Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How do you feel about "Do-Gooders"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

This fella has a good take on the whole offence thing

Is he doing sign language while talking?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Incel is a new one on me.

I find it very difficult to keep with all this nonsense from both 'sides.'

Whether it's cuck or gammon, soyboy, trumpanze etc.

It's too much for me to retain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Gammon? Is that not something you have for your tea? What's it supposed to mean here? FFS!

Omackeral wrote: »
    Gammon? Is that not something you have for your tea? What's it supposed to mean here? FFS!

It's a derogatory term for Brexit supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Omackeral wrote:

Lovely with a fried egg and pineapple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Keepaneye

It's incredible how many words these people have come up with to insult one another. Whatever happened to calling someone a moron and moving on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It can be a bit Nazi-esque right now, Omackeral. And also way more serious than it used to be. Full of serious men, being serious and taking themselves very seriously.

I'm serious as cancer when I say rhythm is a dancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Omackeral wrote: »

I think the term originated on Twitter, during a Question Time Brexit special.

DY_3uIXW4AAI4ri.jpg

Do not adjust your set, etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

I think the term originated on Twitter, during a Question Time Brexit special.

DY_3uIXW4AAI4ri.jpg

Do not adjust your set, etc...

Sounds like a pretty nasty insult. And isn't it based on people's skin colour? I thought the lefties were against that kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Someone called Cameron a 'Gammon faced twunt' on Twitter 6 months or so before the Brexit vote and I think it stuck from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It sounded like she left the flight as well; she said 'when see him leave the plane then I will leave the plane'.
    Imagine if she got a later flight and the deportee was on that one as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,199 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

mynamejeff wrote: »
    yes she was

how so?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'm serious as cancer when I say rhythm is a dancer.

"Cancer" no longer refers to either a disease of the cell or a toxic sub-group wrecking a community, it's now a nickname for Daniel Kinahan. Try to keep up, people. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

"Chancer" no longer refers to either a disease of the cell or a toxic sub-group wrecking a community, it's now a nickname for Daniel Kinahan. Try to keep up, people. :pac:

Fixed ;)

:P

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭jim salter

Fůckin' hate them. The need to be the defender of others for their own self worth and importance is laughable.

Usually they are not directly affected by those they are 'do gooding' for and if they were they would be playing another tune entirely - cůnts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

how so?

coz san

hard luck you lose

coz san

hard luck you lose

lose what?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

lose what?

exactly

exactly

exactly what? can you elaborate on what you are trying to discuss with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Thoughtform

I think that poster meant "attention whore"!

Part of me slightly admires the girl for standing up for her beliefs, even though misguided. I do think she genuinely holds those views and isn't solely an attention seeker. And she actually went ahead and did something instead of the usual being all talk. Something her detractors are usually quick to point out (and often with good cause).

However I can understand the objections too. And she was being attention-seeking with the recording, even if she strongly believes in the cause. She also delayed a flight, which is a ****ty thing to do. Who knows what serious things people on that flight needed to get to.

The really damaging factor though was that the man wasn't even the guy she was initially campaigning on behalf of - so she didn't know that he wasn't being deported for a really serious crime. The naivety of that is quite galling (and really compounds the attention-seeking aspect) although I believe Sweden has become much stricter in relation to immigration (and I can see why).

She's young though - I can understand criticism of her for sure, but some things being said about her here are bizarrely rage and hatred filled. Do something about that anger folks!

exactly what? can you elaborate on what you are trying to discuss with me?

nope

elaborate enough for you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Thomas_IV

jim salter wrote: »
    Fůckin' hate them. The need to be the defender of others for their own self worth and importance is laughable.

