Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Deirdre Jacob missing twenty years Today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Strazdas wrote: »
    I'm suggesting though that there has been new information or new leads ie. that what they said a couple of days ago is true. The decision then would be whether they keep this to themselves or go public with it. I'm guessing that the decision to go public is to see if there is yet more new info out there.

Irish Mirror carrying the story,
    this is an extract from that,

(Larry Murphy is also a suspect in the case of missing women Annie McCarrick, 26 and Jo Jo Dullard, 21.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

great to see this thread heading the same way the Trevor Deely one went - nonsense theories from amateur detectives, barely coherent posts repeating info already posted by someone who can actually string a sentence together, misleading contributions from the terminally confused or those out to muddy the water on purpose, and endless misspelling of the names of the disappeared.

presumably the offensive posts about the victim will be along any minute to guarantee the lock. I'll be surprised if the thread lasts through the weekend.

Steady on, friend: we are only discussing stuff that has already been printed in newspapers and the media. Not inventing fairytales.

And in more than three hundred posts, nobody has said anything remotely offensive about Deirdre Jacob or any other tragic victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Steady on, friend: we are only discussing stuff that has already been printed in newspapers and the media. Not inventing fairytales.

Problem is the media have absolutely no interest in truthful reporting.

Their sole interest is in clicks.

If that means hysterical sensationalist bullsh1t based on nothing, so be it.

Hence using a story in the media or worse, a story by Mr Hysterical himself, paul Williams, is almost the same as making it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Jojo Dullard is re-emerging in the news today also with details about the ex-girlfriend of the family's main suspect who wrote a letter to the family in Kilkenny saying she believed he was capable of murder

What I can't make out from the article is if this letter is the only reason he's the main suspect to them - or if there is other, more significant evidence about it.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/jo-jo-dullard-missing-mystery-13092669

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭xalot

Laois_Man wrote: »

According to that article:

Fresh information from builders who knew Larry Murphy was enough for cold case cops to upgrade Deirdre Jacob’s case to murder, now Jo Jo’s family hope the same could happen in their case.

what information could a builder have that they would have kept to themselves for 20 years.....it's not like it's a family member not wanting to upset his mam...

xalot wrote: »

Fresh information from builders who knew Larry Murphy was enough for cold case cops to upgrade Deirdre Jacob’s case to murder, now Jo Jo’s family hope the same could happen in their case.

what information could a builder have that they would have kept to themselves for 20 years.....it's not like it's a family member not wanting to upset his mam...

I'm guessing the information (which presumably is merely confirmation that LM was working with them in Newbridge in the days arounds DJ's disappearance) was there a while and the cold case review team are only focusing in on it now. If it's true at all.

Remember, LMs presence in Newbridge at that time wouldn't have occurred to anyone as being of significance to DJ's disappearance until at least about 3 years later when he was all over the news over the Carlow abduction/rapes/attempted murder case. Perhaps it has been much more recent than that where builder(s) found something or remembered something that verifies the dates he was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

xalot wrote: »

The Daily Mirror ???
    I'd pay more heed to The Beano.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Its hardly enough that Murphy was working in newbridge to upgrade it to murder.

Surely to god this info would have come to light years ago. If not it's remarkable. If so its remarkanle in itself that while memories were fresher they'd have investigated sooner.

Possibly a builder forget that murphy worked with him a few hours on the day DJ went missing and discovered material (payslips, shop receipts etc). Who knows maybe he realised LM knocked off early that day.

I hope the jacobs get closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

The Daily Mirror ???
    I'd pay more heed to The Beano.

I read the piece myself and it's a bit wacky.

It has a photo of Jo Jo's now deceased sister and husband alongside a solicitor from KRW Law.

0_Mary-Phelan.jpg

The Mirror article also has a conspiracy theory angle in that it states that Jo Jo's attacker has political connections and the guards won't investigate the case properly because of that, and, it's not Murphy.

What's REALLY interesting is that KRW Law is the same firm nwhich is now connected to the Mary Boyle case, representing Mary's sister.
    Her sister, like Jo Jo's, also alleges that the Mary Boyle disappearance wasn't properly investigated because the alleged suspect had close political connections.

Two missing people both case investigations allegedly stymied by a refusal by Gardai to step on the toes of those politically connected?

Coincidence or conspiracy theory?

Sorry for going OT in this thread, but the KRW Law connection is interesting.

Possibly a builder forget that murphy worked with him a few hours on the day DJ went missing and discovered material (payslips, shop receipts etc). Who knows maybe he realised LM knocked off early that day.

I hope the jacobs get closure.

I genuinely doubt anyone could forget being connected to Larry Murphy no matter how slight their connection was.

Unless someone has something on their conscience.

dense wrote: »
    I genuinely doubt anyone could forget being connected to Larry Murphy no matter how slight their connection was.

Unless someone has something on their conscience.

Yeh i would agree but you just never know.

Interesting thread elsewhere about the missing lady.
    Very sad reading.

We forget what the families go through when we can switch off when we want, thwy can't.

http://s10.zetaboards.com/usedtobedoe/topic/1007948/1/

Historic:
    GARDAI last night broadcast the voice of the mystery man who claims to have given a lift to missing teenager Deirdre Jacob.

Investigating officers hope it will be recognised by someone who knows the man.

The lorry driver, who has made a number of phone calls to police and to local media since the student's disappearance, has refused to reveal his identity.

But he has claimed to be from Co Fermanagh and has a heavy northern accent.

https://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-60222622.html

Interesting thread elsewhere about the missing lady.
    Very sad reading.

We forget what the families go through when we can switch off when we want, thwy can't.

http://s10.zetaboards.com/usedtobedoe/topic/1007948/1/

Historic:

https://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-60222622.html

That's old news and has long since been proven to have been a hoax.

It's new news to me and there's a lot more than that report linked to on the site.

What happened to the hoax caller?
    Was he prosecuted for making them?

It's new news to me and there's a lot more than that report linked to on the site.

Sorry I hadn't intended to appear snidey.
    This appeared in the newspapers earlier this week......
    Mr Jacob and his wife Bernie have issued previous appeals for information several times over the last two decades.

They told The Irish Times in an interview a number of years ago that one of the most difficult periods of the last 20 years was when a hoax caller contacted gardabout 10 days after her disappearance.

Based in Co Fermanagh, the man first called the Leinster Leader newspaper, in Kildare, and then several Garda stations. He said he gave a lift to a girl from Clane village, in Co Kildare, to Carrickmacross, in Co Monaghan.

Following the calls the search in Co Kildare was stopped and the operation diverted to Monaghan and Fermanagh. The family travelled north based on the information from the hoaxer.

At the request of the family the tape of his calls was released and played on RT “Within half an hour they had so many calls they knew who he was,” said Michael.

“They said he had had a tragedy in his own family, and this is why he had done this,” said Bernie Jacob. “I find it impossible to reconcile that, having gone through a tragedy himself, he would impose one on us.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/deirdre-jacob-murder-garda%C3%AD-focusing-on-a-chief-suspect-1.3595773

From my recollection, the hoaxer was deemed to be suffering from 'emotional issues' and was not charged

Irish times today.

Gardaí are also examining a chief suspect for the crime – a man in his 50s who has been known to them for many years.

The suspect, who is abroad at present, travelled in Carlow, Kildare, Wicklow and Dublin as part of his job .

goat2 wrote: »
    Irish times today.

Gardaí are also examining a chief suspect for the crime – a man in his 50s who has been known to them for many years.

The suspect, who is abroad at present, travelled in Carlow, Kildare, Wicklow and Dublin as part of his job .

https://tinyurl.com/ybymxunk

Well well well. That is extremely interesting - a wild card enters the case.

