Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating Foreigners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭c6ysaphjvqw41k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

jcorr wrote: »

Irish women have really high standards though.

Speaking entirely personally, I'd have started that sentence with the word "some"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

It's true actually I am married to a Spaniard and we meet so many couples in our position - Irish Man Spanish wife ... we NEVER meet the opposite !!

Wouldn't Spanish man; Irish wife be more likely to live in Spain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

The language barrier is a biggie.... couldn't understand anything my ex was saying, put a huge strain on the relationship and had to end it...that cork accent bai! Not a word could I understand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Rory28 wrote: »
    Would you go away with that. Salt and Vinegar and Cheese and Onion. You have been mixing your lines for a good while now.

Never mind that even....
    The actual feeling of betrayal and disbelief I endured when I discovered that King and Tayto are made in the same fúcking factory!
    I am still not right after it....

As for riding foreigners, It's what us pasty Irish Fella's voted yes for when the Maastricht and Lisbon treaties went to the public!

Bring on the foreign women who find us "exotic" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Squatter wrote: »
    Wouldn't Spanish man; Irish wife be more likely to live in Spain?

Yeah and Spanish guys who grew up in Spain know what Spanish girls look like, not our awful looking yokes! Pint and a pack of Majors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

See Irish men are generally very attractive and in decent shape. Lots of world famous Irish male heart throbs.

The Irish women...not so much

So it makes sense that the Irish men have the pick of all nationalities. Irish women chasing Irish men also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Giblet wrote: »
    Yeah and Spanish guys who grew up in Spain know what Spanish girls look like, not our awful looking yokes! Pint and a pack of Majors.
    Theres so many good looking Irish women as there are so many average/ugly looking foreign women!!

This whole thing about the Irish people in general being ugly is ****e ive seen enough mental looking foreigners here and abroad its not exclusive to Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

The majority of the women I've been with have been foreign, a lebanese who was sound, an italian that was off the head and now I'm with a Spanish girl, she is the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Theres so many good looking Irish women as there are so many average/ugly looking foreign women!!

This whole thing about the Irish people in general being ugly is ****e ive seen enough mental looking foreigners here and abroad its not exclusive to Ireland!

The only down side to us is the pasty whiteness which some pull of with aplomb but others not so much.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Yeah I kinda guessed this was a thinly veiled Irish women are ugly thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

This. They take great pride in their women. For a Spanish man they are the most beautiful. I said It to my friends about latinas and Eastern european women and they said they would always go for a spanish girl.

Feisar wrote: »
    The only down side to us is the pasty whiteness which some pull of with aplomb but others not so much.

Theres less of that now then there was twenty thirty years ago id imagine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

al87987 wrote: »
    I'm a bloke, almost 30 and have been with my Mexican gf for almost a year.

Of my male friends, all are going out with Americans, Austrians, Australians, Brazilians, Spanish and even more Mexicans. Only one of us is with an Irish girl.

Contrast this with my female friends and not one of them is going out with a foreign lad.

What with the advent of Tinder and ever growing multi-culturalism going on in Dublin it seems many blokes are looking for a bit of strange but women not as much or at least that's what I have found in my own circle.

So I was wondering are we going to see heaps of single Irish women in the next few years?

and more importantly does this mean we are going to have a good national football team in a few years?

Simple answer is girls not from Ireland generally, take pride in their apperance, are not stuck up and are up for a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Pa8301

Simple answer is girls not from Ireland generally, take pride in their apperance, are not stuck up and are up for a laugh

And they don't smell funny.

Anything but a simple answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Imagine being an average to below-average looking Spanish, Slovak or Polish woman with all these supermodels in your midst. Must be hard.

At least in Ireland, we’re all swampdonkeys together! ;)

Malayalam wrote: »
    Yeah I kinda guessed this was a thinly veiled Irish women are ugly thread

Thinly veiled? :D More sandwich board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Tis all grand until babies come along and she wants to move back home to mammy in rural Tdxhggshhmuaia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

al87987 wrote: »
    I'm a bloke, almost 30 and have been with my Mexican gf for almost a year.

Of my male friends, all are going out with Americans, Austrians, Australians, Brazilians, Spanish and even more Mexicans. Only one of us is with an Irish girl.

Contrast this with my female friends and not one of them is going out with a foreign lad.

What with the advent of Tinder and ever growing multi-culturalism going on in Dublin it seems many blokes are looking for a bit of strange but women not as much or at least that's what I have found in my own circle.

So I was wondering are we going to see heaps of single Irish women in the next few years?

and more importantly does this mean we are going to have a good national football team in a few years?