Usually they are not directly affected by those they are 'do gooding' for and if they were they would be playing another tune entirely - cůnts

I don't hate them, I rather detest them as their ideal of 'humanity' is a exaggerated one that makes a whole travesty of it and some of them have the attitude to impose their sense of humanity on others, no matter what and no matter whether the one migrant concerned already has a criminal record or not. IMO this has become already insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the most famous do gooder of all...mary whitehouse

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

fryup wrote: »
    the most famous do gooder of all...mary whitehouse

I reckon behind closed doors she was a right sort, would make Jacqueline Gold blush scarlet.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

they named a porno mag after her :P

frosty123 wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

they named a porno mag after her :P

Genuis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Genuis!

Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A Finnish woman, Aino Pennanen, tried to copycat the Swedish do-gooder
    This woman is legal officer for the Finnish Greens.

Police came onboard the plane and tossed her off. The deportation went ahead as planned.

Linky
    https://yle.fi/uutiset/osasto/news/finlands_greens_party_legal_officer_kicked_off_plane_for_protesting_fellow_passengers_deportation/10331375

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Condescending fools jumping on their moral high horses like they are somehow superior to everyone else just because they like to virtue signal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

biko wrote: »
    A Finnish woman, Aino Pennanen, tried to copycat the Swedish do-gooder
    This woman is legal officer for the Finnish Greens.

Police came onboard the plane and tossed her off. The deportation went ahead as planned.

This genius broadcasted live video of her protest on Facebook as it unfolded today, but she had no information about the deportee or did not know to which country the deportee was being taken to.
    She started her protest after she noticed that another passenger was being forcibly repatriated.

So she had no clue if this deportee had committed crimes in Finland or even considered the possibility that there was a genuine reason for the forcible repatriation. This woman is the legal office for the Green Party in Finland. Shudder to think what would happen if the Greens get into power in Finland.

At least she only delayed the plane for 10 minutes before getting kicked off.

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

I said before " racism " is a subjective terms as self pro claimed anti racism groups try to redefine as to what " racism " means, some self pro claimed anti racism groups are praising on some of their social media pages another attempt to stop a deportation- this time in Finland earlier today.

https://yle.fi/uutiset/osasto/news/finlands_greens_party_legal_officer_kicked_off_plane_for_protesting_fellow_passengers_deportation/10331375

Now I honestly don,t get how deporting someone is " racism ", if someone has entered a country illegally or if someone is being deported after committing a crime i fail to see how either of the two is " racist " .

I said before " racism " is a subjective terms as self pro claimed anti racism groups try to redefine as to what " racism " means, some self pro claimed anti racism groups are praising on some of their social media pages another attempt to stop a deportation- this time in Finland earlier today.

Now I honestly don,t get how deporting someone is " racism ", if someone has entered a country illegally or if someone is being deported after committing a crime i fail to see how either of the two is " racist " .
    Like the many of them, they're as much ideological blinded and extreme like their counterparts from the other side of the political spectrum on the extreme edge. Therefore, whatever goes against immigrants (the covering term for both, refugees and asylumseekers) it has to be 'racist' but I am not buying into this stupid nonsense because the implementation of the law on lawful grounds is by no means 'racist' it means to implement justice. More so when it concerns criminals and illegals with or without a criminal record.

Thomas_IV wrote: »
    Like the many of them, they're as much ideological blinded and extreme like their counterparts from the other side of the political spectrum on the extreme edge. Therefore, whatever goes against immigrants (the covering term for both, refugees and asylumseekers) it has to be 'racist' but I am not buying into this stupid nonsense because the implementation of the law on lawful grounds is by no means 'racist' it means to implement justice. More so when it concerns criminals and illegals with or without a criminal record.

Apparently I'm racist for not finding dark skinned men attractive and preferring pale ginger lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

And also way more serious than it used to be. ...
    :pac: ...what like, since February?

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Mackmatic

Pretzeluck wrote: »
    I am going to dismiss that claim unless you actually provide evidence. Couldn't find anything on Google.

You couldn't find anything on Google? Are you for real. There is countless examples of animals killing besides just for food.

Look at Lions who massacre any cubs that aren't there's in a new pride they take over, or kill rival males for territory. They kill Hyenas to reduce competition too.
    There are many documented cases of Chimpanzees who kill and maim members of rival groups.
    Orcas? Killer whales? They kill, harrass and torture Seals and Sea lions all the time. Usually for fun.

