Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F150 Thurles

• 04-07-2018 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭

Seen a F150 on New York plates in Thurles. Didn’t think that was allowed. Assume it would have to be registered first? Not the only f150 in the Thurles area so I’d assume it’s one of the same guys who have them. Ridiculous sized vehicle unsuited to Irish roads. No doubt a big thirsty 3-6 litre petrol engine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Someone in Thurles has a really small
    eco friendly mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Heh. They don't make them like the 385 pushrod big-block in the mid-70s F-Series anymore. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I think someone has a case of the green eyed monster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Seen a F150 on New York plates in Thurles. Didn’t think that was allowed. Assume it would have to be registered first? Not the only f150 in the Thurles area so I’d assume it’s one of the same guys who have them. Ridiculous sized vehicle unsuited to Irish roads. No doubt a big thirsty 3-6 litre petrol engine too.

It's smaller than a HGV and they use Irish roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,236 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

you have 28 days to complete the VRT process

I drove a Chevy Suburban with a 7.4 V8 (with carburetor) on US plates for nearly a month, perfectly legally and insured after I imported it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

The same size as your average Transit/Hiace etc, Average around 18mpg imperial and most run on eco friendly petrol and not that horrible Nox spewing diesel:D

hi5 wrote: »
    The same size as your average Transit/Hiace etc, Average around 18mpg imperial and most run on eco friendly petrol and not that horrible Nox spewing diesel:D
    My suburban got between 8 and 12.
    I did have a half ton (150) before that that topped out at 15 mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭traco

That 150 is too small you want this Chevy 2500 HD for sale at the moment. Good old 6.6l V8 Turbo Diesel greatness.

Then you'll be able to look down on puny F-150 man and drown him in a fog of black smoke!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-chevrolet-silverado-2500hd-lt-extended-cab/19121612

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

There's a few knocking around Dublin used as towing vehicles. I'm pretty sure the DAA also have a couple used for towing.

There's an F 650 in Meath as a towing vehicle.
    Interestingly the "commercial" (ie F450 and above) fords come with a cummins diesel as opposed to ford's powerstroke diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭kooga

The army ranger wing have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Whocare

It a 6.7 diesel the owner of breen Farm Machinery in cashel if it's the one that is red in colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,699 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

traco wrote: »
    That 150 is too small you want this Chevy 2500 HD for sale at the moment. Good old 6.6l V8 Turbo Diesel greatness.

Then you'll be able to look down on puny F-150 man and drown him in a fog of black smoke!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-chevrolet-silverado-2500hd-lt-extended-cab/19121612

Looks like you'd need a C1/C Licence to legally drive that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭kooga

I remember a chap in mallow had a dodge ram - this is going back 15 years go at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

ELM327 wrote: »
    There's an F 650 in Meath as a towing vehicle.
    Interestingly the "commercial" (ie F450 and above) fords come with a cummins diesel as opposed to ford's powerstroke diesel.

I remember sitting into an F650 in Mallusk once, had to climb up into it... I was eye level with the bottom of the door! :cool:

R.O.R wrote: »
    Looks like you'd need a C1/C Licence to legally drive that.
    A lot of the 250/2500 class of american pickups (or SUVs) tend to have a DGVW of around 4-4500 kg.

My suburban and my f250 were both 4000kg approx, with an unladen weight of around 3250-3400kg.
    You can get them downplated in the UK to a DGVW of 3500 to drive them on a car licence.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I say fair play to anyone driving an absolute beast in Ireland. Saw someone in an M4 idling at a car park in Lucan. My first thought was I'd never waste the fuel sitting there on my phone, but obviously not an issue for someone driving a €100,000+ sports car. Lovely grumble from it.

If someone has the money to pay our extortionate VRT, fuel and insurance prices then let them. They're putting more money into the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

Bit off topic saw a 70s or maybe 80s ford pick up on nass road last Saturday the height it was off the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

If it was a black one, it could be for sale :)

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/19209588

I seem to remember there being talk of some of them needing tachographs a few years ago. I’m not sure if anything ever came if it but a local with a Dodge Ram made enquirers at the garage I was working on at the time about retrofitting one. Can’t remember if he ever fitted one in the end.

Talk about not knowing how to sell or take care of a pickup truck

"Lowered, leveled. Welded diff and front brake lock"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

DaveyDave wrote: »
    I say fair play to anyone driving an absolute beast in Ireland. Saw someone in an M4 idling at a car park in Lucan. My first thought was I'd never waste the fuel sitting there on my phone, but obviously not an issue for someone driving a €100,000+ sports car. Lovely grumble from it.

If someone has the money to pay our extortionate VRT, fuel and insurance prices then let them. They're putting more money into the economy.

I always sit with the engine running.... A/C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

"You will not be test driving this truck so don't rock up expecting too."

Sure, here... take 13k from me. Drive it first? No you are grand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Think a chap in Kilkenny owned that. He had businesses in NY and recently moved home full time. He told me a fella from tip bought the ford off him and was shipping it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

Think a chap in Kilkenny owned that. He had businesses in NY and recently moved home full time. He told me a fella from tip bought the ford off him and was shipping it back.

There's a lad in Kilkenny with a yellow Dodge Ram too. Absolutely love hearing it take off from the lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

PaulKK wrote: »
    There's a lad in Kilkenny with a yellow Dodge Ram too. Absolutely love hearing it take off from the lights.

A Dinger of a yoke....:cool: