Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was it 1996 that Wexford won the hurling all Ireland last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Probably looking for someone to milk the cows:D

Ah he'd be on here today if he had cows to milk! :pac:
    #slavery.

Ah he'd be on here today if he had cows to milk! :pac:
    #slavery.
    Probably enjoying the last few months of freedom :D

whelan2 wrote: »

Yep and against Limerick.

We got married in 1997, the priest who married us was the parish priest in Bree. He was going on in his sermon about how Wexford would win it again in 1997 :rolleyes:

Double win for Wexford today in the Leinster final.

Minors and seniors.

Loch Garman Abu.
    Think the Wexford women won something today too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

ahh...... that feeling you get when your Kilkenny cousins forget to ring you to tell you how the match went:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Double win for Wexford today in the Leinster final.

Minors and seniors.

Loch Garman Abu.

And Supermac opened his first outlet in Wexford this weekend..... So that's triple win!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭Grueller

Has Davy any input with the minors?

No. He would have done a few bits here and there out of goodwill kind of.
    The minor is down to a guy called James Shiel. He is with this group since U13 development squad level. He is still only 38. I played against him many times and he is an absolute gent. I am thrilled for him to be involved and rewarded for his commitment over the last few years.

Ya

Think the Wexford women won something today too

Leinster Intermediate football title. Trained by Wexfords former football goalkeeper and former all star nominee Anthony Masterson.

Probably looking for someone to milk the cows:D

Thank God for sucklers today. If I had a milk cheque to spend I would be drinking for another few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

2yo butty heifer off ZLL that I was going to put in freezer because she was too small was scanned in calf that autumn. Was watching her like a hawk because both the vet and I were 100% certain it would be a section. She was missing this morning- a lovely red limo heifer at foot. Great start to the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I'd marked a cow for culling on ICBF end of last week - she didn't calve when expected (end May) and was showing no sign of being in calf, so added to the list for vet to check and then the road. This morning she is bagging up. Never missing, no bulls visiting, no bull calves near her, so immaculate conception appears to have happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Lol.
    Apparently farmers dont really giva f*ck and are all in it for the money ... :rolleyes:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057989394&page=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

That's because they put their toasters in the cupboard.

And bake scones every Thursday and up at 6.30 every morning.

From the article
    One historian posits that Protestants’ propensity to be ‘more sparing with the doughnuts’ may be one reason for their lower mortality rates.

I can tell ye here and now that's a large load of manure anyway :D

Stop off at any of the towns in the North and go find the wee bun shop

There will be a bakery groaning under the weight of several tons of all types of baked goods - from scones - to cakes, pastries, wee buns and sausage rolls. Nearly every town has at least one.

At the end of the business day there is hardly a crumb left unlicked in these establishments.

We have absolutely nothing like them down here.

If the historians idea was true - they would all have died out in Norn Iron along time ago ;)

Northern Ireland is not included in the cso records though.

Northern proddies are their own breed.
    They've forgotten how to bake the scones..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Northern Ireland is not included in the cso records though.

Northern proddies are their own breed.
    They've forgotten how to bake the scones..

They do great tray bakes though, god they love a tray bake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

And bake scones every Thursday and up at 6.30 every morning.

https://youtu.be/0j0OF-TlyAY

_Brian wrote: »
    They do great tray bakes though, god they love a tray bake.

The article goes on generalizations.

But sure when we're on that.
    The teas after any church events here would have all home baking. The occasional shop boughts are creeping in now though.
    The harvest thanksgivings here would be filled with home grown fruit and vegetables which used to be donated to local special needs centre.
    That's kind of changed now with the home veg growers gone to be replaced with flowers instead. Society is all the one mostly now.

Although maybe it's the hymn singing and organ playing that's good for the longevity...

I'd be a Christmas and Easter and funeral fella myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,051 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Is it ok to buy hay fron a farm depoulated 3 months ago and made laat week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

The wifi at home has stopped working altogether. Currently onto 3 on twitter. Tis a nightmare.
    What do the rest of yee have?
    There’s only two of us using it here and I rarely use it as I’ve an unlimited data phone deal thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

No cupboards here. Presses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭I says

Tis all that exercise ye get marching from July till August every year.

I says wrote: »
    Tis all that exercise ye get marching from July till August every year.

I used to march myself in the local St.Patrick's day parade.
    Had a navy cap and all.
    "Sure and steadfast".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Had a navy cap and all.
    "Sure and steadfast".

Just another youth organisation modelled on military/naval lines :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Willfarman wrote: »
    No cupboards here. Presses.

Aye presses here too but the Protestants call them cupboards!

Brought the youngest lad to the cul camp this morning. We had to register before last Friday loads of messages sent out that there would be no registrations today. A load of parents arrived this morning that hadn't registered and were turned away. A bit of do you know who I am from some of them but they were all sent home :) I'd say some were left stuck for childcare today..

Presses here too and dressers.

I only realised this evening while listening to the commentary of the homecoming of the Wexford teams to Wexford park that one of the players spreads the slurry on the farm here.

