Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Le Tour '18 stage 12: Bourg-Saint-Maurice > Alpe d'Huez 175k

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

remember froome going past wiggins and being told to come back the year wiggins won it? no question who was the stronger rider.

tough to say thomas doesn't look stronger than froome in this tour and is going to hand over the jersey despite being stronger

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Happy enough anyone but Froome.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

RobertKK wrote: »
    Boooooooooooooo

unreal no commentry at all the clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

Cycling dies a little more every day

• Registered Users Posts: 33,749 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The tour de boo around France.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Geraint le grimpeur Thomas wins on Alpe-uh d'Huez.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Great recovery from nibali. Glad froome didn't win that. Was driving with the player playing over bluetooth and my heart sank when I heard froome had gone off up the road. Sneaky ****er to attack aswell when nibali was on the floor

• Registered Users Posts: 11,038 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Dan 1'45 down

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭scott1974

I reckon Martyn Irvine could be a grand tour contender if he went to SKY..

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭mhiggy09

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Happy enough anyone but Froome.

In the same boat, as much as I dislike froome and sky i do rather like Thomas and wouldn't mind him winning if the race was exciting and none of this sky train stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭nc6000

Are those boos I hear from the crowd at the finish?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Kruiswijk talking already to Dutch tv; “it was worth a try” with teary eyes :(

• Registered Users Posts: 20,611 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

scott1974 wrote: »
    I reckon Martyn Irvine could be a grand tour contender if he went to SKY..

Sky seem to work wonders with track riders. Froome also improved immensely from thier training methods

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Doc07

Dan lost 1’45. Could have been a lot worse as he lost wheel around 6km to go. Actually it’s impressive.
    Fair play also to Nibali almost getting back by the line.
    Never saw near-track stands and messing from the lead group before on Alpe stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Thomas strong at the moment. If he falters later on in the race, a 'riding into form' Froome is there to take up the lead.

I'd say, mano a mano, Dumoulin may be the strongest individual rider but he can't defend against two Sky riders.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Anyone know why Sagan and Nibili had black armbands on today?

Choochtown wrote: »
    Anyone know why Sagan and Nibili had black armbands on today?

Their old boss at liquigas died unexpectedly yesterday

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Thomas strong at the moment. If he falters later on in the race, a 'riding into form' Froome is there to take up the lead.

I'd say, mano a mano, Dumoulin may be the strongest individual rider but he can't defend against two Sky riders.

I wonder at some stage is the Giro going to catch up with Froome.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,321 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Maybe in 2022.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Doc07 wrote: »
    Dan lost 1’45. Could have been a lot worse as he lost wheel around 6km to go. Actually it’s impressive.
    Fair play also to Nibali almost getting back by the line.
    Never saw near-track stands and messing from the lead group before on Alpe stage.
    To be fair, your last sentence explains your first. He did ok but if the lads had gone for it, 'twould've been more like 3 minutes. I think he was dropped with more than 6 to go. Thought it was nearer 8k.
    Just seen, still in 10th but now much more difficult to be top 5 which I'm guessing was the aim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭thelawman

Isn’t this Sky’s plan to have “G” in yellow? that way they can control the effort, time gap each day in favor of Froome, and give him the nod in the final week to take over yellow,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭nc6000

Thomas just saying he's "still riding for Froomey"

Time for movistar to give up this 3 leader crap and back Landa. Quintanas a busted flush and has been for a long time

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭BIGT4464

thelawman wrote: »
    Isn’t this Sky’s plan to have “G” in yellow? that way they can control the effort, time gap each day in favor of Froome, and give him the nod in the final week to take over yellow,
    1 min 39, that's a lot of time to make up or to just give up for Froome, he time trials well too.  Thomas will win this damn circus.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Nibali collided with a Moto according to the World of Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,755 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

So thomas did the alpe dhuez a few seconds quicker then Lance.

Those marginal gains aren't very marginal at all

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Nobody wonders this about Dumoulin though? Strange that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Burkie1203 wrote: »

They did say there was a tailwind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Andy Magic

Burkie1203 wrote: »

They had a tail wind and lance was on a solo TT? Any links though I'm interested

Weepsie wrote: »
    Nobody wonders this about Dumoulin though? Strange that.

That's true but Tom didn't do a "Landis"...