Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,857 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Early greys run in my Dad's side of the family. That's my excuse & I'm sticking to it :o

I lost a lot of my hair with ringworm when I was 7. When it grew back it was very fine. No hairs on my arms or legs either. Think it's from having the ringworm so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Kept tipping away these days- very few cows calves.

That job I had that was appealed, I got again in the second interview and it was appealed again- joys of public sector- anyone can appeal at anytime. Still waiting on results.

Back running after a cold- ran my first 10km in 6 years before work so happy with that- 62 mins a time I can improve on.

Going to buy 3 heifer calves to rear as replacements. I sold 3 heifers that had speckle park in their dna and I wanted to replace them. Any advice on setup etc would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

whelan2 wrote: »
    I lost a lot of my hair with ringworm when I was 7. When it grew back it was very fine. No hairs on my arms or legs either. Think it's from having the ringworm so bad.

My mum is the same as you, no hairs on her arms & legs. Must ask if she had ringworm! I got it & proceeded to infect my brother & cousins :pac:
    Going to buy 3 heifer calves to rear as replacements. I sold 3 heifers that had speckle park in their dna and I wanted to replace them. Any advice on setup etc would be great.

If you're buying in the mart, pick ones you like, take down their tags & look them up on the ICBF search to see if they have milky breeding.

My mum is the same as you, no hairs on her arms & legs. Must ask if she had ringworm! I got it & proceeded to infect my brother & cousins :pac:

If you're buying in the mart, pick ones you like, take down their tags & look them up on the ICBF search to see if they have milky breeding.

Ye I was off school for ages. My brother was born and I wasn't allowed near him for a while. I remember going to a specialist in Dublin as I had it quite bad

Buying them off a farmer about 14 miles away-from talking to him, he seems interested in the breed.

It will be my first time rearing calves- I would have helped dad as a teenager with our own calves from the dairy herd but then we used have cows milk.

Nice article in the journal btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

tanko wrote: »
    I see some strange goings on in the Journal today!!!

Like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Do you get your nose hairs plucked while you're there?

No but trims my eyebrows. There was a Turkish lad used to go to that used light up a yoke and singe them and ears. I kid u not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Buying them off a farmer about 14 miles away-from talking to him, he seems interested in the breed.

It will be my first time rearing calves- I would have helped dad as a teenager with our own calves from the dairy herd but then we used have cows milk.

Nice article in the journal btw.

Ah! I misread your post, thought you were going to buy in unknown. Rearing them from a private sale direct to you is much safer. I've not done it in years so I've no tips but you'll be fine. Also thanks :pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

Reggie. wrote: »
    Like?

You mustn't have seen it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

New journalist, that's the second boardsie in the last few weeks...... must be all the experience got here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

wrangler wrote: »
    New journalist, that's the second boardsie in the last few weeks...... must be all the experience got here

Oh lord Jesus!....... not another one! *heads off to buy the journal* :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

We got an embyro implanted into a Heifer 2 weeks ago.
    She's walking around with the tail out, so I'm thinking she's trying to discharge the embyro.
    This started on Day 14 after implant but is going on for 2 days.

If anyone has experience, can you advise
    Do I need to give her an injection?
    Would she be suitable for another go?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I've no ET experience but I can't see slipping an embryo should cause much side-effects. Ring the vet who did it for you for their opinion.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

The photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Heading to David Gray Tonight..

I must be old, I'm printing the tickets :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭tanko

The photo?

Yeah.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

_Brian wrote: »

was that you stumbling around the balcony

good concert

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Mrs cockett

Do people get ringworm anymore?

Yes, but normally on their arms or legs. I don't think it's very common to get it on your head. I must have been rolling around the sheds with the calves when I was young.

Van broke down this morning- I reckon an injector or two. If too expensive I’ll get a car in its place.

yep, adult brother has got it on his face twice in recent years.

His skin is weak and soft like a newborn, mine would be more leathery like and old shoe

was that you stumbling around the balcony

good concert

going tonight, so wasnt me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Ya mustn’t be that old if ya can operate the printer!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭Charliebull

going tonight, so wasnt me..

ah right, seen him last night, great show, brings back a few memories, the age profile of the crowd is very interesting

he has some good new music out too
    enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

We got an embyro implanted into a Heifer 2 weeks ago. She's walking around with the tail out, so I'm thinking she's trying to discharge the embyro. This started on Day 14 after implant but is going on for 2 days.

Could she not be bulling

Landed in the big shmoke, beer and dinner first !

Yeah.

Ah sure there was a couple of write ups on that boardsie. Journal must not be able to figure them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Had a guy doing some drainage here today. He was in the area doing a larger trench a group of us get done every 10 years or so (me thinks more like 15 now). I got him to spend today doing one of my own that wasn't done in at least 50 years. I had to go away and leave him at it, but told him what I wanted done.
    Biggest regret is I didn't take a before pic. Savage the work he did in one day with a 15 tonne.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,929 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ah sure there was a couple of write ups on that boardsie. Journal must not be able to figure them out

Saw that photo and never copped it. Wrong breed, threw me. :D

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Be careful up there or you’ll be on the drugs and shooting people by 8pm.

Cheers, enjoy the concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Let us know how it goes! Going see him in Cork in the Summer.

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Could she not be bulling
    Though that initially, but 2 days
    Waiting for return call and see what they recommend

mayota wrote: »
    Dare to dream ;)
    indeed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

indeed :D

Interesting few weeks ahead:D

For anyone still up tonight, Harold Kingston will be on the Late Late show around 11.10 talking about mental health and how he found last spring. Very open about it and a gentleman as well.

Tough year last year, I was amused this morning listening to tubridy talking about 'burnout' referring to people working 38hr weeks........... what must it have been like for farmers like Harold and others even here, 76hr weeks would have been a short week this time last year

Muckit wrote: »
    Let us know how it goes! Going see him in Cork in the Summer.

Just back home.
    Was a really good night. His new music blends seamlessly into his older stuff so it’s a real treat. He has some energy, but you can see he lives every minute of the gig.

Was it interesting?

He said it as it was, he really seemed to get to the stage that he couldn't go on,
    I actually thought he was in partnership with his brother, but it came across last night as a one man outfit

Was it interesting?

I hit record and fell asleep:o.

I must have a look tonight.

Does anyone have bear claw Tyres on a quad?
    Have a good set of ordinary but can get stuck in wet gap on the out-farm.
    Was thinking of buying a set of bear claw for the back to put on for times & use standard for all other times.
    Does anyone do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Have bear claws on the quad here from new, if I get stuck stick it into 4wd and away I go again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Have bear claws on mine aswell. Didn't stick it since they were put on.

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭sonnybill

+1 good tyres

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

My lawn is choked with moss. What the best way to get rid of it. Spraying? Scarifying?

Any of the lawn fertilisers does a good kill on moss

sreading sulphate of iron on the lawn will kill moss too

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Was just talking to a fella about quad tyres. Could do with some myself. He was saying the same thing are a fecker of a tyre to fit. Any of ye fit yourselfs? What ye pay for the bear claws?

Have you then on front & back or just back?

Would you not be waste having them on during the summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭enricoh

MeTheMan wrote: »
    Was just talking to a fella about quad tyres. Could do with some myself. He was saying the same thing are a fecker of a tyre to fit. Any of ye fit yourselfs? What ye pay for the bear claws?

Put plenty of washing up liquid on them.
    Kneel on tyre, i put a vice grip on the rim and work around to it with a tyre lever.
    There might be a bit of cursing on the first wheel!