Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,783 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

With the subtlety and poise of an elephant to the current topic.....

I'm announcing I'm starting on this.

20181013-134111.jpg

20181013-134220.jpg

(Comes free with a 10 ton purchase of 10.10.20).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Not sure I'd be taking pointers from a lad that makes hay in the driest summer in 40 years and leaves them out in over a foot of aftergrass!!

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

Muckit wrote: »
    Not sure I'd be taking pointers from a lad that makes hay in the driest summer in 40 years and leaves them out in over a foot of aftergrass!!

Maybe they're implying the grass grow so quick after baling they didn't have a chance to get the bales out. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,859 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Great day for it

Finished the cubicle sheds. There will be pints tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Was it the nitrites in the roots that caused it? I remember reading something about horses dying by eating grass near to railway lines which had been loose soil. And something in the roots had poisoned them.

Really feel for him though, what a kick in the teeth :(
    They probably died from sand colic. A friend lost a mare with it years ago. She had it on livery in a yard that weren't great with grass management and the place was eaten bare. It's common enough when horses are forced to graze down to the butt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Finished the cubicle sheds. There will be pints tonight

Collected a few collectables today myself

? VERY cryptic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

? VERY cryptic

Perhaps he was driving a bus.

? VERY cryptic
    He got himself a vintage tractor/machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Something from Ian McCollum's channel?

https://youtu.be/VAABMvmaGWQ

Base price wrote: »
    He got himself a vintage tractor/machine?

Yep. Got these for around the house. At best guess these were built around the 1900s. So could be near or over 120 years old

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭The Rabbi

Yep. Got these for around the house. At best guess these were built around the 1900s. So could be near or over 120 years old

A coat of waste oil on the auld trailer and she'll blend in the finest.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Unfortunate news for that lad that lost 11 cattle to nitrate poisoning.

From agriland.ie:
    Oliver noted that the field the cattle were grazing was reseeded this year and that it was supposed to be cut for silage. But the crop never really took off, so the decision was taken to graze the field.
    The Kilkenny beef farmer explained that as they were eating the grass, they were pulling the whole plant out of the ground and the lab results found gravel in the abomasum.

What is nitrate/nitrite poisoning?

During periods of drought, the amount of nitrate in the soil can increase greatly because of:
    • a lack of leaching;
    • reduced nitrate uptake by plants;
    • decomposition of organic matter.

When a drought breaks, nitrate uptake by plants may be high, especially in the first week after rain. If hungry animals are allowed free access to such plants, stock losses from nitrate/nitrite poisoning may be disastrous.

Plants:

Certain weeds, various root crops, cereal hays, and even immature cereal crops can also cause these poisonings. More than 80 specific plants are known to cause nitrate/nitrite poisoning. Some of these plants are listed in Table 1.

463729.png

Plant factors

Under certain soil and environment conditions, plants can contain high levels of nitrates.

Factors that facilitate uptake of nitrate by plants include:
    • use of nitrogen-containing fertilisers;
    • low soil sulphur and molybdenum;
    • areas where stock have congregated
    and urinated/defaecated (e.g. yards).

Factors which cause nitrate to accumulate in the plant include:
    • drought;
    • cloudy or cold weather;
    • herbicide application – especially
    phenoxy herbicides such as 2,4-D;
    • wilting.

The amount of nitrate in plant tissues also depends on:
    • plant species;
    • stage of maturity;
    • part of the plant.

Nitrate concentrations are usually higher in young plants and decrease as plants mature. Most of the plant nitrate is also located in the bottom third of the stalk, hence the leaves contain less nitrate and the flowers or grain contain little to no nitrate.

Hay and silage

Hays made from cereal crops, especially those grown under drought conditions
    and cut while ‘sappy’, can develop toxic nitrite levels when they heat up. Oaten hay is particularly risky and becomes poisonous if previously dry hay is dampened by rain or snow some time before feeding out.
    Hays made from nitrate-rich materials contain almost as much nitrate as when
    first made, unless some is converted to nitrite by heating or mould.

Silage contains less nitrate than its parent crop due to the fermentation process that it undergoes. Forages high in nitrate can lose 40%–60% of their nitrate content during fermentation.

Water

Water can contain toxic levels of nitrates. High-risk sources include:
    • water from deep wells fed by soil
    water from highly fertile soils;
    • condensed water from ventilating
    shafts in piggeries where there are
    high ammonia levels in the air;
    • fluids draining from silos containing
    materials rich in nitrates.

Water contaminated by fertiliser, animal wastes or decaying organic matter may also be a source of toxic levels of nitrate.
    Marginally toxic levels of nitrate in water, combined with marginally toxic levels of nitrate in feed, can also lead to poisoning.

Hungry stock

Hungry stock are at far greater risk than animals receiving regular and good
    fodder. This is because hungry stock consume more toxic feed, and, in the case of ruminants, their rumen microbes will not have had time to adapt to converting the nitrite to ammonia. For example, it takes about twice as much nitrate to kill a ruminant when the nitrate comes from forages that are eaten over a long period of time, compared to that which is consumed very quickly.

