Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stuck in sand

• 11-07-2018 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭

Down at dolymount at happy out coffee shop and the car is stuck in the sand

Theres no signage to say do not pass etc, no barriers up either

I've to pay 73 to a towing company as allianz breakdown won't cover it

Could I get the money back from council or is it tough luck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Tough luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

You could try putting the foot mats in under the tyres if they aren’t fully buried and give them a spin.she might get enough traction to pull herself out.either that or she’ll bury the mats aswell.it works sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

How stuck are we talking? Pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,864 ✭✭✭jeffk

I've rang tow crowd and en route so just trying to see anout money

No on around to even try push, car making grinding noise so gave up, but thanks for ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,338 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Why do you think you should get a refund from the council?

bazz26 wrote:
    Why do you think you should get a refund from the council?

Becuase they maintain it and should have signs or barriers up

Someone said they usual have JCB as well, but not here today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

jeffk wrote: »
    I've rang tow crowd and en route so just trying to see anout money

No on around to even try push, car making grinding noise so gave up, but thanks for ideas

Don’t worry about it.everyone makes mistakes.put it behind you and forget about it.

Fair enough sh1t happens, but I just don't see how it's the council's fault if people park their cars on a beach and then get stuck. Get the car towed out and lesson learned would be my feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This is a nanny state as it is. We don't need more signs for the obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

How stuck are you? Let a good bit of air out of the front tyres and try and drive it out slowly rocking the wheel back and forth. As another said stick the matts in front of the tyres if you have no traction at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

.....and a Northern regged car stuck up to the axles in soft sand. Needless to say the driver was trying to sort out the problem quickly to avoid automotive immersion in the saline waters of the North Atlantic and massive devaluation of his sporty Golf.....

A full team of local Kerrymen soon sorted him out and got him going again. There must have been some sort of reward but I did not stay around long enough to find out. They did not need my modest input as there were hordes of much bigger men than me pushing the hapless Northie out of the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

To finish it off there guard detectives got stuck and ended beside me

Queue laughing in my face while trying to get the tow company to use their state freebie to cover my 70 plus bill, pretend I was out already

Just to try a figure out grinding from wheel, go garage and lash water over it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

just wait till that plank gets loose though and smashes into your bodywork..

now, if you're the lad with the tide coming in you might think it worth the risk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

Queue laughing in my face while trying to get the tow company to use their state freebie to cover my 70 plus bill, pretend I was out already

I cannot make head nor tail of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Whocare

The grinding noise could be the traction control kicking in breaking the wheel to stop it from spinning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,849 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

To top it all off the gardai got stuck too.

Cue them laughing in my face as I asked the towing company to recover my car for free after recovering the Garda car for free

I think.....

What’ll happen OP, is that the gardai might get an invoice too. Then again, maybe not. But either way you get to pay

Stuck a waiting for tow

Rep car as I call it drives in ignoring ma waving to stop

Got stuck on beach and eventually got moving

Reversed back almost hit my open door to be stuck again

So they stared to push with me and another chap

Could see the outfit/gun an light thing stuck in window

Started laughing saying ah the state will pay for it, i said you can give me half towards mine and use the tow

Car tow comes and I said the same to him, moves me about 5 feet still on the sand and not onto road as asked

Falling over himself to move the guard dective car

I had to go to tow to sign, saying it again to try and not spent 70 odd

Guard starts laughing you called them not us, the state will pay for us

I gave up and walked away

Cleaned the wheels etc at petrol station after banging as much as i could

Got home to run hose over it

Like sand or that inside wheel or brakes, driving and braking ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,141 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Down at dolymount at happy out coffee shop and the car is stuck in the sand

I've to pay 73 to a towing company as allianz breakdown won't cover it

Could I get the money back from council or is it tough luck?

Jeff,

Count yourself lucky, My Grandfather got his car stuck there back in the 80's Like you he was a bit of a silly boy when he was younger god rest him.

He did however lose the battle and the waves came in over the car despite assistance from alot of people.

Dont drive your car on to a beach unless you know how to drive off it.

Lesson learnt horse.

