Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you drink a beer or a glass of wine at dinner and drive home afterwards?

124»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Blazer wrote: »
    I barely ever drink now, maybe one or twice a year and a few bottles throughout the summer.Went for a meal a few weeks back and left the car at home. Popped across to the pub first to have a pint and i definitely felt the effects when crossing the road back over...felt half pissed in fact.

That can happen when you've not drank in a long time. I was off it for 6 weeks and went for a few yesterday and it hits you twice as quick. Fellas who go to the pub every evening find that it takes more and more drink to achieve the same effect. The body builds up a tolerance to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,464 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

That can happen when you've not drank in a long time. I was off it for 6 weeks and went for a few yesterday and it hits you twice as quick. Fellas who go to the pub every evening find that it takes more and more drink to achieve the same effect. The body builds up a tolerance to it.

yeah back in the day a few times I drove my car home from a nightclub after having about a few double gins and tonics.(only about 1km) but still not the point.
    Once I was even stopped by the cops on my way home from the girlfriends after calling into her her for an hour after the nightclub.
    He was just asking me where I had come from etc and I actually couldn't remember the gf's address which he was laughing at..I just explained it was across from gaelic grounds.
    How he never copped I was drinking was beyond me but that was the end of it after that. Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I don't believe him Lightning to be honest. I just hope if it's true he doesn't hurt someone or himself.

Well I was obviously messin. I think its a good thing that we have cracked down on the mad drinking and driving stuff from 20 or 30 years ago. But lets not go overboard is my point. If I had a beer with my dinner I wouldn't feel bad about driving home an hour later and I'd be confident that I'm under the limit and my driving wouldn't be impaired either.

I mean no one is in top form every day of the week at every hour drink or no drink. Sometimes you would be more tired than other times. Or maybe you had a stressful day at work. Or maybe you had a good feed (without a beer) and you would be more tired than you were in the morning. What I'm saying there is a million other reasons why your driving may be 'impaired' and a single beer would be no worse than any of those.

I remember watching this one morning, the show ended after Aidan Conney was still under the limit after 3 pints....

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054857647

I think motors is better for this than TV

This morning while watching ireland AM (I know) they decided to have a drink driving test where the got that annoying prat Aidan Cooney to drive a car around some bollards and then try the same thing after 3 pints

So we had all the drama of him drinking and telling us after one pint how he was feeling the affects "already", they also had a Doctor, Road Safety expert and a paramedic, telling us the dangers of drink driving. He was regularly breathalysed after each pint.

Pint 1 he passed the breathalyzer test
    Pint 2 he passed the breathalyzer test

Pint 3 he got into the car and drove around the same bollards doing a poorer job of driving, as you might expect. Cooney got out of the car and told us how he could really feel the effect of the booze, so the Road Safety expert gave him the breathalyzer again and the result......he passed. The experts looked sheeplishly at each other and only the end credits saved their embarassment

This whole thing especially Cooneys antics telling us "how bad he felt" undermined the drink drive campaign in my view. What it did prove (to me) was that a big lad like cooney could probably they they could risk 4-5 pints and get away with it.

What sort of message was that to be sending to people?

These programs are a pure setup, of course they have to make it look bad to support the campaigns. That “How’s your driving” or what ever it’s called on rte had a similar test on the episode during the week. A fella on and he “really feeling the effects” and making mistakes after a pint and unable to park and hitting bollards after 3. Total and utter nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

These programs are a pure setup, of course they have to make it look bad to support the campaigns. That “How’s your dricing” or what ever it’s called on rte had a similar test on the episode during the week. A fella on and he “really feeling the effects” and making mistakes after a pint and unable to park and hitting bollards after 3. Total and utter nonsense.

I saw a similar one in on a UK channel a few years ago. They got all the participants to have a few drinks and then told them to drive a strange car that they weren't used. Whilst basically firing objects at them to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope, never. If I'm out I'll either stick to soft drinks and drive home after, or leave the car and get a bus/taxi back.

This thread is not surprising though. The huge efforts at "whataboutery" by some just show that we still have a serious problem with drinking culture in this country.

It's also part of the reason why I'm against legalisation of "recreational" drugs too. The roads are bad enough without some doped up idiot thinking he's "grand" cause he only had one. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Nope, never. If I'm out I'll either stick to soft drinks and drive home after, or leave the car and get a bus/taxi back.

