Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

The answer to the first part is it is unlikly that you will get away with the 100 euro. I think 90% of funds raised by central councils goes back to the Counties and the clubs off the top of my head.

Volanteerism is about volunteering not about worrying what happens. TBH it annoys me the way people refer to the GAA as the grab all association. I am involved in a club. Yes your main team at what ever level will swallow most of you money . But right across the club expenses are horrendus. It is not just insurance and players insurance

We are a dual club. Slitor bill for the club will run into 1K/year and Footballs 3-500 euro. We no longer pay for broken hurleys or physio bills. Yes we have a club debt but as well we have pitch maintenamce. This year it cost about 3K to sort an issue with the plumbing in the dressing rooms and that was for plumbing supplies as it was an older player that did the job for nothing.

One thing I see about the GAA the local lad or girl that plays into there late teens and early twenties usually stays away from cigerettes and drugs. Mind you they nearly all will take a drink.

Interesting that you didn't reject the sad inference that the officials on the day tried to get a draw to take advantage of the extra money generated in a replay......as if they were on a bonus or something. More BS like when I'm accused of being in factories pockets.
    It's a great organisation, and if the local clubs are well subsidised from central funds then it's in everyones interest.
    You get cynical and I've learn't here on boards to volunteer for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

wrangler wrote: »
    Huge amount of voluntary workers too, there's people in your area probably giving ten times your contribution in kind, you're very lucky if you're getting away with throwing in €100.
    Whether GAA is a grab all or not would depend on how much of the central funds comes back to local clubs or is it another organisation cashing in on local people working for nothing
    I used to supervise kids in another organisation and found it hard not to think it was just a free babysitting service

BTW, I would agree that the extra nine minutes injury time were well justified

€220 here annual fee for 4 of us. Then probably at least another €150 towards fund raising. The membership fee includes the weekly lotto

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

How did the CAO offers work out for those of you that were involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Well fcuk it anyway. Worst feeling in the world waking up the morning after a championship loss whether club or county. Those 3 seconds before ya realise what happened the day before were nice.☺. We didnt play at all. But we only played 10-15 mins at our best in the last 5 games. When you dont dominate games then you are left vunerable. Limerick were excellent and you wouldnt begrudge them their win. It would have been daylight robbery if we clawed it back. 8 mins was justified as Limerick got cute in last 25mins and slowed it down as much as they could. Owens was a disaster. But he made as many daft decisions against them as us in fairness. Fair play Limerick, the hungrier team won on the day. We will be back. Gaillimh Abu!!

How did the CAO offers work out for those of you that were involved?

All good here. He got his first choice in dundalk / ballyhaise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,936 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

And all the poor Limerick fans that couldn't get tickets.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Player insurance isn't worth the paper its wrote on.

Herself broke her ankle and tore ligaments back 6 years ago playing with her club. She missed 10 weeks of work because of it.

Insurance covered 1/2 the physio only and that was after a fight with the ladies association in Croker for it. Club turned around then and asked her to train kids as she trains the 2 school teams and has all the first aid and childrens welfare certs. I told her there wasn't a chance. There was only one text from a club official in the 5 months she was out.

Young lad here will not be encouraged to play GAA but will be more pushed towards soccor and rugby due to the fact I think the full organisation in ireland is more into give and take.

The carry on of the Gaa this year over Kildare Gaa and newbridge, Wicklow in augrim moved to Laois, Miller game in cork and the love they have for Dublin just shows its not a level playing field

The answer to the first part is it is unlikly that you will get away with the 100 euro. I think 90% of funds raised by central councils goes back to the Counties and the clubs off the top of my head.

