club (established 1870)", a rugby football club, might be offended by that.

Never! That's brutal.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Calling all her female friends 'leds'. Meow!!!

FYP

Exccept for the Football Association of Ireland, Shamrock Rovers Football Club, Cork City Football Club etc etc etc. Football can and does mean both.

Do you post on the soccer forum here?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=151

Good to see the FAI and RTÉ sticking a bit of money into their Association Football flagship show, Monday Night Soccer.

In Ireland football = Gaelic Football.
    In England football = Association Football
    In America football = American Football
    In New Zealand football = Rugby
    In Australia football = Ozzie Rules.

In every country above soccer = Association Football. Why do people object to use of the word soccer?

For a period from 1800 until 1922 in the knacker areas of Dublin from which the British garrison used to recruit, perhaps. Not being a viewer of British sports TV, I've always continued to call football football (naturally enough) and soccer, soccer. Although I can see "Wanderers Football Club (established 1870)", a rugby football club, might be offended by that.

Football, as in association football or soccer, is called football the world over. Portuguese:futebol, Spanish: fútbol, Dutch:voetbal, German: Fussball (I can't do that squiggly B type s :P), Czech: fotbal. It's also called it here too, along with Gaelic football. Call it a garrison game all you want, it's the global game. Every single country plays it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,475 ✭✭✭secman

Football is called soccer in approx 31 countries in ireland and also in USA.
    Everywhere else has Football association's , Football clubs, and then there is FIFA EUFA .

Good to see the FAI and RTÉ sticking a bit of money into their Association Football flagship show, Monday Night Soccer.

In every country above soccer = Association Football. Why do people object to use of the word soccer?

Sigh.

Bohemian Football Club
    Bray Wanderers Football Club
    Cork City Football Club
    Derry City Football Club
    Dundalk Football Club
    Limerick Football Club
    Sligo Rovers Football Club
    Waterford Football Club
    Shamrock Rovers Football Club
    St Patrick's Athletic Football Club
    Athlone Town Football Club
    Cabinteely Football Club
    Cobh Ramblers Football Club
    Drogheda United Football Club
    Finn Harps Football Club
    Galway United Football Club
    Longford Town Football Club
    Shelbourne Football Club
    University College Dublin Association Football Club
    Wexford Football Club

Football Association of Ireland.

Literally every team in this country has FC after it. It's not even a debate.

That’s all lovely but football still generally refers to Gaelic Football in Ireland. You might want it to mean Association Football and in some specifics like above it does but in general in Ireland football refers to Gaelic Football... just like in other countries football means something other than soccer.

Why so sensitive about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,465 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

This thread has turned into a farce, debating the use of the words football and soccer, time to unfollow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,106 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Kolido wrote: »
    This thread has turned into a farce, debating the use of the words football and soccer, time to unfollow.

It wasn't great to begin with tbh.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

That’s all lovely but football still generally refers to Gaelic Football in Ireland. You might want it to mean Association Football and in some specifics like above it does but in general in Ireland football refers to Gaelic Football... just like in other countries football means something other than soccer.

Why so sensitive about this?

Sensitive? How so? I was merely pointing out that literally every single club in our top two national divisions, our national team (both men and women's) and the governing association... and any team I've ever played for have all been called Football Clubs or have the term football in them. All of them. Ever. Also, I've said above that football can and does refer to both, so how exactly am I sensitive about it?

Kolido wrote: »

Apologies, just making a point that every team in this country that plays the game is literally called a football club. Poor bobbysands81 can't seem to manage with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

The current trend of cynical puke football has resulted in a game that's more handball than football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Rugby is also football, rugby football.

Does anyone actually call it football? Genuinely asking. I wouldn't watch it outside of 6 Nations or World Cup matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Wearing a football jersey as a grown man is a no no unless you are in good physical condition and playing football at that very moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

I think most people are over the whole 800 years thing, I for one certainly couldn't care less what ya wear. However somewhere in my mother's milk the notion of the "old enemy" seeped in. To me the Butcher's Apron is a symbol much like the Swastika, I just can't help it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Aethan Dor

Mad how you never hear of any Crystal Palace fans or Birmingham fans over here given that 1000's flocked to those places too!

Ah, allow me. I am a Crystal Palace fan since I was 10, brought there by my relations, who still live there, and stuck with them. Delighted to be too.

Wouldn't change for supporting any of the 'Big 6' for anything, had more fun following them as they yo-yo'd since then than being a current Arsenal or Man Utd fan could ever be what with hearing them both being pathetic about not having won anything in the last few years, boo hoo.

There's plenty of Irish fans of Villa too, presumably picked over Birmingham over the years due to them regularly having had a strong Irish contingent in their squads over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

For a period from 1800 until 1922 in the knacker areas of Dublin from which the British garrison used to recruit,...

