Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home Made Rifle stock

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

Well you can see homemade stocks on pat sludds website. He is not a professional stockmaker, he done it for years as a hobby or sideline, and is self taught.

I did see on an american forum, trainee stockmakers basically stocking a rifle with a very cheap piece of white deal or beech, as a trial run. When they were happy they could do it, they went for it with the good piece of wood.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

For the finish of the stock I had two options.

French polished (or a similar application). My father refinished his Brno neigh on 40 years ago in a similar style and it held its lustre and seal over all those years.

Oiled Finish. 33 yrs ago I refinished my Brno with a linseed oil / wax combination and although I have touched it up over the years it never needed a complete re-do. The surface although water proofed wouldn't have the lustre of the varnish finish.
    Newer techniques will shorten time and effort required and some will produce a gloss finish.

Recently reworked the .270 in a oiled finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Checkering is a real pain in the hoop. And yes the tools are needed. 
    You can inlet the stock with chisels and some homemade cutting tools from old files. you can then use dressing paste or the smoke from a kerosene lamp to inlet the stock perfectly, ( it takes quite a lot of time.)
    As for the finish, you can achieve a high gloss oil finish if you want, it just depends on how you go about it.