Previously known to the Polis but not the subject of general gossip.

And the borders of Laois/Carlow isn't such a big area - it's mostly the river Barrow.
    That's a very rural area: one might hazard that the person's job was selling something to the agricultural community. (A wild guess, I admit it)

Let us hope that the people known to this "suspect" do decide to comb their memories and produce some tangible information!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

https://i2-prod.irishmirror.ie/incoming/article13092671.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/1_I180816_170452_1659833oTextTRMRMMGLPICT000115228098o.jpg

There's a photo of Jo Jo's own sister with a missing poster with the name spelt with an "O" and not a "U".....

Well blow me down, we've been looking for the wrong person for 20 years!

As an aside, here's a photo of the same sister standing beside a memorial stone with the name spelled with a "U" and not an "O" ;-)

https://cdn.evoke.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/05105815/Jojo-d-768x549.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Previously known to the Polis but not the subject of general gossip.

what makes you think that?

I just read it as the long standing suspect

Riskymove wrote: »
    what makes you think that?

I just read it as the long standing suspect

Because of the "living abroad at the moment" comment.
    Though it seems quite hard to establish just where LM is living right now. I thought someone said Co Meath?
    Also, "sexual and domestic violence" - was that ever said about LM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Its hardly enough that Murphy was working in newbridge to upgrade it to murder.

Sounds strange alright. There has to be more to it than just that he was in the area to justify the upgrade. Its been known he was in the area for a long time.
    What's REALLY interesting is that KRW Law is the same firm which is now connected to the Mary Boyle case, representing Mary's sister.
    Her sister, like Jo Jo's, also alleges that the Mary Boyle disappearance wasn't properly investigated because the alleged suspect had close political connections.

Two missing people both case investigations allegedly stymied by a refusal by Gardai to step on the toes of those politically connected?

Coincidence or conspiracy theory?

Sorry for going OT in this thread, but the KRW Law connection is interesting.

KRW Law in Belfast specialise in human rights and cases of miscarriages of justice so it is not surprising that they represent both Mary Boyles sister and Jo Dollards family. They also represent the Hooded Men as well as other victims of the war up north. KRW Law are the type of law firm people go to when all other avenues are exhausted, they take on these types of cases that other firms would pass up on.

Im not sure where the allegation of the political cover up in Jojo Dollards case comes from but in Mary Boyle the allegation comes from two retired Gardai in Donegal who said they were told not to persue the main suspect who is a Fianna Fail activist. The allegation is that Sean McEniff the local FF councillor rang the Garda station and told them to lay off the main suspect (who is still alive today and living in the area).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭ACAguy

Its LM they are referring to hes in his 50s.

Its all very strange like JoJo and Tina also in papers today.

I just don't get the upgrading of an investigation they are clearly not releasing something

ACAguy wrote: »
    Its LM they are referring to hes in his 50s.

I just don't get the upgrading of an investigation they are clearly not releasing something

We have discussed it here before. It could well be a shot in the dark by Gardai. After spending 12 months going over every shred of evidence they feel they have nothing to lose and are hoping someone comes forward with something.

Because of the "living abroad at the moment" comment.
    Though it seems quite hard to establish just where LM is living right now. I thought someone said Co Meath?
    Also, "sexual and domestic violence" - was that ever said about LM?

North County Dublin / Amsterdam / London.

Meath is a new one I think. Even the Gardai dont know where a potentialy dangerous likely to reoffend scumbag is. Great.

I really doubt you can upgrade an investigation for a shot in the dark

Example: Phillip Kearns bag was found in a lane days later he was a child. Rumours that peado Eamon Cooke said something about it on his death bed and thats still a missing persons invesitgation

ACAguy wrote: »

August every year sees the media turn their attention to missing persons cases. It is because the courts and the Dail are closed so the media need to find other things to write about to fill the massive lack of news. Two summers ago we had wall to wall coverage of the Philip Cairns case, it went on the whole summer but then when the Dail resumed there wasnt a jot about it.

