Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The GAA 'myth'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Mutant z wrote: »
    Why cant it be possible to follow any sport as you please without being called petty names because of it they are just games after all be that Soccer, GAA, Rugby etc why care about which ones or not someone watches or plays why cant you enjoy or not enjoy them all.

Fair play to you a man after my own heart a sports person to the core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The most incredible thing about the GAA myth as it were is that people stand up in a court of law and make a point that the accused/convicted is a member of the GAA as if this makes him or her somehow deserving of a lenient service.

It says a lot about corruption in this country that judges allow these comments to be made, and there is no political or media backlash to this.

The GAA could do worse than call this sort of crap out, allowing their name to be abused by criminals.

Google "Audi alteram partem."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Im not sure that you can back this up fully. The reason why GAA got 30million for puc is because they can fill it numerous times a year. They also part funded it themselves. The FAI just want handouts for the best part.

Apart from Ed Sheeran concerts, how many times has it sold out thus far??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,537 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

feargale wrote: »
    Google "Audi alteram partem."

this thread is no place for sensible posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Say what you want about the GAA - it does have its faults.

Hurling is amazing though

Those 2 games the weekend were jaw dropping . We should be proud to have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Between bitterness and delusion it's hard to see which has the upperhand in that post. Well, anyway, for an organisation so apparently marginal and unpopular its existence certainly has a unique ability to annoy all the right people/West Brits/Garrison Game lovers/Irish culture haters/erstwhile recruitment fodder from deprived urban areas for the British Army/Anglocentric cultural cringe fúcktards, God bless it.

Long may the GAA and the idea of an independent sovereign culturally distinct Ireland continue amid all the sameness of Irish culture-hating Sky Sports watching knackers who would rejoice at the elimination of all Irish cultural distinctiveness from England.

All your hate, it can't be healthy. Forever foaming at the mouth about all the damn West Brits.

Long live the Sky Sports-aired GAA indeed :)

Seriously though, I'm impressed how many times you managed to make Brit references in a post of that size. I count 6!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Apart from Ed Sheeran concerts, how many times has it sold out thus far??

Not once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm not a racist

But.......

I like to use the word however instead of but.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The GAA is a funny aul organisation.

Like when you see a huge festival in Ireland like the ploughing championships, and all the people on the organising committay are comical tweed-capped Healy-Rae types who come across like something out of the 1960s. You're expecting them to be well behind the times and producing this half-arsed thing of chaos. But instead you get this slick and well-oiled event smoothly moving hundreds of thousands of people around the place and utilising all the modern technology you can get your hands on.

This is what the GAA comes across like. Their events and organisation abilities are second to none in the country. But at a committee level you're imaging a bunch of lads in their 70s who are completely out of touch with the modern world.

There are lots of arguments for and against the model. The amateur-only nature does retain a lot of purity and passion in the game that would be lost if players were salaried and even worse if they were tradeable. At the same time they can't go on ignoring the time sacrifices that players make, especially at the county level, and need to make provision for them, both during their playing careers and afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Plenty of GAA heads get set up im grand cushy jobs they're not qualified for.E.G Sean Og working as a manager in ulster bank.<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,281 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Feisar wrote: »

I'm not a racist

But.......

I like to use the word however instead of but.

I like big buts

And I cannot lie

Nixonbot wrote: »
    Between bitterness and delusion it's hard to see which has the upperhand in that post. Well, anyway, for an organisation so apparently marginal and unpopular its existence certainly has a unique ability to annoy all the right people/West Brits/Garrison Game lovers/Irish culture haters/erstwhile recruitment fodder from deprived urban areas for the British Army/Anglocentric cultural cringe fúcktards, God bless it.

Long may the GAA and the idea of an independent sovereign culturally distinct Ireland continue amid all the sameness of Irish culture-hating Sky Sports watching knackers who would rejoice at the elimination of all Irish cultural distinctiveness from England.

All your hate, it can't be healthy. Forever foaming at the mouth about all the damn West Brits.

