Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

As a capital city is Dublin one of the biggest kips in any 1st world country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

ceegee wrote: »
    Dublin doesn't have the most expensive property in the world.

The number of people receiving medical cards, social welfare, social housing, college grants etc would suggest that your "extreme right wing" claims are nonsense.

Dublin is one of the most expensive cities in Europe and, frankly, it cannot justify it. Get out and travel.

Having a welfare system means a state is automatically not right wing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭ceegee

Dublin is one of the most expensive cities in Europe and, frankly, it cannot justify it. Get out and travel.

Having a welfare system means a state is automatically not right wing?

I have travelled, we are among the more expensive cities in Europe, not the most expensive in the world as you previously claimed.

Our level of welfare spending is in direct conflict with most right wing economic views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

ceegee wrote: »
    I have travelled, we are among the more expensive cities in Europe, not the most expensive in the world as you previously claimed.

Our level of welfare spending is in direct conflict with most right wing economic views.

Dublin is ranked (by the The Economist Intelligence Unit) 19th out of 133 cities in terms of the most expensive cities in the world. London is 30th. Therefore Dublin is ranked among the most expensive cities in the world in which to live.

In a country where 1.3m out of 2.1m million workers earn less than €30,000, then that is quite a considerable achievement. The reason therefore why Dublin remains high on such a list is because of massive wealth inequality as a result of right wing policies.

Having a welfare system in the 21st Century has ZERO, NOTHING to do with whether a government is left or right wing. A welfare system is set up to protect primarily the state, not the recipient of welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Still an amazing city to live it. We should count ourselves lucky we've such a brilliant capital city that provides for most of the rest of the country too.

Thanks to Dublin and it's inhabitants, no matter where they're from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Prominent_Dawg

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Still an amazing city to live it. We should count ourselves lucky we've such a brilliant capital city that provides for most of the rest of the country too.

Thanks to Dublin and it's inhabitants, no matter where they're from.

Provides what for most of the rest of the country?.. If only we could combine the museum, gallery, restaurants, shops and delicatessens and your attitude and all relocate to perhaps Castleknock where the train which takes 20 minutes and the bus takes 35 to 45 minutes but you know what its fine, because I don't use the bus!.. (just nobody tell the homeless!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Provides what for most of the rest of the country?..

Indeed.
    If only we could combine the museum, gallery, restaurants, shops and delicatessens and your attitude and all relocate to perhaps Castleknock where the train which takes 20 minutes and the bus takes 35 to 45 minutes but you know what its fine, because I don't use the bus!.. (just nobody tell the homeless!)

Castleknock is a bit too far inland for me to be honest. I prefer to be more coastal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭redblaze

Dublin is ranked (by the The Economist Intelligence Unit) 19th out of 133 cities in terms of the most expensive cities in the world. London is 30th. Therefore Dublin is ranked among the most expensive cities in the world in which to live.

Dublin is considered more expensive than London?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Provides what for most of the rest of the country?.. If only we could combine the museum, gallery, restaurants, shops and delicatessens and your attitude and all relocate to perhaps Castleknock where the train which takes 20 minutes and the bus takes 35 to 45 minutes but you know what its fine, because I don't use the bus!.. (just nobody tell the homeless!)

Provides tax revenue that subsidises every other county in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

In a country where 1.3m out of 2.1m million workers earn less than €30,000, then that is quite a considerable achievement. The reason therefore why Dublin remains high on such a list is because of massive wealth inequality as a result of right wing policies.

Having a welfare system in the 21st Century has ZERO, NOTHING to do with whether a government is left or right wing. A welfare system is set up to protect primarily the state, not the recipient of welfare.

These rankings are slightly misleading in fairness - and they do not include taxation or accommodation (London accommodation prices are fairly eye-watering). London's fall down the table to 30th had much to do with sharp decrease in the valuation of the Pound, but that does not translate into a cheaper environment for Londoners, whereby goods will be sold at prices which are elevated to cover the increased import costs. Similarly, the strengthening of the Euro caused many of the Eurozone capital to rise up the list -- according to the study anyway.

In essence, this study is done on an international comparative basis -- not on a basis of the relative purchasing power of the local people of those cities. I know for sure that I found it a fair bit harder to get by in London than I have done in Dublin.