We have discussed it here before. It could well be a shot in the dark by Gardai. After spending 12 months going over every shred of evidence they feel they have nothing to lose and are hoping someone comes forward with something.

But, telling her family, it is now a murder inquiry does not fit that explanation, they had always hoped and prayed she would return and had a hope of that, now that is wiped, I think someone must have said something they kept quiet about with all of these years,

I didn't even think of that. Makes sense.

So many conspiracy theories about why these cases just pop up now and again

Like even one of the other missing woman FP i think. They seem fairly sure its an ex that lives in canada. yet thats not been upgraded?

Muahahaha wrote: »
    KRW Law in Belfast specialise in human rights and cases of miscarriages of justice so it is not surprising that they represent both Mary Boyles sister and Jo Dollards family. They also represent the Hooded Men as well as other victims of the war up north. KRW Law are the type of law firm people go to when all other avenues are exhausted, they take on these types of cases that other firms would pass up on.

I think it is quite surprising, see nothing about them being a last resort to clients when all else fails and I think it looks like Gemma O Doherty's conspiracy theory handiwork is all over both cases now with her having advised both families to resort to this firm.

http://krw-law.ie/chambers-guide-entry/

Here is O'Doherty's take on the Dollard case, on speculation about garda misbehaviour in the Jo Jo case.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DBboosKW0AAtuBz?format=jpg

DBboosKW0AAtuBz?format=jpg

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/family-missing-jo-jo-dullard-9984097

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/victims-sister-says-larry-murphy-is-innocent-101151229-237711391

Even JoJos sister doesn't think it it was a certain person

Probably easy for people in an form of influence of power to push someone with a record into the frame via the media

And the borders of Laois/Carlow isn't such a big area - it's mostly the river Barrow.
    That's a very rural area: one might hazard that the person's job was selling something to the agricultural community. (A wild guess, I admit it)

I know it very well....., at the northern end, starting at Newgardens->Bestfield->Carlow town/Graiguecullen->past Dolmen Hotel and onto the very rural area of Bilboa

It's about 10-miles. But the thing I find interesting about the mention of it is the aforementioned Newgardens is very close to Beaconstown, Maganey which was the first spot where LM raped the lady he abducted from Carlow. And he really REALLY had to know the very minor backroads in the area in order to know to take the woman to that spot!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Yes, he was from Fermanagh, I remember at the time they played the recording of the phone call on the RTE news. He was tracked down pretty quickly but not sure what prosecution or any followed, I think there were mental issues.

Ah the old mental card. Did Larry ever play that one?

I think it is quite surprising, see nothing about them being a last resort to clients when all else fails and I think it looks like Gemma O Doherty's conspiracy theory handiwork is all over both cases now with her having advised both families to resort to this firm.

I know KRW Law to be a last resort for clients from a family relation in the legal game- other legal firms refer cases to them that they cant take on due to lack of expertise & specialisation.

Im not sure what you mean about oDochertys conspiracy handiwork- the Irish Mirror link above directly quotes JoJos parents (Mary & Martin) as saying that a Garda told them that a Fine Gael farmer was the main suspect and that her body is buried on his farm.
    A senior Garda told Mary and her husband Martin at a meeting in 1996 officers knew the identity of the man who abducted, raped and killed Jo Jo.
    He was able to give disturbing details of how the psycho disposed of her body, saying she was “wrapped in plastic and buried 10ft underground” using a digger. But he also told them the investigation “won’t go anywhere”.

Jo Jo’s family believes he was telling the truth but was later warned to toe the official line that the case was being fully investigated.They also allege gardai engaged in a “smear campaign just like they did to Maurice McCabe” to quieten public interest in the case. Described by her family as a “quiet girl” who held down several part-time jobs and had been studying beauty therapy, Mary insists officers painted her in a bad light – even leaking details of an abortion.