Long live the Sky Sports-aired GAA indeed :)

Seriously though, I'm impressed how many times you managed to make Brit references in a post of that size. I count 6!

Well however you count your six, you counted them. I don't know. I did a <Ctrl-F> and found 2 occurrences.

In fairness, it's the Premiership jersey wearing brigade that are whinging about, and trying to attack the GAA.

I don't see anyone on here complaining about rugby games or cricket or basketball or anything else not being allowed to play in or avail of GAA facilities.

I don't care about soccerball. I'd be fairly confident that it would never be a threat to the GAA in my lifetime. But if a soccerball head comes up to me and starts moaning about the GAA I'd tell him to sort his own sport out and save his Liverpool jersey money to put towards a local fundraiser for a soccer pitch.

If a basketball head came to me, I'd tell them the same. Or a cricket head. Whatever. But as said above, they're not coming and whinging with a sense of victim-hood and entitlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

You are a very happy man. I want to know your secret to life!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

A great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

seamus wrote: »
    The amateur-only nature

How amateur is it now, honestly? I'm not involved in any club level sport in Ireland, but I've heard the local club senior team manager gets paid so many thousand per year.

*Try not to let this question turn into a row please :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Grab All Association

Fcuking All Idiots ?
    I Really Fart Uptight .....

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,155 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

ozzy jr wrote: »
    How amateur is it now, honestly? I'm not involved in any club level sport in Ireland, but I've heard the local club senior team manager gets paid so many thousand per year.

*Try not to let this question turn into a row please :o

The vast vast majority of contibutions to the GAA are anateur/non pro.

Without doubt some are paid and that is one of the elephants in the room that will need to be dealt with along with some teams being way a head in terms of resources and being unchallengeable as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

smurgen wrote: »
    Plenty of GAA heads get set up im grand cushy jobs they're not qualified for.E.G Sean Og working as a manager in ulster bank.<snip>

Wow imagine that a man with a business degree should work as a manager in a bank ... madness altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Wow. Well after that baseless, personal and quite frankly bemusimg post im out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

trapp wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, I'm an admirer of the GAA, played hurling and football, regularly go to club games, county games etc but there is a huge amount of bull**** around the organisation at the moment

We're constantly told that GAA players 'go to work on a Monday morning' after a match, in reality every decent county team does recovery sessions on a Monday morning, a huge amount of GAA players are students or teachers with the rest employed in gyms etc or living from sponsership deals etc. Yet we never hear LOI first division players praised for combining work with a 40 game season?

GAA volunteers are great no doubt about that but do people not volunteer in boxing clubs, soccer clubs, etc all over the country too, listening to the GAA they're the only ones with volunteers!

We've heard all week about how great the GAA are for the community but what have they done for the community in the inner city, in the disadvantaged areas in Limerick and Tallaght and west Dublin? Fantastic work being done in these areas by soccer and boxing clubs that doesn't get a mention.

They get huge support in terms of promotion, funding etc but still have some elements promoting this 'foreign game' nonsense about other sports.

Liam Brady, John Giles, Roy Keane and of course Liam Miller are as Irish as anybody else and don't need to be 'GAA men' to prove their Irishness.

Years ago working abroad, I'd a culchie, (and I mean redneck, not merely a person from outside a city) upon hearing my mate had played Hurling, say, "Oh I knew you were Irish but I didn't know you were 'real' Irish'.
    What a loada bollo.

The only true Brits are the cricket playing Morris dancers, the only true Spaniards are bull fighters?
    The lads at the top make a fortune while the lads at the bottom, the players, get a kick up the arse. You couldn't get more Irish. I don't think James Joyce played Hurley mind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Say what you want about the GAA - it does have its faults.

Hurling is amazing though

Those 2 games the weekend were jaw dropping . We should be proud to have it.

Like burying their hands in the sand...?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

I never bought into the GAA myth. The treatment of Liam Miller tells it's own story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Taytoland wrote: »
    I never bought into the GAA myth. The treatment of Liam Miller tells it's own story.

