Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guess the Village/Town/City Thread 3 (read post 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭jimbis

Ironically I had a place picked out that I was gonna post if I ever got the chance in this thread, and it was the next village down the road from this one.:p
    Haven't a clue about the limb thing though.

I'll post another now to keep it moving. Early hint is it not in cork.

487156.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Three More Big Sleeps

josip wrote: »
    You were right about West Cork and I got my inspiration from Three More Big Sleeps even though I don't usually do churches.
    More hints tomorrow.
    How do you get regrow a limb from that?
    You seem to be right though.

Inspiration, 591 and limbs. Frankly, I'm lost.

(Welcome back, Ms. Purps :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,262 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

You were right about West Cork and I got my inspiration from Three More Big Sleeps even though I don't usually do churches.
    More hints tomorrow.
    How do you get regrow a limb from that?
    You seem to be right though.

So 591 is the road.
    All I think of when I hear Goleen is that poor French woman, Sophie du Plantier.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Oops!

Is the last one Tralee?

Not in Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Oops!

Nenagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,122 ✭✭✭✭josip

You pointed out that Duncannon Church and Roundstone church were both named 'Star of the Sea'.
    Goleen Church is also named Star of the Sea.
    Starfish can regrow their limbs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭Be right back

You pointed out that Duncannon Church and Roundstone church were both named 'Star of the Sea'.
    Goleen Church is also named Star of the Sea.
    Starfish can regrow their limbs...

Very cryptic clue!

Oops! wrote: »
    Nenagh?

Nope. North of the country.

jimbis wrote: »
    Nope. North of the country.

Carlingford?

We're a few days in now so I'll say it's in Donegal

Buncrana?

Jim, that's the limestone Celtic cross on the bend of Main St, Carrigart. Finally, somewhere I knew without having to google :)

Someone else can have my go.

Shouldn't be too hard.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Jebus Diced

New Ross?

Not New Ross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭lassykk

Can see why you thought New Ross!

Shouldn't be too hard.
    Is it? Too early for a hint?

No hint required after all, BRB :) Didn't I take a wee day trip with Bus Éireann to Cork City last Wednesday? And didn't we make drop-offs/pick-ups in Cashel, Cahir, Mitchelstown and Fermoy? So, that'd be Church Hill in Fermoy, looking south, with Christ Church on the left. Needless to say, it's simply coincidence that I was in the Rebel last week. (The toilets in Merchants Quay SC are a hoor to find, btw :mad:)

BRB, go on again, for the craic.

No hint required after all, BRB :) Didn't I take a wee day trip with Bus Éireann to Cork City last Wednesday? And didn't we make drop-offs/pick-ups in Cashel, Cahir, Mitchelstown and Fermoy? So, that'd be Church Hill in Fermoy, looking south, with Christ Church on the left. Needless to say, it's simply coincidence that I was in the Rebel last week. (The toilets in Merchants Quay SC are a hoor to find, btw :mad:)

Love your little story!! Will post another one so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,262 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Shouldn't be too hard.
    Is it? Too early for a hint?

I used to be in Fermoy regularly for business and I still did not cop that.
    Also, yes those toilets are the worst ever.

To thine own self be true

How about here?

I used to be in Fermoy regularly for business and I still did not cop that.
    Also, yes those toilets are the worst ever.

The ones in the bus station in Cork are the worst ever!! (In my humble opinion)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Ha I saw that and I didn't even twig it, and I got a tyre repaired on that very street last month!!! :D:D:D:D

How about here?

The skip lorry - O'Toole's Skip Hire - would suggest, probability-wise, that this is somewhere in north Carlow / south Kildare / south Wicklow. Coupling this info with that Maxol station in the distance makes this Baltinglass in the County of Wickla.

Again, someone else can have my go.
    The ones in the bus station in Cork are the worst ever!! (In my humble opinion)..

Wait. What? There're toilets in the damn bus station?!

The skip lorry - O'Toole's Skip Hire - would suggest, probability-wise, that this is somewhere in north Carlow / south Kildare / south Wicklow. Coupling this info with that Maxol station in the distance makes this Baltinglass in the County of Wickla.

Wait. What? There're toilets in the damn bus station?!

Fair play, Baltinglass it is. Yep, there's toilets upstairs in the bus station but they are disgusting ( unless they've been done up in the last little while )..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

For good clean loos in Fermoy, the Amber service station and café is handy and at the edge of the town.

Heck, I'm jumping back in. Nudging the theme of the thread from churches to (semi-) public toilets, huh? :)

488001.jpg

Heck, I'm jumping back in. Nudging the theme of the thread from churches to (semi-) public toilets, huh? :)

488001.jpg

Is it in Kilkenny?

Sorry, BRB, not Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Triboro

Spiddal