Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

July 12th - An Orgy of Hate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

timthumbni wrote: »
    The bogside showing exactly what they are famous for again. I like that they currently have the Palestinian flag at free Londonderry corner.

And giving us a bad rep with Israel!

Who's soldiers actually saved members of the PDF from an attack by Al-nusra in Syria

old news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Thomas_IV

It seems that after a couple of years (in fact there where just two), the morons got more excited and the criminals feel the need to 'express' their culture of anger.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2018/0712/978100-ulster-unrest-bonfires/

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2018/jul/11/vehicles-torched-amid-tension-over-loyalist-bonfires-in-northern-ireland

'Good PR' for the mean Orange in the UK paper too.

When one reads through the articles, one realises that things have gone worse by now. Much worse and Belfast, excuse the language is just f*cked and will never get rid of her bad reputation as long as those dinosaurs are given room for causing mayhem. But it wasn't just Belfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Thomas_IV

jcorr wrote: »
    And giving us a bad rep with Israel!

Who's soldiers actually saved members of the PDF from an attack by Al-nusra in Syria

old news

That's the problem with the Shinners, they have too much sympathy for the other Terrorists, but wait, for them the Terrorists are the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I was talking to friends from NI who have come south for the week.
    They said its a case of stay indoors or go out and be caught in something.
    Not a nice feeling for the majority of the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I be in NI every couple months, family around Enniskillen, and be in Derry for the day some times if I am ever up in Letterkenny in Donegal. I do even find my self some times, referring to the Republic as 'The South' if in a shop in NI and after something, and then realise, that my home county of Donegal is just as far North as NI, further even depending what part you are in, and where I live in Sligo is only an hour down the road (from Enniskillen). Own (catholic) family from NI, most of them refer to the RoI as the south, with the odd one referring to it as the Free State.

The South I find, is just sometimes an easy term to use for most people in Ireland, even if it confusing as fcuk for anyone from outside of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Taytoland wrote: »
    No evidence of that. James was out of his depth and needed to be removed for obvious reasons.

But it was nothing to do with his Catholicism. King Billy was backed by the pope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,753 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

steddyeddy wrote: »
    But it was nothing to do with his Catholicism. King Billy was backed by the pope.

DUP could come down and see the Pope again, to help them out of their predicament. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

How unlucky do you have to be to Irish (nationalist) and born on the 12th. Yep thats me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭sjb25

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/republic-of-ireland/irish-air-corps-helicopters-deployed-in-northern-ireland-37101663.html

While the lads are up that way they could drop a few buckets on bonfires for the Northern Ireland fire service just to “help” like

The faces on the orangemen would be worth it Irish military dropping water on the bonfire :)

thebull85 wrote: »
    How unlucky do you have to be to Irish (nationalist) and born on the 12th. Yep thats me..
    From the North? At least it would mean you'd always be on holidays for your birthday :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,351 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

deco nate wrote: »
    Can we stop calling derry, *Londonderry *
    The only word in the english language with six silent letters at the front.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

From the North? At least it would mean you'd always be on holidays for your birthday :P

Nah, southerner. I just always remember seeing violence on rte news as a kid, And getting stick off me mates. And hearing stories from my Da on how he was praying my mother held out for another day, i was actually born the day before "Live Aid"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

I remember years ago being in Warren point on the 12th
    My dad loved an adventure a pure Kerry man, drove us all up from Mosney for a day watching the orange parade lol he thought it would be a bit of a laugh.

Wore his orange coloured cotton t-****, in the mid 80's.
    Armed RUC officer's everywhere, he has a real loyalist look about him, a big tash and and that military hairdo lol

My mum was petrified, he was talking to the spectators, they were delighted to see a southerner on family enjoying the march.

I was talking to local kids they loved my accent.
    We were accepted like anyone else.

My dad looked like Charles Bronson the actor, he fitted right in.

