Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Jailed for putting up a Racist Sticker Political Correctness gone mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Why are white supremacists always so f*ck ugly ?

Behold the Master Race.

nayei94e4ubz.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

^^^^

I love that photo, I still haven't figured out what that white thing in the middle is though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Gas how so many people posting in favour of white supremacism and racism on an Irish message board seem to think that American laws and the American constitution somehow apply in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

^^^^

I love that photo, I still haven't figured out what that white thing in the middle is though

I'm 50/50 on if it's a man or woman.
    I'm also 50/50 in if it's wearing a vest or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Omackeral wrote: »

What should really worry us is whether or not it's been fed recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Odhinn wrote: »
    What should really worry us is whether or not it's been fed recently.

doesn't look like it's wasting away

Omackeral wrote: »
    Shudder

Stay Puft on meth?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Gas how so many people posting in favour of white supremacism and racism on an Irish message board seem to think that American laws and the American constitution somehow apply in Europe.

Gas how they think they won't get thrown under the bus for being Celtic rather than Nordic/Anglo-Saxon.

Shudder

Stay Puft on meth?

just wait, someone will come along to tell you they're not high on meth but high on freedom

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Dr Brown wrote: »
    By all means they should jail people for terrorism but not for putting up stickers.

That's the sort of law you would get in North Korea.

Once again, you're being disingenuous. Racist terrorist puts up racist stickers in an act designed to stir up racial hatred while performing Nazi salutes and holding up the flag of a banned terrorist organisation known to be preparing for a race war. Stickers which acted as a recruitment tool for a terrorist organisation. They weren't Pokemon stickers he was putting up.

But you know all that.
    He added that the stickers were also recruitment tools for National Action, of which the men were all then members.

One of the stickers, put on an entrance sign, showed a white figure giving a Nazi-type salute, and carried the words “White Zone – National Action”.

Or do you think recruiting terrorists should be perfectly legal? Again, all terrorists or just some terrorists?

the men then posed for a souvenir-style photo doing Nazi-type salutes and holding the black flag of far-right organisation National Action.
    Mr Farrer told the 27-year-old unemployed welder: “You identified with Adolf Hitler and Nazi Germany.
    Williams-Allen, who had also stated a race war was “inevitable”
    the group bragged about how their activities stirred up offence among “butt-hurt students, sub-humans, and traitors”.
    One of the stickers, put on an entrance sign, showed a white figure giving a Nazi-type salute, and carried the words “White Zone – National Action”.

Another read: “Britain is ours – the rest must go.”
    This week it was "white supremacists" who were jailed for their political beliefs next time it could be UKIP supporters.

Not "white supremacists", OP. White supremacists.

This is all from the article you linked so I can only assume you read all of the above. And you're still defending the white supremacists and refuse to label them as such. Surprise surprise. Do you see the above white supremacists' actions and beliefs as normal and perfectly acceptable so?

I'm glad you posted this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

wexie wrote: »
    just wait, someone will come along to tell you they're not high on meth but high on freedom

Or we could just not slag them on their appearance.

Seriously though, if it was a bunch of young wans, complete with blue hair and feminist slogans, or blacks lads with Black Lives Matter banners, people would call out people slagging them based on what they look like.

So either slag noone, or slag everyone.

I'm in no way defending these fools, before anyone even thinks I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

Seriously though, if it was a bunch of young wans, complete with blue hair and feminist slogans, or blacks lads with Black Lives Matter banners, people would call out people slagging them based on what they look like.

I'm sure those slagging em,have the bodies of Greek gods :rolleyes:

Not the same thing at all though, the feminists and BLM people aren't claiming they are racially superior than everyone else.

Blaas4life wrote: »

You're completely missing the point, we're not slagging them because they're ugly, we're slagging them because they think and claim their superior when they look like something off of the x-files

How many accounts on average do you make each day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

You're completely missing the point, we're not slagging them because they're ugly, we're slagging them because they think and claim their superior when they look like something off of the x-files

Looks like your splitting hairs tbh

There scummy racists and whose opioion and beliefs i hold in no regard....

but Jesus fcuk if you've to resort to slagging em over their looks,

It's a bit rich to mock them for basing their world view/belief system on the most pointless shalow thing of all- skin couler??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭May Contain Small Parts

I always think slagging others' appearance is shooting yourself in the foot.

There are so many, many good reasons to criticise these guys; when you start using bad ones you move the topic away from that and lessen your argument.

Looks like your splitting hairs tbh

There scummy racists and whose opioion and beliefs i hold in no regard....

but Jesus fcuk if you've to resort to slagging em over their looks,

It's a bit rich to mock them for basing their world view/belief system on the most pointless shalow thing of all- skin couler??
    I always think slagging others' appearance is shooting yourself in the foot.

There are so many, many good reasons to criticise these guys; when you start using bad ones you move the topic away from that and lessen your argument.

