Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chit chat number nein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Programme about Anna May and the running of this years ploughing on TG4 at 9:25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

KatyMac wrote: »
    I'm in training for ordained ministry!!! (Church of Ireland, also in mid 50s). This time of the year I'm busier with preaching than with farming! Will be ordained, if all goes according to plan, in September next year, so will be able to bring loads of blessing upon all ye boardies!!!

Well done, I'll be looking out for you,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I'm in training for ordained ministry!!! (Church of Ireland, also in mid 50s). This time of the year I'm busier with preaching than with farming! Will be ordained, if all goes according to plan, in September next year, so will be able to bring loads of blessing upon all ye boardies!!!

Fair play, Katy. Any chance we can borrow you for AH for a few months?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

Christ, don’t inflict that on her!

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Could be an awkward nights sleep. Am round as a barrel !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,484 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Christmas day starts tomorrow.....for me anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭I says

Reggie. wrote: »

Ya need milk :):);)

I says wrote: »
    Ya need milk :):);)

No on duty all day. We are frontline staff too unfortunately

Fair play old stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Have worked a few 12.5 hr shifts Christmas days in the past myself, never when we had kids though.

_Brian wrote: »
    Have worked a few 12.5 hr shifts Christmas days in the past myself, never when we had kids though.

Its my last one in this job anyways. Done and dusted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You won't miss the water til the well runs dry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I'd picked up a Rocketbook Everlast as a present for my brother, seemed an interesting concept & cheap enough at under 50 euro delivered
    Basically it's a reusable notebook, you write in it, use an app on your phone to upload it to a number of different online storages, wipe it clean with a cloth & use it all over again!

Didn't think it would be as good as it actually is!! If I was a student writing notes again I'd find it very handy, not having to type out handwritten stuff. I guess it's a bit like a portable whiteboard with screenshot capabilities :P

Just thought I'd mention it here as it could be useful for someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Stephens Day hunt starting at home.
    Fairly decent crowd too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I'm up for any challenge:D

Have an neighbor booked me for his funeral after my very first service, There is no sign of dying on him but he likes to be prepared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Happy Christmas Reggie have a wonderful day and stuff yourself to the gills :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I'm up for any challenge:D

Have an neighbor booked me for his funeral after my very first service, There is no sign of dying on him but he likes to be prepared!

A great aunt of mine paid for her funeral when she was seventy, probably paid a bit over the odds at the time but she lived to see 100!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

ganmo wrote: »
    A great aunt of mine paid for her funeral when she was seventy, probably paid a bit over the odds at the time but she lived to see 100!

Absolutely no disrespect intended Ganmo, but my eyes were reading faster than my brain and I read that as 'she lived to see it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Absolutely no disrespect intended Ganmo, but my eyes were reading faster than my brain and I read that as 'she lived to see it'

None taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,384 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Fairly decent crowd too.

What's the story behind that picture?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Had our annual married v singles game at the gaa club today, it's nearly the highlight of the Christmas at this stage. Some craic.

I'm taking a long shot here and best guess it that someone is holding a phone and taking a picture of their local mounted pack gathering for the St. Stephens Day hunt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Local hunt, Ward Union have a hunt every Stephens’ day.

I was wondering why they are in such a built up area, is that where the original clubhouse was/is based?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

I was wondering why they are in such a built up area, is that where the original clubhouse was/is based?
    Clubhouse?

Base price wrote: »
    Clubhouse?

Clubhouse.

Nice word, isn't it?

Clubhouse.

Clubhouse.

Nice word, isn't it?

Clubhouse.
    Apologies but I've never previous read any reference to a "clubhouse" with a local hunt . Maybe it's a new thing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Had our annual married v singles game at the gaa club today, it's nearly the highlight of the Christmas at this stage. Some craic.

Will you be playing for the other team next year? :)

Apologies but I've never previous read any reference to a "clubhouse" with a local hunt . Maybe it's a new thing :rolleyes:

Apology accepted, think nothing of it.

What’s the story with a lad daming a stream? Sister in law has a stream passing through a meadow and the neighbor has damed it on his side to make a pond, result is water backing up. Can he do that?

Fairly decent crowd too.

Fair play to them the last time the local hunt was here they opened every gate,took down all the temporary electric fence and asked the BIL to ask me for them was it alright to hunt across the land.
    That’s decency for ya.

Odelay wrote: »
    What’s the story with a lad daming a stream? Sister in law has a stream passing through a meadow and the neighbor has damed it on his side to make a pond, result is water backing up. Can he do that?
    Have a read of this article.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/farming/analysis/karen-walshlaw-of-the-land-water-goes-downhill-338842.html

** The other thing that I would look at is if the stream is a know spawning water or if it is marked as blue on the GLAS maps iykwim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Odelay wrote: »

He's not allowed to back up water causing harm to her property.

Thanks Waffle. He’s also like a briar... fun times ahead.

Have a read of this article.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/farming/analysis/karen-walshlaw-of-the-land-water-goes-downhill-338842.html

** The other thing that I would look at is if the stream is a know spawning water or if it is marked as blue on the GLAS maps iykwim.

Thanks Base, as always there’s more to you than your good looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,854 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'm a celebrity game complete with mealworm, cricket, chilli, buffalo worm, rice and beans.

Santa brought a 4 player laser tag set between the girls, 150ft range. Can play individually or as teams.

Best of fun running about outside like a bunch of crazies screaming and roaring.

Woo hoo got a new pair of wellies for Christmas

No more bloody leaks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Muckit wrote: »
    Will you be playing for the other team next year? :)

I'll stick with the young lads for a while yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

No more bloody leaks

Thought you would of stuck with Army boots

Not high enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,782 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

No more bloody leaks

What brand did you get?

I bought a pair of Bekina's myself and no way could I get used to them. I had a pain in my left foot from wearing them.
    I had to go back to the Badeau.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Had intended going to Newport Dairy sale today. Apparently we're all going to the Limerick Races for some family get together.

I'm going always last to find out these things and have zero interest in the nags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭emaherx

Not high enough

Sure, there's no muck in your yard anyway!

emaherx wrote: »
    Sure, there's no muck in your yard anyway!

Yeah but what about everyone elses

What brand did you get?

I bought a pair of Bekina's myself and no way could I get used to them. I had a pain in my left foot from wearing them.
    I had to go back to the Badeau.

Bekinas steplites

Even if most humans left the earth no worse off through their actions that would be a huge benifet to mankind.

Bekinas steplites

Are they much different to the Bekina agrilite?

_Brian wrote: »
    Even if most humans left the earth no worse off through their actions that would be a huge benifet to mankind.

You'd see the above happening and the philantrophy/legacy being felt no doubt for thousands of years.
    Warren Buffet's son Howard is another whose philanthropy for the benefit of agriculture to poor families will be felt for thousands of years. Whatever about the big man himself..

Then you have the opposite and young people/not so young in this country deciding to take their own lives.
    The journey of this life or the will of the gods doesn't make sense.