Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Were the late 90s the best of times?

• 26-07-2018 7:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭

Everything seemed better then. Things were on the up, positivity reigned and little doomsday talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Try harder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I remember the late 90s as pretty dull and bland with no defining features TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Err, Y2K!!

Never forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

They were the blurst of times.
    Although there no hipsters, twitter or facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

the eighties were

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

DaDumTish wrote: »
    the eighties were

The eighties were poverty and recession to me

GetWithIt wrote: »
    Err, Y2K!!

Never forget.

$$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Try_harder wrote: »

Yes, but , but .......the music !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Music in general peaked when this was released October 1999. Steady decline since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,464 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

The 90's were awesome.
    We have the Feile's which was our generation's woodstock (none of that muck music that came after it with overpriced rap bands and junkies).
    I also got a job in IT and being young and single had the time of my life around then and into the early years of the 21st century.
    I actually pity today's youth with all the social media bul****.
    I'm on facebook and twitter but really only for following stuff but the pressure on them these days not to mention getting a job, trying to buy a house etc etc.
    I wouldn't trade the those years for any other decade, at least not in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Yes most definitely.

The IT industry just taking off and the $$$ potential.

The club scene.

The hilarious fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,048 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

The late 90's were a great time for Jordan Grand Prix fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

I had a good time but I wouldn't say it was the best of times. Very hazy decade, everyone thought everything was grand but those grand times are the exact same times the Universe will rip away the floor from your feet

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Noveight wrote: »
    Music in general peaked when this was released October 1999. Steady decline since.

Ah now, they were no Alice Deejay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

jacksie66 wrote: »
    The rise of Nu Metal..

Aka, music to wet the bed to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I was only about 6 or 7 in the late 90s so all I remember is pokemon cards

• Registered Users Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Nah, just most of the demographic on here were teenagers back in the late 90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,275 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to Heaven, we were all going direct the other way—in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Pogs were awesome.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

It was the time before mass proliferation of mobile phones and digital cameras.

Human interactions were possibly simpler back then. Eye to eye contact. No distraction. You had to be on time for meeting friends or they'd just leave without you.

No such thing as checking your work emails at home or on holiday.

The music and movies were decent. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, REM, U2 and Britpop were ruling the charts (remember the charts??). Dance music became popular. Warren G and Nate Dogg tried to establish the G Funk era, but it never took off.

Manchester United knocked Liverpool off their perch and formed a great rivalry with Arsenal. Ireland qualified for stuff.

Our economy began to grow a bit and emigration slowed down.

Of course it wasn't perfect. The Troubles existed until 1998. There was mass slaughter in Rwanda and Yugoslavia.

I think the 90s were a great decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,330 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

In the late 1990s the internet was as it should be, for geeks and on computers, not on every tom dick and jane's smart phone.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

The asylum and UFO were the highlight of the 90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

The late 70s - Punk made anything seam possible for young misfits and school dropouts like myself - just wearing one earring was actually rebellious - the music & gigs were so great back then and you didnt need to be a maestro to be great - just DIY attitude and 3 chords - before that very few bands came to play Ireland - we laid the foundation for much that followed - great days rebelling against the oppressive conservative majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Unsolved Mysteries was a great show, although started late 80s, definitely remember it in the 90s

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,275 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

thebaz wrote: »
    The late 70s - Punk made anything seam possible for young misfits and school dropouts like myself - just wearing one earring was actually rebellious - the music & gigs were so great back then and you didnt need to be a maestro to be great - just DIY attitude and 3 chords - before that very few bands came to play Ireland - we laid the foundation for much that followed - great days rebelling against the oppressive conservative majority.

Feck off grandad. It's past your bedtime. You and your old war stories :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Chaos Tourist

In pop culture, 1999 was a huge year for films.

1998 was the greatest year for computer games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Ipso wrote:
    They were the blurst of times. Although there no hipsters, twitter or facebook.

