Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread X: [****]

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

scott1974 wrote: »
    That's pretty much the rest of the season, it really didn't look that bad.
    ROL is expected back sooner, as it's not as bad first feared.

It still doesn't sound good for next week though, does it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭scott1974

molloyjh wrote: »
    It still doesn't sound good for next week though, does it?

No, I think next week will be a cobbled together team...
    I was thinking of ROL as an option for Europe if Henshaw doesn't make it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Five months, from such an innocuous incident. Better news for ROL anyway, won't be out long-term.

Best team for the Ospreys??

Dooley Tracy Bent
    Kearney Molony
    Murphy Deegan Doris
    JGP Reid
    Lowe Daly COB Byrne
    Kearney

Byrne, Byrne, Vakh, Dowling, Penny, McCarthy, Frawley, Keenan

Jesus.
    Jesus that’s a very green back line.

I’d imagine McCarthy either starts or doesn’t appear.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Seriously....seen the same stuff on Munster thread

Absolute joke people "supporting" a club with knock off sh*t.....

Plenty of offers around to get jersey cheaper than the latest and greatest....

Would my season ticket not count?

Not that I'd buy one of those jerseys but get off your high horse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

Think I'd go for:

1. Ed Byrne
    2. Bryan Byrne
    3. Michael Bent
    4. Ross Molony
    5. Scott Fardy
    6. Josh Murphy
    7. Scott Penny
    8. Max Deegan
    9. Jamison Gibson-Park
    10. Noel Reid
    11. David Kearney
    12. Conor O'Brien
    13. Jimmy O'Brien
    14. Adam Byrne
    15. Ciarán Frawley

16. James Tracy
    17. Peter Dooley
    18. Vakhtang Abdaladze
    19. Mick Kearney
    20. Caelan Doris
    21. Hugh O'Sullivan
    22. Tom Daly
    23. Hugo Keenan

Don't know why people are suggest Doris as an openside. You'd see Leinster turn into Munster, selecting locks and blindsides and 8s at 7?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

errlloyd wrote: »
    OT maybe, but do the club directly benefit from jersey sales or do they just get a lump sum from Adidas when they sign the deal.

In my eyes not really OT.

Leinster get a lump sum but that is based on previous sales and also on advertising. So at end fo contract Leinster have sold 5k Jerseys because "supporters" are buying cheap knock off's then the next contract will be lower.

Jersey companies are hardly going to hand over millions if they dont think they are going to sell jerseys to reclaim come of the money

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭PMC83

In my eyes not really OT.

Leinster get a lump sum but that is based on previous sales and also on advertising. So at end fo contract Leinster have sold 5k Jerseys because "supporters" are buying cheap knock off's then the next contract will be lower.

Jersey companies are hardly going to hand over millions if they dont think they are going to sell jerseys to reclaim come of the money

At the end of the day, Leinster absolutely sign on the final product that Adidas present to them, before it goes on general sale. This time they signed off on cheaply made crap.

Theres pictures all over Facebook of stars and logos peeling off after two washes because they were fine with printed on logos rather then sewed. On the basis of this many people (like myself) who usually buy the gear, wont be for this run.

If people are buying knock offs, Leinster may want to ask why.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Serbian

Leinster get a lump sum but that is based on previous sales and also on advertising. So at end fo contract Leinster have sold 5k Jerseys because "supporters" are buying cheap knock off's then the next contract will be lower

Realistically, how many people are going to buy knock off gear? Practically nobody, certainly not enough to put a real dent in sales.

I also believe that the incredibly poor quality and high price of the Adidas gear will be far more of a deciding factor than a couple of dozen people buying knock off gear.

I think it’s shameful how bad the quality of the current gear is, I think the Chinese knock offs actually look better than the genuine product.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭troyzer

I do sort of regret blowing my wad on a few of the Adidas gear when it came out.

It's complete **** and so expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

AdamD wrote: »
    Would my season ticket not count?

Not that I'd buy one of those jerseys but get off your high horse

Did I quote you or something?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭sellit90000

hamstring injuries for leinster players - McFadden, Henshaw, Tomane, Daly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭crisco10

troyzer wrote: »
    I do sort of regret blowing my wad on a few of the Adidas gear when it came out.

It's complete **** and so expensive.

Have to say, the jerseys are fine by me, but the other gear from Adidas is pretty poor. And the selection is tiny.

Canterbury always had a great selection of trackies/jackets/hoodies/"supporters" jerseys etc. It was also quite expensive but you could get all sorts of stuff.

My mum wanted a traditional cotton jersey this season (she hates the "modern" materials), and we ended up on Amazon buying bargain bin gear from about 4 years ago. Adidas just didn't have anything that came even close to be tempting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭scott1974

hamstring injuries for leinster players - McFadden, Henshaw, Tomane, Daly.

"ankle syndesmosis" is so 2017..

Lads we're nearly 4,000 posts in and the thread still doesn't have a name.

What's the craic? Can we have a poll?

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I think the four stars says enough

• Registered Users Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

I assumed the 4 stars was the name. Although the allignment could be a bit more off if we were being accurate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 416 ✭✭Thermoman12

We should name it “strive for five”

• Registered Users Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

We should name it “strive for five”

Foreign sports are bad enough.
    You shouldn't be using foreign words.
    A solid old Irish "Drive for five" should be good enough for ye

Foreign sports are bad enough.
    You shouldn't be using foreign words.
    A solid old Irish "Drive for five" should be good enough for ye

Aren't all English words foreign?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Aren't all English words foreign?

No. Most of them are English. Some, such as 'deja vu' obviously are. :D

jacothelad wrote: »
    No. Most of them are English. Some, such as 'deja vu' obviously are. :D

Whoosh.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭jonok28

In the words of the Leinster "Ultras" in the Terrace in the RDS, we shall call this sacred space "The Laighean's Den"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

jonok28 wrote: »
    In the words of the Leinster "Ultras" in the Terrace in the RDS, we shall call this sacred space "The Laighean's Den"

🤮

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭jonok28

dregin wrote: »
    🤮

Agreed haha

• Registered Users Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Whoosh.

You're not big on irony or logic. I know what was meant. I was being humourous so I'm returning your whoosh .

• Registered Users Posts: 21,679 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

jacothelad wrote: »
    You're not big on irony or logic. I know what was meant. I was being humourous so I'm returning your whoosh .

Whooshed the woosh.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

If ye want to be all patriotic how about:

"Buaigh the cúig!"

You can't whoosh a whoosh.

That's just a weak attempt to pretend you weren't whooshed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Whooshed the woosh.

Thread title right there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Serbian wrote: »
    Where might someone find this thread? I may be blind, I don’t see a thread for jerseys in the Rugby forum.

It’s in the soccer forum, the title is “Online Jersey stores continued”