Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump is the President Mark IV (Read Mod Warning in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭circadian

everlast75 wrote: »
    Avenatti is on Tucker's show this eve.

Can't wait to see Avenatti tear him a new one

"As a gesture of goodwill we're not going to use the nickname tonight"

As "Creepy Porn Lawyer Toying With 2020 Run" sits on the banner at the bottom.

Tucker Carlson is probably the worst of the lot and an extremely dangerous mouthpiece.

As for Manafort, I cant see Mueller agreeing to a deal without any joint defence with Trump being cut out. I'd imagine they've got him dead to rights and suggested they'd take a second run at the charges he skipped last time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Avenatti is on Tucker's show this eve.

Can't wait to see Avenatti tear him a new one

As I said a couple of days ago many a competent guy has rocked into Tuckers den thinking they are going show him a thing or two and came out with their tail between their legs.

Listened to that interview and it was a shambles as usual Tucker started shouting over Avenatti and twisted the conversation into how Avenatti is exploiting Stormy. How Avenatti is walking around in $1000 suits while stormy is on stage in some old strip club with guys throwing stuff at her....Avenatti then started asking Tucker did like porn:o:o another win for Tucker!

You cannot win with that idiot

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Disappointed how Avenatti handled the 'interview'. Tucker did admit that he believes Trump did have sex with Stormy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

It seems information regarding Bret Kavanaugh has been passed to Federal Investigators by Dianne Feinstein. A letter sent originally to a California Democratic representative accuses Kavanaugh, according to NYT sources, of sexual misconduct.

Probably nothing with come from it though.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/09/13/us/politics/brett-kavanaugh-dianne-feinstein.html

Also reports that Manafort may have reached a plea deal with prosecutors. Not sure if that includes cooperation but Jury selection for his trial starts Monday so we should hopefully find out today when he's apparently in court.

If he cooperates then I'd have to assume he'll go into Witness Protection, considering the kind of people he could flip on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Pelvis wrote: »
    Also reports that Manafort may have reached a plea deal with prosecutors. Not sure if that includes cooperation but Jury selection for his trial starts Monday so we should hopefully find out today when he's apparently in court.

If he cooperates then I'd have to assume he'll go into Witness Protection, considering the kind of people he could flip on.

I'm anticipating that he won't cooperate with Mueller, merely plead guilty, spare himself the expensive trial, spare Trump the hassle of all of this playing out and potentially concluding days before the mid-terms, and then sit tight and hope for a pardon. Of course I hope I'm wrong.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

It seems information regarding Bret Kavanaugh has been passed to Federal Investigators by Dianne Feinstein. A letter sent originally to a California Democratic representative accuses Kavanaugh, according to NYT sources, of sexual misconduct.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/09/13/us/politics/brett-kavanaugh-dianne-feinstein.html

Saw an update saying that the FBI had passed it to the White house and it seems they aren't investigating.

You do have to wonder where this information was at any of the other stages of Kavanughs ascension through the ranks and why it's only appearing now.

Whatever it might be, given it seems to have been from when he was in high-school it's likely way past any legal statute of limitations.

So , if there's anything to it , we're left relying on the WH or some GOP senators to have morals.

Oh well.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Saw an update saying that the FBI had passed it to the White house and it seems they aren't investigating.

You do have to wonder where this information was at any of the other stages of Kavanughs ascension through the ranks and why it's only appearing now.

Whatever it might be, given it seems to have been from when he was in high-school it's likely way past any legal statute of limitations.

So , if there's anything to it , we're left relying on the WH or some GOP senators to have morals.

Oh well.....

There seems to be some hope that so-called moderate Rs like Murkowski and Collins might be swayed by this. They don't seem overly concerned by Kavanaughs conduct so far - lying under oath, handling stolen documents, contradictory statements about abortion, his attitudes towards native rights - so I don't see much coming from this.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

They could discover that he impregnated a 15 year old and performed an abortion on her himself before paying her off with money directly from the Kremlin and he'd still get the job.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Oh yeah; the eagerness with which the GOP are trying to ram through the Kavanaugh nomination is naked, unapologetic political ambition in all its hypocritical glory. The moderates might come through, if enough damning evidence comes out but it's touch & go really, but the Republicans have made an art of talking concern before falling into step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,523 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Trump has never been a saint. Far from it. But I think 80s/90s Trump would be embarressed by President Trump

I doubt that Trump has been ever embarrassed by his own actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,930 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Joyce Vance made a very very good point.

"Mueller’s grand jury in DC is often in session on Fridays. If Manafort were to plead guilty, but not cooperate, it would be a hop, skip & a jump to put him in & compel his testimony. He might still try to assert a 5th Am privilege, but Mueller presumably has a strategy for that."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Manafort is pleading guilty. Not clear to me from coverage is whether he is hoping to get a pardon out of this or whether this is curtains for someone else. There are wafting about obstruction of justice and crimes against the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,040 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Reading on Twitter that it seems like no deal was actually struck with him as none of the charges have been dropped or reduced which would likely happen if a deal to co-operate had been reached. But I think if he pleads guilty, he loses his 5th Amendment rights and Mueller can pull him in and compel him to testify regardless. If he lies or refuses to co-operate, he could face even more charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,705 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

^^^ Yes, that is what it looks like to me. He is simply avoiding a trial, and as such looking for a lessor sentence.

