Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brass Bullet Casings

• Registered Users Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

gunny123 wrote: »
    I had better tip off me granny about that 25 pounder shell case used as an umbrella stand in the porch. If the guards found that they might think she had a field gun in the attic or on top of the wardrobe.

There is a hotel bar in Shannon,[ much frequented by off-duty AGS,] that has about six 12 pounder naval artillery shell casings, and a few smaller calibre shell casings too on display in the bar. Wonder where they stashed that artillery in the hotel??
    There are oodles of those sort of ornaments and keepsakes around the country. How many lads from the FCA brought home 40mm Bofor shells that are gracing fireplaces as poker holders in this land? Or keepsakes that great granddad brought home from ww1or 2?Technically it is under the law ammo,but would anyone take a case to court on such a charge? This is where the law is an ass.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Technically it is under the law ammo,but would anyone take a case to court on such a charge? This is where the law is an ass.
    It was for this reason the Judges in each case dismissed the case. It was evident the shells/cases were ornamental and not in use/inert.

However in relation to the OPs request having hundreds or thousands of fired brass for calibers they have no license for would be a different story.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭Czhornet

Just one query with this post and as rightly pointed out by Cass as brass is a component of a rifle cartridge, I have a habit of picking up spent brass and putting it in my pocket and bringing it home, its not for re loading, just being tidy I guess, but I lately realised that I have a load of used brass which would more that likely put me over my allowance on my licence if the guards called to the house.

What do others do with empty cases? are they left where they lie or disposed some other way?

If its rimfire stuff i dump it at the range. Too dangerous and hard to reload for even if you could do it.

Centrefire stuff i usually keep, but while being careful that the total amount of loaded stuff and fired stuff does not exceed my allowance. If it get close to it, i'll take the oldest fired stuff i have and either dump it at the range or give it to someone on the range (if its once fired).

This includes stuff when i'm out hunting. I pick up my brass and dispose of it as above depending on what it is.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Pick up, take home, belt with a hammer to deactivate it, sell it for scrap brass at local scrap merchant, buy new ammo.:)

And for the masochists who want a reloading job straight from Hell...:p

https://sharpshooter-22lr-reloader.myshopify.com/products/22-reloader-kit

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

Pick up, take home, belt with a hammer to deactivate it, sell it for scrap brass at local scrap merchant, buy new ammo.:)

And for the masochists who want a reloading job straight from Hell...:p

https://sharpshooter-22lr-reloader.myshopify.com/products/22-reloader-kit

Bingo!

"Belt it with a hammer"

A fired cartridge is just a dormant cartridge, or "inert" as they are sold as.

But once it is flattened with a hammer, it is truely deactivated.

So the OP could get some "deactivated casings"

ligertigon wrote: »
    Bingo!

"Belt it with a hammer"

A fired cartridge is just a dormant cartridge, or "inert" as they are sold as.

But once it is flattened with a hammer, it is truely deactivated.

So the OP could get some "deactivated casings"
    As said before:
    Cass wrote: »
    The law does not specify what condition the case is in, only that it is a case.

IOW still a component part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

As said before:

IOW still a component part.

I disagree.

There have to be exemptions in the law.

For example.

Does the courier that delivers ammunition from the UK to a RFD in Ireland with his truck, have a 12g licence, a licence for a .308, a .204...etc?

No he doesn't

Also, if above is true,

Does the scrap dealer who takes the casings have a licence for a 308,204,223...etc?
    No he doesn't

ligertigon wrote: »
    I disagree.

There have to be exemptions in the law.
    You can disagree if you wish, i'm not trying to convince you just tell you what the law says. How you act on that is your own business.

There are no exemptions, but there are laws to govern the examples you gave.
    ligertigon wrote:
    Does the courier that delivers ammunition from the UK to a RFD in Ireland with his truck, have a 12g licence, a licence for a .308, a .204...etc?
    The UK laws on couriers is not relevant to our situation, but as soon as it touches Irish soil it is. They don't need license but authorised under the act. Third party couriers can deliver, section 2(3)(d) covers them:
    ( d ) the possession or carriage of a firearm or ammunition in the ordinary course of business by a person engaged in the business of carrying or of warehousing goods for reward;
    ligertigon wrote:
    Does the scrap dealer who takes the casings have a licence for a 308,204,223...etc?
    Nope he doesn't in fact the authorisation i spoke about previously doesn't actually exist, specifically, for scrap merchants, but section 2(3) and 2(4) of the act would be "used" to cover them to take it.

