Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,930 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Lease was coming to an end, so he feared that the new tenant would open it.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭148multi

The trial was discussed on the Marion Finucan show there now and one of the speakers claimed the Ryan family have a case for compensation on their fathers death. It doesn't usually happen in murder cases because the offender is usually broke but because Quirke is a man of means the option is there.

Did he not transfer all properties and shares into the names of other family members in 2014, and received free legal aid as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Youngest is 10, she makes this savage version of Eaton mess, makes meraingue from scratch with eggs from her chickens.
    It’s awecome.

Taught herself from YouTube.

CD7-FF5-BC-D39-C-42-C5-A605-49-FB40-CA1-E90.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

_Brian wrote: »
    Youngest is 10, she makes this savage version of Eaton mess, makes meraingue from scratch with eggs from her chickens.
    It’s awecome.

Taught herself from YouTube.
    It's great to hear that youngsters are baking and cooking. My two nieces (in their 20's) hardly know how to crack open an egg although my nephew is a dab hand at cooking only because he worked during the summer in my sisters restaurant while he was going through college. My own lads are good cooks but wouldn't have much experience with baking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭Grueller

Base price wrote: »
    It's great to hear that youngsters are baking and cooking. My two nieces (in their 20's) hardly know how to crack open an egg although my nephew is a dab hand at cooking only because he worked during the summer in my sisters restaurant while he was going through college. My own lads are good cooks but wouldn't have much experience with baking.

Iwent to college at just turned 18. I had never boiled an egg and was in a house share off campus, self catering. I had never cracked an egg either. By Christmas of first year I was a passable cook. Necessity is the mother of invention.

Grueller wrote: »
    Iwent to college at just turned 18. I had never boiled an egg and was in a house share off campus, self catering. I had never cracked an egg either. By Christmas of first year I was a passable cook. Necessity is the mother of invention.

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,725 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Just home from a wedding in Galway. Met Pippa O'Connors sister who gate crashed the after drinks in the bar. Herself and some gimp rambled in. No one recognised them which pissed her off no end. She says to me at one stage that "I'm Pippa O'Connors sister", to which, in my inebriated, yet in full control of my senses I replied "Ah, yer one of the travellers". To say she was bullin would be an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Just home from a wedding in Galway. Met Pippa O'Connors sister who gate crashed the after drinks in the bar. Herself and some gimp rambled in. No one recognised them which pissed her off no end. She says to me at one stage that "I'm Pippa O'Connors sister", to which, in my inebriated, yet in full control of my senses I replied "Ah, yer one of the travellers". To say she was bullin would be an understatement.

I had to Google Pippa O'Connor. :rolleyes:

I'd have known who Cian was though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,859 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I had to Google Pippa O'Connor. :rolleyes:

I'd have known who Cian was though.

I think she's married to Brian Ormonde. Another one you'd have to Google who he is...

I was on a flight once with Pippa from Home And Away. Now that's one you'll have to google. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

I was on a fight once with Pippa from Home And Away. Now that's one you'll have to google. :D

You were in a fight with Pippa from Home and Away?

And who won Patsy?

You were in a fight with Pippa from Home and Away?

And who won Patsy?

Ah, she did. She hit me a dirty one down under. :D

Listening to mtv music from the 90's on the tv while I'm doing paperwork, young lad comes in and says , what crap are you listening too :eek: It's a million times better than the disney channel stuff he watches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Listening to mtv music from the 90's on the tv while I'm doing paperwork, young lad comes in and says , what crap are you listening too :eek: It's a million times better than the disney channel stuff he watches.

I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Wrapped up a nice bit of silage yesterday. Mowed on Fri baled on Sunday. Still very heavy bales. Should be nice stuff. Good to make a start anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Checked the lotto numbers from Sat night earlier today & I'd won €275 :D When your luck is in!

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Checked the lotto numbers from Sat night earlier today & I'd won €275 :D When your luck is in!

And I was happy with my 3 euro/ticket win. Nice win. Enjoy it, it may never happen again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Jb1989

MeTheMan wrote: »
    And I was happy with my 3 euro/ticket win. Nice win. Enjoy it, it may never happen again!

Knowing her, it will

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Knowing her, it will

:D Don't jinx me now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Farmers get a bit of stick for some of their loads when towing, at lest they don’t try anything like this. Seen today on the n25

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

A junction with a hill up to it could be interesting for that outfit, you'd be hoping for a clear road and a rolling start. The tail swing on that would be fairly substantial and I'd be confident that a speed wobble could have the tail wagging the dog very quickly.

It reminds me of an elderly man landing to the mart one day with a clean 3rd generation Land cruiser and a 14 foot Ivor Williams with 2 decks of hogget's. The bay in which the sheep are unloaded has a nice incline up to it coupled with the actual doorway only being about 8 foot wide meaning it can test the reversing skills of a novice. Our man wasn't too handy in reverse and had spent a good 5 minutes riding the clutch of the jeep before I came upon the situation.

He had it well reddened at this stage and offered that I might be better able to maneuver it than him. Usually I'd oblige in such situations but I was slow to take over in case he'd then blame the clutch burning out on myself. I told him repeatedly to stick it into the low box and therefore he could creep backwards seeing as he wasn't able to keep the trailer straight at speed without riding the clutch. This didn't seem to register with him for whatever reason and eventually he got it back enough that we could let off the sheep.

