Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Not the time to be out for a shot at a grey-crow or a pigeon! :D

My niece is running around with an army helmet on. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

dodo mommy wrote: »
    Iooks like you got a great kill on the rushes what did you use on them?

Used gallup 360 with some fairy liquid. Mixed at 450ml to 20 litres water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,380 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Help!
    How do I get boards/F&F on my new phone, it's a iphone 6s. My old Nokia lumia died during the week and I decided to buy the 6s as it was a handy size and €50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Base price wrote: »
    Help!
    How do I get boards/F&F on my new phone, it's a iphone 6s. My old Nokia lumia died during the week and I decided to buy the 6s as it was a handy size and €50.

I use the safari find it best

What's the safari? TBH I'm having difficulty with the 6s as it is soo different to the Nokia way of doing things iykwim.

In the bottom of the screen L-R
    Phone, Mail, Safari (internet) & probably Music or Camera

In the bottom of the screen L-R
    Phone, Mail, Safari (internet) & probably Music or Camera
    If I'm understanding this correctly, I google boards.ie to get the site. Can I then link it to the home page?

I save as favorite

How do you save it?
    Sorry but the iphone is very different from the nokia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,981 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

How do you save it?
    Sorry but the iphone is very different from the nokia.

This is when the kids come in handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,547 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

dodo mommy wrote: »
    Iooks like you got a great kill on the rushes what did you use on them?

Mcpa.

I save as favorite

When you’re logged into boards
    If you touch the screen a row appears
    Select the box with the up pointing arrow
    Then add to favorites & rename if you want

whelan2 wrote: »
    This is when the kids come in handy

Youngest came home this evening from Galway for a couple of days but he stopped off in the city to catch up with a few friends. Maybe I should wait until tomorrow and get him to sort it out :o

When you’re logged into boards
    If you touch the screen a row appears
    Select the box with the up pointing arrow
    Then add to favorites & rename if you want
    Sorted. Thanks for the help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

no sign of Whelan... she prob behind the couch not able to watch the 'pool..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭zetecescort

poor enough game. Liverpool trying to hold their lead from the 2nd minute while Spurs have had more of the possession yet have barely troubled the Liverpool keeper

Ynwa

I can breathe now

I saw the 9 o'clock news yesterday (could've been the day before) where a couple who were getting married had agreed to show the match live during their reception. The groom was a Liverpool fan and the bride/her family were ManU fans whilst some of the guest were Spurs fans.

I wonder how the wedding party is going now - Liverpool 2/Spurs 0

Wasn't a great game but a great result

Where can we watch the Katie Taylor fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Where can we watch the Katie Taylor fight?

Can probably stream it online, is it not on at stupid o’ clock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

1APAoGg.jpg

AND breathe out.....

a mention too for Cork's Caoimhin Kelleher who was part of Liverpools squad tonight

It's always great when your team wins.

https://www.dublingaa.ie/ :D

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

I saw the 9 o'clock news yesterday (could've been the day before) where a couple who were getting married had agreed to show the match live during their reception. The groom was a Liverpool fan and the bride/her family were ManU fans whilst some of the guest were Spurs fans.

Funny. Just had a snapchat from a friend sitting at a wedding with the match on the projector screen. Must be same wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Lots of people caught with weddings on today, even poor Harry Rednapp.

a mention too for Cork's Caoimhin Kelleher who was part of Liverpools squad tonight

He's highly thought of by Liverpool, himself and Kamil Grabara, a polish keeper are having a right battle for the No 3 spot. He's expected to go out on loan next season, I think.

Katie Taylor won too. Fair play to her

Fairly controversial it seems by the reaction online, many thinking the Belgian did enough to win

Has anyone used Flashmate heat detection?
    What do you think of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Fairly controversial it seems by the reaction online, many thinking the Belgian did enough to win

Stayed up to watch the fight.....Katie lost in reality but money talks in Boxing and the promoters wanted a Katie win badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Stayed up to watch the fight.....Katie lost in reality but money talks in Boxing and the promoters wanted a Katie win badly.

Fook, and that's the view of an Irish guy. What does the truly neutral boxing fan think?

I didn’t get to watch it as internet acting up at home- the photos of her today say she got a hammering but the other woman looked battered too.

Married six years today, we had hoped to go to the hurling but small lady was sick during the week and with changeable weather. Won’t get to donbeg got the jazz either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭enricoh

Was out in dublin yesterday for a 40th. Went to camden street around 6 to get a decent seat.

Went to 3 pubs before we got a spot. Must have been a thousand people in the one we ended up in. Unreal! I'd say the pubs were loving Liverpool in the final, 95% Liverpool i reckon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Repairing a fence today, along a roadside, its impossible to get anything done.
    Its the least productive place you can ever work, every header in the parish pausing their Sunday driving for a chat.

Repairing a fence today, along a roadside, its impossible to get anything done.
    Its the least productive place you can ever work, every header in the parish pausing their Sunday driving for a chat.

Don’t tell me,ask me.
    We were in donbeg for the jazz only to get a call that a cow was stuck in a drain. A neighbor called into the house- had a cup of tea and then told my 75yo mother.

She was in hysterics and went up to check while yer man stayed drinking tea.