I'm not saying the law covers every eventuality, nor am i saying that you'll get a €25,000 and/or up to 5/7 years jail time for having a couple of spent casings. What i am saying is the law prohibits some things, and while a person may not face any punishment the firearm acts still say its an offence, but doesn't specify alternatives. IOW it says you cannot have casings without a license, but doesn't actually say what is legal for disposing of them.

There is a description/method that the Act says must be carried out in order to ensure a spent case is legally classed as inert, but i cannot for the life of me remember which act. Trying to find it and once i do i'll post it here.

We could, of course, sort out this problem like in Greece. Once you fire a round at a range. The casing and bullet become THE RANGES property!!:eek:
    And reloading is totally illegal in Greece too.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

irishoak wrote: »
    Hey guys,
    Thanks a million for the replies. Apologies for not being clearer. I don't actually want the bullet casing themselves. I want the brass in them. I have seen YouTube videos where people have melted brass Bullet casings and poured it to make castings! This was my angle!!

Thanks again!
    where you situated

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Cass, have you a link to the act? Just curious - something to read over my coffee today. I'd Google it myself but I'm not 100% sure which one it is. Cheers.

Which act? Or more accurately about which topic? The casings, the courier, etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Which act? Or more accurately about which topic? The casings, the courier, etc?

The empty casings whichever section refers? Given I spent my childhood collecting various empties until I was old enough for a licence if my own it has me very curious.

Its the 1925 (principle) Act. In Definitions it states:
    the word “ammunition” (except where used in relation to a prohibited weapon) means ammunition for a firearm but also includes grenades, bombs, and other similar missiles whether the same are or are not capable of being used with a firearm, and also includes any ingredient or component part of any such ammunition or missile;
    I've highlighted the important part.

Your firearms license allows you to be in possession of ammunition as per section 2(1)&(2) of the 1925 act, which includes the component parts as outlined above, but only if you have a firearms license and for the caliber of the ammunition to suit the firearm:
    (2) Save in any of the cases hereinafter excepted from this section, every person who after the commencement of this Act has in his possession, uses, or carries any firearm without holding a firearm certificate therefor or otherwise than as authorised by such certificate, or purchases, uses, has in his possession, or carries any ammunition without holding a firearm certificate therefor or in quantities in excess of those authorised by such certificate, or fails to comply with any condition subject to which a firearm certificate was granted to him, shall be guilty of an offence under this Act and shall be punishable accordingly

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Its the 1925 (principle) Act. In Definitions it states:

I've highlighted the important part.

Your firearms license allows you to be in possession of ammunition as per section 2(1)&(2) of the 1925 act, which includes the component parts as outlined above, but only if you have a firearms license and for the caliber of the ammunition to suit the firearm:

Isn't it curious that I am licenced to have about a thousand 12 g cartridges "OR THEIR COMPONENT PARTS" but its not permissible to buy these component parts for assembly into a shotgun cartridge (or rifle round etc)?

Is the sticking point the actual import licence required for propellant, primers etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Isn't it curious that I am licenced to have about a thousand 12 g cartridges "OR THEIR COMPONENT PARTS" but its not permissible to buy these component parts for assembly into a shotgun cartridge (or rifle round etc)?

Is the sticking point the actual import licence required for propellant, primers etc?

I think the big problem is the propellant ,if memory serves correctly cass pointed this out before in a thread i may be wrong:p. Open a cartridge and spill out the powder your breaking the law and are now in possession of an explosive(under the law i know modern propellants are not explosives) basically were trustworthy will all the components put together but not the individual components:)

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Pretty much it.
    Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Yes and no.

Your license covers you for the components except the primer and propellant. So for a shotgun you can buy the wads, cartridge shell, and even the shot. However when it comes to a the propellant and primer they are covered under the explosives act (a really old one so don't ask me to find it again). As individual components you need to be licensed for each one so technically you'd need a license from the DoJ for the propellant. Once you get the license you need to import it and this requires, depending on quantity, to get it yourself by driving/traveling over to get it and when home, depending on quantity, a Garda escort. There is also the matter of the classification of the propellant (1.4, 1.3, etc).

These licenses are obtainable. They are hard as sin to get and the conditions set by the DoJ to obtain one would be so expensive as to prohibit it for most everyone bar a select few.