Volanteerism is about volunteering not about worrying what happens. TBH it annoys me the way people refer to the GAA as the grab all association. I am involved in a club. Yes your main team at what ever level will swallow most of you money . But right across the club expenses are horrendus. It is not just insurance and players insurance

We are a dual club. Slitor bill for the club will run into 1K/year and Footballs 3-500 euro. We no longer pay for broken hurleys or physio bills. Yes we have a club debt but as well we have pitch maintenamce. This year it cost about 3K to sort an issue with the plumbing in the dressing rooms and that was for plumbing supplies as it was an older player that did the job for nothing.

One thing I see about the GAA the local lad or girl that plays into there late teens and early twenties usually stays away from cigerettes and drugs. Mind you they nearly all will take a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭White Clover

Herself broke her ankle and tore ligaments back 6 years ago playing with her club. She missed 10 weeks of work because of it.

Insurance covered 1/2 the physio only and that was after a fight with the ladies association in Croker for it. Club turned around then and asked her to train kids as she trains the 2 school teams and has all the first aid and childrens welfare certs. I told her there wasn't a chance. There was only one text from a club official in the 5 months she was out.

Young lad here will not be encouraged to play GAA but will be more pushed towards soccor and rugby due to the fact I think the full organisation in ireland is more into give and take.

The carry on of the Gaa this year over Kildare Gaa and newbridge, Wicklow in augrim moved to Laois, Miller game in cork and the love they have for Dublin just shows its not a level playing field

I'd say a lot of your issues there lakill is to do with club finances.
    When I was playing, all physio was paid for, there were no exceptions.
    We fundraised for the club regularly, I think some of this money was used to part pay physio bills. If the money isn't in the club, they can't pay it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

From looking at the reply, It looked like Galway very much out numbered limerick.

My brother lives in limerick and his wife a secretary of one of the clubs there and tickets were very scarce there.

We fundraised for the club regularly, I think some of this money was used to part pay physio bills. If the money isn't in the club, they can't pay it out.

What does the insurance cover so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Speaking as someone that ends up in a&e every year over football the club here always covered any medical expenses that came about. Never a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'm guessing that there is an excess like most other insurances? This tab is usually picked up by the club. Others here will know more about the running of a club and club finances.

I have just used the school insurance to cover kids sporting injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Everyone probably should be made aware of what it covers, I was caught out by another organisation and won't be caught again.
    If you read this it's mainly public liability, and there's a benefit fund, but reading that ,players with dependants should be topping it up with their own personal accident insurance in case they are out of work for mths. Voluntary workers have to be protected so public liabilty is vital, society is very litigious and parents very fond of their innocent little children :D .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Plenty of lads went up that shouldnt be there. Lads only go to the big day. Lads from mayo etc up there that wouldnt lift a hurl ever

Th GAA should introduce a loyalty scheme. The more games you go to, the more points you accumulate. Those on higher points get first choice for tickets. It would encourage more fans to go to other games and that in itself should cover any costs in running it. I hate to see real fans denied tickets for the final.

Just back from Limerick city, a lot of sore heads there. Dealing with one guy and he looked wrecked. He doesn't even drink, just tired. It can be a draining day, between the travelling and shouting and roaring.:D

Th GAA should introduce a loyalty scheme. The more games you go to, the more points you accumulate. Those on higher points get first choice for tickets. It would encourage more fans to go to other games and that in itself should cover any costs in running it. I hate to see real fans denied tickets for the final.

Just back from Limerick city, a lot of sore heads there. Dealing with one guy and he looked wrecked. He doesn't even drink, just tired. It can be a draining day, between the travelling and shouting and roaring.:D

don't they already have it. if you buy the league tickets your guaranteed a all Ireland ticket if your county gets that far ?

just back from the doctors after getting a few stitches removed

The nurse told me not to be picking at it . sure that's like telling someone not to put the wrappers back in the sweet box at Christmas .

Its grand saying it , but that's where the warning normally is left, deaf ears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just back in the door from holidays, it says allot when I find driving in France more relaxing than driving in Ireland !

I find allot of drivers have no spacial awareness, no ability and no respect for other road users.

Anyway, been a great growth of grass here, whole way up from Rosslare to Cavan looks much greener indeed.