We had hipsters since the 1950s. There's nothing new about them

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

Noveight wrote: »

I still use it as my ringtone. Mainly because it drives people mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,157 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Try_harder wrote:

They were for most of us. The only thing was that we never knew boom times so though we knew it was bad we never knew how bad. By the mid to last 80's almost all of my friends had emigrated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I remember the late 90’s as a time when loads of jobs suddenly appeared which resulted in plenty of young people with money burning a hole in their pocket every Friday night. Every weekend that I went out it was open warfare up and down places like Camden Street and Harcourt Street. Lads boxing the head off each other. Not scumbags but lads who just couldn’t handle their drink. Mad time.

I remember the late 90s as a time when loads of jobs suddenly appeared which resulted in plenty of young people with money burning a hole in their pocket every Friday night. Every weekend that I went out it was open warfare up and down places like Camden Street and Harcourt Street. Lads boxing the head off each other. Not scumbags but lads who just couldnt handle their drink. Mad time.

Drink or something stronger?

Mad yokes!

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

I born in early 80's and had very austere childhood, eating loads of chayote that used to grow like plague. Thanks to Argentina, USA removed their installed military regimes along South America, changing for the democracy. Then a great time on the 90's before the confirmation that democracies doesn't work in some countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Late 90s/early 00s I remember every Thursday Friday sat and sun night ppl were spending money like crazy in pubs/socialising. Ppl had disposable income for maybe the first time ever.

I remember my mobile bills around then were huge! Now I go mad if its more than 20 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Late 90's it was all turning to sh1te drugs music etc

But it was 100% better than the Ireland of today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'd have just started my teenage years in 2000.
    I remember things being cheaper, penny sweets actually costing a penny.
    Stingers and refreshers which actually tasted better.
    The punt would get further than a euro.
    I do slightly remember traffic becoming more and more a problem.
    Whereas say in 1995 around our area you'd see nearly nothing.
    If I remember correctly the summer of 99 was actually a good one.
    Got my first ps1 during the christmas winter storm of 98 and couldn't play cause the electricity failed.
    In a way it's sad how nearly 20 years has passed since we said goodbye to the 90s.
    The 00s was just a decade of stress tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Mid nineties were the best. 94 - 97

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The entire decade was great!

bear1 wrote: »
    I'd have just started my teenage years in 2000.
    I remember things being cheaper, penny sweets actually costing a penny.
    Stingers and refreshers which actually tasted better.
    The punt would get further than a euro.
    I do slightly remember traffic becoming more and more a problem.
    Whereas say in 1995 around our area you'd see nearly nothing.
    If I remember correctly the summer of 99 was actually a good one.
    Got my first ps1 during the christmas winter storm of 98 and couldn't play cause the electricity failed.
    In a way it's sad how nearly 20 years has passed since we said goodbye to the 90s.
    The 00s was just a decade of stress tbh.

The punt was 1.27Euro so was always going further
    The Euro wasnt in circulation in the 90s tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Feck off grandad. It's past your bedtime. You and your old war stories :pac:

but I lived to tell the tale - and thers still some fight left in the old dog ;)

ps they were great times

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Drink or something stronger?

Mad yokes!

It was mostly drink. But it was mental. A couple of lads would walk down the street and walk by another couple and it would just kick offf. Literally boxing the head off each other in traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The punt was 1.27Euro so was always going further
    The Euro wasnt in circulation in the 90s tho

I know I meant that it felt that the punt would get you way more and as you pointed out would get you 0.27 more but still.. I miss the punts :(
    The notes were class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Anyone else finish school in 1999 and had this song played at the ceremony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

jacksie66 wrote: »
    The rise of Nu Metal..

left me disillusioned.

Very exciting if you’re 13 I’d imagine but I was into my 20’s at that point?! Cavalera’s reemergence with pink hair and Adidas stripes was the final nail for me. Hanneman thought he could adapt to it too - fail.....

Metal was suddenly music for kids instead and made me feel like I was getting on. I couldn’t aspire to those guys no more but here’s no doubt metal hit a rut and officially ceased to be thee definitive street culture at that point

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭ISOP

zapitastas wrote: »
    The asylum and UFO were the highlight of the 90s
    some great times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was a kid in Primary school and was happy enough!
    Anything felt possible but I suppose that was part of being a kid.

Slane 98 was pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭TheShow

Double doves and Mitsubishis!