Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread X: [****]

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    What is his chances of winning a trophy at Ulster? all joking apart.....

Players want to play, not win trophies from the bench. After you put aside financial considerations.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,931 ✭✭✭jacothelad

What is his chances of winning a trophy at Ulster? all joking apart.....

Moore
    Herring
    McGrath
    Henderson
    Carter
    Coetzee
    Murphy
    Reidy

Bench:
    O’Toole. Kane, Milasinovich
    McBurney
    O’Sullivan / Warwick
    Treadwell / O'Connor
    Timoney / Allison /

That's a decent looking set of forwards plus a number who might just make it from the Academy.

The backs look really interesting with great talent in development to go along with the guys like Ludik, Cooney et al.

If they all live up to their potential, they will be competitive. Will they win anything? Possible - yes. Probable - no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Players want to play, not win trophies from the bench. After you put aside financial considerations.

McGrath has been carrying an injury. he admitted this. He has the surgery done now....
    He picked up injury and had drop in form which coincided with Healy return to form. I would hope he is waiting to get back to full health and push himself back into first team...

Not run away

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Bazzo wrote: »
    Cronin and Henshaw aren't really the same. Henshaw never played outside of the Connacht system until he moved to Leinster, from his very youngest he was a product of the Connacht rugby system. Cronin came through the Munster system and moved to Connacht as an adult.

I would still class Cronin as developed by Connacht despite his time in the Munster academy.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

stephen_n wrote: »
    I would still class Cronin as developed by Connacht despite his time in the Munster academy.

He was one of the first examples of why it can be good to move away from your home province, and how regular gametime improves a player far more than languishing in a big squad. Munster did a god job of developing him and the regular games at senior level really brought him on. If he had stayed at Munster who knows...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

On the plus side, if McGrath is thinking of moving on, it must mean that Healy is staying.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

McGrath has been carrying an injury. he admitted this. He has the surgery done now....
    He picked up injury and had drop in form which coincided with Healy return to form. I would hope he is waiting to get back to full health and push himself back into first team...

Not run away

Right yeah... run away. G'luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Right yeah... run away. G'luck!

Thanks....Good luck as well....are you doing the lotto as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,993 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

That only goes so far.

Do you think Parisse would not swap his 138 caps for maybe half as many with some silverware?

It's all relative. Players want success too.

Zzippy wrote: »
    He was one of the first examples of why it can be good to move away from your home province, and how regular gametime improves a player far more than languishing in a big squad. Munster did a god job of developing him and the regular games at senior level really brought him on. If he had stayed at Munster who knows...?

I’ve never disputed moves between provinces are good, not once. But I can assure you if Blade or marmion goes to Ulster next season you won’t be on here cheering about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Who's next!
    Reid? Ferg?
    I expect one of the academy year 3 lads to leave. My guess would be Kelly.
    Ferg will not get big money anyway, his age and injury profile being as they are!
    Besides A.B is playing well and Daly is a good wing too.
    Then there's Keenan, who I really rate.
    Reid will have a tough time getting onto the pitch next season. C.O.B and Tomane will be there, although I'm not sold on Tomane!
    One of Deegan or Doris may be encouraged to leave too!
    I hope not, as the sky is the limit for both of them.
    It's like musical chairs, isn't it. Who gets voted off the island!
    When players are encouraged to move to another province, they do so at another players expense.
    It's good business for the overall strength of the provinces, but Leinster are getting hosed, imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Dubinusa wrote: »
    Who's next!
    Reid? Ferg?
    I expect one of the academy year 3 lads to leave. My guess would be Kelly.
    Ferg will not get big money anyway, his age and injury profile being as they are!
    Besides A.B is playing well and Daly is a good wing too.
    Then there's Keenan, who I really rate.
    Reid will have a tough time getting onto the pitch next season. C.O.B and Tomane will be there, although I'm not sold on Tomane!
    One of Deegan or Doris may be encouraged to leave too!
    I hope not, as the sky is the limit for both of them.
    It's like musical chairs, isn't it. Who gets voted off the island!
    When players are encouraged to move to another province, they do so at another players expense.
    It's good business for the overall strength of the provinces, but Leinster are getting hosed, imo.

Reid is already gone next season - he has signed for Leicester.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,678 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

sullivlo wrote: »
    Reid is already gone next season - he has signed for Leicester.

He hasn't officially signed for Leicester yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Team named. Ruddock back, Deegan retained at openside.

A less experimental team which is fair enough as the Cheetahs are a far better side than the Kings. I'd liked to have seen Byrne and Porter continue at prop but Dooley and Bent probably need a run out at this point.

Frawley continue to be outside the 23.