Always wonder after years of going to France would we enjoy it still but we went to an area we hadn’t been to before and loved it, possibly go straight back to same place again next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

I always taught France was well known for there lack of driving skills.

Eldest lad was telling me about term time in college. Christmas holidays are from 14th December to 29th of April apparently :)

Towed a 27ft exhibition trailer from Sevenoaks Kent in uk to holyhead with the jeep back in February. 5/6 lanes of traffic around London version of m50. Think it’s called A25. Not 1 issued and was given extra space and even though I was slower at 50mph people would allow you in and out of lanes.

Got from Dublin port to the entrance of the port tunnel and a lad in an artic tractor unit (without trailer) blew me out of it for doing the 80kph in tunnel. He was on NI yellow plates.

For those who don’t know the distance.

Kent to Holyhead is about 490/500km
    Dublin port to port tunnel. About 2/3km

_Brian wrote: »
    Just back in the door from holidays, it says allot when I find driving in France more relaxing than driving in Ireland !

I find allot of drivers have no spacial awareness, no ability and no respect for other road users.

Anyway, been a great growth of grass here, whole way up from Rosslare to Cavan looks much greener indeed.

Always wonder after years of going to France would we enjoy it still but we went to an area we hadn’t been to before and loved it, possibly go straight back to same place again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

_Brian wrote: »

Sounds like s proper holiday. What part did you visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

gozunda wrote: »
    Sounds like s proper holiday. What part did you visit?

About 40 minutes from Nantes. Pornic is the name of the town, nice seaside town. 18 nights away.

Lovely crossings on the ferry both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

My car is going in for repairs 2mora morning and Enterprise are providing a car for the two days it’ll take.
    Anyone been in this situation before, is it like for like or will I end up driving a Fiat 500 for two days?!

My car is going in for repairs 2mora morning and Enterprise are providing a car for the two days it’ll take.
    Anyone been in this situation before, is it like for like or will I end up driving a Fiat 500 for two days?!

Depends who is paying the bill. Normally like for like. If insurance paying they normally go for cheapest option but tell the person doing up the rental you want like for like at minimum and get it delivered and collected from you

Insurance company is footing the bill till they get the money from the lad that did they damage.
    Tis a fair sickner, the cars only four months old!!

Insurance company is footing the bill till they get the money from the lad that did they damage.

Ouch

Sure like for like at minimum so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,994 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

wrangler wrote: »
    Interesting that you didn't reject the sad inference that the officials on the day tried to get a draw to take advantage of the extra money generated in a replay......as if they were on a bonus or something. More BS like when I'm accused of being in factories pockets.
    It's a great organisation, and if the local clubs are well subsidised from central funds then it's in everyones interest.
    You get cynical and I've learn't here on boards to volunteer for nothing.

90% of funds raised are directed back to counties. Some is in the form of a direct grant to counties and more in the form of grant aid. But for clubs you must raise day to day funding.

On the eight minutes extra time there is 30 seconds/sub. There was eight in the second half that is four minutes. There was two injuries in the Limerick FB line and the Galway goalie(which took about 2 minutes) as well as the blood injury for Galway.

If we all gave up there be no local soccer club, boy scouts, swimming clubs etc. It takes time but you get out of it usually what you put into it. But if you volunteer only for things you want something out of one can often end up bitter when it is pointed out .

Yes player insurance is not worth the paper it is written on. There is a huge responsibility on team mentors to make sure that refs record injuries on match reports. If not there is no cover. My own opinion is that any player should have some form of medical insurance. When I told 1 or 2 lads they taught I had two head the way they looked at me.

You will learn the hard way about Soccer and Rugby. Local soccer is a joke as any smaller local teams that coach young lads are poached by bigger clubs. If you are near Irish league teams they all have academys where they churn through young players from about 14-18 years of age and dump them then. You be buzzed with that there will be scouts from West Ham or Wolves at this event or that and make sure your young lad is there. Two years ago a neighbouring family was going on a holiday of a lifetime to Orlando. His 10 year old daughter was in a final at the same time and they were told stories about Irish national team trials etc. They near bought the malarkey.

