Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D II Act One Scene V - The Valley

• Registered Users Posts: 6,784 ✭✭✭Evade

Fourier wrote: »
    Karinth shouts at Iuric.

"Paladin we are in mortal peril here..."

He looks at Retula and speaks calmly.

"What is the issue here Warlock...does your patron want me dead?"
    Iuric's head clears a little "Indeed, this is no laughing matter" and he stifles a giggle and tries to climb up to relative safety.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Evade wrote: »
    Iuric's head clears a little "Indeed, this is no laughing matter" and he stifles a giggle and tries to climb up to relative safety.
    OOC: STR(Athletics) check to climb up Karinth, Easy Target 10

OOC: Athletics check = 13

sKeith wrote: »
    Sarric exits the cairn, goes around back, stands 25 feet back and releases a fire bolt at the rear wall;
    OOC: Roll damage only

OOC: Athletics check = 13
    Iuric gains a sure footing and climbs up Karinth, leaving him free to grab Retula's thorn whip. As he swings up and lands he smiles at her.

"We'll save the fight for another time then, nice ability, now..."

The wall behind them cracks a little from some sort of impact.

"...will we add to that?"

Iuric gains a sure footing and climbs up Karinth, leaving him free to grab Retula's thorn whip. As he swings up and lands he smiles at her.

"We'll save the fight for another time then, nice ability, now..."

The wall behind them cracks a little from some sort of impact.

"...will we add to that?"
    "Indeed, lets." Iuric pounds on the wall with his mailed fists.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Vrakrash retracts his head from the sidewall and goes around to Sarric.

'Allow me to attempt to help, Sarric.'

Vrakrash casts Firebolt towards the wall from the same position as Sarric

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

"Back up paladin"

**Make sure whoever's banging on the wall is ten feet or more back**

Eldritch blast with repulsion.
    (14 and 9 if needed)

Iuric thumps the wall, combined with Retula's blast, the back wall breaks down....

Iuric runs through the gap and gets a few lungfuls of fresh(?) air. "My thanks Retula."

Necrominus wrote: »
    Vrakrash retracts his head from the sidewall and goes around to Sarric.

'Allow me to attempt to help, Sarric.'

Vrakrash casts Firebolt towards the wall from the same position as Sarric
    The firebolt grows enormous when released, far greater than Vrakrash is capable of naturally. The strange valley magics distorting his form mix with his own arcane energies.

It releases as an incinerating cone of tremendous power toward the opening...

OOC: Fire bolt, triple damage

OOC: 10 only, thankfully

Iuric runs through the gap and gets a few lungfuls of fresh(?) air. "My thanks Retula."
    He sees Vrakash's bolt fly past him into the opening and wallop into Karinth who flies back into the lava.

Vrakrash sinks to his knees in shock.

'What have I done?'

"KAAAAAANRITTTTTHHHHHH!"

Retula reflexively flicks a thorn whip after the dancey sword guy.

Banjo wrote: »
    Retula reflexively flicks a thorn whip after the dancey sword guy.
    OOC: Roll to hit target 15

Ooc : 24 (d20+7)

The thorn whip emerges from Retula's hand and catches Karinth by the leg, inches above the lava. An elemental within the lava reaches out, but misses Karinth as he dangles. At which he quickly swings up, climbs the thorn and gives Retula a hug.

"Thank you psychopomp....thank you"

OOC: Off for the night

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

OOC: Advantage on one ability Check, due to the way the posts came one wasn't specified in time, so I'll say it is Charisma in this case if you want, so roll again.
    OOC: Problem caused by me. I mistakingly used the spell like the Bardic Inspiration cantrip, casting before the event rather than after. Mia Culpa.

Mags fails to stop the decent of the ceiling and finally rushes into the vapour filled room where he sees a stranger, Varkrash on his knees and Retula thornwhip in hand being grappled.
    "Ok, this isn't better. Wait who the **** is that?"
    He summons his Bardic powers....

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OOC: No worries OldGoat it's a minor thing.

Karinth releases his Hug and turns to Mags

"Bard do not worry, we are all friends here..."

The room shakes a bit.

"Let us make a quick exit shall we?"

OOC: Perception check to see if Mags recognises the mind altering laughing gas from past experiences. If it's akin to something recreational he's indulged in before he's going to try and get a lungful before going outside through the blasted hole.

Vrakrash, outside the cairn is still on his knees, not having looked up yet.

He begins punching the ground in anger.

'Sarric... I.. was only trying to help. I did not mean to do this.'

OldGoat wrote: »
    OOC: Perception check to see if Mags recognises the mind altering laughing gas from past experiences. If it's akin to something recreational he's indulged in before he's going to try and get a lungful before going outside through the blasted hole.
    Taking a quick whiff Mags can tell this isn't recreational stuff of any sort, it smells like the poisoness by-product made when making Elven delight though.

Karinth guards the exit as Mags leaves.

Necrominus wrote: »
    'Sarric... I.. was only trying to help. I did not mean to do this.'
    Karinth shouts from the chamber.

"Chin up dragon, a fine blast, nothing to be ashamed of. Nearly got a bit of a lava tan, but the psychopomp had my back."

He smiles, but a fang bearing vampire lord has never looked less threatening.

Karinth shouts from the chamber.

"Chin up dragon, a fine blast, nothing to be ashamed of. Nearly got a bit of a lava tan, but the psychopomp had my back."

He smiles, but a fang bearing vampire lord has never looked less threatening.

'Karinth? You... but I saw...'

Vrakrash gets to his feet and runs towards Karinth, but stops abruptly.

'Ahem... glad to see you are ok. I had best not touch you - given what happened last time I passed my hand through someone.'

Vrakrash waves at Mags and Retula inside the cairn still.

'Probably best we all get out of here before the whole building collapses.'

He points to Cairn 3C.

'I escaped through a side channel there, perhaps that one is interconnected with this?'

"You touch me again, dead man, you're kindling!"
    Retula frantically tries to wipe the undead cooties off herself, while running for the door. She's met by her plus-sized avian compadré.

"Don't give me that look. He's still on the list, I just need to take care of that family in the ruins of Kyrtin first. And that guy who was preying on caravans. And there's like a whole city of the featherpluckers. One mission at a time. Besides, he saved a life from an untimely death, punctuality works both ways, that's gotta count for something... right?"

If the moment allows, she's going to plonk down for a short rest, she's knackered.

Mags noodles out a 'Song of Rest' while the gang take a breather. He could do with a long rest himself though and looks forward to finding a campfire in the nearby woods.

#kemptown ladies sing a song,
    DoDaa, doodaa.
    Kemptown ladies sing their song
    Oh de doo daaa day#

OOC: 1d6 extra health to anyone spending a hit-die to recover.

Vrakrash is soothed by the sound of Mags' song and sits down cross-legged on the ground beside Retula.

He spends the next hour resting and attempting to bond his axe to himself.

OOC: Eldritch Knight ability btw :) There's probably a side effect given I'm intangible at the moment :/

Ser Boros lies beside Vrakrash.

"Rough day dragon, is it day or night here, hard to tell with the sun stretched across the sky"

He falls asleep.

OOC: Opportunity for long rest for any who wish to take it