15. Dave Kearney (131)
    14. Adam Byrne (49)
    13. Rory O’Loughlin (57)
    12. Conor O’Brien (14)
    11. Fergus McFadden (174)
    10. Ross Byrne (64)
    9. Jamison Gibson-Park (67)
    1: Peter Dooley (58)
    2: Bryan Byrne (36)
    3: Michael Bent (117)
    4: Ross Molony (80)
    5: Scott Fardy (37)
    6: Rhys Ruddock (155) CAPTAIN
    7: Max Deegan (37)
    8: Caelan Doris (11)

16: James Tracy (86)
    17: Ed Byrne (37)
    18: Andrew Porter (47)
    19: Mick Kearney (47)
    20: Josh Murphy (17)
    21: Hugh O’Sullivan (10)
    22: Noel Reid (116)
    23: Barry Daly (32)

That's a very strong team for this time of year.

Frawley's exclusion is odd, if he's fit. Noel Reid has been playing brilliantly but if he's moving on, you would think the gametime would be better given to Frawley.

Glad to see Bryan Byrne get a start, I think he can overtake Tracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,358 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I wonder how Lowe is taking the lack of pitch time. I know next season it won’t be an issue but he seems to miss out a lot

• Registered Users Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭crisco10

salmocab wrote: »
    I wonder how Lowe is taking the lack of pitch time. I know next season it won’t be an issue but he seems to miss out a lot

Thought the same thing. Also surprised that Frawley seems to have missed out entirely this 6n window.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,678 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Frawley's exclusion is odd, if he's fit. Noel Reid has been playing brilliantly but if he's moving on, you would think the gametime would be better given to Frawley.

Frawley's still only 2nd year academy, I would imagine when we have Byrne starting, Reid is there more for backline cover and an experienced head, who's also on a great run of form.

Frawley will get plenty of game time next year I'd imagine.

That's a very strong team for this time of year.

Glad to see Bryan Byrne get a start, I think he can overtake Tracy.

Maybe it’s Leinster’s way of encouraging Reid to stay. Maybe Frawley’s not fully fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Yeah he must be frustrated. I know I would be.

Although he does have 900 minutes over 12 starts this season.

JGP has 809 (10+6)
    Fardy has 925 (11+4)

EDIT: In fact looking at those amount of minutes it is a lot. Looking at the likes of ROL and Tracy who have been around all season and not on international duty and can make most 1st choice 23... they only have 867 and 771 respectively

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Yeah he must be frustrated. I know I would be.

Although he does have 900 minutes over 12 starts this season.

JGP has 809 (10+6)
    Fardy has 925 (11+4)

yeah, he had 13 starts last season.... and has 12 already this season....

he'd be frustrated with the rule, but its not unexpected

• Registered Users Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

sydthebeat wrote: »
    yeah, he had 13 starts last season.... and has 12 already this season....

he'd be frustrated with the rule, but its not unexpected

I'm sure he can cope with another few months of it anyhow ha.

You do feel for him because Fardy is so important in the engine room and JGP is in such a specialist position that Lowe has to sit on the back burner a bit.

Especially with Toner and McGrath in a race to fitness, Lowe might have to wait a good while before any meaningful game time comes his way

• Registered Users Posts: 12,626 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Wasn't limited playtime requirements part of what drew him to Leinster in the first place? To manage his arthritis?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,762 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

12 games played, 4 missed due to suspension and 6 not selected for. I can’t see him having too much of an issue with his game time this season.

AdamD wrote: »
    Wasn't limited playtime requirements part of what drew him to Leinster in the first place? To manage his arthritis?

Not quite. If Scott Fardy hadn't subsequently signed, he'd be playing every game.

I think his attitude was, arthritis might force me to retire at some point, I need to make as much cash as possible in the interim.

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭part time punk

I'm sure he can cope with another few months of it anyhow ha.

You do feel for him because Fardy is so important in the engine room and JGP is in such a specialist position that Lowe has to sit on the back burner a bit.

Especially with Toner and McGrath in a race to fitness, Lowe might have to wait a good while before any meaningful game time comes his way

Does the issue go away once JGP is Irish qualified and then Fardy and Lowe are the 2 Kolpak players. What about Tomane?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Tomane is grand. Samoan link is what does it i think

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

With other injuries, it's more important to keep Fardy and JGP ticking over at the moment than Lowe.

We should be able to play Byrne and Larmour on the wings against Ulster and then rethink things depending on Luke McGrath's and Toner's fitness/availability.

With that said, I did think Lowe was definitely less exuberant than normal against the Kings. I've found he doesn't necessarily put on as good a show against the weaker sides though when you'd expect the opposite.

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Legion2008

While Lowe becomes Irish qualified next year it won't necessarily change his Kolpak status, he is still a NZ passport holder. Until he obtains an Irish passport he'll get caught up !!!!

It takes minimum of 5 years residence in Ireland to qualify for citizenship along with other criteria.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Legion2008 wrote: »
    While Lowe becomes Irish qualified next year it won't necessarily change his Kolpak status, he is still a NZ passport holder. Until he obtains an Irish passport he'll get caught up !!!!

It takes minimum of 5 years residence in Ireland to qualify for citizenship along with other criteria.

If he's Irish qualified then he doesn't come under Kolpak rules, just like JGP won't next season.