Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you look down on people with tattoos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

It's the same tired arguments over and over! As I said, it's hilarious

Arrrr!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

I know what he wrote. The point is that there are plenty of emplyers who would not be happy to employ people with conspicuous tattoos.

I am not judging them. Its just a fact.

You clearly didn't know what he wrote or else you deliberately decided to twist it.

Yes there are employers who judge on that basis but I doubt any visibly tattooed people work for them. And I'm sure that suits both parties just fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

And is totally unacceptable in others.

Can you give an example of where it is totally unacceptable for a person to have a tattoo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

OP's question was not about the small mindedness of potential employers. But of you. The ooster

You clearly didn't know what he wrote or else you deliberately decided to twist it.

Yes there are employers who judge on that basis but I doubt any visibly tattooed people work for them. And I'm sure that suits both parties just fine

So stupid to deny yourself potential career paths in the future because you want 'ink on your skin'.

They certainly don't help, unless you want a job as a tattoo artist or a pirate.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Can you give an example of where it is totally unacceptable for a person to have a tattoo?

Yes - lots. So can you.

They certainly don't help, unless you want a job as a tattoo artist or a pirate.

Jaysus. Please step aside

Aye Aye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Arrr , shiver me timbers.

Aye Aye.

Or if not. Please give some examples for your previous post

Yes - lots. So can you.

So I take that as a No you can't, fine so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I disagree.

It does define you are someone who has a tattoo. (if visible, that can be a limiting factor in your career - whether you agree with that or not).

It does not simply mean you like 'having ink on your skin' - it means that you have chosen to decorate your skin permanently with whatever design you have.

You are making a statement. That is defining (if it wasnt, people would just get meaningless ink blots on their skin).

When someone gets a tattoo of an eagle, or a chinese symbol, or a warrior, or whatever, they are trying to communicate something about themselves.

In my opinion, thats a very shortsighted thing to do. My 25 year old self was a lot different to the person I am today. I shudder to think what I could have ended up with as a tattoo from then!

Wow, you put more meaning into my tattoos than I ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

LirW wrote: »

And all you needed was some randomer on boards to show you the light . Who knew ? !

My favourite part of that post is this: "It does not simply mean you like 'having ink on your skin' - it means that you have chosen to decorate your skin permanently with whatever design you have." Talk about stating the bleedin' obvious!

So I take that as a No you can't, fine so.

Look, dont be so ridiculous. Of course there are many jobs where you cannot have a conspicious tattoo on display.

Executive roles in many corporate organisations. air stewarts/hostesses, newsreaders / presenters, consultants, lots of customer facing roles in banking and finance..etc

I bet you are right

My favourite part of that post is this: "It does not simply mean you like 'having ink on your skin' - it means that you have chosen to decorate your skin permanently with whatever design you have." Talk about stating the bleedin' obvious!

Bleedin obvious - like a tattoo, say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Lets be real there are consequences for how you present yourself and realities. Working with certain things you have to wear a hair net. If I glance down and see a tattooed hand I may initially think the persons hand is dirty. You have to accept at a glance a ink will look out of place.

I have gotten abuse for my appearance for years it just isn't because of ink so I understand part of the feelings but I don't completely blame those who don't like it they have points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

Less and less nowadays.

Perfectly acceptable as a waiter, barman, footballer, boxer etc. If your local GP/Solicitor/Engineer/Architect suddenly appears with a tattoo on his neck I might consider a second opinion.

snowcat wrote: »
    Perfectly acceptable as a waiter, barman, footballer, boxer etc. If your local GP/Solicitor/Engineer/Architect suddenly appears with a tattoo on his neck I might consider a second opinion.

So how does a tattoo on a top league footballer or other athlete not turn him into a questionable and possibly poorly skilled person, but you feel a G.P.'s or Architect's skills and mindset should be called into question because they may have a tattoo?

I know a heavily inked lawyer, he's into Black metal and has his whole stomach an chest area and both upper arms covered in mythologic symbols including a horned ram skull. He's pretty successful and shock horror, nobody knows. If you'd meet him privately on the beach and see that would you really change your lawyer because he's tattooed?
    If so, it says more about you than about him.

I know a heavily inked lawyer, he's into Black metal and has his whole stomach an chest area and both upper arms covered in mythologic symbols including a horned ram skull. He's pretty successful and shock horror, nobody knows. If you'd meet him privately on the beach and see that would you really change your lawyer because he's tattooed?
    If so, it says more about you than about him.

Some people may he is after all hiding something

The operative would there in your post is "I" , that's your opinion.Lots of people will look beyond the tattooing.

It might sound daft , but I can give you an example of someone tattooed in three out of four of those professions and I do recognise that it's just three people that I happen to know .

