Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

It'll be a 3rd party 90 degree gearbox with most likely Waltherscheid or bandioli paveisi, you should find a stamp or plate on the casing of the gearbox if you can strip it out as you'll need to know the input-output ratio.

Yep all information known but the same brick wall being hit. It's a Rogelberg,ratio is 1.75,16 tooth bevel gear is what is goosed. Hydraquip don't even have that gearbox in stock in Ireland at the moment. As such,they can supply the gear quickly but it's a third of the price of a new gearbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

This is an interesting piece if ye haven't read it already about the carbon cycle of cows and grassland in sequestering carbon in soil.
    Methane is mentioned in the piece too.

Still a bit fuming over an Taoiseach's ignorant remarks on cattle farming and not a dickie bird on rice farming and imports into this country from the other side of the planet.

https://smilingtreefarm.com/blog/carbon-mooooves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Still a bit fuming over an Taoiseach's ignorant remarks on cattle farming and not a dickie bird on rice farming and imports into this country from the other side of the planet. ]

Danny Healy Rae wasn't too impressed either.
    He cut loose in the Dail. Newstalk aired it. It brought a smile to face.

." If you're a hard worker, and you do a hard days work, there's nothing to bring you back and revive you again like a good piece of meat"

''whether it is bacon and cabbage or whether it is beef or mutton stew, if you don't have that you won't rise out the following day"

Says Danny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Happy 30th birthday Whelan2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

This is an interesting piece if ye haven't read it already about the carbon cycle of cows and grassland in sequestering carbon in soil.
    Methane is mentioned in the piece too.

Still a bit fuming over an Taoiseach's ignorant remarks on cattle farming and not a dickie bird on rice farming and imports into this country from the other side of the planet.

https://smilingtreefarm.com/blog/carbon-mooooves

Excellent article, thanks for posting that, well worth a read.

Give it five years or so and the Taoiseach and the D4 fashionistas might even come to the same realisation, it's not the cows that are bad for the planet, it's way they are managed. The management can be good or bad.

And here in Ireland we have the potential to produce the very best, as high a quality, good for the environmental, meat and dairy from as anywhere in the world, we just need to show it can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Suckler

Upstream wrote: »
    Give it five years or so and the Taoiseach and the D4 fashionistas..

I've seen more about D4 in the farming forum than anywhere else on boards recently. How exactly is one postal area for all our problems now ?

For a small island we love to divide ourselves in to little 'kingdoms'.

Edit - we all happy again?!
    https://www.farmersjournal.ie/i-have-not-become-a-vegan-taoiseach-433179

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Was out moving a few bales for a neighbour earlier. First morning I've noticed a definite chill in the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭148multi

😂😂😂

https://t.co/o8X6R8wEVY?ssr=true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Try Axa too

did and they cheaper again

think FBD have been riding me for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

148multi wrote: »
    😂😂😂

Comedy Gold the original OFAH sketch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

������

Got such a laugh from this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Hopefully she leads to rest of the travellers to become decent instead of bent individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Hopefully she leads to rest of the travellers to become decent instead of bent individuals.

More likely to be ostracized within her own community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    More likely to be ostracized within her own community.

Had a quick look at her Twitter and I'd say she already is, travellers in my experience are not friendly to gay or lesbians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,858 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Base price wrote: »

I'm not signed up, where did it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

'A number of weeks later, he told Gardaí that during a TB test, he noticed that the 210 cattle had been stolen too.'

Ah, c'mon.

(South Co, Meath - Whelan.)

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I think I'd notice that a third of my cattle were missing and wouldn't need a TB test to bring it to my attention

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    I'm not signed up, where did it happen?
    In south Meath. It says that the farmer reported a large number of cattle tags were stolen from his jeep in late October. A number of weeks later he told Gardai that during a TB test he noticed 210 were stolen. It it understood that the farmer has between six and seven hundred cattle of all ages, weights and breeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Bizarre indeed.
    Why would the tags be stolen??

