Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Per average calf it turns out that you should feed up to 750 gm of good quality milk replacer. Split over two feeds.
    You'll know for again.

Is grand.
    I’ll read the instructions, I find them clear and easy to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    There was and for the first time ever we had an escapee. Bloody Louth cattle

Just testing your defence mechanisms.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Louth and loud. :)

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

_Brian wrote: »
    Is grand.
    I’ll read the instructions, I find them clear and easy to follow.

Mod snip. Would you give it a break for jaysus sake. The poster was trying to help you and this is the thanks he gets. I'd enough of it several posts ago.
    Thanks. GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,499 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Just testing your defence mechanisms.

Im lacking it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Reggie. wrote:

Tis a bad sign when they are trying to go home so soon

Back in from swimming with kids there and it was snowing away, good frost too, had to defrost jeep windows with water earlier.
    I had the oil turned off last week, had to boost it this morning as house temp was down to 16c

Back in from swimming with kids there and it was snowing away, good frost too, had to defrost jeep windows with water earlier.
    I had the oil turned off last week, had to boost it this morning as house temp was down to 16c

Cold here but no snow or rain.

Currently have few light stock eating off covers on silage field, I was thinking of spreading fert at weekend and let them graze for another week to clear it out.

I’ve seen guys blanket spread with stock on fields so surely it isn’t any harm, just never done it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,292 ✭✭✭Grueller

Currently have few light stock eating off covers on silage field, I was thinking of spreading fert at weekend and let them graze for another week to clear it out.

I’ve seen guys blanket spread with stock on fields so surely it isn’t any harm, just never done it before.

Never do it any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭I says

I was told take stock off the area for at least a week but needs must this evening. Silage ground done last week. I’ll spread on last bit of ground this evening and let stock into it tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

What is the mix ratio for Roundup?
    It says acres on the label. But I'm filling a 50l quad tank, or a budget approx 20 litres, and I don't know what to put into each. Last year I put in 250ml to the quad tank, and it worked, but is it too much?
    Spraying lawn edges, weeds in the yard etc. No ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,860 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It says acres on the label. But I'm filling a 50l quad tank, or a budget approx 20 litres, and I don't know what to put into each. Last year I put in 250ml to the quad tank, and it worked, but is it too much?

There's different types of Roundup with different dilution rates.

It should have how much water it recommends per acre and then work off how much roundup it says per acre and get the %.

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Tis a bad sign when they are trying to go home so soon

Bad breeding I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭Base price

For Roundup/R.Biactive I use 250-300ml to a 16l knapsack sprayer.

A few of the secondary schools used to be like that here year's ago.
    On the farming part I think?

https://www.yesmagazine.org/people-power/the-high-school-where-learning-to-farm-is-a-graduation-requirement-20180509

Clongowes, Rockwell, ??

Was a girl working with the esb crew here today. She was well up to the work, you don't see too many women out on esb crews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Was a girl working with the esb crew here today. She was well up to the work, you don't see too many women out on esb crews

There was 4 female apprentices out of 60 odd in my yr when I was training with them back in the 90s. Had a female training officer when in Dublin. Last I heard she was doing stage plays in Australia.
    On a side note the local coop has just hired a female driver to do the milk collection. There's a problem getting drivers. Coop has moved to a fleet of 6000 gallon tri axle tanks and they're having great difficulty getting into some yards. Fun times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Odelay

I have recently hired several female general operators in a heavy industry. They are now making up close to 10% of our numbers, from 0%. Few heads were turned at first, but all getting along fine.
    Gender, nationality or creed, it doesn’t matter. Once you find someone with the right attitude you’re on the right track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Odelay wrote: »
    I have recently hired several female general operators in a heavy industry. They are now making up close to 10% of our numbers, from 0%. Few heads were turned at first, but all getting along fine.
    Gender, nationality or creed, it doesn’t matter. Once you find someone with the right attitude you’re on the right track.

I think it was something like 10 out of 64 girls in my engineering class back 10yrs ago. They made a fair effort to improve that ratio at the time, offering all female 1st yrs free laptops etc, it didn't really improve the numbers hugely, you gotta balance up the fear of a "male only environment" (which barely existed within it anyways), with a more general lower interest in women in objects/things (which is what engineering is all about).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Timmaay wrote: »
    I think it was something like 10 out of 64 girls in my engineering class back 10yrs ago. They made a fair effort to improve that ratio at the time, offering all female 1st yrs free laptops etc, it didn't really improve the numbers hugely, you gotta balance up the fear of a "male only environment" (which barely existed within it anyways), with a more general lower interest in women in objects/things (which is what engineering is all about).

