Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread X: [****]

• Registered Users Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Wasn't impressed by Toulouse. Bath had to literally hand it to them.

Think we'll have far too much for this Toulouse team.
    I know it's a cliché, but French teams away and French teams at home is still a thing.

prawnsambo wrote: »
    I know it's a cliché, but French teams away and French teams at home is still a thing.

I've no doubt, but Toulouse would need to be a completely different team - they offered very little against a poor Bath.

Sixth in the T14 after 7 games with just 2 losses.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Is last nights match getting shown again anywhere?

stephen_n wrote: »
    I believe it's on pornhub. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭KaneToad

It's on YouTube

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Highlights of all 3 Irish games on VM1 at 10.50pm tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

Couldn't agree more. Bath hit the post with a penalty in last ten minutes and then in case anyone missed this absolute howler mere moments later...

https://twitter.com/btsportrugby/status/1051107717631356933?s=19

Oh Freddie!, lol

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭swiwi_

What they said

swiwi_ got the ball rolling
    swiwi_ wrote: »
    I see Leinster supposed to be looking at James Lowe. With the exception of Isa Nacewa (who is getting on), I'd have him straight into the side ahead of the more veteran members of the Leinster back 3 (Kirchner, DK etc). It would seem a pity for the likes of Adam Byrne and O'Loughlin, who have made big strides to have (?unneeded) competition. Can never have too may Maoris in the side though for those after match beers and sing-a-longs.

errlloyd wasn't too impressed
    errlloyd wrote: »
    He was the winger who was absolutely burned by Sweetnam in the Maori test against Munster during a kick chase. So either Sweetnam is the flash or Lowe is slow as a wet week.

I don't think we need him anyway.

But listened to his SH mates
    Asked a few mates I have down in South Africa and New Zealand what they thought of him, they seem to be much more excited about his talent than I am.
    They reckon he's one of the top 5 kiwi wingers.
    Not hugely fast, but very large and very strong.
    Absolute howizter of a left boot
    Very good relationship with McKenzie he might struggle without
    An absolutely coup nonetheless.

Sounds like a Kiwi Dave Kearney.

A few others weren't too enamoured either
    Just on the subject of Lowe, it's probably a load of Indo rubbish, but I wouldn't be too crazy about signing him. He's 25, hasn't really threatened to break into the international side, has a good set of hands but doesn't look particularly quick. Adam Byrne is 3 years younger, and looks to be the real deal. Would much rather we invested in him rather than bring in some NZ castoff.

Also, even if Lowe did come over, can't see him ever playing for Ireland. He'd need 5 years in Ireland, making him 30 by the time he could be capped, and by then Ireland's back 3 production line should ensure he'd be way down the pecking order.
    vienne86 wrote: »
    Yeah - I would have preferred us to keep Kirchner.

.ak initially sang a different tune
    .ak wrote: »
    Lowe is a brilliant signing. I'm not sure why people aren't excited with that. Kirchner is out the door and Isa is in trouble if he picks up anymore injuries, his body is in bits I'd say.

He won't hamper any indigenous talent, really not sure why people will think that.

I imagine he'll fit the utility back role for us. If he can play centre in a pinch I'd be very happy.

thebaz was...thebaz
    thebaz wrote: »
    feal totally flat about this signing - don't think we need another winger, what message does it send to young guys in and from the Academy who have done so well - Byrne, O'Loughin, Larmour etc even Dave Kearney - totally against this idea of buying in SH talent , bring in one or 2 experienced guys to help the young team develop, but whats wrong with having faith in a home bred team, in stead of buying success

molloyjh spared a thought for homegrown talent
    molloyjh wrote: »
    On the one hand that looks like a great signing. On the other it will affect an Irish players game time. Unless there are very real plans to play Lowe at 15 while limiting Isas playing time (or something like that) then I'm a bit annoyed at this signing. We're finally seeing a couple of wingers come into the senior set up and we should be looking to persist with them.

With Isa, Rob and Dave there Byrne has a fight on his hands as it is. Throw in Lowe and someone is going to lose out. ROL will certainly get far less game time, and less at the level he'll want to be playing at. Larmour is going to find it hard to get time during the international windows then too. I wonder where it leaves Dardis and Ferg?

The more I think about it the less happy I am with it, even though the guy does look a talent. I'm really surprised the IRFU signed off on it too.