This thread is not surprising though. The huge efforts at "whataboutery" by some just show that we still have a serious problem with drinking culture in this country.

It's also part of the reason why I'm against legalisation of "recreational" drugs too. The roads are bad enough without some doped up idiot thinking he's "grand" cause he only had one. :rolleyes:

The 'doped up idiots who only had one' adhere to the law, thats it. if you're under .5 you're not doing anything wrong as far as current legislation is concerned.

I have no real stake in this tbh. I can drink one without having another 5. I can also drink none. Drink isn't really an important factor in my life. Even if it was I'd have enough self restraint to not drink and drive. Its the logical thing to do.

But what I'm saying lets not go full circle craze. People have an alcoholic drink for non alcohol reasons as everyone knows. Wine complements some meals perfectly. Should I be prohibited from using my car for 24 hours 'cos I had a normal (as opposed to the late night full to the brim half pint measure) glass of wine with my meal? I think the answers is no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

This thread is full of extremist views.

You have a cohort who come onto the internet looking to be outraged and find themselves on a thread discussing having a drink and driving and they are wetting themselves they are so outraged over this.

Others are coming on advocating haveing a couple of pints and hopping in the car because they believe they are better after four pints than the rest of us are sober.

Plenty of us are capable of exercising restraint and having a drink along with our dinner.
    Having a leisurely drink along with dinner over an hour or longer and driving afterwards leaves minimal alcohol in a persons system. I don’t always do it, but when I feel like it I’ve no doubt ever that I’m perfectly fit to drive afterwards - I wouldn’t do it if I believed it was a problem.

Your body consumes alcohol at a specific rate, this happens from the instant you start. If you drink at a moderate pace your essentially eliminating at the same rate as you consume, having food slows alcohol entering blood and so further allowing the alcohol to be eliminated as it enters the blood.

The thread title specifically says A glass of wine or 1 beer over dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Count yourself lucky. There are vast swathes of rural Ireland, including areas close enough to large urban areas that are devoid of things like buses and trams etc.

The law has to apply the same to everyone, whether they live in Tallaght or Tawnymore. But therein lies a fundamental problem as the options and opportunities are vastly different at both locations. This has a real impact on rural lives.

So yes, I would happily drink a pint of stout and drive home. But one pint just seems sad, so rarely bother these days. Meanwhile the people who will drink five & six pints and more just happily carry on and get behind the wheel. They know there's little chance of being caught and even if they are, they'll be at the same again when disqualified.

Like much 'PC' thinking, it impacts more on the generally law abiding citizens, who aren't the problem in the first place. The rest couldn't give a fig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I'd have a pint if I'm not driving with an hour or two after, normally a shandy if I'm driving immediately afterwards. Dont see a problem with it. Waiting for the day that decent non alcoholic beer becomes widely available. I couldn't sit in a pub drinking minerals.

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I'd have a pint if I'm not driving with an hour or two after, normally a shandy if I'm driving immediately afterwards. Dont see a problem with it. Waiting for the day that decent non alcoholic beer becomes widely available. I couldn't sit in a pub drinking minerals.

Hienakin zero is pretty good.

pauliebdub wrote: »

NA beers are expensive. Dearer than the real stuff. Just get a pint glass with plenty of ice and tip a Cidona into it. It looks (& tastes) like you're drinking Bulmers.

Jesus if it’s just a drink or two the price means nothing.

And honestly Bulmers taste like crap too :(

True but the idea of paying over a fiver for a beer with no alcohol in it repulses me :p

True but the idea of paying over a fiver for a beer with no alcohol in it repulses me

It’s just a drink, I drink very little and never look at the price, if I want something I just have it and enjoy being out.

Good on ye Brian :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

_Brian wrote: »
    It’s just a drink, I drink very little and never look at the price, if I want something I just have it and enjoy being out.