But we're not focusing on their appearance in isolation or just for the sake of it, like it would be for BLM, it's precisely because of their beliefs that it makes sense to mock their appearance, it shows just how ridiculous their supremacist beliefs are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Peregrine wrote: »
    Once again, you're being disingenuous. Racist terrorist puts up racist stickers in an act designed to stir up racial hatred while performing Nazi salutes and holding up the flag of a banned terrorist organisation known to be preparing for a race war. Stickers which acted as a recruitment tool for a terrorist organisation. They weren't Pokemon stickers he was putting up.

But you know all that.

Or do you think recruiting terrorists should be perfectly legal? Again, all terrorists or just some terrorists?

Your missing the point these individuals were jailed for putting up stickers not terrorism.

You may think its only white supremacists that were denied freedom of speech but they will move on to other groups.

The Police in the UK have also targeted UKIP supporters and anti abortion people for their political beliefs.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/647539/Ukip-UK-Independence-Party-school-police-called-website

Your missing the point these individuals were jailed for putting up stickers not terrorism.

You may think its only white supremacists that were denied freedom of speech but they will move on to other groups.

The Police in the UK have also targeted UKIP supporters and anti abortion people for their political beliefs.

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/647539/Ukip-UK-Independence-Party-school-police-called-website

Why is it you think nazis should have freedom of speech, but not muslims?

I'm really not. Stickers of a terrorist organisation. Stickers which incited racial hatred. While performing acts which further support the view that they were doing it to incite racial hatred. You're either not reading posts or just plainly ignoring them by reducing it to "putting up stickers".

Do you or do you not think putting up stickers of a terrorist organisation that spread racial hated and act as a recruitment tool for said terrorist organisation should be legal? I don't.

If an ISIS member went around putting up stickers that said "Death to Westerners — ISIS" while holding up an ISIS flag, I expect you to be front and centre defending his right to spread terrorism if you say yes.

Likewise, if someone gets jailed for putting up Pokemon stickers, I'll be front and centre defending his right to do that. That's not what happened here and no matter how much you reduce the situation to hyperbole, everyone else can see what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It’s literally the equivalent of a member of the Continuity IRA going around the gaff posting stickers calling for the cops to be attacked or whatever. You’d be arrested in five seconds.

NA are an illegal violent organisation, being a member of a proscribed organisation usually means you fall foul of the law, cos you know like, it’s a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

No, they were arrested because of the organisation they were campaigning for.

Now, I keep having to say this but get down of the fcuking cross. Those racists are not being oppressed. They are not victims. They are members of a group that want to kill and expel non white people. They have called for the murder of MP's. They are scum. And only a fcuking idiot would think that they should be defended.

I have no problem with idiots like the kippers spouting their nonsense but the guys who were arrested were in a different league all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

United Kingdom. 'nuff said. Freedom has been dying there for the last two decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Zebra3 wrote: »
    He is a racist..

Whenever someone claims Tommy Robinson to be a racist they never provide a direct quote to substantiate their claim, but I've great faith in you, you're going to be different and post a racist quote attributed to the guy from a reputable source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Peregrine wrote: »

But you know all that.

Would a sticker saying 'Kill All Jews/Dubs/Irish/Whites/Men/Women/Whatever you are yourself' just be a sticker?

Cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

United Kingdom. 'nuff said. Freedom has been dying there for the last two decades.

Go on?

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

People who always say "PC gone mad" are the same types who are disappointed they can't be racists anymore.

Does political correctness ever go too far in your opinion ? I can highlight the news revelations about Telford grooming gangs earlier this year whistleblowers being silenced & police not doing their jobs properly all because of fears of accusations of racism due to political correctness would you agree of disagree that,s pc gone mad ?

I can also highlight a case from Sweden earlier this year a woman shared a humour meme on facebook about Islam being arrested charged & facing 2 years in jail only for sharing a meme- what,s your take on charging this woman for sharing a meme is it ok with you or pc gone mad ?

https://www.thelocal.se/discuss/index.php?showtopic=91249?showtopic=91249

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

Grayson wrote: »
    You've obviously missed all the stories about the police infiltrating left wing groups over the last few years.

News to me .

This is just a typical deflection from the far right as usual. "Oh it's only freedom of speech, so what if they're an illegal organisation plotting murders etc". However this absolute belief in freedom of speech never seems to apply to Islamists, then it's all "close the Mosques", "ban the Quran", "ban the burqa", "deport them", "lock them up" etc.

Total hypocrisy like, if you don't support freedom of speech for Anjem Choudhary or Abu Hamza etc them you've no right to call for freedom of speech for National Action.

Birneybau wrote: »
    Go on?

Not much to expand upon really. Freedom of speech no longer exists, the government has mandated the blocking of porn for everyone by default and the total illegality of some kinds of previously legal porn, the government has been trying to pass laws mandating that all ISPs employ deep packet inspection to keep a permanent record of every website a citizen visits, as cited above the cops were once called to a school because someone looked up a UKIP website, they've had people jailed for offensive tweeting, etc etc etc. Both freedom of internet and freedom of speech are long dead in the United Kingdom. The place is a joke.

