Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread X: [****]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Second row: Kearney, Molony, Fardy, Dowling, Dunne (Nagle?)
    Back row: Ruddock, Deegan, Doris, Murphy, Connors, Penny

Those are just guys who've played senior rugby this season. Ryan Baird might get a run if we're stuck. We're only talking four or five games, depending on how Ireland progress.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Poor Leavy! Awful injury. He will be out for a year or so.
    Hope he can return to his best form.
    Leinster suddenly look light in the back row!
    I reckon they will surely sign someone. It's amazing how our depth is suddenly dwindling away!
    Ireland's prospects seem dimmer too!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

• Registered Users Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I've heard that Dev Toner is one of the most painful men in rugby to tackle, he's all just knees and bone. Pray for the AIL.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Bazzo wrote: »
    Eoghan Masterson very recently got a complex knee injury like that at an even younger age and was told it could possibly have ended his career.

Wouldn’t bode well for Leavy unfortunately, before the injury he looked like a future international but doesn’t make our first choice 23 now.

• Administrators Posts: 53,799 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I thought the rules had changed around pros playing in the amateur game?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭troyzer

awec wrote: »

Look at the date....

https://twitter.com/DevinToner4/status/1112681621495447552?s=20

Oh dear. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Banned

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

I'm not a fan of the short-termism of temporary signings of players who aren't going to remain in the system, except in the most extreme circumstances. The likes of Ronan Foley, Martin Moloney and Ronan Watters can fill gaps during the World Cup. Or if Watters and Moloney are on a break after the JRWC they could turn to AIL guys like David Aspil and Tony Ryan for a few games. If a signing is needed, I reckon it's best to sign someone for a full season.

Blindside and no. 8 look okay, depth-wise, with the following options:
    6: Ruddock, Murphy, Dowling
    8: Conan, Deegan, Doris

Openside is the obvious position to consider signing someone for, with Leavy and O'Brien unavailable next season, Connors coming off a big injury, and Penny being very young. What about having a look at Conor Oliver? To my mind he's Munster's best openside, but he isn't getting a look in down there. There'd be pros and cons to a signing. JvdF, Connors and Penny might not be enough opensides for a season, but it might be difficult to keep Connors, Penny and a new signing happy with the amount of gametime they're getting.

• Administrators Posts: 53,799 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Oh for feck sake.

I'm getting "I thought the rules had changed around pros playing in the amateur game?" printed on a T-Shirt and am wearing it to the semi-final.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Who messed up worse? Awec or Stockdale?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Who messed up worse? Awec or Stockdale?

On this, have ye all seen the video of the Steward dunking his Club bar in his Tea?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

Wonder what kind of team we'll see out against Treviso? I'd say most of the squad from the qf won't feature.

Maybe something like:

1. Ed Byrne
    2. James Tracy
    3. Andrew Porter
    4. Ross Molony
    5. Mick Kearney
    6. Josh Murphy
    7. Scott Penny
    8. Max Deegan
    9. Hugh O'Sullivan
    10. Ciarán Frawley
    11. James Lowe
    12. Conor O'Brien
    13. Jimmy O'Brien
    14. David Kearney
    15. Barry Daly

16. Bryan Byrne
    17. Peter Dooley
    18. Vakhtang Abdaladze
    19. Oisín Dowling
    20. Caelan Doris
    21. Paddy Patterson
    22. Noel Reid
    23. Fergus McFadden

• Registered Users Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

That's the title of the next Ulster thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭scott1974

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Henshaw has some serious padding on his thigh :
    (No sign of Sexton)

INPHO_01529128.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

There's a certain level of vagueness around Sexton's issue. Strikes me as one that could be back fully training next week or could be held out for another 2-3 weeks. I've no concern with Ross Byrne starting against Toulouse. I'd guess that if there's any doubt over Sexton whatsoever, they'll keep him out and focus on having him available for any potential finals.

MYvC3rl.jpg

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

MYvC3rl.jpg

I was cutting onions......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭mangobob

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    I was cutting onions......

Yeah not gonna lie, reading that gave me a lump in my throat :(:(

MYvC3rl.jpg

I just want to stroke his scar, brush his hair and give him flat 7-up until he feels better.

Awful. :(

I just noticed in the injury update that Porridge is back to full training. I hope he makes an appearance this weekend, even just off the bench.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Looks to me here that Henshaw and Toner just read Leavy’s message.

swiwi_ wrote: »

Looks to me like Dev is hugging his teenage son.

swiwi_ wrote: »

Henshaw just got a text from Joe to meet for a coffee with himself and Nucifora

I give 10/1 odds on Henshaw playing in the backrow at some point for Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Sure that happened 3 years ago :D