A few guys were believers straight out
    This guy is a class player, no mistake there
    Clegg wrote: »
    Ah it's a great signing lads. He's highly rated in NZ.

Locke_Lamora had this to say
    Looks like I'm late to the party with the Lowe signing. Having skimmed the comments, I've been a bit surprised at some people's opinions of him but I'm going to contribute that to there possibly being a lack of people consistently watching super rugby. I've been baffled by people saying they would be happier with Kirchner and comparing the guy to Dave Kearney. Lowe is an unreal talent - simple as that. The only negative I can find about the signing, as many people have already pointed out, is that he may take a little longer to develop the younger talent coming through. But in terms of competing in Europe and the pro12 during international windows, he's one of the best buys you could get without breaking the bank for an established international.

But final word for .ak, just in case people missed it first time roud
    .ak wrote: »
    Lowe is a brilliant signing.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,105 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

I'm glad I'm on the right side of history.

Swiwi appears to be able to see everything that happens on the forum. He's obviously very precious about Lowe.

And... he's from New Zealand.

Swiwi is Sauron confirmed.

latest?cb=20100402161911

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Swiwi appears to be able to see everything that happens on the forum. He's obviously very precious about Lowe.

And... he's from New Zealand.

Swiwi is Sauron confirmed.

latest?cb=20100402161911

Except after Ireland hammer New Zealand next month, when he will become... sour-on...?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

What they said

Meh, I actually don't think I was all that wrong - he is slow, I still call him James slow. Those who said he was a disaster for Adam Byrne, ROL and others were right. Leinster A could have fielded Byrne, ROL, DK and Mcfadden against munster, an all Irish capped 13-15 of wingers.

I said I didn't think we needed him, and I stick by that too. We won a champions cup without him. We have depth in wingers etc. Our need don't reflect on him as a players.

The kiwi Dave Kearney thing was facetious.

He's box office to watch, I'm super happy we have him and I now expect he will play for Ireland, but as far as predictions go I'm not will greenwood saying Adam Byrne was gonna be a lions winger.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Meh, I actually don't think I was all that wrong - he is slow, I still call him James slow. Those who said he was a disaster for Adam Byrne, ROL and others were right. Leinster A could have fielded Byrne, ROL, DK and Mcfadden against munster, an all Irish capped 13-15 of wingers.

I said I didn't think we needed him, and I stick by that too. We won a champions cup without him. We have depth in wingers etc. Our need don't reflect on him as a players.

He's box office to watch, I'm super happy we have him and I now expect he will play for Ireland, but as far as predictions go I'm not will greenwood saying Adam Byrne was gonna be a lions winger.

You're taking the whole thing too seriously.

Twas just for the craic.

Seems like something swiwi_ has been bitter about for quite a while!

swiwi wrote: »
    And anyone thinking Lowe is a dud signing (errlloyd....), this is what Dave Rennie had to say

For the record Dave Rennie also think the champions cup is the best club competition on earth.

You're taking the whole thing too seriously.

Twas just for the craic.

Ah to be fair I was. I'm sort of hanging. It's early. The true value of his signing is how he's lifting other players and that is not something I'd often find myself thinking about a winger.

For the record Dave Rennie also think the champions cup is the best club competition on earth.

Its the only one worth caring about!

I'd say Lowe probably isn't fast enough to be an AB back three and some of the motivation he had coming north might have been off the back of feedback to that effect.

I don't think he came north because he's on his last legs, I'd say there is some truth to his medium term concerns about his health, but I'd say he wasn't prepared to waste another 3 years trying for an AB cap when his career *might* be shortened.

He isn't lightning quick, he has an awful lot else going for him but he lacks top end pace for sure. He is the best back 3 in Ireland this season without question and would walk into the starting team in November. Joe would absolutely love to have him, he is a terrific link player, is an extra flanker at the breakdown and he creates a huge number of scores for himself and others out of absolutely nothing. Defensively he hasn't displayed much weakness this season so he's starting to look fairly complete.

I also think he'd be a very good influence for the national team, brings a lot of exuberance and positivity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

In fairness, all those predictions about Lowe were borne out to be correct to one degree or another.

Slow? No, but he's not as quick as Larmour, Daly, Byrne or McFadden, that's for sure.

Defence? He was an absolute liability in his first few months, but looks to have improved immensely. Not sure he's been really tested this season though.

