Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Waterford still safe at night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

He wasnt in the wrong place at the wrong time,he was walking home and backed away from an argument he was doing everything that a young man would be doing on a Saturday night.

How do you know the circumstances leading to his death or are you just surmising?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

How do you know the circumstances leading to his death or are you just surmising?

I agree with moose although I'd guess both of us don't know what happened but, under no circumstances should being in the busiest location in the city centre be described as 'just wrong place/time'..I think throwaway comments like wrong place/time are ridiculous and are really a kind of false excuse of a reason for this tragedy.I know nobody said it to mean like that but thats the way we sweep it under the carpet.
    End of day, some scumbags are to blame in all likelihood, the lack of gardai in area, pathetic justice system etc etc and even why is there not clear cctv of the culprit is to blame.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,172 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I've seen the CCTV, there was no kick in the head. There was a sucker punch and another one while the guy was on his way down already, he then hit his head hard on the concrete. He was completely defenseless for the attack and there is nothing on the camera I saw to suggest he did anything to provoke it. The name of the attacker is not public as far as I know so I won't use his name but I hope he gets the book thrown at him.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 28 spikadelica

RIP but lets not get carried away here, one incident doesn't mean the town is "doing to the dogs". Waterford is a relatively safe city compared to other cities and unfortunately these incidents happen everywhere.

This is not just one isolated If you're trying to present it like so. It's a number of incidents that have happened in the area. One being a high profile murder that took place on Newsteet. Also someone stabbed in the head about two months ago outside Apache.

There's a failure in preventing assaults from happening in the John Street/Manor area. There should have been guards on the beat
    Too busy mounting the 8 Garda barricade across the entrance to new Applemarket

Any news on the incident Saturday night in an apartment on John Street? Rumoured stabbing, crime scene guys were there early Sunday morning anyway but have heard nothing about it since.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 38,356 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Another fatal stabbing in the county. 25 year old man killed in Dunmore east

https://www.rte.ie/news/munster/2018/0726/981149-dunmore-east/

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

This is really getting out of hand now! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭Flow Motion

Its a sign of the times to be sure. Sometimes I think that the publicity shown and given in the media to knife crimes/stabbings seems to escalate the problem. A self fulfilling prophecy perhaps? Still though its a bit strange and unnerving that the younger generation have turned towards the knife/blade as a means of protection, self-defence and violence. Is it the easy access to violent imagery via TV/films/internet or what? Scary thing is that the next step on the slippery scale is guns. Who is to say in 20 years time that this weapon won't be as available as the knife?

Nevertheless there are a lot of lives being ruined by a moment of madness. Both the victim and the perpetrator. Maybe it has got to the point where the people of Waterford have to take a stand. Most people are law abiding citizens and only want to lead a safe, happy comfortable existence. Years back when New York was the most dangerous place on earth a group of citizens formed a group called the 'Guardian Angels' - an unarmed crime prevention vigilantes. Perhaps Waterford needs its own chapter?

Not to say Waterford was once a rose tinted garden where everyone always got on. Its inherent the nature of man to resort to his ancient animalistic ways. The laws of the jungle remain implanted deep in the darkest depth of the brain. Did most of my young socialising from the early 90's to the late 00's. The early period had most people in Breens [The Bridge Hotel]. There was always the odd fight and a big brawl once in a blue moon. Similarly outside Supermacs. Somewhere along the way the nightclubs were dotted around town so people were naturally dispersed throughout the town. Over the years is slowly became centralised and now John's Street is the focus. Also you would have to factor in the club culture of the 90's/00's : ecstasy was the drug of choice and I reckon all the head de balls/toughnuts in town were dropping tons of it. Hence they mellowed out and there wasnt much aggro around imo. With the Celtic Tiger cocaine became the drug of choice and anyone who has seen the film 'Scarface' will see the consequences. Then the Recession sent many of the same folk into an abyss of heroin. Maybe its all just a tenuous link but surely it is some way linked.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭kuang1

eeloe wrote: »
    This is really getting out of hand now! :(

I would never belittle anyone's life being taken, but a response like this is 100% hyperbolic.

So what are we to believe... Everyone who lives anywhere in Co. Waterford right now is in danger of losing their life.??? Randomly??

Shut your truck up, research a little behind these specific stories, and gain a little perspective please.
    Bad sh1te happens all over the world all the time. Even in the finest of societies.

My heart goes out to everyone involved on both sides of this.
    But we are no more "in danger" than we were last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

kuang1 wrote: »
    I would never belittle anyone's life being taken, but a response like this is 100% hyperbolic.

So what are we to believe... Everyone who lives anywhere in Co. Waterford right now is in danger of losing their life.??? Randomly??

Shut your truck up, research a little behind these specific stories, and gain a little perspective please.
    Bad sh1te happens all over the world all the time. Even in the finest of societies.