The fact he was convicted on 8 counts in the last trial left him with little option really. He would, since they are in open conversation with Trumps lawyers, probably pretty secure that a pardon is on the way and as such little to fear from pleading guilty

• Registered Users Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Leroy42 wrote: »
    ^^^ Yes, that is what it looks like to me. He is simply avoiding a trial, and as such looking for a lessor sentence.

The fact he was convicted on 8 counts in the last trial left him with little option really. He would, since they are in open conversation with Trumps lawyers, probably pretty secure that a pardon is on the way and as such little to fear from pleading guilty

Of course, the optics of The Donald pardoning Manafort would be disastrous for the Office of POTUS and American democracy. I'm certain that the GOP wouldn't stand for it. Absolutely positive. No way. Impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

Of course, the optics of The Donald pardoning Manafort would be disastrous for the Office of POTUS and American democracy. I'm certain that the GOP wouldn't stand for it. Absolutely positive. No way. Impossible.

The GOP will keep their mouths shut. Im surprised that they are acting the way they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,040 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Penn wrote: »
    Reading on Twitter that it seems like no deal was actually struck with him as none of the charges have been dropped or reduced which would likely happen if a deal to co-operate had been reached. But I think if he pleads guilty, he loses his 5th Amendment rights and Mueller can pull him in and compel him to testify regardless. If he lies or refuses to co-operate, he could face even more charges.

Although, reading from other people is that since there's only a guilty plea on two charges on the new filing submitted, maybe a deal has been reached on the other charges.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,379 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

The GOP will keep their mouths shut. Im surprised that they are acting the way they are.

If they were to turn on Trump, a large segment of the GOP vote would be enraged as that segment has finally found a voice. They have become hostages to their own Frankenstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

According to the new york times and others 5 of then 7 charges have been dropped.

Please deal but not certain of cooperation

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Now get him in before the grand jury to testify on anything that he has made a plea deal on. No 5th amendment protection.

And I have to wonder - why not take the stand and clear his name?

Oh, I remember..

https://twitter.com/AdamWeinstein/status/1040599649382555648

One more important aspect to the plea deal - the surrendering of $46m dollars.

Puts a bullet in the argument against the cost of investigation, when its basically just paid for itself for all of 2018!

Well, bend me over and spank me with a copy of Forbes magazine...

https://twitter.com/jjouvenal/status/1040622713713385472

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Well, bend me over and spank me with a copy of Forbes magazine...

https://twitter.com/jjouvenal/status/1040622713713385472

But Hillary...

• Site Banned Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭RIGOLO

So do ye think ye have got your guy this time, seems every Friday the anti-Trumpers get all excited about the latest click-bait on mainstream media.

I reckon November will be a shock for the Democrats, I think the polls are way off, even 538 will be caught out.
    I made a tidy sum when Trump beat the odds in 2016, Im happy to put some of that on the GOP beating the spread in both House and Senate races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,705 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Ah now Rigolo, from a witch-hunt to now getting a plea deal from his campaign manager? Massive tax fraud, lots of laws broken, and you haven't a good word to say for Mueller of the investigation. Its not anti-Trump. It is looking at the evidence in front of us and seeing that there are very serious questions that need to be answered. Not just in terms of Trump, though of course that is very true, but in terms of how the US can protect itself from people like Manafort and Flynn in the future who are clearly more loyal to money than to the USA.

You made the line about not getting their man, but honestly, which way do you see this investigation going. Cna you honestly say that Trump is is a better position now that he was 18 months ago? How you can not be asking serious questions about Trump?

He, even while the jury was deliberating, was saying how great Manafort was. So at the very least we can say that Trump is a terrible judge of character. So surely you can feel nervous about what other reprobates are using Trump to take your money from you and sell of the US to the highest bidder?

They have got Flynn, Papadopolous, Manafort, Gates.

I really still cannot understand why the likes of yourself, Trump and the GOP are not dancing with joy over Mueller's investigation. Isn't this the type of draining the swamp you guys wanted. MAGA by getting those taking advantage of the US into jail?

RIGOLO wrote: »
    So do ye think ye have got your guy this time, seems every Friday the anti-Trumpers get all excited about the latest click-bait on mainstream media.

Yeah! Absolutely - every Friday the Campaign Chair for the Trump WH pleads guilty and makes a co-operation deal with Mueller.

I'm surprised the novelty of that happening every week hasn't worn off by now.
    RIGOLO wrote: »
    I reckon November will be a shock for the Democrats, I think the polls are way off, even 538 will be caught out.
    I made a tidy sum when Trump beat the odds in 2016, Im happy to put some of that on the GOP beating the spread in both House and Senate races.

Super. Be more specific on the details and then name your price. Favourable odds for me obviously - considering how confident you are, of course.

Manafort cooperating!!! That's huge!!

Now now Pelvis, nothing to see here at all! :rolleyes:

BTW - this tweet hasn't aged well...

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1032256443985084417

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Now now Pelvis, nothing to see here at all! :rolleyes:

BTW - this tweet hasn't aged well...

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1032256443985084417
    You can see why his lawyer advised strenuously against him (Trump) testifying.