She said: “They said all kinds of horrible things about Jo. They said she was drinking, taking drugs. They drove her down to dirt. I’ll never get over the smear campaign. “Jo was a lovely girl, a quiet girl she didn’t deserve that. It (the abortion) was her own personal thing. “Destroying her reputation was what they did to make people stop looking for her, to stop asking questions, to make it go away.”

Mary “thought long and hard” before bringing medical notes on the procedure to gardai but was desperate to do everything to help find her. She added: “They swore on the bible it would be kept confidential, but then they went and told a newspaper. “That was nothing to do with her death. It was a conscious attempt to stop me pushing Jo Jo’s case. Smearing her was to stop me speaking out.”

Im not sure why the parents of Jojo would fabricate a story about a senior Garda telling them about how the main suspect had buried her body on his farm and was being protected because of Fine Gael connections. If they are making that up then all they would be doing is obstructing the investigation into their own daughters death which is pretty unlikely that parents would do such a thing. Perhaps Gemma oDocherty is on to something here, the parents of JoJo certainly seem positive foul play is involved and that Larry Murphy has been used as a convenient smokescreen.

Ah the old mental card. Did Larry ever play that one?

It's not a defense. You can wind up in the Central Mental Hospital at Dundrum if you are found "guilty but insane"

Conditions may be slightly nicer than at Arbour Hill; but Murphy never appeared insane - just calculating and wicked.

Here is O'Doherty's take on the Dollard case, on speculation about garda misbehaviour in the Jo Jo case.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DBboosKW0AAtuBz?format=jpg

Was he related to some minister in the FG party, A brother maybe, that they went to such lengths to protect him, or is it all specualtion

re: conspiracy theories.

Do you know anyone - anyone - so blindly loyal to a TD or a political party that they would connive in the concealment of a crime as evil as this one?
    We're not talking gangs or guerillas: just ordinary citizens, unconnected with serious crime. And the families of the victims have nothing to lose. What possible threat could warn them to keep silent? I mean, why would they?

"Don't say a word about this murderer at large or the local TD will block your Old Age Pension?"

"Fine Gael will be very annoyed..."

"Oh, sure, Guard: In that case you can stop hunting for the kidnapper of my daughter"...

For Fex Ake. They'll go on searching until their last breath and they won't keep silent for any stupid politician. They won't care if some rural cop loses his reputation. If your daughter or sister was disappeared, presumed raped and murdered, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Do you know anyone - anyone - so blindly loyal to a TD or a political party that they would connive in the concealment of a crime as evil as this one?
    We're not talking gangs or guerillas: just ordinary citizens, unconnected with serious crime. And the families of the victims have nothing to lose. What possible threat could warn them to keep silent? I mean, why would they?

"Don't say a word about this murderer at large or the local TD will block your Old Age Pension?"

"Oh, sure, Guard: In that case you can stop hunting for the kidnapper of my daughter"...

For Fex Ake. They'll go on searching until their last breath and they won't keep silent for any stupid politician. They won't care if some rural cop loses his reputation. If your daughter or sister was disappeared, presumed raped and murdered, would you?

Maybe if the murderer was your son and you had a reputation to keep! ;-)
    This country has a lot of secrets!

Sundew wrote: »
    Maybe if the murderer was your son and you had a reputation to keep! ;-)
    This country has a lot of secrets!