Funny enough though I recently met a couple, she was Mexican and he was Irish, I felt kinda sorry because she was lovely and he was such a boring berkeen. :) Hope it wasn't you guys;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Donatron

Latin girls and Irish lads tend to make a good match I find.

Latin girls are used to guys being very OTT, cheating, getting crazy jealous etc. Whereas Irish lads tend to be pretty relaxed and quite loyal in relationships.

From the lads perspective Latin girls are very feminine and quite approachable. And being fairly relaxed, Irish lads tend to deal quite well with their eccentric moments.

I'm not sure the match works quite so well the other way which is perhaps why you don't see so many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

Spanish bloke here with an irish girl. We exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Going with Foreign Girl. Been with Irish girls and thankfully the vast majority were sound and I would wish well.

Don't date Foreign national cause she is Foreign it's just we get along and she bloody dam cook too:pac:

It's whatever floats your boat really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

juanjo wrote: »
    Spanish bloke here with an irish girl. We exist!

No you don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

Strange, because when I go around in Dublin all mixed couple I see are almost always Irish woman with africans, muslims and sometimes indians. And usually the women are beautiful. I even saw few times recently Irish women with east asian which I found strange. The Irish men I see with foreigner girl usually the girl is east asian, but those kind of couples are more rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

Rory28 wrote: »
    No you don't

R1fdEt3.gif

AfterLife wrote: »
    I'm assuming it's all online considering you wouldn't have them in the country.

Why? There are plenty of foreigners in Ireland.

There's over 200 Chinese people in my home town alone between students, expat workers, and those who have settled here.

But in my case, I've been back in Ireland for the last year, and have been living in Asia before that. In Ireland, I've mostly met my foreign dates through friends or on weekends hanging out in Dublin. I tend to avoid Internet dating like the plague. It's far too dishonest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

A lot of Irish women aren't stuck up, absolutely take pride in their appearance, and are very much up for a laugh.

That's a baffling statement, tbh.

I think one of the major differences is that Irish women tend to try to be "one of the lads" (drinking heavily, partying, etc). I've noticed that other cultures outside of UK/Ireland don't have this, and women behave far differently, perhaps closer to the traditional ideas of a "lady".

I don't mean that as a criticism of Irish women. Each culture is different. Most Irish guys I know prefer Irish women. I don't, but then I never got into the drinking culture in Ireland.

Knex. wrote: »
    A lot of Irish women aren't stuck up, absolutely take pride in their appearance, and are very much up for a laugh.

That's a baffling statement, tbh.

I was in Lisbon last August. There was an Irish guy at a bar we were at one night loudly going on about how awful Irish women were: ugly, stuck up, you name it. It was like a live action AH thread. He was also rating other nationalities. Honestly came across like a sad sack and was of course nothing special to look at himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Live in Spain and am with a local so its my missus who is the one going out with a foreigner.

I see plenty of local-foreign couples here, though the majority would be local girl, foreign boy, make of that what you will.

I don't disccriminate against Irish girls when choosing a partner, it's just the way things have turned out. I'm attracted to people for who they are, where they're from is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Banged the brains out of a busty Brazilian babe who was mad for some Irish love baton only a few weeks ago after one of their World Cup games. Her English wasn’t great, but the language of love is universal, as is the phrase ‘fûck me harder you bastard’. Didn’t get to stay the night as she shared a room with 5 others, and they were sharing a can in the kitchen waiting for us to finish. Still, had a good time.

Wouldn’t rule it out again in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

My ex was foreign and exotic! Lovely guy, very fond memories. Also dated a few Canadians during my time there, so I would have been the foreigner. There was a Greek in there somewhere too. I’d have no problem sampling some foreign delights again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Banged the brains out of a busty Brazilian babe who was mad for some Irish love baton only a few weeks ago after one of their World Cup games. Her English wasn’t great, but the language of love is universal, as is the phrase ‘fûck me harder you bastard’. Didn’t get to stay the night as she shared a room with 5 others, and they were sharing a can in the kitchen waiting for us to finish. Still, had a good time.

Wouldn’t rule it out again in future.

And then you woke up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I think one of the major differences is that Irish women tend to try to be "one of the lads" (drinking heavily, partying, etc). I've noticed that other cultures outside of UK/Ireland don't have this, and women behave far differently, perhaps closer to the traditional ideas of a "lady".

I don't know if that's so much a cultural thing as a personal thing. Perhaps in Asian women but I've certainly known plenty of foreign ladettes.

