Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wimbledon 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

walshb wrote: »
    Somebody mute Castle!
    Castle and Inverdale...horrendous

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lostcat

Have to say all this is pretty unfair on the ladies who, after all, are playing a slam final....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

lostcat wrote: »
    Have to say all this is pretty unfair on the ladies who, after all, are playing a slam final....

It's incredibly unfair on them. And I couldn't care less!

Rafa dumping a few handy ones into the net at the minute.

Ah bollox. Brilliant stuff altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

Nadal will have nightmares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

A Wimbledon championship left behind by Nadal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Delighted for Djokovic ! A great match

Nadal will have nightmares

On the balance of it djokovic had far more chances but Nadal definitely had his own, especially at 4-4.

Think Nadal, somewhat like Federer against Anderson, started to fail a bit the last two or three games. Finding the net more as I said earlier, was caught a bit flat footed on some of the returns and missed some handy ones wide. Djokovic's forehand was failing him a bit but he got it back under control for the end of things.

Brilliant match though. Djokovic will be tired but he'll win it in straights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

What has Novak been through? I know he was injured, but what else was going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

KA has better chance v Nole than v Nadal..

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    What has Novak been through? I know he was injured, but what else was going on?

"Personal issues"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Who cares, at least the crowd will get to see some decent tennis on Ladies final day for a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭unichick

"Personal issues"

Cheating on his wife.

Gutted for Nadal. Hope Anderson wins the final.

KA has better chance v Nole than v Nadal..
    Agreed, Djokovic, for a great returner, seems to struggle slightly against the really big servers. Then again, I think Djokovic would prefer Anderson to isner, and he should win in 3 or 4

unichick wrote: »
    Cheating on his wife.

You may find it was the other way round, however main thing is there were serious familial issues to resolve

All the online reports I have seen suspect he was playing away..

Win or lose I rarely if ever enjoy watching Serena play..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

So happy for Nole! What. a. match.
    She's such a fake, egotistical, ignorant, up her own hole sack. Haha. I despise her.

Let it all out, kiid😊

tenor.gif?itemid=9943758

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭Christy42

Djok has to play a final tomorrow. Makes sense to give him as much rest time as possible by having the match before the women who can put their feet up tomorrow.

Hopefully it shows that some sort of tie break is needed. I liked Henman's suggestion of having it at 12-12.

Cracking match even if I would have preferred Nasal to win. He has given two incredible games this competition taking in the DelPo game as well.

Not even rarely for me , I absolutely never enjoy watching Serena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭josip

I was a bit surprised how partisan the crowd were.
    At times I thought Murray was playing.
    Nadal should have just given them a few polite waves and left.
    They don't love you back Jocko, sod em.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Not even rarely for me , I absolutely never enjoy watching Serena

Just nothing exciting, graceful, pretty or stylish in her play...

Power and a serve and away she goes...

Robotic . No charisma , no nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Come on Kerber!

Kerber looks so sharp!
    Her defence is fantastic.

Christy42 wrote: »
    Djok has to play a final tomorrow. Makes sense to give him as much rest time as possible by having the match before the women who can put their feet up tomorrow.

Hopefully it shows that some sort of tie break is needed. I liked Henman's suggestion of having it at 12-12.

Cracking match even if I would have preferred Nasal to win. He has given two incredible games this competition taking in the DelPo game as well.
    I think that 12-12 is in the US open since the 70s, makes sense.

gmisk wrote: »
    I think that 12-12 is in the US open since the 70s, makes sense.

US Open tie break in the final set is at 6-6, as normal.

I was expecting kerber wilt a bit here at the start of the second but she's going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭unichick

Don’t tell me that’s why he got rid of Boris Becker lol.

Fair play to her if she had the energy after 2 kids.

Bit harsh lads ,she was a great athlete and player.

She looks out of shape today ,seems to have no energy .

unichick wrote: »
    Don’t tell me that’s why he got rid of Boris Becker lol.

Fair play to her if she had the energy after 2 kids.

It was him ,not her by all accounts.

Mc Enroe compared Djokovics personal issues to those of Tiger Woods.

Wow didn't see this one being so one sided to kerber...

US Open tie break in the final set is at 6-6, as normal.

I was expecting kerber wilt a bit here at the start of the second but she's going well.
    Ah I must have misheard that.
    Kerber has been terrific, dealt so well with Serenas power so far.

Kerber well deserved, she looks totally overwhelmed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

Always great seeing Serena get beat, can't think of a tennis player I despise more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

There goes my Serena/Djokovic double from the start of the tournament :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Oh yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Smile it won't hurt Serena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

What a win for Angie!!! So delighted for her. One French Open away from a career Grand Slam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Nice to be reminded now and again that the game isn't completely all about power. I did think Williams would win but was mindful that she'd had a very soft passage to get to the final and guess that was borne out today. Some of the shots she played were rather strange.

Delighted for Angelique. Well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Absolutely over the moon about Djokovic !!

I despise Nadal and couldn't take him winning another Wimbledon.

Really hope Djokovic is not the more tired finalist tomorrow!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

im delighted angelique won.but jeez serena looked so tired from halfway through the first set.

and djokovic should win it tomorrow.anderson has to be really tired and hurting from yesterdays epic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    Absolutely over the moon about Djokovic !!

I despise Nadal and couldn't take him winning another Wimbledon.

Really hope Djokovic is not the more tired finalist tomorrow!!

Despise? That's a bit strong isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Always great seeing Serena get beat, can't think of a tennis player I despise more.
    Despise? That's a bit strong isn't it?

Well since it's been thrown about allready I thought it be ok - but cannot stand him, he is a nice guy off the court,
    but on court his antics really annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

With Serena, pure and simple, it's the arrogance. It oozes out of her.

That interview Serena gave earlier this week where she applauded Madison Keys for saying players try much harder against Serena just made me cringe. She didn't need a second invitation to tell everyone how superb she is.

I've lost count over the years of how many times, on the off occasion she loses, where she sits there depressed and blames her own performance rather than just giving her credit to her opponent.

Even her tweet today annoyed me - saying she did it for all the Mums out there. You did in your hole. That narrative is starting to grate on me now. I know Mums, including my wife, who just want her to shut the fúck up about her fúcking baby. It's tiresome.

Anyway, it's not really her fault she is the way she is. As we all know, that family wasn't the best to be brought up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Anderson played for 80 mins longer, but Djokovic has less rest. I think that balances out. Nobody is at a disadvantage tomorrow. It will be a fair contest and the best guy will win.

Anderson took a peak Nole the 5 in Wimbledon a few years ago so would be quick to write this one off just yet.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Anderson played for 80 mins longer, but Djokovic has less rest. I think that balances out. Nobody is at a disadvantage tomorrow. It will be a fair contest and the best guy will win.

Anderson took a peak Nole the 5 in Wimbledon a few years ago so would be quick to write this one off just yet.

Playing three hours two consecutive days is definitely not the same as playing six and a half hours non stop. Djokovic's certainly mitigate the disadvantage Anderson is at but it doesn't come close to balancing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Rob2D

2s846lvxhx911.jpg