Thats just off the top of my head. If you couldn't find anything on Google then maybe you're just weak and delirious from not eating meat. Or just maybe you didn't bother to look before spouting off your nonsense.

Go have a pulled pork sandwich, strengthen up and cop the fcuk on to yourself.

Mackmatic wrote: »
    You couldn't find anything on Google? Are you for real. There is countless examples of animals killing besides just for food.

Look at Lions who massacre any cubs that aren't there's in a new pride they take over, or kill rival males for territory. They kill Hyenas to reduce competition too.
    There are many documented cases of Chimpanzees who kill and maim members of rival groups.
    Orcas? Killer whales? They kill, harrass and torture Seals and Sea lions all the time. Usually for fun.

Thats just off the top of my head. If you couldn't find anything on Google then maybe you're just weak and delirious from not eating meat. Or just maybe you didn't bother to look before spouting off your nonsense.

There's examples of male penguins forming an attachment to another male penguin and doing a Strangers on a Train kinda thing where they kill each others mates and raise the chicks as a family.

Fascinating stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

Narcissistic people are attention seekers. They seek out fake concerns and exploit them to get that attention. The migrant would 'be killed' if he was deported. Such drama is the hall mark of a narcissistic personality.

In this case the student not only got the attention of the entire plane, negative attention from obviously disgruntled passengers and crew but tellingly also live streamed her do-gooding on Facebook and got positive attention from being deemed a hero for her bravery. Her live streaming is the smoking gun for me. She could have done the same without the need to broadcast it.

That the man had committed assault was irrelevant. All that matters to people like that is themselves and the manipulation of and exploitation of fake concerns as they can provide them with a smorgasbord of material and issues that they can exploit to bully, stir **** and cause trouble with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Mackmatic wrote: »

Ignoring what the other guy said...

It shouldn't matter to you what wild animals do. You certainly shouldn't be basing your ethics on what they do.

It's people buying into the animal abuse industry that need to cop on. It's absolutely needless (your post implying that you need meat for strength is laughable) and the height of hypocrisy really. Everybody wants to do their bit for the environment until it inconveniences them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 224 ✭✭donaldtramp

This is ridiculous. I hate people like this, who can't just mind their own business!

What if he is a terrorist, there's likely a good reason for his deportation which is abiding by the law of the land, and she obviously doesn't know who this man is, so she could just be defending a terrorist right now.

valoren wrote: »
    Narcissistic people are attention seekers. They seek out fake concerns and exploit them to get that attention. The migrant would 'be killed' if he was deported. Such drama is the hall mark of a narcissistic personality.

In this case the student not only got the attention of the entire plane, negative attention from obviously disgruntled passengers and crew but tellingly also live streamed her do-gooding on Facebook and got positive attention from being deemed a hero for her bravery. Her live streaming is the smoking gun for me. She could have done the same without the need to broadcast it.

That the man had committed assault was irrelevant. All that matters to people like that is themselves and the manipulation of and exploitation of fake concerns as they can provide them with a smorgasbord of material and issues that they can use to bully, stir **** and cause trouble with.

That all goes straight to the point and hits the nail on the head. It also exposes how self-serving their actions are in the first place and how useless too because later on I read that the to be deported immigrant was about to be deported later on another plane.  

There are other ways to deport without giving activists like that student or others room for their stunts. There are collected deportations which means that the authority in charge charters a plane only for deportees to be taken to the same country and with guards on board to accompany and secure them, but no private passangers like in the two recent cases. That cost more but it prevents activists from getting publicity. But for that the authorities had to have a certain number of deportees so that the costs justify the means.

Some one or two weeks ago, an Afghan illegal and rejected asylumseeker was deported to Afghanistan from Germany by plane. Shortly after arriving there, he killed himself. The deportee was one with a criminal record and had to be brought out of the country. The political Left parties were naturally outraged by this, never minding the criminal record of the deportee and never giving a thought on the victims of his man's doing. To many people such outrage by the political left is no more understandable, Looks quite insane and distorted. After I noticed the article about this man's suicide, I had no pity and just thought, well, one criminal offender less. 