Well, yes: in that one case, a parent would probably be unwilling to *believe* that their son could do such a thing.
    But that's not the same as hinting darkly at corrupt politicians and police. Nobody "in extremis" is really afraid of those.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭julyjane

Jojo Dullard is re-emerging in the news today also with details about the ex-girlfriend of the family's main suspect who wrote a letter to the family in Kilkenny saying she believed he was capable of murder

What I can't make out from the article is if this letter is the only reason he's the main suspect to them - or if there is other, more significant evidence about it.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/jo-jo-dullard-missing-mystery-13092669

I saw the paper in a shop earlier but unfortunately it's hard to tell if it's the paper equivalent of clickbait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

I can’t believe you don’t believe that people would cover up a murder ! Look at Donegal or Mary Boyle. The Dalkey house of horrors , the list goes on.This does happen. There are many reasons people keep secrets. To protect people. To protect themselves. A person may have leverage over them or their families

Ok: fair point.
    But the guards do seem to be enthusiastically investigating the Jacob case, as well as the Jojo and Mc Carrick and Raonaid cases, and Philip Cairns...I mean, if they knew but don't want to admit it, why go on investigating?

A brother in the Dáil really doesn't impress anyone that much.

I think Day Lewin is making the opposite point - s/he is asking rhetorically what missing persons family would actually cover up for a TD. It took me two readings before I copped it !
    Day Lewin For Fex Ake. They'll go on searching until their last breath and they won't keep silent for any stupid politician. They won't care if some rural cop loses his reputation. If your daughter or sister was disappeared, presumed raped and murdered, would you?

Ok: fair point.
    But the guards do seem to be enthusiastically investigating the Jacob case, as well as the Jojo and Mc Carrick and Raonaid cases, and Philip Cairns...I mean, if they knew but don't want to admit it, why go on investigating?

A brother in the Dáil really doesn't impress anyone that much.
    Certainly the Jacob / Cairns cases. However I do think that this was not the case initially for jojo Dollard. A lot was made of her lifestyle. Ireland was a different place then and I don’t think the investigation was as thorough as it should have been. Now I think a cold case team are fully investigating it yes.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I think Day Lewin is making the opposite point - s/he is asking rhetorically what missing persons family would actually cover up for a TD. It took me two readings before I copped it !

I don’t think he was.

A brother in the D really doesn't impress anyone that much.

On the date Jojo Dullard went missing, a certain female Dublin North TD from Fine Gael was Minister for Justice

So if your brother/father is a Fine Gael TD, and is in the ear of his mate who happens to be minister for justice, it's not that far fetched that Gardai will be told to keep things on the down low, and that they might comply!

There was only one FG TD at the time from the town frequently mentioned, now deceased and who did happen to have a farming background.

On the date Jojo Dullard went missing, a certain female Dublin North TD from Fine Gael was Minister for Justice

So if your brother/father is a Fine Gael TD, and is in the ear of his mate who happens to be minister for justice, it's not that far fetched that Gardai will be told to keep things on the down low, and that they might comply!

There was only one FG TD at the time from the town frequently mentioned, now deceased and who did happen to have a farming background.

I'm not convinced. Why?
    Wouldn't a detective immediately say, "why does this TD want something hushed up? It's not a speeding fine, this is a very serious case."
    and also
    "If we push this investigation on, the said Minister (or whoever) has a lot more to lose than I do".

Or do you think the police are all simpletons who are intimidated by a famous name?

Myself I think that muttering "It's all a cover-up!" is a catch-all excuse that is trotted out whenever something is hard to solve.

But this one WILL be solved. Put your shirt on that.

I'm not convinced. Why?
    Wouldn't a detective immediately say, "why does this TD want something hushed up? It's not a speeding fine, this is a very serious case."
    and also
    "If we push this investigation on, the said Minister (or whoever) has a lot more to lose than I do".

Or do you think the police are all simpletons who are intimidated by a famous name?

Myself I think that muttering "It's all a cover-up!" is a catch-all excuse that is trotted out whenever something is hard to solve.

But this one WILL be solved. Put your shirt on that.

Are detectives intimidated by a famous person? Probably not. Are they intimidated by their ultimate boss, the minister for justice....very possibly

I’m just thinking out loud so to speak. I’m not saying I believe it. But I will say, I don’t believe it will be solved any time in my lifetime