Not that any of the above should be taking as me suggesting Dublin isn't over-expensive - it certainly is.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

MadDog76 wrote: »
    Nope, any more questions?

By the way, you really should travel more...... just saying.

Anyone living in Dublin is probably keen to travel more just to get out of the kip.

You can stay in a 5 star hotel in Central London for the price of a 3 star hotel in Dublin. The VAT rate on the hotel in London is 20%, compared to 9% for Dublin. Who in their right mind would choose to visit Dublin over London?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Balanadan wrote: »
    You can stay in a 5 star hotel in Central London for the price of a 3 star hotel in Dublin. The VAT rate on the hotel in London is 20%, compared to 9% for Dublin. Who in their right mind would choose to visit Dublin over London?

Do you have a source for that?

Anyway people can do multiple city breaks in a lifetime.

Do you have a source for that?

Anyway people can do multiple city breaks in a lifetime.

Booking.com

I always try to book direct though, just so the hotel are paying the commission.

They can indeed, and there are multiple cities to visit that are nicer and less expensive than Dublin.

Booking.com

I always try to book direct though, just so the hotel are paying the commission.

They can indeed, and there are multiple cities to visit that are nicer and less expensive than Dublin.

Can you link to two properties that show the issue.

Dublin doesn’t have to be the best city in Europe. It’s clearly not Paris, Rome or London.

It just has to be a pretty good place to visit. Which it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    The ones in Dublin are all city centre hotels with 300/500 metres to the centre

The ones you linked in London are 5 kilometres or 11 kilometres from the centre

That is not a like for like comparison

That’s not true actually. The one he linked to in London is in Battersea. That’s fairly central and London is easy to get around given the tube. I think you could get to Hyde park within a few minutes. Oxford st a few more.

Of course central in London is a subjective concept. It’s big but it’s easy to get places.

However this price difference just means that London has more hotels to handle demand. Dublin is clearly in demand despite being a “kip”.

Not that I’m a fan of the Irish hoteliers. More hotels are certainly needed.

You can stay in a 5 star hotel in Central London for the price of a 3 star hotel in Dublin.

That can't be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

redblaze wrote: »
    You can stay in a 5 star hotel in Central London for the price of a 3 star hotel in Dublin.

That can't be true.
    Its not.
    But its a great catch all punch line to "show what a kip Dublin is "
    The problem is...haters gonna hate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

Its not.
    But its a great catch all punch line to "show what a kip Dublin is "
    The problem is...haters gonna hate.

It's a kip because of the drug addicts and young scumbag looking for something to destroy or damage. There should be gas chambers brought in for clean up.

Gas Chambers??
    What an innovative idea. That will really help us evolve as a species.
    Amazing no ones tried it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Gas Chambers??
    What an innovative idea. That will really help us evolve as a species.
    Amazing no ones tried it before.

Gas chambers are dodgy....the price of gas could fluctuate...

Throw them into industrial schools and convents and make them work for free...they'll thank us for it in the long run!!

Ah
    Its the ole Nazi party reunion tonight

Dont forget the fags and commies lads..
    Gingers northsiders people with stutters
    Round em up.
    We want a city full of blond haired blue eyed blah blah blah

Thats probably Stockholm for you then Mr Too Big to Fail

No we just want a city centre not absolutely riddled with complete and utter scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Ah
    Its the ole Nazi party reunion tonight

Dont forget the fags and commies lads..
    Gingers northsiders people with stutters
    Round em up.

A call for Mr Godwin on line 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭satguy

Every second building along our main thoroughfare (O'Connell Street) seems to be a slot machine or poker machine den.
    The whole street in general needs a major upgrade.

I walked along the liffy boardwalk and over the ha'penny bridge recently, and could not believe the amount of beggars I saw.
    I lived in Dublin most of my life, but have spent the last 20 years in Portlaoise, I work in Portlaiose, (have a 4 minute commute to work) and only go up to Dulbin when I really have to.

Last time I was up there, my wife and I had a quick pint in the Temple Bar, I handed in a 20 spot for two pints and got scrap back for change.
    That's the last time I go there, I can get 3 pints for a tenner down here, and not have to side step beggars on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Portlaiose. No there’s a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,887 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

satguy wrote: »
    Every second building along our main thoroughfare (O'Connell Street) seems to be a slot machine or poker machine den.