It was a really hot day, my mum a republican tore strips off him in the way home lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

nthclare wrote: »
    My dad loved an adventure a pure Kerry man, drove us all up from Mosney for a day watching the orange parade lol he thought it would be a bit of a laugh.

Armed RUC officer's everywhere, he has a real loyalist look about him, a big tash and and that military hairdo lol

My mum was petrified, he was talking to the spectators, they were delighted to see a southerner on family enjoying the march.

It was a really hot day, my mum a republican tore strips off him in the way home lol

Wow good story !

I'm amazed the "fir oraiste" were so accepting to be honest ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

thebull85 wrote: »

Have a glorious birthday horse :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭SouthDublin6w

Who in the name of baby jesus, Supports this shower of right wing, Racist scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,490 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

is the twalfth a public holiday in Nordie land?

I assure you, They wouldnt be accepting on the newtownards road or the Shankill today.

lawred2 wrote: »

Yeah

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Wow good story !

I worked with a few in Scotland, sound lads.
    They were more intrigued with me than bitter.

I think it's how you hold yourself, Im not a fearful guy, so I think people sense whether you're a threat or just another person getting on with life in general.....

I worked with a few in Scotland, sound lads.
    They were more intrigued with me than bitter.

I think it's how you hold yourself, Im not a fearful guy, so I think people sense whether you're a threat or just another person getting on with life in general.....

It is nothing about threat or being fearful. Loyalism by the fact is all hate based. They are founded on the grounds that they hate catholics as they feel the religion is a bastion of "Violent Nationalism"

Trust me when I say this, You and I to them are nothing more then a Taig. And the only Taig is a dead one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,328 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

timthumbni wrote: »
    I’m a unionist from NI mate. So the answer would be a no from me....

You must not be from the Derry, as most people will use the silent 6 letters really as a way to stir when most Protestants from the city call it Derry too

Ive never heard a Derry protestant use the term Derry, Always L/Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

an Orange- man's calender.....
    January
    February
    March
    March
    March
    March
    March

Wow good story !

Why wouldn't they when the Kerryman was acting as an Orangeman? :confused:

If he'd revealed his real motive I would have been genuinely concerned for their safety.

idnkph wrote: »
    an Orange- man's calender.....
    January
    February
    March
    March
    March
    March
    March

:D:D:D:D

April to Augsut officially. They do love a good march though.

Why wouldn't they when the Kerryman was acting as an Orangeman? :confused:

No read it they knew he was a fenian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

In fairness Warrenpoint is about as "safe" as you'd get at an Orange demonstration. A lot of the villages and small towns are like that. You wouldn't get away so easy in the likes of Portadown, Lurgan etc.

Or Belfast. I dare anyone to drive their Irish reg car onto the Lisburn road in South Belfast right now. Their is huge crowds from all over belfast congregated waiting for the hate fest to return from the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

lawred2 wrote: »

It is commonly referred to as the 12th week/fortnight up there by some, with many businesses shutting up shop, or operating a skeleton staff service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

This reminds me of how myself and the missus were in Belfast for a weekend away. We wanted to get to Belfast zoo but one of the roads were closed and we kept getting lost. Ended up driving down the Shankill road in the middle of an Orange march in an Irish reg car that had a light flashing since we left Dublin and we weren't sure if the car was going to break down at some point. I was sh1tting myself. A lesbian couple in an Irish reg car driving down the Shankill road during an Orange march. At one stage we were accidentally in it because the missus ended up driving behind the police car that was escorting the march. You couldn't make it up like. We also had a big "Pussy Wagon" sticker on the back of the car :D

On that note:
    "You wont funnell through the tunnel, with your sashes and your flutes for its time to show that croppies wont lie down"
    Cause the battle will be lost when you get to Obins street in Portadown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

what's the difference between an apple and an Orange?

You never heard of an apple ba5tard.