Having spent a good 10 minutes unloading and penning the sheep the smell of a burning clutch still hadn't dispersed. More for the sake of conversation I asked him how he found the cruiser and that I was thinking of upgrading to a similar model. I was informed that he knew nothing about it having only the loan of it for the day as his own van was in having the clutch done. Some lads shouldn't be given a push bike never mind anything with an engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Is ash die back notifiable? I was mooching around out-farm this afternoon waiting on a cow to calve and noticed a lot of trees seem to have it - the leaves at the tips of the branches are black and sad looking.
    Cow calved:) If it's a heifer I will call her Meg, maybe call it, if a bull, Harry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

KatyMac wrote: »
    Is ash die back notifiable? I was mooching around out-farm this afternoon waiting on a cow to calve and noticed a lot of trees seem to have it - the leaves at the tips of the branches are black and sad looking.
    Cow calved:) If it's a heifer I will call her Meg, maybe call it, if a bull, Harry!

Yeah that's it. It's supposed to be country wide and unstoppable now at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

No, but you should take a photo and notify the Dept of where you suspect its presence.
    Reporting Suspect cases
    Forest owners, forest nursery staff, and members of the public are asked to be vigilant for the disease and report (with photographs, if possible) any sites where there are concerns about unusual ill health in ash, to the Forest Service, Department of Agriculture, Food & the Marine, by e-mail forestprotection@agriculture.gov.ie or by phoning 01-607 2651.

More info below.

https://www.agriculture.gov.ie/forestservice/treediseases/ashdiebackchalara/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭148multi

Odelay wrote: »
    Farmers get a bit of stick for some of their loads when towing, at lest they don’t try anything like this. Seen today on the n25

That baby would be 4.5--5 tonnes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭fepper

Storm Hannah blackened all budding leaves on trees so it might be a result of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

fepper wrote: »
    Storm Hannah blackened all budding leaves on trees so it might be a result of that

Could be the frost from the last few nights too

Flat out here all weekend, never usually work Sunday or bank holiday but was round home and weather was great.

Sat for half our with heavy heifers just taking in the birdsong and the beautiful evening.

0-C0-E1141-6434-4-F82-B8-CF-207-DC3-DD14-AC.jpg

36-F0-FDFE-6-A8-C-46-B8-8564-65784-F2-CC479.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Who do Man City have to play in their last game?

Brighton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

tonight was the Pool's last hope so.... great goal tho by it must b said it came from an unlikely source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

tonight was the Pool's last hope so.... great goal tho by it must b said it came from an unlikely source

It's not over till the final whistle blows though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Goal of the season when you think of the scorer and the significance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

fepper wrote: »

Didn't think of that. I will watch for a wee while to see if they recover, which I'm assuming won't happen if it's die back. Will also take another mooch around the fields this week and see if it is in all of them.
    I didn't want to go too far from the cow yesterday, even if she was getting along nicely on her own. The calf ran straight up to me this morning to say hello, pity I didn't have tags in my pocket.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Is Donedeal after getting very unpopular? There are less than 200adds in the farming section for the whole country!

Department inspection done. Have 30 days to tag some animals that have 1 tag. Everything else OK.

Is Donedeal after getting very unpopular? There are less than 200adds in the farming section for the whole country!

It seems to have rebooted and lost all the previous ads.
    The bank machine is working on overtime giving everyone their money back for lost ads.

I have stitches on my arm & a tick managed to get right in under the plaster & set up shop right next to the stitches :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Such a lovely mental image at lunchtime!!!

Muckit wrote: »
    Such a lovely mental image at lunchtime!!!

You're welcome :P

I have stitches on my arm & a tick managed to get right in under the plaster & set up shop right next to the stitches :mad:

How you haven't got Lyme's disease by now with your tick stories is beyond me.

You must have the immunity of a Boots shop.

How you haven't got Lyme's disease by now with your tick stories is beyond me.

You must have the immunity of a Boots shop.

Ha! I must remember that one.
    Maybe it's like redwater with cattle, grew up with them so it doesn't bother me. Or I could be a missing link and my blood holds the cure 😂

Department inspection done. Have 30 days to tag some animals that have 1 tag. Everything else OK.

BTW cards have to be signed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

I've a grease nipple here not taking grease, if I had any hair I'd have it pulled out by now.
    Its in the sprocket of an old fransgard hay turner which I use for gathering rushes. It's completely solid no grease at all getting in.
    New nipple, cleaned out hole with drill bit and bit of wire, wd40, diesel, hammer, blowtorch... Next step lose the plot and reverse it to the edge of a cliff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭emaherx

I've a grease nipple here not taking grease, if I had any hair I'd have it pulled out by now.
    Its in the sprocket of an old fransgard hay turner which I use for gathering rushes. It's completely solid no grease at all getting in.
    New nipple, cleaned out hole with drill bit and bit of wire, wd40, diesel, hammer, blowtorch... Next step lose the plot and reverse it to the edge of a cliff.

Blow it out with airline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

emaherx wrote: »
    Blow it out with airline?

Would i need a secure airline fitting that threads in to hole or just put it over the hole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Baled a paddock that went a bit strong. 22 bales of nice clover grass. Have 112 bales made so far here at home

This game is not good for the heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

I've a grease nipple here not taking grease, if I had any hair I'd have it pulled out by now. Its in the sprocket of an old fransgard hay turner which I use for gathering rushes. It's completely solid no grease at all getting in. New nipple, cleaned out hole with drill bit and bit of wire, wd40, diesel, hammer, blowtorch... Next step lose the plot and reverse it to the edge of a cliff.

Put petrol into an old grease tube should work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

This game is not good for the heart

not a soccer fan by any stretch but this is some going in fairness