Ruminant animals receiving carbohydrate rich fodders tolerate high nitrate and
    nitrite levels better than those that are not. This is because energy from carbohydrates (grain) helps rumen microbes convert nitrite to ammonia.

Animals that are stressed or in poor health or condition will also be more susceptible to nitrate/nitrite poisoning.

Adaptation or acquaintance

Frequent intake of small amounts of high nitrate feed increases the total amount of nitrate that can be consumed by ruminant animals without adverse effects. This is because rumen microbes are adapted to deal with the increased nitrate content of the feed.

Source: http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/111003/nitrate-and-nitrite-poisoning-in-livestock.pdf

The linked article contains more info on how the poisoning works and on preventative measures, including:

Another option for reducing the risk of nitrate/nitrite poisoning is to harvest and feed high-nitrate forages as silage. This is because nitrate levels are reduced by the fermentation process when feed is ensiled.

Harvest these feed crops at least 7 days after rain or cloudy weather, preferably later in the day.

Harvesting close to maturity is also advised to reduce the risk of nitrate
    toxicity (although this means reduced digestibility of the feed).

Raising the cutter head to selectively avoid stalk bases is another method of reducing the risk of poisoning.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Very nice. Thankfully the hay rake has it's seat attached. Unfortunately the finger bar is missing a few bits.

There is a company in the UK that specialises in vintage seats.

Very nice. Thankfully the hay rake has it's seat attached. Unfortunately the finger bar is missing a few bits.

There is a company in the UK that specialises in vintage seats.

Yeah ill ad them as i go along. Seats were the first thkng to be removed ususlly. Apparently the mower is rare enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Yeah ill ad them as i go along. Seats were the first thkng to be removed ususlly. Apparently the mower is rare enough

Had you to pay for them?

When l read the story first l was wondering was it malicious. Had someone contaminated the water with a bag of urea. But it appears it just a freak and unfortunate consequence of the drought. So many ifs and buts but all comes back to the drought. Yeah he was running them tight but wouldn't have been an issue any other year.

Had you to pay for them?

Of course

Old broken ring feeders, rusted out single spinner and trailer split rims here if they're any good to yeah. No charge

When l read the story first l was wondering was it malicious. Had someone contaminated the water with a bag of urea. But it appears it just a freak and unfortunate consequence of the drought. So many ifs and buts but all comes back to the drought. Yeah he was running them tight but wouldn't have been an issue any other year.
    I lost a few in the spring with fertiliser in the meal, death would have been more or less instant after ingestion. It's simple how things happen

Old broken ring feeders, rusted out single spinner and trailer split rims here if they're any good to yeah. No charge

Some people just have no interest in Irish history

What make is it?

I'm old enough to remember when my Grandad used both implements. As a young child I couldn't be kept away from any aspect of farming (old habits don't die) and the safest place for this 6/7yo girl during the harvest was astride holding onto the hames :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Of course

Didnt think they'd be worth anything.
    Have the fingerbar mower and a plough here.

What make is it?

I'm old enough to remember when my Grandad used both implements. As a young child I couldn't be kept away from any aspect of farming (old habits don't die) and the safest place for this 6/7yo girl during the harvest was astride holding onto the hames :D

Both are a pierce. Made in wexford. No plates back then so hard to date. Built sometime between 1890 and 1916

Didnt think they'd be worth anything.
    Have the fingerbar mower and a plough here.

You'd be very surprised what the right fella would pay for them. I was lucky. Huge interest in the mower but none in the hay rake. Must be sought after. I got it as I wanted both as opposed to only one

Johnstown Castle In Wexford is where l seen and appreciated all that. But l didnt feel like l needed to bring any of it home! But each to their own! One man's ....and all that

There's another great museum outside Castlebar is it The national museum of irish life? Very good. I would hoghly recommend.

There's also derryglad museum not far from bsloe/athlone. Very good for smaller memorabilia.

There's a four span round roof shed on the farm here with a "Thompson Bros. Wexford." enamel sign, built in 1908.
    The pillars are 17ft from ground to timber/roof gutter. The sheets are bolted together with lead paint dabbed on the inside/underside of the bolts. The timbers were treated with red oxide.
    It's still in use today storing straw four bales high and as good as the day it was built in 1908.
    This was put up in the days before artic lorries delivered sheds to the site and teleporters with safety cages used in erection.

"Garveys, New Inn" was the sign to have on your shed around here. Inverted triangle, very distinctive. But would be more late 70s /early 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

"Garveys, New Inn" was the sign to have on your shed around here. Inverted triangle, very distinctive. But would be more late 70s /early 80s

Still going I think , there are alot around us aswell . They must've made a few pound back then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Kelly’s foundry here in Laois was the one around here in Laois. My father in law worked with them for a while erecting sheds. He travelled as far as donegal putting them up.
    Farmer had to dig holes for uprights. No electric drills back then either

greysides wrote: »
    Freak sort of thing. Only ever came across it where cattle drank silage run off. And that was as a student.
    That probably explains why I found 2 six month old calves dead in the yard in September 1988.
    They were amongst a bunch of calves that we used to creep feed in the yard. They must have drank the overground run off from the pit before it went into the tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭newholland mad

That probably explains why I found 2 six month old calves dead in the yard in September 1988.
    They were amongst a bunch of calves that we used to creep feed in the yard. They must have drank the overground run off from the pit before it went into the tank.

