Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Lowry guilty

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Whats the garlic man thing all about?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/man-jailed-for-six-years-over-16m-garlic-tax-scam-26830346.html

People seem to focus on the garlic as opposed to the €1.6M which is what it's really about.

Unfortunately for Garlic Man he wasn't a right wing politican. Or DOB. Or one of the 442 guards the DPP decided to let off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

liam7831 wrote: »
    You sound jealous of his very successful business and political career, I don't begrudge him fair play I say

Well if you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Was garlic man not released after a few weeks???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Well if you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem

Did you read that on the back of a cereal box ?

Die hard!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Hardly surprising as his cronie DOB literally owns the Indo :pac:

Ireland has to be the most corrupt first world country on the planet.

Wonder why?

Do you think the normal joe soap has better morals?

Whole country is at it in some way.

Claims, welfare fraud, non payment of fines, rent arrears in the council, nixers, paying for jobs with cash, no car tax and insurance, fly tipping.

The list goes on and on.

You just go on and on with the 'whataboutery'. It's becoming obvious you have a vested interest. And an elected official SHOULD be held to higher standards, it comes with the territory. We're not Mexico

Birneybau wrote: »
    You just go on and on with the 'whataboutery'. It's becoming obvious you have a vested interest. And an elected official SHOULD be held to higher standards, it comes with the territory. We're not Mexico

I don’t agree.

The law should be the same for everyone and all be treated equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

The bigger his sentence, the bigger his vote will be.

Disgusting individual really. And those voting for him.

Ireland will not move on until he and the HRs in Kerry (not that they did anything like that, but you know what I mean), Ireland will be in the dark ages and hail fella well met, anything other than Dublin. Ya hoo.

Dublin has given us the most corrupt politicians of all, haughey, Burke and the king of them all Bertie ‘I don’t have a bank account, I won it all on a horse I don’t know the name of’ Ahern.

I find it a little bit disingenuous that people consider this a culchie issue.

Shane Ross is another prime example of well heeled dubs electing a shyster whose only concern is maintaining his own seat at great cost to those elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You sound jealous of his very successful business and political career, I don't begrudge him fair play I say

Ah yer alright, it's a Culchie thing. I don't mind at all.

But culchies want to buck the system every chance they get and sing it out too. There are some in Kerry who want this to carry on too.

Honestly. W T F?

I think yer all jealous of the Dubs meself! Most of you are Culchies anyway.

Let's be a little lighthearted. There are faults in the system everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

MayoSalmon wrote: »
    Not for tax fraud...no

given you didnt even know what court it was in and that there was a jury i dont think the government will be rushing to your door for advice on the matter.

dirtyden wrote: »

Shane Ross is another prime example of well heeled dubs electing a shyster whose only concern is maintaining his own seat at great cost to those elsewhere.

I would agree with that. All mouth and no trousers from so called Lord Ross. Charlatan if you ask me, but anyway. Nothing personal, just my view. Bends with the wind. And is all talk, no action.

Minister for Transport? Bet he never had to take a bus in his life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Anon10000

I don’t agree.

The law should be the same for everyone and all be treated equal.

I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Hardly surprising as his cronie DOB literally owns the Indo :pac:

Ireland has to be the most corrupt first world country on the planet.

Actually we rank pretty well on the World Corruption Index

I doubt Lowry will spend a night in jail for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

Every year revenue publishes details of people caught with tax avoidance.

There is 100s and they don’t go to jail, why should it be different with Lowry who I am no fan off either btw.

Those people have reached a tax settlement with Revenue including (or had a court determine them liable to) a civil penalty.

Civil and criminal offences and punishments are very different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I doubt Lowry will spend a night in jail for this.

It's ok..to save you reading the paper, I'll answer....he won't. It was a fine with no custodial sentence

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Tipp Poll topper in GE 2018/19 so. They do love the rascals down the country don't you know.

Having to get 3 to 5% of the national 1st pref vote in order to sit in the Dail would get rid of these clowns in short order. The behaviour of the Healy-Raes in blocking that Road Traffic bill is scandalous.

What about David Drumm last week?