I walked along the liffy boardwalk and over the ha'penny bridge recently, and could not believe the amount of beggars I saw.
    I lived in Dublin most of my life, but have spent the last 20 years in Portlaoise, I work in Portlaiose, (have a 4 minute commute to work) and only go up to Dulbin when I really have to.

Last time I was up there, my wife and I had a quick pint in the Temple Bar, I handed in a 20 spot for two pints and got scrap back for change.
    That's the last time I go there, I can get 3 pints for a tenner down here, and not have to side step beggars on the way home.

So ye moved from one sh1thole to another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Nitrogan

There's a ridiculous amount of beggars in Dublin, it's not a good look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,120 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Nitrogan wrote: »
    There's a ridiculous amount of beggars in Dublin, it's not a good look.

And strangely not in Beggars Bush though....

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,638 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

satguy wrote: »

You know that's just not true. Why say it?

I'd rather be in Dublin than Portlaoise anyday. Beggars never bother me in anyway and plenty of other places to drink than Temple Bar.

People are so selective in their criticisms.

Temple Bar is a rip off.
    I cant understand why anyone goes there now.
    And O'Connell Sreet needs a facelift.
    We have junkies and beggars.

We also have some beautiful places and friendly people.
    Do the people who start these threads think that there is a utopian city out there somewhere where only nice people live and nice things happen.
    All large urban settlements have rich poor good and bad.
    I love Dublin its my city....warts and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Anyone see this story?

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/horror-cygnets-killed-group-thugs-14948696
    The resident told Dublin Live: "Only three weeks ago a pair of swans hatched eight gorgeous cygnets. On that same day, when they were literally fresh out of the egg, a gang of boys who hang around that strip of canal, aged about 14, killed four of these babies.

They contintued: "Every day they [the group] unleash the lifebuoys and just throw them around the place so if someone was actually drowning they wouldn't be able to access a lifebuoy.

These are the kinds of scum who should be locked up for years at a time, zero tolerance. It takes a certain type of personality to find something like that an enjoyable thing to do, and people with that kind of personality shouldn't be welcome in public areas of a city which wants to call itself a nice place to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ahhjaysus

Like any other city, it's got the good and the bad. I've seen utter gob****es in some 'nicer' areas of Dublin and absolute saints in the 'dodgey' spots - and the same can be said for anywhere else really.

Shock horror news flash
    Some bad people live in Dublin
    Well i never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Shock horror news flash
    Some bad people live in Dublin
    Well i never

That's not the issue. There are bad people in every country. Most countries punish those people for their bad behaviour and take action to prevent them from being able to carry it out again in the near future. Ireland does not do this, hence the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭househero

redblaze wrote: »
    in shock after 15 months living in London, a city known for been quite rough in parts too.

London is a **** hole.

If you are too poor to live somewhere nice, despite being old enough to think '1st world' isnt a disguising imperialist racist term, you are welcome to take your bigoted self straight back to your xenophobic paradise across the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I don't see whats so bad about beggars. They're mostly completely harmless, if you don't want to give money then don't, but saying they should be banished away because its not a good look for the city sounds ****ty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭forward8

wakka12 wrote: »
    I don't see whats so bad about beggars. They're mostly completely harmless, if you don't want to give money then don't, but saying they should be banished away because its not a good look for the city sounds ****ty

Most are the quiet sort that just hold out the coffee cup for change, but I have had experiences with the aggressive addict beggars also.
    They typically hang out near bus stops like across from Connolly station. I made the mistake of giving one of them 2 euro after he kept bothering me but then he just wouldn't leave and wanted more.

along the red luas line in town you will also get the classic female addict with her kids "I just need 12 euro to get a hostel for the baba". You can tell clear as day they are high on gear.

Nothing will change until the guards start arresting the dealers who are operating in broad daylight. If I can see them selling drugs every morning from the bus window surely the police can from the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Dublin has it's beautiful areas like all cities, but I think overall it doesn't really compare well to cities like Stockholm, Barcelona, Rome, Copenhagen (cities of a similar size or population to Dublin).