Are they the tennament areas of Dublin, that were populated by people fleeing poverty/famine, in the 19th to early 20th century?

There is an old joke in Ireland-

Q. What/who is a Jackeen?

A. The son of a culchie! (an equal opportunities offensive joke).

You even managed to throw the word knacker in. I've filled out my bingo card.

What do I win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,118 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Under no circumstances would I wear any piece of clothing with a Union Jack or a George’s cross. That is me and my beliefs. I wouldn’t look down o. An Irishman who did but would question their reasons for doing so. Saying that I would wear with pride every single one of my Spurs Jerseys at a match.

I wouldn’t wear any GAA jersey other than Tipp (my birth county) or Donegal (my fathers county).

I have an Argentina football jersey and a Palestinian Football jersey.other than that I doubt I would wear any other jersey. I lived in Argentina for a Year and Gaza for just under 8 months and was given them by friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Where’d you get the Russian one from??

Sports Direct main headquarters in Derbyshire (on a trip over to see family). It was in the Black November sale too so I got it for £4 :) It's a couple of years old now, the dark red one with the gold Adidas trimmings - a lovely jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

We drink their tea and speak their language - I think we should be able to wear their jersey while playing their game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Very old rugby clubs around the world call themselves football clubs. Garryowen FC is another one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

They are very absorbent ......of English tears particularly

It pretty much always ends in a Farce or a Tragedy

Shakespearean in fact .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

I'll be 'supporting' England by way of actively making the time to watch their matches being familiar with the players themselves and all.

My 'support' in terms of hoping they win those matches will be inversely proportional to their progress in the tournament as the closer they will get to actually winning the thing means that we will never, ever hear the fcuking end of it. Ever.

The usual formula for Engerlund at the World Cup was the obscene hype and deluded expectations among fans and the media before it started which ultimately lead to getting knocked out on penalties, with someone becoming a national pariah. The worry is that they now have zero expectations of winning and this dangerous precedence might lead to them delivering a victory.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

An English victory would be Very detrimental to our Irish Sanity .

This Irishman wearing an English Jersey is potentially the beginning of our Insanity . Have they stopped burning witches ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

AllForIt wrote: »
    Can't stand that look - wearing a sports jersey as casual-wear around the place. County colours then are even worse. And that awful Irish green.

And what is wrong with county colours ?
    It's way better than some flute from nowhere near the host cities wearing a City, Chelsea, Real, Barca or united jersey.

And apart from Carlow, Kilkenny most of them aren't too bad.
    Tilikum17 wrote: »
    billyhead wrote: »
    I will be supporting England and couldn't give a rats ass what anyone else thinks. I support an English club. I would always support our nearest and dearest including Wales and Scotland and I know a lot of the people form these countries would do likewise and support us as long as we weren't playing one another or n the same group.

Don’t tell me, you’re from Dublin.

A jackeen then. :D
    Or on a beach in Sydney

Or on a beach in Estonia or up a mountain in Alberta. :D

Some snobbish dubs refer to Gaelic FOOTBALL as bogball.

Actually in Australia Ozzie Rules is often called Footy.
    And in New Zealand they have only recently discovered footballs can be round. ;)

As for Irish wearing an English top, it is like a Dutchman wearing a German top, a Korean wearing a Japanese top, a Kiwi wearing an Aussie top.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

jmayo wrote: »
    And what is wrong with county colours ?
    It's way better than some flute from nowhere near the host cities wearing a City, Chelsea, Real, Barca or united jersey.

And apart from Carlow, Kilkenny most of them aren't too bad.

A jackeen then. :D

Or on a beach in Estonia or up a mountain in Alberta. :D

Some snobbish dubs refer to Gaelic FOOTBALL as bogball.

Actually in Australia Ozzie Rules is often called Footy.
    And in New Zealand they have only recently discovered footballs can be round. ;)

As for Irish wearing an English top, it is like a Dutchman wearing a German top, a Korean wearing a Japanese top, a Kiwi wearing an Aussie top.

Canada has its own form of football as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭Menelaun

Canada has its own form of football as well.

Yeah but it’s woeful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

For a period from 1800 until 1922 in the knacker areas of Dublin from which the British garrison used to recruit, perhaps.

I recently read an assertion that all nationalist/independence movements are a fraud by the local elite on the local underpriveleged. You may disagree with that claim but your post does nothing to refute it.

P.S. Could you identify these "knacker" areas for us, and say if you are speaking in the present as well as the past tense.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Whatever does it for you OP, I tend to stay away from white sports tops. Much harder to keep'em in colour I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

No,have an awful lot of family in England and my Grandparents lived there for a time when they where younger.

I was born there and wouldn't wear that rag if I was paid.