One of the players has a Leitrim father as well. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Yeah and we have the dinner at dinner time and tae at tea time, non of this supper nonsense :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Is it ok to buy hay fron a farm depoulated 3 months ago and made laat week?

Did it get any slurry, Kev? And was it bought in TB or from wildlife?

I'd be a bit happier buying silage than hay, at least any bacteria would have the silage acids going against them rather than nothing in the hay?

I could be totally wrong in that but that's my reasoning on it.

never ever heard of such a thing as a cupboard. Presses the pantry and the dresser. Supper yes.
    The northern nutters doing the all marching wouldn’t have a great life expectancy I’d say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

And where did, Old Mother Hubbard live?
    We used cupboards and presses, must be my mixed heritage.

Oh true that. Now I think back on it didn’t she go to her cupboard to fetch her dog a bone when she bent over rover took over and gave her a bone of his own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭148multi

Willfarman wrote: »
    never ever heard of such a thing as a cupboard. Presses the pantry and the dresser. Supper yes.
    The northern nutters doing the all marching wouldn’t have a great life expectancy I’d say!

All that marching maybe it's their form of yoga, could be very therapeutic.

Water John wrote: »
    And where did, Old Mother Hubbard live?
    We used cupboards and presses, must be my mixed heritage.

All this fancy furniture stuff - we didn't have that kinda thing when I was a pup.

Spoilt ye are! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭mengele

What are the early indications of straw prices this year?

Had a navy cap and all.
    "Sure and steadfast".

Boy's Brigade lad!!!! My daughters were GFS when they were younger!

KatyMac wrote: »
    I'd marked a cow for culling on ICBF end of last week - she didn't calve when expected (end May) and was showing no sign of being in calf, so added to the list for vet to check and then the road. This morning she is bagging up. Never missing, no bulls visiting, no bull calves near her, so immaculate conception appears to have happened!

Out early this morning to check all before work and there she was licking a grand honey coloured calf. Didn't disturb so don't know if bull or heifer. What sort of farmer am I that can't tell an in-calf cow, and worse, a cow that is literally on the verge of calving.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Out early this morning to check all before work and there she was licking a grand honey coloured calf. Didn't disturb so don't know if bull or heifer. What sort of farmer am I that can't tell an in-calf cow, and worse, a cow that is literally on the verge of calving.

I do some haulage to marts locally and was asked to carry a few cows for a man one day. The pickup time was agreed over the phone and I arrived in the yard, the cow's were in a shed and we went to load them. There were 3 dry cow's and one springer with her "time up", I noticed the springer was empty looking and had like a dried piece of cleanings hanging from her. I said to her owner that cow looks to have calved but wasn't sucked, he said she couldn't be as he was watching her a few times a day. It wasn't anything to do with me so I headed for the mart with the load and forgot all about it tbh. A few hours later I met the man in question and he told me that he took a spin around the land on the quad after I left. Sure enough he came across what was left of the calf, he'd be a fairly capable operater and still got caught out.

Boy's Brigade lad!!!! My daughters were GFS when they were younger!

Yep.

There were three companies in the branch I was in at the time. Think it's finished with all the other distractions now.
    Marching, earning badges, soccer and skittles and more marching, attention, at ease and so on. We'd have given the irish army a run for their money at the time with our elaborate marching skills!

Bet yours didn't have to do any marching. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Yep.

There were three companies in the branch I was in at the time. Think it's finished with all the other distractions now.
    Marching, earning badges, soccer and skittles and more marching, attention, at ease and so on. We'd have given the irish army a run for their money at the time with our elaborate marching skills!

Bet yours didn't have to do any marching. :pac:

Do we have to start talking Marching in July 😂

mengele wrote: »
    What are the early indications of straw prices this year?

It's hard to know yet till the first few sales start.
    The only plus for buyers is crops are heavier than last year.

QUICK MARCH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Some protestant locals here Im told,go to the North every 12th to March and toast the Queen on Xmas day,I wonder how common the latter is in our sovereign independent pluralist state?
    Or the former for that matter
    It must be dying out
    Although one lady at an ICA cake competition was overheard calling one of the cakes papist

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Some protestant locals here Im told,go to the North every 12th to March and toast the Queen on Xmas day,I wonder how common the latter is in our sovereign independent pluralist state?
    Or the former for that matter
    It must be dying out
    Although one lady at an ICA cake competition was overheard calling one of the cakes papist
    What have I started now?? :pac:

Speaking for myself I don't know anyone personally that'd want to be associated with the Orange lads bar maybe one through marriage and even they come south for July.
    The Queen would have no stand in this household that much is for sure. But then we're common as muck fairweather farming prods with a fairbit of intermarriage.

Maybe them rich business nothing to do wickla prods are a different story?

Ignorance in all groups does makes for a fertile imagination though.

Although you'd have to admire the comradory and organization and music playing ability of the lodges.
    Organization skills that some say are lacking in our own farming organizations down here where everyone pulls in opposite directions and achieves nothing.