As for Rugby little different young lads churned by provincial academys, too small to play the modern game but there to make up the numbers and learn too late about that.

Yes the GAA makes mistakes but there are less paid officials than in any other sport. While clubs may be paying a few bob to coach or trainer there is no under the table payments to players and other officals like soccer and rugby.

Its the shear cost now. Success costs money. There is about 5-600 houses in the parish. two schools with about 50ish boys and girls/year. We field teams in both Hurling and football from U6 to adults in all age group. We have two adult hurling teams and one football team. Costs in the region of 30-35K to run the club. No physio, medical costs or hurley's are covered.

They have you can buy a ticket for national League and first round of the championship. If you attend half+1 of the league matches you are entitled to a final match ticket if you county is involved. However a lot of these loyal supports will not buy it as well loads are not club members either. Friend told me a story about a few years ago. The local club gave a few of these lads tickets to a final. They were doing a fundraiser in the local pub a month later and the same lads would not buy a raffle ticket to support the club.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

That is a sickner!! I got a brand new avensis when's mine was wrote off. I was petrified driving it as mine was an 06 only worth 3k!! I gave it back early as I was petrified someone else would scratch it!! It was nice thou-nearly gave me notions.
    Wasn't on my insurance thou.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

If the car is going to show as damaged/repaired you could get compensation for future loss of value come trade in time. Know it was done in a similar situation with a fairly new car. Be worth asking the dealer about, he might have experience there.

Odelay wrote: »
    If the car is going to show as damaged/repaired you could get compensation for future loss of value come trade in time. Know it was done in a similar situation with a fairly new car. Be worth asking the dealer about, he might have experience there.

Never thought of that. Thanks, Odelay!

Gotta 181 black clio. Not the worst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Gotta 181 black clio. Not the worst!

Don't damage it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭148multi

Reggie. wrote: »
    Don't damage it
    yet

Just got a call from my mate in Zimbabwe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »

Meant to ring him back last week. How's he doing anyway?

My brother got one as well this evening. Be wary it begins with 263

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

after getting one here too, hes busy tonight!!

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

after getting one here too, hes busy tonight!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Same here, was quick to answer as was expecting calls from abroad. Child's voice saying hello and then cut off. Obviously didn't phone them back. Sickening puckers preying on the elderly I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,725 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Was that who was calling me with the long stupid number. Reminded me of this

Odelay wrote: »
    Same here, was quick to answer as was expecting calls from abroad. Child's voice saying hello and then cut off. Obviously didn't phone them back. Sickening puckers preying on the elderly I reckon.

We get a serious amount of them here. A lot from 'Microsoft' too.....maddening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

We got rid of the house phone. A blessed relief!!!

Thought you were on about the two dairy farmers in Kenya for a while Whelan, was quare confused for a few posts then :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Zimbabwe rang me too. He is getting around

Anyone watching the lovely girls competition ?

How do you manage for broadband ?

No 3G here so it’s landline broadband or frustration.

And fibre is about 3/4 km away. Hope it’s with us soon. Can’t wait to get it

We got rid of the house phone. A blessed relief!!!

Thought you were on about the two dairy farmers in Kenya for a while Whelan, was quare confused for a few posts then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I don't download much or watch netflix etc so tether off the phone with a 15gb limit. Free Youtube though so can watch that all I like:pac:
    Think I'll get a Three sim & pop it into a wifi router here though, unlimited on it though dunno how reception is now, changed from them a few years ago when their reception went lousy after the O2 switch.
    How do you manage for broadband ?

No 3G here so it’s landline broadband or frustration.

And fibre is about 3/4 km away. Hope it’s with us soon. Can’t wait to get it