Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to listen to Shannon High Level

Options
  • 28-07-2018 1:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 41

Hello everyone,

I'm living in Cavan and have a very simple Uniden Scanner.

My goal is to try listen to Shannon High Level frequencies but I'm not having much luck.

Found a great list of frequencies to tune in to : https://flyinginireland.com/frequencies/

The problem is I rarely hear much.

The odd time, I'll get some half-sentences on 119.0750 and today I picked up some stuff on 129.6666.

I'm fairly new to this kind of stuff so I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong. Am I simply out of range or am I listening to the wrong frequencies?

I've got my scanner connected to one of these antennas: https://amzn.to/2LEKnhf

....and I know the equipment works because I've heard some ATC and also the odd chatter from local taxi services.

Any advice would be great. Thanks!

Comments

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

In Cavan, you're only likely to hear one side of any conversation, as the ground stations will probably not be in range of your receiver, so the only thing you'll hear will be the aircraft that are within range, and there may not be much traffic as such, as things like clearances and other operational information will have been passed earlier in the flight. The main things will be position reports where they are necessary, or changes to flight plans due to weather or operational problems, while they happen, there's not many in the scale of things.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