470592.jpg

Anyone watching Goggle box with the placenta

In south Meath. It says that the farmer reported a large number of cattle tags were stolen from his jeep in late October. A number of weeks later he told Gardai that during a TB test he noticed 210 were stolen. It it understood that the farmer has between six and seven hundred cattle of all ages, weights and breeds.

Sounds very strange beef or dairy I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

Anyone watching Goggle box with the placenta

Put me off my supper.

Bizarre indeed.
    Why would the tags be stolen??

To throw suspicion off and muddy the waters of some other thing that might cause the farmer to loose their bps altogether or effect them selling the rest of the herd or even something they thought could result in jailtime.
    Money or malpractice or both or weather or whatever/whoever is behind it anyway.

It's an unbelievable set of affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Just when you thought it was safe to come out from under the duvet..

https://www.efanews.eu/item/6053

You find out the cult have deeper pockets and more influence than you previously thought.

On the plus side.
    There's no need to ask where all the money came from for those billboards anymore.

And so it begins ... from the funded propaganda team at the 'EAT-Lancet Commission'

‘Planetary health diet’ could avert premature deaths and safeguard the Earth' (sic)

https://www.breakingnews.ie/world/planetary-health-diet-could-avert-premature-deaths-and-safeguard-the-earth-898087.html
    The EAT-Lancet Commission brought together 37 experts from 16 countries specialising in health, nutrition, environmental sustainability, economics and politics...

Professor Tim Lang, one of the authors from City, University of London, said: “The food we eat and how we produce it determines the health of people and the planet, and we are currently getting this seriously wrong...

A “planetary health diet” requiring a massive shift from meat to vegetable consumption is needed to protect the well-being of future generations and the planet, according to experts...

Thankfully there appears to be recognition of this stuff for what it really is ...
    Christopher Snowdon, head of lifestyle economics at the IEA, accused the authors of the planetary health diet of campaigning for a “nanny state”.

He added: “Their desire to limit people to eating one tenth of a sausage a day leaves us in no doubt that we are dealing with fanatics.

They say they want to save the planet but it is not clear which planet are they on.

gozunda wrote: »
    And so it begins ... from the funded propaganda team at the 'EAT-Lancet Commission'

‘Planetary health diet’ could avert premature deaths and safeguard the Earth' (sic)

https://www.breakingnews.ie/world/planetary-health-diet-could-avert-premature-deaths-and-safeguard-the-earth-898087.html

Thankfully there appears to be recognition of this stuff for what it really is ...

Maybe if we close our eyes they'll go away.

More negative spin.
    It’s a constant tirade now :(

https://www.facebook.com/137576076262825/posts/2235854143101664/

_Brian wrote: »
    More negative spin.
    It’s a constant tirade now :(

https://www.facebook.com/137576076262825/posts/2235854143101664/

George Lee on radio 1 about that sham study from the Eat vegan group made to look legitimate by including likeminded scientists telling us what to do.
    Now it didn't say any of that in his spiel but he didn't say that it was a worldwide vegan group with money coming from Saudi Arabia that led this study. Money can buy you anything and anyone.

Purposely haven't been listening to the news this last while. Between brexit and what we should/shouldn't be eating, the cost of the children's hospital etc you'd crack up listening to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭148multi

George Lee on radio 1 about that sham study from the Eat vegan group made to look legitimate by including likeminded scientists telling us what to do.
    Now it didn't say any of that in his spiel but he didn't say that it was a worldwide vegan group with money coming from Saudi Arabia that led this study. Money can buy you anything and anyone.

Was a lassie beside me, when her dad died she told me that she sold all the cattle, leased the land and stopped eating meat, she was encouraging me to do the same, it was a little ironic that she rented to a butcher, but the irony was lost on her.

The ability to think for one's self anymore is sorely lacking in this generation.