Ahhh...he's no longer with us. Do you mean the refusal to host the testimonial match perhaps?
    They have rules about hosting rival sporting codes. That is just self-preservation. I'm not going to hold that charge against any person or organisation.
    A flooded Dunnes Stores doesn't demand temporary floorspace for its stock in the local Tesco and get taken seriously.

How do sports in other countries "get on" with each other?

Is the GAA "foreign games" bitterness unique to Ireland?

How would the likes of the NFL, Baseball and Basketball get along in the USA or maybe Aussie Rules and Cricket in Australia?

I'm sure there's plenty of other sports around the world that compete with each other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Years ago working abroad, I'd a culchie, (and I mean redneck, not merely a person from outside a city) upon hearing my mate had played Hurling, say, "Oh I knew you were Irish but I didn't know you were 'real' Irish'.
    What a loada bollo.

The only true Brits are the cricket playing Morris dancers, the only true Spaniards are bull fighters?
    The lads at the top make a fortune while the lads at the bottom, the players, get a kick up the arse. You couldn't get more Irish. I don't think James Joyce played Hurley mind..

Nice story bro

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

How do sports in other countries "get on" with each other?

Is the GAA "foreign games" bitterness unique to Ireland?

How would the likes of the NFL, Baseball and Basketball get along in the USA or maybe Aussie Rules and Cricket in Australia?

I'm sure there's plenty of other sports around the world that compete with each other.

Many Rugby League and Union play in the same stadium as football teams across the water, Wigan one example!

GAA stadiums aren't set up for the segregation that is necessary for the soccerball crowd.

Why would they be or why should the be? Anymore than they should be expected to install athletic running track around/under the pitch (even though the GAA had their eye on Athletics originally)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

GAA stadiums aren't set up for the segregation that is necessary for the soccerball crowd.

Why would they be or why should the be? Anymore than they should be expected to install athletic running track around/under the pitch (even though the GAA had their eye on Athletics originally)

Why do you keep calling it soccerball? Why don't you just call it soccer? Or better yet..football?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

topper75 wrote: »
    Taytoland wrote: »

Ahhh...he's no longer with us. Do you mean the refusal to host the testimonial match perhaps?
    They have rules about hosting rival sporting codes. That is just self-preservation. I'm not going to hold that charge against any person or organisation.
    A flooded Dunnes Stores doesn't demand temporary floorspace for its stock in the local Tesco and get taken seriously.
    Anti football stance again. It's unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

As a Shamrock Rovers supporter, it's impossible for me to like, or respect the GAA.

They stood back and did nothing (possibly provided funding) while one of their clubs (Thomas Davis GAA) protested the building of (at the time, the privately funded) Tallaght stadium through the courts, with the sole intention of destroying Shamrock Rovers.

They never intended to use the stadium themselves. Trying to get the already agreed upon planning permission changed to facilitate senior GAA matches, when they knew the site wasn't suitable to accommodate a pitch that large. GAA HQ never told them to stop their actions against another sports club. No other GAA club made any kind of protest against this. All completely acceptable behavior to them.

Imagine if that was reversed. If Rovers had tried to stop Thomas Davis from building a stadium. There'd be uproar from every GAA club in the country.

Or if this was in England, a cricket club tried to stop a football club from building a stadium as they wanted senior cricket matches to be played there. It'd be all over the news, and the cricket club would be demonised.

Not with the good old, community driven GAA though.

They are a scummy organisation.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    Why do you keep calling it soccerball? Why don't you just call it soccer? Or better yet..football?

Football is ambiguous. On this island alone it can refer to Gaelic Football, soccerball, Rugby League Football or Rugby Union Football

That's before you consider other more exotic codes such as American Football, Canadian Football or Australian football. Plus I'm sure plenty of other random codes and variations around the world - futsal, beach soccer etc.

Association Football = soccerball.

If I say soccerball you know what I'm talking about. If you say football, it isn't clear

As a Shamrock Rovers supporter, it's impossible for me to like, or respect the GAA.