**note he didnt die in the car, the car died. He lived to ripe old age to regale his story. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,574 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Get some hot chick to pretend the car is hers, and then some macho men will come along and push it out for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

You did whar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭TJJP

ah here leave it out.

listermint wrote:
    Dont drive your car on to a beach unless you know how to drive off it.

I have driven on it and many many other beaches before without issues. Only two weeks ago got a car moving for two girls (people pushing helped as well)

At least two other cars got stuck today before I left

That's very true about the car, it can always be worse

Shpud2 wrote:
    You did whar?

Water on wheels etc

Had someone on watch out for Irish water etc lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭juneg

Ah look Jeff you'll remember today and you'll have a great story to tell. Thanks for the updates. I enjoyed reading them anyway.😂 you won't be the first or last to do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭TheShow

is your real name Mr Bean? funny thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,742 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Like sand or that inside wheel or brakes, driving and braking ok
    That’s another 120 Euro for using a hose !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

What about some poor soul who drives their car off a pier...Water - May be wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,522 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Ah the old 'I ****ed up, someone else should pay' attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

OP will be looking for us to pay for this thread next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

I'm calling BS, the gate at the roundabout onto the beach at dollymount hasn't been open in about 5 years. there's no need for signs because you can't get to the beach

M

stecleary wrote: »
    I'm calling BS, the gate at the roundabout onto the beach at dollymount hasn't been open in about 5 years. there's no need for signs because you can't get to the beach

Yes you can't go to the sand there but you can drive down to the sand the opposite end of the island, there's a sort of enclosed carpark with rocks around it.

as in down at the wooden bridge with loads of these signs?

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

You should due Donald Trump. It's obvious coastal erosion is to blame.

Unreal that you think that the taxpayer is liable for your poor driving choices!

Pkiernan wrote:
    Unreal that you think that the taxpayer is liable for your poor driving choices!

They paid for the guards car to be pulled
    Out

ah now i know where it was, the place they had to lay loads or rocks because fupping gobsheets kept getting stuck in the sand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,210 ✭✭✭mikeecho

I just checked my toaster.. no warning label to say that I can't use it in the bath.

But common sense tells me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Dry spell = dry sand which is much easier to get stuck in, Cant believe people dont know this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭markpb

Skatedude wrote: »
    Dry spell = dry sand which is much easier to get stuck in, Cant believe people dont know this.

Most people don't do much driving on beaches and wouldn't be aware of that.

Then again, those people probably wouldn't attempt it in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I'd find it easier to believe that people don't know that, than that people want to find someone else to blame for not knowing that... but then, with the way things are, it's probably not that surprising.

You can't blame nature for being nature OP. Count yourself lucky that the tide didn't come in on top of your car (which happens at least once a week on a beach close enough to me), and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,702 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You'd think someone would have started a thread to warn us about it!

Wait - someone did :eek:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=107434310

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Do people accept any responsibility for their own mistake these days? Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,210 ✭✭✭mikeecho

They paid for the guards car to be pulled
    Out

The Gaurds (organisation) will be paying for the Garda car to be towed.
    jeffk will be paying for jeffk's car to be towed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

OP contact a solicitor immediately. I’d say there had to be €15 -€20k in it for emotional distress. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭stevek93

Even the dog knew that wasn't going to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

I was just waiting for it to go for a swim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,941 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I posted the warm weather = soft sand on the motoring forum. I have a small 4x4 and have stopped pulling people out of soft sand because;

1 - They don't drive with me or help me (some of them still have their handbrakes on and the engine off)
    2 - They feel if It's incumbent for me (as a 4x4 driver) to rescue them... (see point 3)
    3- If there's any damage done they will be pissed off and looking for money.
    4 - They think it's ok to have their kids playing within 3 metres of the tow-line even though I've asked them to clear the area and covered the line with my own towels and wetsuits to exclude recoil damage.
    5 - I've grown fond of my clutch. (any keen motorist will know how a clutch can be destroyed very quickly on a tow)
    6 - Most of them can drive out under their own power by cop on and rocking and rolling using their clutch.