Vegans needn't take the high moral ground, vegetable and fruit growing is notorious for poor wages, eastern europeans are the only ones that seem to work on veg/fruit farms.......says it all really

wrangler wrote: »
    Vegans needn't take the high moral ground, vegetable and fruit growing is notorious for poor wages, eastern europeans are the only ones that seem to work on veg/fruit farms.......says it all really

There are humans being treated worse than any farm animal in the veg growing areas of the UK.
    I read a Farmers Weekly article about it a year or two ago, slavery in all but name.

Still, as long as it's only humans, militant vegans won't be too concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭alps

To throw suspicion off and muddy the waters of some other thing that might cause the farmer to loose their bps altogether or effect them selling the rest of the herd or even something they thought could result in jailtime.
    Money or malpractice or both or weather or whatever/whoever is behind it anyway.

It's an unbelievable set of affairs.

How would it be even remotely possible that it would only be at a herd test that you would notice that one third of your herd was missing...?

The only meat I think should be scaled back is the heavily processed stuff.

Burgers, processed chicken products. And of course the humble sausage, which I love.

Eating good quality cuts of meat is good for humans and it’s delicious.

Heavily processed foods in general are laced with sugar, salt, fats amd a host of stuff we wouldn’t choose to eat if they were presented on their own.

The irony of irony is the EAT-lancet report will push more and more people to pick up heavily processed vegan and veggie food packs from supermarkets which through their processing are full of salts, sugars, flavouring, preservatives amd god knows what.

The chief nutritionist of the EAT group is “adviser” to a hoard of commercial companies who produce these vegan processed foods, they are literally paying for this research to push people towards their products, and it will work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

WTFs that...... never heard that term

Search Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ganmo wrote: »
    Search Twitter

And have an empty stomach :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭emaherx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭mayota

emaherx wrote: »

Joe Duffy Radio 1 now. Vegan chef on that smokes carrots ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Philip Boucher Hayes has liveline today and he's been slaughtering Michael Healy Rae on that report
    He didn't mention who funded it or the vegan organisation behind it

Would have been interesting if someone had brought it up
    I don't normally fully agree with Healy Rae but I thought Boucher Hayes was pushing a report as fact without balance
    He was giving it the same credence as the
    IPCC reports

alps wrote: »
    How would it be even remotely possible that it would only be at a herd test that you would notice that one third of your herd was missing...?

You'd never know. Could have put a big bunch of yearlings on a farm of rented ground and never looked at them for a month or more.
    Get notice of the test and go to bring them home, only to find no trace of them.....
    The reporting of the tags being stolen only a few weeks before that sounds all kinds of alarms, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

_Brian wrote: »
    The only meat I think should be scaled back is the heavily processed stuff.

Burgers, processed chicken products. And of course the humble sausage, which I love.

Eating good quality cuts of meat is good for humans and it’s delicious.

Heavily processed foods in general are laced with sugar, salt, fats amd a host of stuff we wouldn’t choose to eat if they were presented on their own.

Keep your sausages
    Just have less processed food
    and less industrial methods of food production

Tastier food, better for people's health and better for the environment too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

WTFs that...... never heard that term

All your education and ye’ve never heard of that, Wrangler?

I wouldn't have enough education to sweep the streets

I wouldn't have enough education to sweep the streets.
    I'm not on twitter, waste enough time here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Jb1989

There goes my anonymity. :)

Sorry didn't mean to do that per say, was jus explaining to wrangler after reggie, reggie and numerous others have their anonymity wiped long ago on twitter and various other social media, so your not the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: I deleted a few posts there with identifying info on it. Jaysus, go easy folks and keep an eye on posting identifying info:)

Buford T. Justice

Had health and safety inspection today, had to delay him for a while as one of the kids was ill today. He was very good about it. Walked through the yard and pointed out a few things, l have to get mirrors on my digger, a u guard on the pto on my case. A few of those grids that go under the galvanised slat man holes. Have 2 months to sort it out. Took about an hour

Sounds reasonable enough.