Cleopatra_ wrote: »
    This reminds me of how myself and the missus were in Belfast for a weekend away. We wanted to get to Belfast zoo but one of the roads were closed and we kept getting lost. Ended up driving down the Shankill road in the middle of an Orange march in an Irish reg car that had a light flashing since we left Dublin and we weren't sure if the car was going to break down at some point. I was sh1tting myself. A lesbian couple in an Irish reg car driving down the Shankill road during an Orange march. At one stage we were accidentally in it because the missus ended up driving behind the police car that was escorting the march. You couldn't make it up like. We also had a big "Pussy Wagon" sticker on the back of the car :D

Lesbians and Irish that is the equivalent of a double whammy to Loyalism. Lesbians are frowned on as much as being a catholic hahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Or Belfast. I dare anyone to drive their Irish reg car onto the Lisburn road in South Belfast right now. Their is huge crowds from all over belfast congregated waiting for the hate fest to return from the field.

Not sure I would drive my car anywhere in the North today! Was asked if I would go to Enniskillen today, and I laughed.

Ive never heard a Derry protestant use the term Derry, Always L/Derry

must sicken them then to use the Apprentice boys of Derry. I know plenty who call it Derry just easier to say.

They apply for marches under ABOD so they dont have to file Derry. Truse story check it out.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Not sure I would drive my car anywhere in the North today! Was asked if I would go to Enniskillen today, and I laughed.

Up and down the falls playing Irish brigade songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

It is commonly referred to as the 12th week/fortnight up there by some, with many businesses shutting up shop, or operating a skeleton staff service.

Yep, they close up for several days and up to a week. I used to work for an NI company, looking after their customers in Leinster. They let me on a long leash to be fair but I always suspected the management were from the bowler hat and black umbrella brigade.
    They closed for the day before the 12th and the day after so I was given 3 days off. The reverse side was that there was a requirement that I work on 17th March. I did`nt make a big deal of it as I was coming out 3-1 ahead and there is feck all you can do in Dublin on Paddys day anyway

I believe the new Centre Parks site in Longford is practically shut down because there are that many workers on holidays.
    The southern euro comes in handy when buying those 99's in the field. :)

They apply for marches under ABOD so they dont have to file Derry. Truse story check it out.

From the parades commission website

Reference Number Organisation Town of Parade
    PAR\81720 Apprentice Boys of Derry Bovevagh and Ardinariff Branch Londonderry

ABOD CLUBS 10flute-lundy PARADES. The Apprentice Boys' main celebrations are focused in the city of Londonderry and primarily within the historic city walls.

Not how the PC file it. I said how they File it, they file it as ABOD 1, 2, 3

Well that says more about the Parade Commission filing system than anything else

The PC cant use acronyms. Same as when RNU, IRPWA any org with letters apply they will file it as Republican network for unity, Republican Sinn Fein ETC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Scarlet42

Every summer the Orangemen of Ulster give such a boost to the Irish Economy, the amount of northern irish cars around, all the shops are full of northern irish accents, hotels booked out, campsites booked out ..its great for Ireland! not many shops open in Belfast today and the PSNI overtime bill must be huge!

Scarlet42 wrote: »
    Every summer the Orangemen of Ulster give such a boost to the Irish Economy, the amount of northern irish cars around, all the shops are full of northern irish accents, hotels booked out, campsites booked out ..its great for Ireland! not many shops open in Belfast today and the PSNI overtime bill must be huge!

Yes because if your a catholic living in Ardoyne or Short Strand your best off over the border, then having to endure your area being sieged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

I assure you, They wouldnt be accepting on the newtownards road or the Shankill today.

How do you know that? I've driven a southern reg around NI, including Belfast and I had no problem. Used to work from an American firm who opens today and March 17th also. None of us had any problems up there. The road closures were a pain but that was it.
    They are founded on the grounds that they hate catholics as they feel the religion is a bastion of "Violent Nationalism"

Complete at utter nonsense. They seems themselves as Catholics in the truest sense of the word in truth. Take some time to read up on them before posting such nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,386 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Patww79 wrote: »

People take their names seriously here. I lived in the Uk for while as a kid. You learn pretty quickly that people here don't like it when you say "boxing day"