They stood back and did nothing (possibly provided funding) while one of their clubs (Thomas Davis GAA) protested the building of (at the time, the privately funded) Tallaght stadium through the courts, with the sole intention of destroying Shamrock Rovers.

They never intended to use the stadium themselves. Trying to get the already agreed upon planning permission changed to facilitate senior GAA matches, when they knew the site wasn't suitable to accommodate a pitch that large. GAA HQ never told them to stop their actions against another sports club. No other GAA club made any kind of protest against this. All completely acceptable behavior to them.

Imagine if that was reversed. If Rovers had tried to stop Thomas Davis from building a stadium. There'd be uproar from every GAA club in the country.

Or if this was in England, a cricket club tried to stop a football club from building a stadium as they wanted senior cricket matches to be played there. It'd be all over the news, and the cricket club would be demonised.

Not with the good old, community driven GAA though.

Sounds like the soccer club wanted to get some juicy public funding but wanted to set it up so that it couldn't be shared by design.

So is there another sporting organisation anywhere in the world that has the paranoia levels that the gaa has, with regard to other sports?

The IFA and FAI?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

From the Shamrock Rovers fan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

MarkY91 wrote: »

Because he prefers 'soccerball', a pretentious affectation, which while intended to be pejorative and impress, in reality, just comes across as childish.

Someone has been at the thesaurus and wants everyone to know about it :-P

If I was involved in other sports here I would be bitter about the GAA aswel . An amazingly run organization from top to bottom . Attendances and facilities incredible . Participation levels in the capital getting bigger and bigger that new clubs are desperately needed in the south side of Dublin .

It should help other sports out though . Nowadays they aren’t much of threat and the GAA can thrive along with soccer in this country

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

ballyragget,fifi,cathal mcccarron, gay sex tape.all.things that spring to mind when i think of modern GAA.at least they're not close minded anymore i suppose.

Ah yeah, but that springs to mind for you whenever you think of anything. The price of spuds, where you're going on holiday next year, whether you need a haircut, how Jacobs get the figs into the fig rolls - no pun intended for the last one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

Football is ambiguous. On this island alone it can refer to Gaelic Football, soccerball, Rugby League Football or Rugby Union Football

That's before you consider other more exotic codes such as American Football, Canadian Football or Australian football. Plus I'm sure plenty of other random codes and variations around the world - futsal, beach soccer etc.

Association Football = soccerball.

If I say soccerball you know what I'm talking about. If you say football, it isn't clear

Soccerball as you call it is played in almost every country in the world and is the number one sport in many many countries including almost all of Europe.

Bogball and stickfighting are played to varying standards in one small country.

No matter what you say about soccerball, soccerball teams and players from this country can compete against other nations, play in European competitions and so on.

Wonderful as the GAA is, and it truly is a fantastic organisation full of great men and women, it is limited to one country.

And no matter how much it is hyped up and praised by GAA supporters, Miriam O'Callaghan and the rest on the radio discussing it as the greatest game in the world, no matter how much of this is done it will always be a tiny, tiny sport on a worldwide scale.

Soccerball is the world game and no matter how much you complain soccerball clubs and players and supporters are part of that worldwide game.

Bogball and Stickfighting are just for some people in one small country.

Soccerball as you call it is played in almost every country in the world and is the number one sport in many many countries including almost all of Europe.

No matter what you say about soccerball, soccerball teams and players from this country can compete against other nations, play in European competitions and so on.

Wonderful as the GAA is, and it truly is a fantastic organisation full of great men and women, it is limited to one country.

And no matter how much it is hyped up and praised by GAA supporters, Miriam O'Callaghan and the rest on the radio discussing it as the greatest game in the world, no matter how much of this is done it will always be a tiny, tiny sport on a worldwide scale.

Soccerball is the world game and no matter how much you complain soccerball clubs and players and supporters are part of that worldwide game.

Sure I don't care. Forced marriages, stoning gays and bate'in your kids might be practised around the world as well. It doesn't make it right. And that's just a quiet Tuesday night in in some of these places.