Most Northern European cities especially of a comparable size/population are cleaner, feel safer, have far fewer visible drug addicts, beggars and homeless, are way more cycle friendly with fewer cars clogging up the centre, offer better public transport, have more public toilets, and are more affordable than Dublin. Rents are way higher than what you can expect to pay in a city like Stockholm for example and what you get there is of a higher standard with basement laundry rooms, storage facilities for each apartment and safe areas to store bicycles.

The drinking culture added to high levels of poverty and social disadvantage in many parts of Dublin, drug addiction and gang culture, mean a city of deep division and contrast that's very apparent to anyone visiting it.

Low levels of investment in infrastructure that makes a city liable and enjoyable like good public transport and city planning make Dublin less relaxed and enjoyable to be in and less attractive than most other cities. There are pockets of beauty like the Grand Canal theatre area, but a lot of the city like buildings on the Quays and O' Connell St. are ugly, dirty and run down looking.

I like going to Dublin sometimes but am glad when I can leave too.
    I brought my German fiancee and his friend to Dublin and they were not so impressed, especially by the litter and lack of cleanliness in comparison to most German cities. They enjoyed the areas we visited in Dublin as I showed them the best of it, but were happy to leave and loved the rest of the places we went to outside Dublin.
    They did remark on how friendly people were in Dublin though (and Ireland in general) so that's a definite point in it's favour.

forward8 wrote: »
    Most are the quiet sort that just hold out the coffee cup for change, but I have had experiences with the aggressive addict beggars also.

Nothing will change until the guards start arresting the dealers who are operating in broad daylight. If I can see them selling drugs every morning from the bus window surely the police can from the street.

Imagine how it looks to tourists to see and experience that. The only other place I saw that when I lived in Germany was in Berlin on the metro and around the train stations. But even there they were never aggressive like some are in Dublin.

Having methadone clinics located in the city centre in Dublin was always going to be a recipe for disaster. Whoever decided it was a good idea to have thousands of junkies come into the city centre every day for their fix should be held accountable and fired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

househero wrote: »
    London is a **** hole.

If you are too poor to live somewhere nice, despite being old enough to think '1st world' isnt a disguising imperialist racist term, you are welcome to take your bigoted self straight back to your xenophobic paradise across the sea.

That is quite the distorted view of London. Is without doubt one of the best cities in the world and can basically offer anything you are looking for.

zapitastas wrote: »
    That is quite the distorted view of London. Is without doubt one of the best cities in the world and can basically offer anything you are looking for.

So long as you earn loads of money. Rents there are just as unaffordable as Dublin. London has become a playground for the super wealthy and ordinary workers have been pushed out because they can't afford to live in the city their parents grew up in.

London is like Dublin for me-lovely to visit but am happy to leave when I've done/seen what I came there for.

Greentopia wrote: »
    Imagine how it looks to tourists to see and experience that. The only other place I saw that when I lived in Germany was in Berlin on the metro and around the train stations. But even there they were never aggressive like some are in Dublin.

Having methadone clinics located in the city centre in Dublin was always going to be a recipe for disaster. Whoever decided it was a good idea to have thousands of junkies come into the city centre every day for their fix should be fired.

I cant imagine what tourists think.. all those picture prefect images, it must be like a game of catfish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭cusser

househero wrote: »
    London is a **** hole.

Did you mean disgusting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

One big noticeable change in Dublin over the last 20 years is the amount of people living and working in the city center.

The inner city population has risen from 84,000 in '91 to 135,000 in 2011, Id imagine its higher again now.

Theres approximately 10,000 student beds added to the city center recently.
    Once the irish glass bottle site and other developments like st teresas gardens area, o'deveney gardens, newmarket square, all the docklands get built, the city center population will be pushing towards 200,000.
    Thats not including all the extra people working in the new offices being built. Also all the hotels being developed.
    This will make it a very dense and vibrant city.

We need to plan for this accordingly: microparks, cycling infrastructure, less cars. more public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

There is hardly any walls in this city, I've been looking for a nice big wall to use for sport and there is zero I can think of. The lack of parks in this city, small local parks with good facilities is really so bad. Our parks just stick 4 goals up and that's it, no tennis walls, no basketball courts, no gymnastic rings or work out zones(Not very suited to Ireland but this summer would have been great)