Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭mayota

Butford if you knew them they love hardship. There about five brothers of them all with sons who run the farms, so it's a complete menagerie.
    They rent quite a bit of ground all across the country and once they were moving lambs in a big 22ft trailer, to save time two of the sons were dosing the lambs in the trailer whilst being pulled along the roads by the tractor. :D

Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭TL17

4 tickets for Pope in Phoenix Park available. Orange route. Pm if you interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

TL17 wrote: »
    4 tickets for Pope in Phoenix Park available. Orange route. Pm if you interested

Is there marching involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

So who is going to see Popey? Think I might go see him in Estonia next month. He's to say mass in a square just beside my brothers place, think it only holds around 5k people so much smaller setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,225 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

So who is going to see Popey? Think I might go see him in Estonia next month. He's to say mass in a square just beside my brothers place, think it only holds around 5k people so much smaller setting.

Will the blessings be less diluted there, more bang for your buck. :rolleyes:

I see we've a special bus for the weekend.

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2018/08/24/protestant-bus-to-drive-wherever-the-****-it-wants-this-weekend/

Oh dear boards has censored one of the words in the website address and the address won't work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

wrangler wrote: »
    Will the blessings be less diluted there, more bang for your buck. :rolleyes:

I see we've a special bus for the weekend.

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2018/08/24/protestant-bus-to-drive-wherever-the-****-it-wants-this-weekend/

Oh dear boards has censored one of the words in the website address and the address won't work

Have to go to Estonia regardless, so as well to go do something slightly cultural. Would beat standing around like a spare prick for 6 hours in the rain at phoenix park anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

In London for a week- my eldest sister is getting married. Like limerick in the hurling, we are waiting a long time for it. We had all lost hope and about 2 months after dad dying, she met a fella.
    Do ya think I can sleep in a strange bedroom? Can I feck.

Have a couple of sisters. At the time I got hitched none were married. Guest at the wedding said to my dad - 'have yiz any daughters?' 'I do' says my dad - 'I could do you a good deal' ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Waiting for him to visit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Starter went on mini digger. For some reason the design of starter the solenoid gives trouble and sticks on and burns out.

Dad took off the Burnt out one this morning and this evening I managed to fit it myself. Pure delighted with myself and it works.

He is Going to rewire the ignition on Monday and put in a “krank” button and the new starter now has a facility that if the solenoid sticks on it will light on a warning light. So he said he will do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Starter went on mini digger. For some reason the design of starter the solenoid gives trouble and sticks on and burns out.

Dad took off the Burnt out one this morning and this evening I managed to fit it myself. Pure delighted with myself and it works.

He is Going to rewire the ignition on Monday and put in a “krank” button and the new starter now has a facility that if the solenoid sticks on it will light on a warning light. So he said he will do that.

Hmmm another light for someone to ignore :D Would you not hear the starter noising if it was still engaged ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,936 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Il papa sta arrivando in Irlanda.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Heating on tonight for the first time since May, will relight the aga next week, it has been off since mid June. 4 months to Christmas eve ;)

Early summer.
    Early autumn.

Early winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Bullocks wrote: »
    Hmmm another light for someone to ignore :D Would you not hear the starter noising if it was still engaged ?

No I didn’t hear it. Guess the sound proofing is good on it

Just after watching Michael Harding there on 'Brendan O'Connor's Time Out'. Fierce interesting guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Early summer.
    Early autumn.

Early winter.

Hopefully not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hopefully not

Will probably just skip a season or two as has happened the last couple of years....

Hopefully not

Fail to prepare.

Prepare to fail.

gozunda wrote: »
    Will probably just skip a season or two as has happened the last couple of years....

It ain't friggin going to skip winter though.

Spring might be a thing of the past.
    Autumn may be looking at borrowed time but winter the hoor is like a flock of horny ewes looking over the ditch at a field of silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,205 ✭✭✭emaherx

It ain't friggin going to skip winter though.

Spring might be a thing of the past.
    Autumn may be looking at borrowed time but winter the hoor is like a flock of horny ewes looking over the ditch at a field of silage.

Ah to be fair last winter was fairly mild, it was just the pre-winter and post-winter that shafted us!

emaherx wrote: »
    Ah to be fair last winter was fairly mild, it was just the pre-winter and post-winter that shafted us!

You should have been with me in the parlour in March with juggling between units freezing up the second it was off the cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭I says

Last of the turf going into the shed today

Did I mention I hate the bog got turf delivered this year still a hateful job

You should have been with me in the parlour in March with juggling between units freezing up the second it was off the cow.

Exactly..... When the post-winter came and bit us

I says wrote: »
    Last of the turf going into the shed today

Did I mention I hate the bog got turf delivered this year still a hateful job

Can't beat the smell of the turf fire though

Exactly..... When the post-winter came and bit us

If it's 10ft of snow and -5 it's winter.