But then a few years back wasn't all the go to feed effluent back to stock. A neighbour set up a nose pump and they helped themselves. By the sound d's of things he had a lucky escape.

Youngest is heading to the US on Monday for a short holiday. Since he is based in Galway he is flying out from Shannon cause apparently the flights are cheaper. He said he is going to get a bus from Galway to Shannon. I've always dropped the lads to Dublin airport when they headed away on hols/to Aus and kissed them goodbye.

Anyway long story short, I'm going to head to Galway on Monday morning to surprise youngest and drive him to Shannon. He lives off Bohermore and his flight is at 3pm. With the traffic gridlock in Galway what time would I need to leave at to arrive in Shannon at 12/12.30. Also what time would I need to be arriving in Galway off the M6 on a Monday morning.

BTW he is traveling alone and going to meet up with a "girl friend" that he met through College.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Youngest is heading to the US on Monday for a short holiday. Since he is based in Galway he is flying out from Shannon cause apparently the flights are cheaper. He said he is going to get a bus from Galway to Shannon. I've always dropped the lads to Dublin airport when they headed away on hols/to Aus and kissed them goodbye.

Anyway long story short, I'm going to head to Galway on Monday morning to surprise youngest and drive him to Shannon. He lives off Bohermore and his flight is at 3pm. With the traffic gridlock in Galway what time would I need to leave at to arrive in Shannon at 12/12.30. Also what time would I need to be arriving in Galway off the M6 on a Monday morning.

BTW he is traveling alone and going to meet up with a "girl friend" that he met through College.

In and around 1 hour 15 mins to Shannon, all motorway. Galway is madness between 7 and 9. Maybe aim to be at his place at 9:30. Hope he has a great time:D

This is a tough reply to make and I hope you don't take it the wrong way.

I wonder is this a good idea?

You obviously know your son better than anyone but you could end up becoming the interfering Irish mammy who gives him no personal space.

As I say you know your own thing. I just threw it out there to be devil's advocate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Just waking up in a Galway hotel with a very sick head.. Self inflicted...

Traffic yesterday afternoon was mental. Apparently a lot of people stayed away Fri on account of the storm.

Always really enjoy chilling out here always a great atmosphere in the city.

This is a tough reply to make and I hope you don't take it the wrong way.

I wonder is this a good idea?

You obviously know your son better than anyone but you could end up becoming the interfering Irish mammy who gives him no personal space.

As I say you know your own thing. I just threw it out there to be devil's advocate.
    That is a very good point and one that I'm very aware of.
    Anyway my plans are gone as he already bought himself a return bus ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

That is a very good point and one that I'm very aware of.
    Anyway my plans are gone as he already bought himself a return bus ticket.

Send a pack of condoms with him just to make sure no surprises

Heard a lovely mammy thing a few weeks ago. A couple were heading to a wedding and the womans mother was minding the kids. The mammy made some sandwiches for them for the journey. When they opened the sandwiches there was a 50 euro note in with them.

I'm 40-45min from Galway city and always love going in. Like stepping into a different world. Very multicultural and always some sort of festival on. Have tickets for Dylan Moran @comedy carnival at Halloween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

I'm 40-45min from Galway city and always love going in. Like stepping into a different world. Very multicultural and always some sort of festival on. Have tickets for Dylan Moran @comedy carnival at Halloween.

Have ya being in the city at 2 in the morning different world all together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

The sister is heading into him aswell , she got me tickets for yer man from the hardy bucks but I don't think he will be my cup of tea .
    In fairness there is a good night to be had in Galway every night of the week I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Heard a lovely mammy thing a few weeks ago. A couple were heading to a wedding and the womans mother was minding the kids. The mammy made some sandwiches for them for the journey. When they opened the sandwiches there was a 50 euro note in with them.

Family paid for our weekend break. Bed and breakfast in 3 different western hotels

A couple of hours after leaving home got a text from Junior that he left something for us in the glove compartment. €300 in an envelope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

orm0nd wrote: »
    Family paid for our weekend break. Bed and breakfast in 3 different western hotels

A couple of hours after leaving home got a text from Junior that he left something for us in the glove compartment. €300 in an envelope.

He raised them well I'd say. They sound like an absolute credit to ye!

naughto wrote: »
    Have ya being in the city at 2 in the morning different world all together

Every Irish town I've ever been in at that hour is the same. Thankfully my supermacs after the niteclub days are long behind me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Good luck with them. Let us know how it goes
    Didn't go great and I really wasn't a happy bunny TBH. We lost money on them and they were good cattle. One weaker one did better then hoped for that was the only thing and the biggest one did Very well. The 450-500 did bad TBH -all CH. it would frustrate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Allot of midget / small flies lately, is the mild weather the cause?