Six years wasnt enough for the b@stard and he wont see half of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Six years wasnt enough for the b@stard and he wont see half of it

Drumm spent months in Jail in the US. Far tougher than spending it in Jail in ireland.

When referring to Michael Lowry, can we now say 'convicted criminal'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

The best part of that was that he looked very ill

Not sure what reply to give here that won't get me banned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

fxotoole wrote: »
    Actually we rank pretty well on the World Corruption Index

Thats only because we have managed to con them as well...just goes to show how skilled we have become at it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Turnstyle

http://www.thejournal.ie/gp-jailed-for-not-paying-tax-4056761-Jun2018/

16 months for a tax offence by a GP from this judge recently, not saying it is right either but no consistency here IMO. Even though the jury found Lowry guilty the judge sounds like he vindicates him, complete BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Turnstyle wrote: »

16 months for a tax offence by a GP from this judge recently, not saying it is right either but no consistency here IMO. Even though the jury found Lowry guilty the judge sounds like he vindicates him, complete BS

Lowry wasn't found guilty of the more serious tax offence he was charged with. His tax liability arising from the offence he was found guilty of was 5 or 6K. The gp led a concerted effort over a long period to avoid 100K in tax. not quite the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Turnstyle wrote: »

That judge is an affront to justice (not just because of this sentence tbh) but this is Ireland so all you can do is shrug your shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

JMNolan wrote: »
    That judge is an affront to justice (not just because of this sentence tbh) but this is Ireland so all you can do is shrug your shoulders.

Judge Martin Nolan -- JMNolan, you talking about yourself :confused: :P:D

I have to agree there doesn't seem to be consistency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Not sure what reply to give here that won't get me banned!

I accept it was a d!ckhead thing to post and I'd change it but It has been quoted twice so the horse has bolted. Apologies if I offended anyone.

Figerty wrote: »
    Drumm spent months in Jail in the US. Far tougher than spending it in Jail in ireland.

When referring to Michael Lowry, can we now say 'convicted criminal'?

True but if anything this highlighted that the US take white collar crime very seriously whereas we have a laugh and joke about it

I accept it was a d!ckhead thing to post and I'd change it but It has been quoted twice so the horse has bolted. Apologies if I offended anyone.
    Fair play to you, not many round here man up when they get a post wrong.

If Lowry was a TD in Dublin he wouldn't be putting up with waiting decades for a decent rail system but hey we all know Dubs are smarter than us!

True but if anything this highlighted that the US take white collar crime very seriously whereas we have a laugh and joke about it

But they have a huge amount of legal corruption in the US. Want the law changed? If you’re wealthy, get a good lobbyist, donate money to the party in power (or both just in case), and hey presto, you’ll get legislation changed!!

I take it you're kidding right? The Us is probably the world leader when it comes to 'money talks'.

They jailed quite a few bankers but perhaps not the ones that they should have. Iceland set the perfect example. 29 jailed

Michael Lowry isn't a banker and besides the judge agreed that he had paid his taxes+ fines+ penalties in full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Michael Lowry isn't a banker and besides the judge agreed that he had paid his taxes+ fines+ penalties in full.

The judge is a retard. Lowry is a corrupt scumbag and i think his links to FG is sickening.

I never said he was. Some asked me about David Drumm.

You think 15k is enough of a penalty for tax dodging??? Seriously??? He should have been hammered

smurgen wrote: »
    The judge is a retard. Lowry is a corrupt scumbag and i think his links to FG is sickening.

He was booted out of FG when it was discovered what he was up to, stop with the faux outrage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

He was booted out of FG when it was discovered what he was up to, stop with the faux outrage.

Drive on, Varadkar couldn't have looked more smug telling everyone he got a fair trial in the dail today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

No he wasn’t. Lowry resigned. It wasn’t until much later (election 1997) he declared he was standing as an independent candidate.

Thing is with the US is that they are quite good at jailing white collar crooks and giving them tough sentences, and rightly so.

However, the system stays the same bar some window drawing for the plebs.

The judge is a retard.

Well then it wasn't very fair to Lowry having a retard sitting in judgement !