It tells something about the stage of our times when there is more concern about the criminal offenders than of the victims of that offender. It is like the world has been turned upside down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Zulu wrote: »
    :pac: ...what like, since February?

No, since over a decade ago.

valoren wrote: »

That the man had committed assault was irrelevant. All that matters to people like that is themselves and the manipulation of and exploitation of fake concerns as they can provide them with a smorgasbord of material and issues that they can use to bully, stir **** and cause trouble with.

I've been around a person who suffers with Narcissistic Personality Disorder most of my life.

They love drama and will intentionally create conflicts. They get off on it. Attention is the aim, doesn't matter if it's good or bad.

Unfortunately there really is no effective treatment for it. The person I'm referring to has been through 100s of hours of therapy during their lifetime but still possess all the traits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

The term "do gooder" is pejorative of course and one that would probably not be used by someone who has experienced kindness or assistance from a do gooder.

It conjures up images of people who cannot mind their own business and one definition states that they are an earnest often naive humanitarian or reformer

Word Origin & History

"a person who seeks to correct social ills in an idealistic, but usually impractical or superficial, way," 1650s (as do-good), in "Zootomia, or Observations on the Present Manners of the English: Briefly Anatomizing the Living by the Dead.

That said, the lady in that video is certainly just an attention seeker.

But society may benefit from do gooders too, but it is difficult to quantify any benefit over the pain in the ass that being subjected to them is.

I've always thought that The Du-Gooders would be a great name for a band.

dense wrote: »
    The term "do gooder" is pejorative of course and one that would probably not be used by someone who has experienced kindness or assistance from a do gooder.

It conjures up images of people who cannot mind their own business and one definition states that they are an earnest often naive humanitarian or reformer

Naive humanitarian is the proper description I would take for them. Their naivity knows no bounds unless they get such disappointed by those they do good to and even then, some of them never learn and seek and find any and every excuse to rather blame themselves than the one who disappointed them.

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Mackmatic

Eathrin wrote: »
    Ignoring what the other guy said...

It shouldn't matter to you what wild animals do. You certainly shouldn't be basing your ethics on what they do.

It's people buying into the animal abuse industry that need to cop on. It's absolutely needless (your post implying that you need meat for strength is laughable) and the height of hypocrisy really. Everybody wants to do their bit for the environment until it inconveniences them.

Well that was the joke part of the post, so, mission accomplished I guess ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 173 ✭✭Mike Hoch

Just taking a quick look at it now... there's a thread called "Female Swedish student's plane protest prevents Afghan illegal immigrant being deported". Not a million miles away from this one, tbh. Although, to be fair, none of them have advocated beating her.

A bit ironic, considering the guy being deported to Afghanistan had been jailed in Sweden for "assault". The Swedish authorities refusing to clarify exactly what this assault involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

The thread title contains name-calling.

dawson_crying.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think this topic ties in nicely with the concept of altruism.
    Were these women altruistic, or ultimately selfish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

biko wrote: »
    I think this topic ties in nicely with the concept of altruism.
    Were these women altruistic, or ultimately selfish?
    Is anything anyone does ultimately altruistic? (But I'm guessing that's your point, right?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

I strongly prefer them to 'do badders'

Very well said. I have nothing to say about the Sweden incident and I will only support political "activism" in a democratic state that respects and abides by the rule of law. But I detest the use of the phrase "do gooder" to smear people who are legitimately exposing corruption, bureaucratic bullying etc., and you must be very blind if you haven't seen the need for such activity in Ireland.
    I knew a senior garda officer who constantly dismissed as "do-gooders" anybody who questioned the status quo. He feathered his own nest very comfortably, and not always in the most honourable way. No wonder he didn't like such people. Ever since that mean-spirited phrase has grated on me.