Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread X: [****]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

KH25 wrote: »
    I thought it was noticeable a few times yesterday that when he jumped to contest a ball in the air he looked very apprehensive, as if he didn't want to take contact. When he backed himself he looked far more imposing in the air.

He looks very slow when in an all out race.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

HOME SEMI FINAL LADS

• Registered Users Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Clegg wrote: »
    HOME SEMI FINAL LADS

Toulouse will be a very different kettle of fish then in the group

What a game that’ll be!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

HOME SEMI FINAL LADS

Will need a much better performance. Will not beat Toulouse based on yesterday's work.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Craic with tickets for the semi? Do season ticket holders get first refusal or is it a free for all?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Another great weekend for the irfu

dregin wrote: »
    Craic with tickets for the semi? Do season ticket holders get first refusal or is it a free for all?

ST holders will get first access to tickets through a presale. Will probably restrict it to 2 tickets per ST. That's how it usually goes iirc.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,061 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Well deserved, the system has brought about continuous Irish presence at the sharp end of the NH club season for 2 decades. Open the coffers once more.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Massive boost for pubs etc. around Landsdowne. Another big game's takings that wasn't really expected.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

ST holders will get first access to tickets through a presale. Will probably restrict it to 2 tickets per ST. That's how it usually goes iirc.

Yeah that's correct! We should get an email in the next couple of days but you're right, there'll be a presale period for season ticket holders. Can't remember the limit but two sounds about right per ticket.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭Purist98

It's a pity Scott Penny isn't a year older. Part of me would love to see him get a go in a huge game but it would be such a step up in the physical stakes compared to what he's faced so far.

He'll likely play Pro14 in the next few weeks but isn't registered for Europe.
    Could shift Fardy to 6 and Ruddock to 7, or be bold and bring Deegan in at 7, if it is to be one of them you'd presume they'll have to get some game time at 7 in the next few weeks too.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

The home SF gate doesn't go to the IRFU for what it's worth but some decent prize money for 2 SF-ists I'm sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

The home SF gate doesn't go to the IRFU for what it's worth but some decent prize money for 2 SF-ists I'm sure.
    Worth lot more than prize money for semi finalists
    EPCR will be renting the Aviva off IRFU/stadium management as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Serbian

The prize money for the European Cup is relatively paltry. €300k per semi finalist, then €400k for the losing finalist, €600k for the champion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Ah it would pay for one more world class player or about 20 academy players

• Registered Users Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Serbian wrote: »
    The prize money for the European Cup is relatively paltry. €300k per semi finalist, then €400k for the losing finalist, €600k for the champion.

Do the players get bonuses? If not for us it's a decent chunk. There is also quarter final prize money? So a final appearance is close to the cost of a marquee player for two years.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I imagine there are considerable sponsorship bonuses for clubs when trophies are won. They bring more exposure to brands etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Gerry Thornley said the qtr and semi in aviva last year brought in 1 million per game to irfu

Not bad money to make

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

SOB wasn't as bad as people are saying, I reckon. He played for 50 minutes, made his tackles (a decent amount) and was well up to the physicality of the game. He made a turnover too according to the stats although I don't recall it. He had a couple of big clear outs that saved turnovers too. That type of game will stand to him also in terms of getting him back to form. The issue is that he can't do the things he once could. He can't bullock through people. He doesn't get over the ball on the deck and need a bulldozer to move him off it.

But he's what we have now so Leinster will need to stick with him and manage him. It wll be a balance between getting some more minutes in his legs and protecting him from injury. If we lose him, we're in real trouble. An in form SOB is the difference between winning and losing against teams like Toulouse and Saracens.

For Toulouse, the most important person to get back fit is Devin Toner but the lack of comment about him suggests that he won't be available at that point either. If he was, there's an argument for moving Fardy into the back row and going with as big a pack as possible with Ruddock to come in after 50 minutes. We will need to absolutely own the ball against them to ensure they cannot do what they did today. I would also be entirely comfortable with Ross Byrne starting. He's very good at the methodical, possession retention game.

We need Henshaw and Toner fit for Toulouse. We could possibly do without Toner considering how well Fardy is playing, but Henshaw is a must. RoL started in the RDS the last time and did well, but Toulouse will be much better prepared for the semi-final. Henshaw is needed for his excellent defence. He brings so much linespeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

SF is on FTA.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

We need Henshaw and Toner fit for Toulouse. We could possibly do without Toner considering how well Fardy is playing, but Henshaw is a must. RoL started in the RDS the last time and did well, but Toulouse will be much better prepared for the semi-final. Henshaw is needed for his excellent defence. He brings so much linespeed.

Fardy might yet end up in the backrow for that game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Buer wrote: »
    SOB wasn't as bad as people are saying, I reckon. He played for 50 minutes, made his tackles (a decent amount) and was well up to the physicality of the game. He made a turnover too according to the stats although I don't recall it. He had a couple of big clear outs that saved turnovers too. That type of game will stand to him also in terms of getting him back to form. The issue is that he can't do the things he once could. He can't bullock through people. He doesn't get over the ball on the deck and need a bulldozer to move him off it.

But he's what we have now so Leinster will need to stick with him and manage him. It wll be a balance between getting some more minutes in his legs and protecting him from injury. If we lose him, we're in real trouble. An in form SOB is the difference between winning and losing against teams like Toulouse and Saracens.

For Toulouse, the most important person to get back fit is Devin Toner but the lack of comment about him suggests that he won't be available at that point either. If he was, there's an argument for moving Fardy into the back row and going with as big a pack as possible with Ruddock to come in after 50 minutes. We will need to absolutely own the ball against them to ensure they cannot do what they did today. I would also be entirely comfortable with Ross Byrne starting. He's very good at the methodical, possession retention game.

Toner was on podcast, said 6 weeks. He should be back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

If Leinster can get back to the form of last season they should win, Toulouse only got an interception try in France as Leinster went for the try bonus at the end rather than kill the game. Toulouse are were Leinster were in 16/17 season.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,678 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

If Leinster can get back to the form of last season they should win, Toulouse only got an interception try in France as Leinster went for the try bonus at the end rather than kill the game. Toulouse are were Leinster were in 16/17 season.

Toulouse were down to 14 for the majority of the game, and Leinster kicked the ball out of play from right under the posts to kill the game.

If Leinster can get back to the form of walloping Toulouse in Dublin this very season they should win.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Toulouse were down to 14 for the majority of the game, and Leinster kicked the ball out of play from right under the posts to kill the game.
    Meant in reference to group stage game in Oct. Leinster were uncharecteristicly loose vs i don't Toulouse will be as impotent as the return fixture, but we should be well able to contain them if we can rediscover their best form.

Do you think Leinster shouldn't have kicked it out of play or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,678 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Do you think Leinster shouldn't have kicked it out of play or something?

No, was under the impression the poster had said Leinster were trying to get a 4th try in the Ulster game at the end, but he was talking about the Toulouse group game.

Was obviously the correct decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

If Leinster get over the top of Toulouse the prospect of Adam Byrne defending against Saracens in the Final is a bit concerning. Saracens are ruthless when it comes to targeting and exposing any weaknesses. They'd have special plays designed to test him and make him make decisions. Byrne is majestic in the air but Barry Daly is a more rounded player for me, and I think I'd be more comfortable with him lining out on the right wing against Saracens in the final (assuming, of course, that Leinster get there).