But we're not focusing on their appearance in isolation or just for the sake of it, like it would be for BLM, it's precisely because of their beliefs that it makes sense to mock their appearance, it shows just how ridiculous their supremacist beliefs are.

Yeah, you're criticising them by pointing out an hypocrisy.

To that:
    A: I don't think their beliefs rest heavily on "whites are better looking and therefore superior".

B: A bit of hypocrisy really is the least of their crimes.
    Focusing on the more serious and damaging things - of which they are absolutely guilty - helps people to concentrate on what harm these people really do. Adding in the less serious (but also wrong) things just distracts and leaves an overall impression of them not being as bad as they are.

Is that logical? Not really, but it's how people interpret and remember things.

FTA69 wrote: »
    This is just a typical deflection from the far right as usual. "Oh it's only freedom of speech, so what if they're an illegal organisation plotting murders etc". However this absolute belief in freedom of speech never seems to apply to Islamists, then it's all "close the Mosques", "ban the Quran", "ban the burqa", "deport them", "lock them up" etc.

Total hypocrisy like, if you don't support freedom of speech for Anjem Choudhary or Abu Hamza etc them you've no right to call for freedom of speech for National Action.

I'm a fairly hardcore leftie, for what it's worth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭robp

Your Face wrote: »
    Id imagine they are in jail because advocating racism is illegal.

Its not that hard to comprehend.
    I'd suspect there is more to the story then meets the idea but advocating racism is not illegal. It is a good way to be hated but not illegal and for very good reason.

I'm a fairly hardcore leftie, for what it's worth.

I wasn't talking about you specifically above, but using a murderous illegal organisation as an example of free speech being restricted is mad. They were banned because they were plotting to kill people, not because they were writing pamphlets.

I never knew they had a freedom of terrorism there before 20 years ago.

The more you know.
    Not much to expand upon really. Freedom of speech no longer exists, the government has mandated the blocking of porn for everyone by default and the total illegality of some kinds of previously legal porn, the government has been trying to pass laws mandating that all ISPs employ deep packet inspection to keep a permanent record of every website a citizen visits, as cited above the cops were once called to a school because someone looked up a UKIP website, they've had people jailed for offensive tweeting, etc etc etc. Both freedom of internet and freedom of speech are long dead in the United Kingdom. The place is a joke.

Way to ignore the topic at hand entirely.

Whenever someone claims Tommy Robinson to be a racist they never provide a direct quote to substantiate their claim, but I've great faith in you, you're going to be different and post a racist quote attributed to the guy from a reputable source.

Nah we just point out that he was in the BNP and supports Generation Identity, whereupon people like you trot out some mad excuse as to how he was a member of and current supporter of racist organisations.

The posters concerned here are not far right, nor is anyone saying "close the Mosques", "ban the Quran", "deport them".

Bigotry and blow-jobs are very different things.

If you want to criticise the UK government for tarring them all with the same brush then you shouldn't do so yourself.

robp wrote: »
    The posters concerned here are not far right, nor is anyone saying "close the Mosques", "ban the Quran", "deport them".

...except the OP, who has called for Islam to be banned.

Some are. And if someone is advocating support for a banned violent neo-Nazi organisation's right to put up posters then what would you call them?

Likewise the far right across Europe are advocating banning Islamic face coverings, the Quran and advocating deportation while simultaneously claiming they want free speech.

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Could be worse.

Putting a rasher on a mosque door handle gets the death sentence.

Even turkey rashers???

Odhinn wrote: »

...except the OP, who has called for Islam to be banned.
    If that is true fair enough but the fast majority of people look for more free speech are not. Very very few people want to ban Islam and the only examples of such anti Muslim restrictions being realised were in leftie regimes such as in France and previously Turkey.

Some are. And if someone is advocating support for a banned violent neo-Nazi organisation's right to put up posters then what would you call them?

Likewise the far right across Europe are advocating banning Islamic face coverings, the Quran and advocating deportation while simultaneously claiming they want free speech.
    If these 'dangerous' people are so real then we will all see them for what they are. The reality is people are well able to think for themselves and the far right pose no real threat of expanding significantly anywhere in Western Europe and probably all of Europe. The IRA is a banned organisation yet pro IRA t shirts are sold on Sinn Fein's website. Why aren't you push for banning that too? We need a constitutional article for protection of free speech.

jim salter wrote: »
    Even turkey rashers???

No such thing as turkey rashers infidel!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

We need a constitutional article for protection of free speech.

Article 40.6.1 says hello.

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

wexie wrote: »
    No such thing as turkey rashers infidel!!!

Turkey Rashers

jim salter wrote: »

Those things are kinda the reverse of some of the posters here.

Turkey rashers claiming to be something they aren't.

The posters claiming they're not something they are

In both cases it's lies

Turkey rashers are alright on a bagel. Big of spinach, some melted cheese. You could do worse.