My heart goes out to everyone involved on both sides of this.
    But we are no more "in danger" than we were last week.

I find this extremely offensive, how many lives need to be taken before it's acceptable to you for someone to say "it's really getting out of hand"? It is only when people stand up and say enough is enough that things will change.

How dare you tell someone expressing outrage at a killing to "shut the truck up"!

Your entire post underscores its first half sentence as a lie, hollow words expressed so you can go on to attempt to belittle the loss of a life by attacking someone expressing outrage in a simple sentence at the fact that somebody has been killed.

What is your solution to the amount of violence in our community? Wait for superman to swoop in and catch the baddies? Stand up and shout that it's getting out of hand and we have enough? Oh, wait, no, your preferred option is to lie back and say, meh! and tell anyone willing to express outrage to "shut the truck up".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

Lot of people here are trying to downplaying crime. That's two violent murders we had within a month. One was the result of an ongoing feud and one happened at one of the busiest intersections in the city under the view of Garda cameras.

I think people accusing anybody of hypeberbolethere are just being disingenuous.

This "sure look it it happens everywhere" attitude" isn't good enough. Burying your head in sand so it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭PPN2893

Not to diminish the previous crimes mentioned in this thread but I've just had a minor altercation near Manor Road, so nope, I wouldn't say it's safe at night at all anymore.

PPN2893 wrote: »
    Not to diminish the previous crimes mentioned in this thread but I've just had a minor altercation near Manor Road, so nope, I wouldn't say it's safe at night at all anymore.

U ok ??

Bank holiday weekends always bring out the dickheads

• Registered Users Posts: 38,388 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I was only ever in Waterford once and was in a night club when a guy I hadn't looked at or spoken to smashed a pint glass on the side of my head. He was a foreigner.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭PPN2893

PTH2009 wrote: »
    U ok ??

Bank holiday weekends always bring out the dickheads

Short version is I think I encountered someone who might have been following home drunk people hoping to pick off stragglers. For context, I'm a woman. Thankfully I wasn't a drunk girl walking home alone. I just woke up ridiculously early and decided to pop to the 24 hour garage to get milk as I'd ran out the night before. Angry shouting and winding my good arm back for a punch got him to **** off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

Huge pool of blood and splatter on new street , looks like a scene from saw v😮

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Hoffmans wrote: »

Waterford is just going through a rough period. . :)

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭JimWinters

With drips of blood all the way from there, through John St and out to the Mansion House where there's another pool of blood. The guards were all over it on Sunday night following the trail with their torches and another 3 of them standing over the blood at the mansion for ages. Heard rumours of another assault but there were no crime scene technicians or anything like that around so must be nothing??

So what we have too offer in our main pub/nightclub hub

The Hub- decent pub
    Kazbar- can be packed
    Geoffs
    Heerys
    Market bar
    Shortts- A nightmare on weekends, place is so packed and deff goes over capacity
    Project Waterford
    Revolution- something about the place makes me feel uncomfortable
    Sinnotts- prob the best nightclub in the city
    Woodman- grand place
    Thirsty Scholar

Reg up the road too

A lot of people coming out of crowded places at a similar time.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭Flow Motion

Could never really take to this place in all its forms down thru the years as I will always think of it as Eddie Rocketts! Dont like the design or layout inside either.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

The Hub- decent pub
    Kazbar- can be packed
    Geoffs
    Heerys
    Market bar
    Shortts- A nightmare on weekends, place is so packed and deff goes over capacity
    Project Waterford
    Sinnotts- prob the best nightclub in the city
    Woodman- grand place
    Thirsty Scholar

Reg up the road too

A lot of people coming out of crowded places at a similar time.

Foundry is reopening soon also, by the looks of the advertising it will be directly competing with Project.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭gw80

Dog fight?,monkey knife fight?who knows?

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

gw80 wrote: »
    Dog fight?,monkey knife fight?who knows?

I heard monkey knife fight, the town is really gone t'de dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

I heard monkey knife fight, the town is really gone t'de dogs.

Surely it would be a dog fight then.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭taytobreath

could be that time of the month

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

Waterford is just going through a rough period. . :)

Since 1999 :)

Craig McGrath has been charged with manslaughter over the death of Damien o Brien.

All named and in the public arena so I assume it's ok to post here too

https://www.beat102103.com/news/man-charged-over-death-of-waterford-musician/

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭JourneyMan8

Craig McGrath has been charged with manslaughter over the death of Damien o Brien.

no surprise to hear that name.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,387 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

no surprise to hear that name.

whats the story with mcgrath?

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭JourneyMan8

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    whats the story with mcgrath?

didn't mean like that to have anything to do with the surname(if it came across like that.), just wasn't surprised to hear about him doing something stupid, as he's always been a wrong un.