And the landlord is now thinking "if he pays €5 without a second thought, he'll certainly pay €10”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭ofcork

I wouldn't I don't know what it is but I feel different after even 1 drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Masala

So ... after 12 pages can I ask

1. If I have a pint afterwork on a Friday evening at 6pm and then drive straight after that at say 7pm... would I be over the limit. No food since work sandwich at 1pm

2.do those portable testers you can get in Boots to self test yourself really work??? Thinking of getting one to cover myself. oR is there as better option to look at for extra money

Many thanks

Masala wrote: »
    So ... after 12 pages can I ask

1. If I have a pint afterwork on a Friday evening at 6pm and then drive straight after that at say 7pm... would I be over the limit. No food since work sandwich at 1pm
    Extremely unlikely. On average the body processes a pint in two hours. It begins processing the alcohol the moment it goes into your system so your body would have processed half that pint in the hour leaving around half in your system so you'd be fine.

(This is a very rough calculation btw.)
    2.do those portable testers you can get in Boots to self test yourself really work??? Thinking of getting one to cover myself. oR is there as better option to look at for extra moneyMany thanks

No need, waste of money. If you're only having 1 then you're grand.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Count yourself lucky. There are vast swathes of rural Ireland, including areas close enough to large urban areas that are devoid of things like buses and trams etc.

The law has to apply the same to everyone, whether they live in Tallaght or Tawnymore. But therein lies a fundamental problem as the options and opportunities are vastly different at both locations. This has a real impact on rural lives.

With the rental mess and the fact that most of my friends are long since settled and all over the place, I currently live 2 counties away from where I would usually socialise (Dublin).
    On those occasions where I've wanted to have a drink I planned it so that I either stayed over somewhere, or left the car at home and got a commuter bus in/home. Usually I just stick to soft drinks and drive.

I reject the "impact on rural lives" notion, unless it really means that we're still so dependent on alcohol as a crutch to social engagement that going out and not drinking is socially isolating.

It's entirely possible to go out.. to a pub.. and have a great time without alcohol.

The 'doped up idiots who only had one' adhere to the law, thats it. if you're under .5 you're not doing anything wrong as far as current legislation is concerned.

"doped up idiots" was referring to the idea of legalising "harmless" recreational drugs. Given that drug-driving is already a thing, I can't see this much-touted notion (by the ones who partake themselves) improving the situation.

I'm no Pioneer either.. I enjoy the occasional drink (although I've never bothered with anything more than that). I just plan it accordingly so that I don't have to drive afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't drink anything if you have to drive, that's the only answer there is.
    I don't understand why people keep asking.

I have read so many threads in Insurance about people trying to get back on the road after a drink conviction, and paying insane amounts.
    And they did it all to themselves out of sheer stupidity.

It's entirely possible to go out.. to a pub.. and have a great time without alcohol.
    You reckon? :confused:

A large amount of people would disagree though.

I love pubs and would be in them drinking at least once per week and usually a few times per week but if I wasn’t drinking I wouldn’t go. It’s rare that I wouldn’t be able to drink away in the pub but on occasion that I’d have to drive and drink soft drinks for whatever reason I just stay at home.
    biko wrote: »
    Don't drink anything if you have to drive, that's the only answer there is.
    I don't understand why people keep asking.

Because people are perfectly allowed to drink a certain amount and stay within the law, we thankfully don’t have a zero limit and people just want to know how much they can have. It’s a very fair question and the answer is not “don’t drink anything”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It is possible a pint won't push you over the limit, but it can happen - and it's no-one's fault but your own.
    Why even chance it?

Really how eager for the drink must one be to sit and calculate units of alcohol per hour when you can just have a coke?

You reckon? :confused:
    A large amount of people would disagree though.

I love pubs and would be in them drinking at least once per week and usually a few times per week but if I wasn’t drinking I wouldn’t go. It’s rare that I wouldn’t be able to drink away in the pub but on occasion that I’d have to drive and drink soft drinks for whatever reason I just stay at home.

To be honest, if someone's idea of a good night is dependent on whether they can have alcohol, that's a far more significant issue IMO

I'm no tee-totaller, and I did the mad nights out in my 20s too (before I was driving), but I'm at the stage of my life - early 40s, outside Dublin, reliant on my car every day - where alcohol isn't a factor anyway most of the time (I couldn't be arsed with the expense, time lost to hangovers or having to get the car afterwards) so I don't miss it at all if I'm out and not drinking.