I rushed back and not one of the cattle were anywhere near a drain or even had dirty hooves.i was fit to be tied. I reckon he wanted to unsettle the mother so she would plant near him so he could get to plant.

he will get a pfo tomorrow.

Don’t tell me,ask me.
    We were in donbeg for the jazz only to get a call that a cow was stuck in a drain. A neighbor called into the house- had a cup of red ea and then told my 75yo mother.

I rushed back and not one of the cattle were anywhere near a drain or even had dirty hooves.i was for to be tied. I reckon he wanted to unsettle the mother so she would plant near him so he could get to plant.

What a dick!

Steel toecap boot in the posterior to help him on his way out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Don’t tell me,ask me.
    We were in donbeg for the jazz only to get a call that a cow was stuck in a drain. A neighbor called into the house- had a cup of red ea and then told my 75yo mother.

I rushed back and not one of the cattle were anywhere near a drain or even had dirty hooves.i was for to be tied. I reckon he wanted to unsettle the mother so she would plant near him so he could get to plant.

Some piece of work there, it’s incredible how mean and low down people can be.

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Don’t tell me,ask me.

What am I missing here, I don’t get it at all??

What advantage to him was there by upsetting your mother??

TheFarrier wrote: »
    What am I missing here, I don’t get it at all??

What advantage to him was there by upsetting your mother??

He’s just an odd ball. He reckons he won’t get to plant his mountain unless I were to plant ours.

He’d be giving out to the neighbors that our cattle would be on the road. (They never are but if they look In the direction of the road, he’s on about it)

Also there was no way he would have seen our cattle without going onto our land. When I meet him, I’ll spell it out to him to mind his own business.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Maybe you do have a cow in a drain, only it's not your cow!!!

Go ask him to show you where he saw it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I had a wandering bullock belonging to a neighbor for over a week back a few years ago. I had turf, silage and work to contend with so the returning the bullock wasn't that high on my list of priorities. His owner was elderly and only had 5 cattle in total and despite herding them daily he never noticed the count was 1 short. It took another neighbor to eventually informed him of the trespasser and the bullock was returned that evening.

Back in the days of bullock premiums another neighbor had a heifer with a bullocks card and drew down the sub before selling the heifer. It was only at the mart that the wrong sex card was discovered and he was told to go into the DVO and get the mistake rectified. He duly did this and informed my father and others in the pub the next night how nice the girl he dealt with was, that it was a common occurrence and not to worry about it. All was forgotten about until the next round of subs were drawn and suddenly the girl in question was only a tramp, the wrongly drawn subs had been deducted from the latest round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,644 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Yea, then push the cnut into it !

Maybe you do have a cow in a drain, only it's not your cow!!!

He is my only neighbour with cattle. Nothing in the drain.

I had 2 donkeys a few years back- one died so the neighbour said he’d put the remaining one with his donkeys- I gave him bales of hay for all the donkeys for the winter. In spring, He let the donkeys into a bog meadow. He hadn’t a drain fenced and my donkey got stuck in it and nearly drowned. He got his brother with a quad and pulled her out and left her on the edge of the drain. This was at 5pm on a Friday. He rang me at 2pm on the Saturday to tell me about it. That night was the worst night all year. By the time I went up to the donkey, she only had a few breaths left in her and didn’t survive. Pure simpleton didn’t see the urgency of calling me as I wouldn’t have called a vet on a weekend. (I would have)

_Brian wrote: »

Yea, then push the cnut into it !

The auld pair bought a house locally after they got married and lived in it for a few years before building on the home place. The house in question is only across the hill from us but is situated in a vein of very marginal land. A local character had several adjoining farms taken on conacre which included a few acres of bog.

The man in question always had plenty of stock and grass would be in short supply, therefore he stocked every acre including the bog. A cow in a boghole was an almost daily occurrence and the parents house was the nearest help available​. Our man would arrive in the evenings to herd, discover a beast sunk and call upon Dad for assistance before going in search of more help.

One particularly memorable instance I'm often told about took place in the early 80's during a prolonged spell of dry weather. Water was in short supply and the cattle ventured further into the bog in search of a drink. This resulted in a big horned SHx cow buried to her neck in a hole. Dad was duly enlisted and set off across the bog armed with a long rope, he couldn't get solid footing within arm's reach of the cow and eventually​ managed to lasso her head from a distance.

Our man had went in search of more help and managed to assemble a gang of willing volunteer's. Pleased with his efforts he took a shortcut back across the bog to the cow and Dad. He was so delighted with the promise of help he failed to watch the terrain and ran straight into an adjoining hole. Being an older man and unable to swim the focus changed from the cow's dilemma to his own. The end result involved Dad pulling the rope back off the cow and using it to extract her owner from his own peril before once again haltering the cow and awaiting reinforcements to pull her out. The tale ended happily with no lasting harm to man or beast and I'm told the bog was securely fenced off shortly after and remains so to this day.

Job done for another year.
    Q8BVYN1.jpg

There a fine even looking bunch of ewes Buford, what's the breeding behind them? We've only a small flock and there's a mix of everything from buying bundles in the mart. I think having a uniform ewe type would mean more even type lambs that would sell better.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Job done for another year.
    Q8BVYN1.jpg

Did ours today too,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,860 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Soil farmer of the year announced across the water.

https://farmcarbontoolkit.org.uk/news/soil-farmer-year-2019-winner-announced