Great signing? Definitely.

Bad for the Irish guys? I'm not so sure tbh. Adam Byrne was the one people were most worried about, but he'd be out in the cold regardless. Ferg and DK are around long enough to stand or fall on their own merits and Larmour is doing just fine.

In fairness, all those predictions about Lowe were borne out to be correct to one degree or another.

Slow? No, but he's not as quick as Larmour, Daly, Byrne or McFadden, that's for sure.

Defence? He was an absolute liability in his first few months, but looks to have improved immensely. Not sure he's been really tested this season though.

Bad for the Irish guys? I'm not so sure tbh. Adam Byrne was the one people were most worried about, but he'd be out in the cold regardless. Ferg and DK are around long enough to stand or fall on their own merits and Larmour is doing just fine.

Agree on your last point, since Lowe arrived Larmour has broken not just into the Leinster first choice team but is probably in the first choice Ireland 23.

He's blocked no one.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,678 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Agree on your last point, since Lowe arrived Larmour has broken not just into the Leinster first choice team but is probably in the first choice Ireland 23.

He's blocked no one.

I mean, technically he has blocked someone by being there and being in the squad.

But he hasn't blocked anyone who's made a case to be there or is unfairly being blocked. If that makes sense. Nobody's put their hand up to be in contention for that spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Heymans

All that said it’s good to have players in there from outside the Leinster gene pool. They can bring new standards and ways of doing things. The competition can be only a good thing for Leinster rugby even if a few home grown players get pushed down the pecking order - it brings a higher standard to that position. Sure there is the development of younger players that gets sidelined but with that you have mentor ship of the incumbent foreigner. I’m all for importing talent in within reason and so long as it’s not 75% of the team that’s imported.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,557 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Lowe is exceptional. No doubt. But I think Stockdale and Larmour are exceptional also.
    Lowe and Fardy were incredible signings. We hit the jackpot.
    Especially after the busts we signed; Kane Douglas and Kirchner. Tomane also may be a bust. The brains of the organization got these 2 right. I just hope Fardy gets an extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,993 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

One thing that could help Leinster in their ability to retain him long term is the Irish health and injury management protocols.

Whilst the pay day in England or France will certainly be appealing, he'll know that should he stay in Ireland he'll be managed as regards his health or any injury concerns he may have (if any) whereas he'll be flogged abroad.

With JGP qualifying at the end of the season, at least the three into two problem goes away so hopefully Lowe and Fardy stick around.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I don't think he came north because he's on his last legs, I'd say there is some truth to his medium term concerns about his health, but I'd say he wasn't prepared to waste another 3 years trying for an AB cap when his career *might* be shortened.

He pretty much said that was the case on the left wing podcast, got the feeling it was clear to him he didn’t have a future as an AB.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,589 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Dubinusa wrote: »
    Lowe is exceptional. No doubt. But I think Stockdale and Larmour are exceptional also.
    Lowe and Fardy were incredible signings. We hit the jackpot.
    Especially after the busts we signed; Kane Douglas and Kirchner. Tomane also may be a bust. The brains of the organization got these 2 right. I just hope Fardy gets an extension.

Ah here I wouldn't be having Zane down as a bust... He didn't come with any airs and graces. A utility back who covered basically everything from 10 to 15 (he did play 10 at one stage, or maybe I'm misremembering). He was the type of player we needed at the time we needed him, same with hairy Joe and we'll see how that will turn out.
    Kane was a different story as I don't think he was ever the right fit for Leinster.... In fact I'd have to say triggs had better outings in blue than Douglas.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,678 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Ah here I wouldn't be having Zane down as a bust... He didn't come with any airs and graces. A utility back who covered basically everything from 10 to 15 (he did play 10 at one stage, or maybe I'm misremembering). He was the type of player we needed at the time we needed him, same with hairy Joe and we'll see how that will turn out.
    Kane was a different story as I don't think he was ever the right fit for Leinster.... In fact I'd have to say triggs had better outings in blue than Douglas.

Triggs had some absolutely stellar performances in his last season with us. He didn't start off well but definitely wasn't a bust by the end.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

sydthebeat wrote: »

Triggs had some absolutely stellar performances in his last season with us. He didn't start off well but definitely wasn't a bust by the end.

I agree with this. I though Triggs hit his best performances towards the end. He was excellent in his last season.