Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

A handy farm office. 🄠ðŸ´

https://youtu.be/x4NU9KwpZog

I would feel very clostraphobic and paranoid in there! Just close the hatch and block the air hole.... bye bye!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Reggie. wrote: »
    Like it. Next winter project

this makes me wonder what this winter has in store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

ganmo wrote: »
    this makes me wonder what this winter has in store

Me trying to bury a 40ft container for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,785 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Muckit wrote: »
    I would feel very clostraphobic and paranoid in there! Just close the hatch and block the air hole.... bye bye!!!

Ah sure that's America for you. :pac:

The only practical use for it is as a tornado shelter.
    The extra space is handy though...

Me trying to bury a 40ft container for the craic

You'll have General de Chastelain after you. :p

Muckit wrote: »

Ya have to find the airhole first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ya have to find the airhole first

When you find the air hole, a pipe from the oul 20 TVO would have them out in short order!

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    When you find the air hole, a pipe from the oul 20 TVO would have them out in short order!

A clever fella would have multiple pipes plus a few fake ones :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

They gave me guns, I'm staying here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

They gave me guns, I'm staying here :D

Your grouping is all over the place.

TITANIUM. wrote: »

Bit of a kick to the ak47! Definitely much more interesting than a shotgun for birds.

Interesting indeed. There a dependable weapon to be fair. They reckon that there's 1 AK for every 35people in the world. Remember short controlled bursts.

I kept knocking my earmuffs off! Tactical Glock was much easier to use, found the pistol tricky too.

That's some list to choose from. I'd have had to have had a go at the Smith and wessen 44.

It was just to fill some time! I was better grouping the shots with the Glock. Wanted the Smith&wessen too but went for the sniper instead.

What range did ye go out to on the sniper rifle?

I think it was around 50m. The full length of the range anyway.

Range manager would tear her apart

Harder due to the shorter barrell

Range manager would tear her apart

Aaaaah nooooooo. I'd be grand :D
    Was a thunderstorm here last night, torrential downpour for a bit but lovely and sunny today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Back in from mowing the lawn, it’s cold out there.

Aaaaah nooooooo. I'd be grand :D
    Was a thunderstorm here last night, torrential downpour for a bit but lovely and sunny today.

Did you see the Pope??

That's tomorrow!

I'll keep an eye on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

That's tomorrow!

And you testing out guns...at a target with a hat on & posting it on social media.... Best of luck darling, nice knowing ya!

Odelay wrote: »
    And you testing out guns...at a target with a hat on & posting it on social media.... Best of luck darling, nice knowing ya!

Haha! People are not even allowed big cameras or umbellas in the square tomorrow!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Breakin' men's hearts as usual I see:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭White Clover

A very accurate account of events in my opinion.

Yea but you'll still hear accounts of "shur we can't predict the weather" from quarters who think that this is all an attack on the ploughing match.
    They were told the day before to cancel it as there was a weather warning out and that traffic travelling to the site would be at risk. But potential lost revenue and the fact that they never experienced a storm during the ploughing before and bravado and ignorance clouded judgement.
    But they were warned and actually said they'd go above this authority's head to the government if the day was cancelled on the Tuesday evening.

Hopefully lessons are learned now but somehow I doubt it.

If you suffered badly this year because of drought, raise your hand.

Then watch this.
    https://youtu.be/2xZ7nfC7BQk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭I says

All ditches around the place being cut since yesterday will be finished this evening place looks lovely and tidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Where do you get the stock numbers on ag food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,865 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Got my power washer back. They said to use kerosene in it. No charge to fix it

whelan2 wrote: »
    Got my power washer back. They said to use kerosene in it. No charge to fix it

Why kerosene. That runs hotter than diesel

The diesel is too hard to ignite apparently

Interesting. Might put a Bit of pressure on the engine internals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,933 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Where do you get the stock numbers on ag food?

From my notes;

For old date - eg 2 years ago
    Login / Animal Identification and movement
    View herd profile
    Change date / update / update

Herd Profile Note - Login with Microsoft Edge to create PDF

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

From my notes;

For old date - eg 2 years ago
    Login / Animal Identification and movement
    View herd profile
    Change date / update / update

Herd Profile Note - Login with Microsoft Edge to create PDF

There use to be a table for the calendar year of stock numbers for all the ages for each month to work out nitrates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If your pressure washer heats the water, is the kerosene for the burner only or for the actual engine driving the pump?

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If your pressure washer heats the water, is the kerosene for the burner only or for the actual engine driving the pump?

Haven't a clue. Going to put half and half kero and diesel in it for the time being. There's only one fuel tank on it, I'd say its for the burner heating the water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Haven't a clue. Going to put half and half kero and diesel in it for the time being. There's only one fuel tank on it, I'd say its for the burner heating the water

If it’s just for heating water then diesel doesn’t burn as clean and clogs up the jet etc, diesel has lubricant added to keep injection pumps going, kerosene doesn’t. That’s why kids running jeeps on kerosene add vegetable oil to the tank, to give some lubrication to the mix and save the pump.

I’m presuming it’s an electric hot washer ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

_Brian wrote: »
    If it’s just for heating water then diesel doesn’t burn as clean and clogs up the jet etc, diesel has lubricant added to keep injection pumps going, kerosene doesn’t. That’s why kids running jeeps on kerosene add vegetable oil to the tank, to give some lubrication to the mix and save the pump.

I’m presuming it’s an electric hot washer ??
    I wouldn't use vegetable oil, use 10w40 as a lubricant. Sometimes when I run out of green for the farm jeep we use kerosene with oil. OH adds a coffee cup to 20 litres. It's a 98 pajero so the engine may tolerate the mix better than modern diesel engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

There use to be a table for the calendar year of stock numbers for all the ages for each month to work out nitrates.

If you have icbf you can do it on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Base price wrote: »
    I wouldn't use vegetable oil, use 10w40 as a lubricant. Sometimes when I run out of green for the farm jeep we use kerosene with oil. OH adds a coffee cup to 20 litres. It's a 98 pajero so the engine may tolerate the mix better than modern diesel engines.
    Thanks to a pm from another poster my above post reads like I use the jeep for road use/work on green diesel or kerosene/lubricant oil.
    The jeep hasn't been on the road, tested or taxed for 5 years and is only used on the farm for carrying meal, fencing, herding that type of thing.

We have another jeep that is used for road work and it runs on white diesel, is tested, taxed and insured. Occasionally we get stopped and dipped by C&E with the lorries so we are well aware of our legal responsibilities :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Base price wrote: »
    Thanks to a pm from another poster my above post reads like I use the jeep for road use/work on green diesel or kerosene/lubricant oil.
    The jeep hasn't been on the road, tested or taxed for 5 years and is only used on the farm for carrying meal, fencing, herding that type of thing.

We have another jeep that is used for road work and it runs on white diesel, is tested, taxed and insured. Occasionally we get stopped and dipped by C&E with the lorries so we are well aware of our legal responsibilities :)

The customs officers have agents everywhere, even on Boards :P

Yea it pays well.

Business idea..

https://medicalxpress.com/news/2018-09-exposure-farmyard-bugs-immune-overreaction.html

You'd pity them oul townies all the same with their sniffling and allergies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Kinda graphic and frightening thread from Twitter but interesting how they used technology to track down the place where it happened.
    https://twitter.com/BBCAfrica/status/1044186344153583616?s=19

Kinda graphic and frightening thread from Twitter but interesting how they used technology to track down the place where it happened.
    https://twitter.com/BBCAfrica/status/1044186344153583616?s=19

Nothing new there unfortunately