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Some people may he is after all hiding something

I hope you make sure to ask your doctor or nurse or solicitor if they're having tattoos when you first meet them to establish their professionalism.

You might , I wouldn't . So whats your point ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

why? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think those of you with visible tats are all on the defensive.

OK so.

TBH most people do not like tats at all. But there we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Jasus..
    I generally look down on people who really believe that they'll be "saved" by going to church once a week, even if they act like sh|tes to the fellow human beings the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

It does define you are someone who has a tattoo. (if visible, that can be a limiting factor in your career - whether you agree with that or not).

Drivel , utter drivel . You honestly don't know what you're talking about .

And which survey did you gleen this information from, or is just your own makey uppy opinion?

I hope you make sure to ask your doctor or nurse or solicitor if they're having tattoos when you first meet them to establish their professionalism.

You are caught up in how you feel about it all with no regard to how it can be perceived. Part of the whole thing is to show off. I really am not bothered personally but I am not going to condemn my mother for hanging on to the meaning when she was growing up or a mis-sight.

The whole idea of tattoos is to say I don't care what you thing but then complain about what people do think.

Don't blame me for trying to reason it out. I love freedom of expression but are you not judging those who also appear different from you who may wear suits?

And which survey did you gleen this information from, or is just your own makey uppy opinion?

It is just an obvious observation. Tats are crap, but if you can tell me they are not, I am all ears.

Oh and it is Glean, not gleen. Hope you didn't get the wrong wording on your visible tats now! :)

OK so.

Well just for the record I have no tattoos but I do know I sure would prefer to spend time with a nice open minded tattoo covered person than a judgmental one
    Also do you have a link to any survey to back up your claim that most people do not like tatoos . Or did you just make it up ?

OK so.

Most people with tattoos don't care , I'll wake up tomorrow morning without even thinking about them.

But this isn't the problem I have ! The problem I have is someone telling me I won't go far in my chosen profession or that my skills and abilities are reduced because of a tattoo . It doesn't make sense because it's a load of sh!te.

Nah look, the whole tattoo crowd, which according to the OP is everyone nowadays, has tattoos and are scummy pr1cks with limited IQ and no career aspirations.
    Now nobody really likes them. It's simple, minus and minus equals a plus so I'll win the lotto tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

KaneToad wrote:
    Tattoos suggest lack of strategic/long term thinking, to me. This can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on the scenario...

What's the strategic thinking of not getting a tattoo????

I have a number of tattoos. None of them visible if wearing long sleeves. I am a manager.

It is just an obvious observation. Tats are crap, but if you can tell me they are not, I am all ears.

Oh and it is Glean, not gleen. Hope you didn't get the wrong wording on your visible tats now! :)

Ahh , try not start insulting people , none of us are perfect.

khaldrogo wrote: »

I have a number of tattoos. None of them visible if wearing long sleeves. I am a manager.

Don't you get it, you need to state to every customer that you have tattoos and your knickers colour, so they can make your mind up how professional you are!

Whoa,

Tat people seem to have to justify their actions now. Sure sign that most people hate the feckin things.

khaldrogo wrote: »

I'm willing to bet the lack of strategic thinking in this case is the tired argument of "they'll look rubbish when you're old"

Just tidied it up a bit there.

Obvious trolling is obvious

But this isn't the problem I have ! The problem I have is someone telling me I won't go far in my chosen profession or that my skills and abilities are reduced because of a tattoo . It doesn't make sense because it's a load of sh!te.

Can I agree with you and also point out it does illustrate priorities in your life view given you know how it can be perceived?

Tat people seem to have to justify their actions now. Sure sign that most people hate the feckin things.

Do you not understand that most people with tattoos ,I obviously can't speak for all , don't care if you or the next person hate them . I'm sure what they do care about is having their intelligence and competence insulted based on a judgement made on a tattoo on that person's own body .
    i

Ahh , try not start insulting people , none of us are perfect.

It is just banter, nothing directed at anyone personally. Jaysus North Korea would be grand now.

And BTW the correct way is "none of us IS perfect" just to mention. Since you are having a go at me for having an opinion now.

Ah , when you are loosing an argument then go for the spelling correction !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I've got a sliding scale of disdain according to location of tattoo.

_Kaiser_ wrote:
    Each to their own, but I don't see the appeal of drawing on yourself in permanent ink like so many others to show how individual you are.

As opposed to NOT drawing on yourself like so many others to show how individual you are?

It is just banter, nothing directed at anyone personally. Jaysus North Korea would be grand now.

And BTW the correct way is "none of us IS perfect" just to mention. Since you are having a go at me for having an opinion now.

Grow up

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Ah , when you are loosing an argument then go for the spelling correction !

Losing. I will bow now lol.