Had one lassie in my engineering class 8yrs ago. Out of 32 of us she finished second in the class.

Got my hair cut in my neighbours house this evening, got enough gossip to do me until the 6 months when it has to be done again . Have a headache now :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Got my hair cut in my neighbours house this evening, got enough gossip to do me until the 6 months when it has to be done again . Have a headache now :rolleyes:

I done some fencing and dosing for my barber today, gossip does be limited whenever I call in to him for a quick trim. It usually revolves around the weather, cattle trade and whatever few jobs he has lined up for some day I'm passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I done some fencing and dosing for my barber today, gossip does be limited whenever I call in to him for a quick trim. It usually revolves around the weather, cattle trade and whatever few jobs he has lined up for some day I'm passing.
    Got a haircut the last day - €16 I thought it was steep and there was definitely no talk of cattle out of him haha

I'm not going to post or reply to the original post again.

But remember I posted about a crazy exhibitionist vegan who had a penchant for Gardai.
    You may remember she had links up to footage of her covorting with a guard filmed by the guard himself on a porn website.

Buford and LadyHaywire replied to the post.

So anyway an an Garda commission recommended the guard be fined two weeks wages.
    The Garda commissioner Drew Harris doesn't accept this and wants him sacked from the force and wants a letter from the guard in question as to why he thinks he should be allowed continue in the force.
    No letter so far.

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1040515/

(I honestly thought the video was a wind up stunt and not a real Garda and a fake Garda car.)

Idiot.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Got a haircut the last day - €16 I thought it was steep and there was definitely no talk of cattle out of him haha

35 euro for my cut!

Wow.
    €9 round these parts

Wow.
    €9 round these parts

It's free here. I do it myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭emaherx

Can't picture that taking too long some how :D

emaherx wrote: »
    Can't picture that taking too long some how :D

You could be right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That's 2 haircuts!!

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Same here! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,273 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

You could be right

there'd have to be a search fee first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

whelan2 wrote:
    35 euro for my cut!

Because you're worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I cut my OH's hair - we bought a clippers just after we got married (23 years) for approximately €45, so they don't cost too much here!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

A tenner is the going rate around here for a standard trim. If you had a decent customer base it's a handy income imo, there's not that much invested in equipment or facilities. You'd do a good few heads in the day and the more rural male clientele would be mostly cash payer's I'd imagine.

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Because you're worth it

Aye 1 fr bull calf should cover it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Unreal around here with young lads and their hairstyles.
    Worse than the girls any day. They have an app on the phone where they book an appointment with whatever barber they please.
    It seems they're in every few weeks . Some sort of a fade or other is what they look for.

A tenner is the going rate around here for a standard trim. If you had a decent customer base it's a handy income imo, there's not that much invested in equipment or facilities. You'd do a good few heads in the day and the more rural male clientele would be mostly cash payer's I'd imagine.

Yeah I'm investing in a barbers and a chipper!

Unreal around here with young lads and their hairstyles.
    Worse than the girls any day. They have an app on the phone where they book an appointment with whatever barber they please.
    It seems they're in every few weeks . Some sort of a fade or other is what they look for.

Zero fade. Get it myself and I'm early forties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Our local village shop is going very cosmopolitan.
    Dutch packed sugar ( probably grown with ex Co Carlow quota in Germany) and destined for Dubai...

rRpe4fz.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Romaine

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Dutch packed sugar ( probably grown with ex Co Carlow quota in Germany) and destined for Dubai...

I bought 2 litres of milk for 2.75 the other day, just as a tip of the hat to the person that had the balls to charge that.

Muckit wrote: »
    Zero fade. Get it myself and I'm early forties!

Do you get your nose hairs plucked while you're there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Aye 1 fr bull calf should cover it

Or a car trailer load of Jex bulls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I usually go to the hairdressers once a year, get 3 or 4 inches off it, then forget about it until next time. Dye it myself though, not going to stop now as the greys would show:pac:!!

Nekarsulm wrote: »

There's some shelf life on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,307 ✭✭✭tanko

I see some strange goings on in the Journal today!!!

I usually go to the hairdressers once a year, get 3 or 4 inches off it, then forget about it until next time. Dye it myself though, not going to stop now as the greys would show:pac:!!

No grey hair here yet, must be the lack of stress in my life....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Early greys run in my Dad's side of the family. That's my excuse & I'm sticking to it :o

Just on Rare Breed there, they said all the meat they were using was from one 31 month old animal. But they had about 40 fillets on the go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,292 ✭✭✭Grueller

Not 40 yet and a head like a badger on me. Mothers side of the family were all the same. Uncles were all snow white at 35 so I am a slight improvement on them.