You do care though, that's why you're posting about soccerball

No matter how much you preach soccerball is and always will be the world's number one sport

Bogball and Stickfighting supporters who can't accept this are simply bitter.

You do care though, that's why you're posting about soccerball

No matter how much you preach soccerball is and always will be the world's number one sport

Bogball and Stickfighting supporters who can't accept this are simply bitter.

Why do I care what people in France or Poland play.

Does it bother you that soccer isn't as big in the US as Baseball, American Football, Ice-hockey or Basketball ? I'd say you don't give a shite. Same principle applies here

Why do I care what people in France or Poland play.

Does it bother you that soccer isn't as big in the US as Baseball, American Football, Ice-hockey or Basketball ? I'd say you don't give a shite. Same principle applies here

True, fair point.

as I said I have a lot of time for the GAA, play football, played hurling, follow both codes closely, go to county, club games and so on.

It just happens that I am involved in soccer also and find it very irritating, unfair even, the attitude some GAA people have towards soccer.

For example lumping LOI players in with the millionaires of the Premier League and saying that all soccer players are in it for money.

As this thread is the GAA myth, there is one clear myth, LOI soccer players put in every bit as much effort as a county player yet the county players get all the benefits with employment, sponsorship etc.

I know a succesful League of Ireland manager who is now umemployed, would that happen to an All Ireland winning manager?

All of this is understandable because the GAA is better supported with huge crowds at county games but then the myth is the idea put forward that they are all doing it for no reward unlike the soccer lads getting all the money.

This is blatantly untrue yet some GAA folk refuse to accept it.

bogball and stick fighting - when are the schools back

True, fair point.

as I said I have a lot of time for the GAA, play football, played hurling, follow both codes closely, go to county, club games and so on.

It just happens that I am involved in soccer also and find it very irritating, unfair even, the attitude some GAA people have towards soccer.

For example lumping LOI players in with the millionaires of the Premier League and saying that all soccer players are in it for money.

As this thread is the GAA myth, there is one clear myth, LOI soccer players put in every bit as much effort as a county player yet the county players get all the benefits with employment, sponsorship etc.

I know a succesful League of Ireland manager who is now umemployed, would that happen to an All Ireland winning manager?

All of this is understandable because the GAA is better supported with huge crowds at county games but then the myth is the idea put forward that they are all doing it for no reward unlike the soccer lads getting all the money.

This is blatantly untrue yet some GAA folk refuse to accept it.

Here is one for ya . GAA folk just dont really care about LOI. They arent bitter or think they are in it for the money etc . It just doesnt even enter their thought process . If you asked them who won the LOI last year most wouldnt be able to tell you

Actually ask the premier league folk here and most would struggle - thats the biggest problem facing the LOI

You also mention employment etc - most GAA players now are college educated and have degrees masters etc . Of course employment will be easier for them .

Here is one for ya . GAA folk just dont really care about LOI. They arent bitter or think they are in it for the money etc . It just doesnt even enter their thought process . If you asked them who won the LOI last year most wouldnt be able to tell you

Actually ask the premier league folk here and most would struggle - thats the biggest problem facing the LOI

You also mention employment etc - most GAA players now are college educated and have degrees masters etc . Of course employment will be easier for them .

I have to admit, it has zero to no profile in my life. And I would be laying the blame for that squarely at the feet of the overpaid top of the FAI if it was my sport.

Look at the slick and quality advertising the GAA does alone even though it is streets ahead of the LOI.

Time the soccer people started throwing the toys into the circle instead of firing them out of it.

Ah yeah, but that springs to mind for you whenever you think of anything. The price of spuds, where you're going on holiday next year, whether you need a haircut, how Jacobs get the figs into the fig rolls - no pun intended for the last one.

Smurgen: I meant no offence by this. Apologies if I offended. I wasn't trying to insult. I thought you were making a joke and I made one back. I got warned for it so wanted to make clear that I did not mean to offend