If it's 24 c and the sun is splitting the stones it's summer.

I thought this calendar farming craic was done away with now?

If it's 10ft of snow and -5 it's winter.

If it's 24 c and the sun is splitting the stones it's summer.

I thought this calendar farming craic was done away with now?

Yes but we had temps in the teens in December which was my original point. What season was it then?

Spring.

Spring.

But the days were too short and there was still no useful growth. :D

Here's a radio interview with David on his follow up book "Growing a Revolution"

I'm actually waiting on this book to be delivered as well as another "The hidden half of Nature".

https://www.voiceamerica.com/episode/108420/saving-our-soil-with-david-r-montgomery

He's hit the nail on the head I feel on the link between soil health diversity and livestock health and ultimately human health.

It's a must to listen interview for livestock and tillage farmers.
    There's a broad range of topics covered.
    It's a long interview nearly an hour long.

On a side note I haven't dosed this year's calves yet and no ill effects yet. There's been no need for it yet based on observation I feel.
    No pot bellies and no coughing and growing as well as other years imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

The remedy is called nightcap, enjoy

No service after 11pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

No service after 11pm

Next time bring your own bottle opener :p

What happens to the Pope's skoda after all this is over?

Does it become a relic?

Happy Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Grueller

Up in Croker here to see the head buck cat. Wife got tickets. She would never get them for next sunday instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

What happens to the Pope's skoda after all this is over?

Does it become a relic?

We'll JP 2nd had a Mk2 Escort, and it's ended up in a museum.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    We'll JP 2nd had a Mk2 Escort, and it's ended up in a museum.

It's probably the only time when somebody buys a brand new car and it increases in value after they buy it.

He usually travels in a Fiat.
    Fiat Ireland won't be happy.

Hopefully the money if it's sold will go to charity.
    Amnesty Ireland perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Happy Saturday.
    Excellent choice of jersey:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

It's probably the only time when somebody buys a brand new car and it increases in value after they buy it.

Amnesty Ireland perhaps?

Doubt it Amnesty will get anything. They were organising the survivors protest.

The waxworks museum had the old Old popemobile in storage. They are looking to give it out for charity events now. Charity, not stag and hen parties, which were the usual request.

Excellent choice of jersey:pac:

Yup. They didn't play well tonight. Lucky to get the 3 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Anyone got or seen a pallet of Growmax lately? Is there 4 or 2 bags on a pallet?

A pallet got delivered today sometime and the old man maintains that there is 2 bags on it. It should have been 4 x 375kgs bags as far as I know. Before I let loose on the phone on Monday I'd need to be sure :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Yup. They didn't play well tonight. Lucky to get the 3 points
    Just 35 wins left to get now.....:D

Doubt it Amnesty will get anything. They were organising the survivors protest.

The waxworks museum had the old Old popemobile in storage. They are looking to give it out for charity events now. Charity, not stag and hen parties, which were the usual request.

Ah I was codding about Amnesty Ireland.

They should nearly scrap those vehicles if they're going at that craic hiring them out.
    I'm not of that religion but you could see how people of that religion would get offended if those vehicles get to be abused.

Top of the table. Monday night's game should be good.

Anyone got or seen a pallet of Growmax lately? Is there 4 or 2 bags on a pallet?

A pallet got delivered today sometime and the old man maintains that there is 2 bags on it. It should have been 4 x 375kgs bags as far as I know. Before I let loose on the phone on Monday I'd need to be sure :-)

Did he take the plastic cover off first or has he xray vision?

Always good to check, I ordered 12 tonne of dairy nuts a few weeks ago, only got 11.5 t was billed for 12 tonne. I rang and got my credit note, you shouldnt have to check these things

There was a lad sitting beside us might as well have been a commentator, pain in my head now, game was only on bt sports, was never so happy to hear the final whistle. Even at half time he was blabbing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Have a cow due to calf next couple of days. Look out today and there is a heifer drinking her. Have seperated them but don't know how long she had been drinking her for.
    That heifer has jumped to the top of the sell pile as it's a pain in the arse habit.
    So my question is will the cow have enough colostrum for the calf when she calves?? Or will I have to source some?

Just finished baling the straw. About half the number of bales from same field last year. Never seen a crop so short before.

Time for a few pints. :D

L1985 wrote: »
    Have a cow due to calf next couple of days. Look out today and there is a heifer drinking her. Have seperated them but don't know how long she had been drinking her for.
    That heifer has jumped to the top of the sell pile as it's a pain in the arse habit.
    So my question is will the cow have enough colostrum for the calf when she calves?? Or will I have to source some?

I had a similar problem before. I posted about it here. Cow calved away and calf was grand. No health problems at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Amnesty Ireland perhaps?

Just saw a photo from Dublin.
    Where was the Skoda?
    That was a Dodge Ram pickup he was standing in.

(Are jokes about Second Cummins allowed? :D )