For me it's besides the point. With most of my friends in similar stages of life and living all over the place, it's hard to get to people together anyway so my main reason for bothering is to catch-up with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

[quote

Yeah, well I wouldn't be adverse to a complete ban on private car ownership anyway, so it's probably unsurprising my ideas could be considered harsh by some.

What kind of nonsense is that?

Are you a stakeholder in some passenger transportation enterprise?

Your views and opinions are so extreme that I'm not sure you should be contributing to a thread that is looking for balanced and reasoned responses.

Mind boggling stuff.

Personally I would have a maximum of 2 pints over a couple of hours if having a meal. I feel that I can still give driving my undivided attention and I don't feel impaired in the slightest.

To be honest, if someone's idea of a good night is dependent on whether they can have alcohol, that's a far more significant issue IMO

I just don't see the point in going to a pub if I'm not having a few. Sure I've had to do it on occasion, being the DD at a Christening or whatever and it was fine. But if I was gonna go out of an evening with no intention of drinking I'd give the pub a miss. Maybe go to the Cinema or a restaurant for a meal or something.

Different strokes I guess Kaiser :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

jbt123 wrote: »

Your views and opinions are so extreme that I'm not sure you should be contributing to a thread that is looking for balanced and reasoned responses.

Mind boggling stuff.

Personally I would have a maximum of 2 pints over a couple of hours if having a meal. I feel that I can still give driving my undivided attention and I don't feel impaired in the slightest.

Every sip of alcohol impairs you. That's not a feeling, that's a fact.

What's unbalanced or unreasonable about putting off the road those who don't take their responsibility as a driver seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭Masala

What's unbalanced or unreasonable about putting off the road those who don't take their responsibility as a driver seriously?

What about those that are overworked??? Huge risk of falling asleep at tge wheel. I know a man who drives from Athlone to Intel in leixlip very day .... couldn't be good for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

Every sip of a beverage containing alcohol may impair your ability to do anything until the point your body can process it where it doesn't affect your ability to do things anymore.

Your statement implies people just shouldn't drink alcoholic beverages at all.

Mind boggling stuff.

What's with the idea that private car ownership shouldn't be allowed?

Why do you think you should be the moral guardian of law abiding road drivers, to say that they can and cannot drive( or worse that people shouldn't own cars) on the back of your somewhat dubious moral superiority?

When you drive, if you even do, do you listen to the radio? Look at mountains, lakes passing? Or do you just 100% of the time look at the road in front, like some modern day Mr. Magoo..

IMO, your opinions are outlandish to say the least, but i suppose not surprising given your username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

No, but I'd eat a small bit of food at a drinking session and drive home.

What about those that are overworked??? Huge risk of falling asleep at tge wheel. I know a man who drives from Athlone to Intel in leixlip very day .... couldn't be good for him

It's the same thing, if you're not up to it you shouldn't be driving.

Why do you think you should be the moral guardian of law abiding road drivers, to say that they can and cannot drive( or worse that people shouldn't own cars) on the back of your somewhat dubious moral superiority?

When you drive, if you even do, do you listen to the radio? Look at mountains, lakes passing? Or do you just 100% of the time look at the road in front, like some modern day Mr. Magoo..

IMO, your opinions are outlandish to say the least, but i suppose not surprising given your username.

Because of the absolutely atrocious driving attitudes most people have, I'd have no problem with driving licenses being a lot more harder to obtain, both in terms of testing and evaluating the candidates need for a licence, and stringently assessed on a continuous basis thereafter.

I'm not a perfect driver, but I wouldn't get behind the wheel with a shítty attitude to what I'm doing.

Because of the absolutely atrocious driving attitudes most people have, I'd have no problem with driving licenses being a lot more harder to obtain, both in terms of testing and evaluating the candidates need for a licence, and stringently assessed on a continuous basis thereafter.

I'm not a perfect driver, but I wouldn't get behind the wheel with a shítty attitude to what I'm doing.

So you're an imperfect driver who wants other imperfect drivers off the road.

Makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

I think we'll have self driving cars before that happens, considering how long it currently takes to get your driving test.

Wouldn't be financially feasible to retest the entire driving population on a continual basis.

It's the same thing, if you're not up to it you shouldn't be driving.

Yes but it doesn't mean if someone had one beer that they're not up to it.