Canadian, American, Swedish, Finnish, French, Spanish, Dutch, German, to name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I love the way Paddy has his eye on a demographic tipping point up the road.

And is blind as a bat with the foreign influx - I reckon there is a tipping point coming here in about 3 or 4 decades.
    I mean think about it - it is not like there are mechanisms to stop it. We are already somewhere north of 10% but many urban areas feel like closer to 20-25%.
    In the eyes of some - pointing that out makes me KKK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Cina wrote: »
    And then you woke up.

Look up his posts for a laugh though!

First they came for the socialists...

wexie wrote: »
    I don't know if that's so much a cultural thing as a personal thing. Perhaps in Asian women but I've certainly known plenty of foreign ladettes.

Canadian, American, Swedish, Finnish, French, Spanish, Dutch, German, to name a few.

And I agree with you, but in my experience, there is a greater leaning towards the "ladette" in Ireland. (although that might be a bit strong since we're not talking tomboys here). As for Asia, the culture is far different and more chauvinistic, so women don't have as much chance to share behaviors with men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I tried the whole foreign gf thing (in the early days when it was fashionable) but still eventually married an Irish girl..... the foreign girls (and lads for that matter) will just never fully get the Irish culture, sense of humour etc.
    They just don't cut it to be brutally honest.

Also, and this is purely my generalised opinion based on my personal observations, any Irish lads who I've met/known who establish a long term relationship with a foreign girl seem to be lacking in "something" socially-speaking...... I'm not saying they couldn't get an Irish girl long term but.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SilverPenney

The consensus in this thread appears to be that Irish men tend to be more commonly going out with foreigners as opposed to Irish women, which I find strange tbh, and not at all what I witness in my own anecdotal experience. Its very common to see Irish girls with black/Muslim fellas on the streets these days........I don't think that I've ever seen one Irish man going with a Black/Muslim girl, only the odd east Asian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

The consensus in this thread appears to be that Irish men tend to be more commonly going out with foreigners as opposed to Irish women, which I find strange tbh, and not at all what I witness in my own anecdotal experience. Its very common to see Irish girls with black/Muslim fellas on the streets these days........I don't think that I've ever seen one Irish man going with a Black/Muslim girl, only the odd east Asian.

You know there are foreign people who are not Muslim or black?

Pelvis wrote: »
    You know there are foreign people who are not Muslim or black?

And? I see many africans and muslims with nice irish girls but never the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

That is weird. You never see a young south dublin girl with some brazilian or spanish lad(it does happen but rarely) but you'll always see some young wan with a black or arab guy. Probably to do with social status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

Same thing in England you almost never see a white man with a black girlfriend.

9/10 times mixed race people have a black father and a white mother.

You can see this on Love Island UK where there are white girls with black/mixed race men yet the black/non white women rarely get a look in from the white guys.

I have my own theory as to why this is. You see a similar thing with East Asians. Whenever you get a half asian half white person in America the Father will usually be White and the mother Asian.

Jorah wrote: »
    Same thing in England you almost never see a white man with a black girlfriend.

9/10 times mixed race people have a black father and a white mother.

You can see this on Love Island UK where there are white girls with black/mixed race men yet the black/non white women rarely get a look in from the white guys.

I have my own theory as to why this is. You see a similar thing with East Asians. Whenever you get a half asian half white person in America the Father will usually be White and the mother Asian.

I also have my own theory, and is related to sizes. Small men go for east asian as they think they fit better there. Women also search for sizes and go with africans. You also add the big percentage of homosexual european men and you will see way more white women with non white men than white men and non white women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Cina wrote: »
    And then you woke up.

Johnny gets a pass. It's ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Das Reich wrote: »
    I also have my own theory, and is related to sizes. Small men go for east asian as they think they fit better there. Women also search for sizes and go with africans. You also add the big percentage of homosexual european men and you will see way more white women with non white men than white men and non white women.

Size is definitely a factor...... larger ladies tend to struggle to find white/Caucasian/European men willing to accept their size as attractive whereas a lot of black/African men seem to prefer the larger women.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Size is definitely a factor...... larger ladies tend to struggle to find white/Caucasian/European men willing to accept their size as attractive whereas a lot of black/African men seem to prefer the larger VISA women.

FYP :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

.... He wouldn't be getting out on his own ever.

A bit whimsical there ......
    Don't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Yeah it's all ponies and roses until the baby comes along and looks like a spud. Mine could have had all the nice traits of Alpine people, my genes seem to be some weak sh1te though so it looks like a translucent New potato.