Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Publicly unacceptable opinions

14567810»

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

There's an aussie bird that drinks in my local and she has a truly splendid arse on her.

Apparently it's unacceptable to compliment a girls arse these days.

does he look like the pope as well ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

does he look like the pope as well ?

www.instantrimshot.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,584 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

But isn't it strange how some people are so desperate to blame victims?

Could be worse Andy. You could be a motorcyclist...

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

And? Why is this an unacceptable opinion? I would have thought a woman climbing a crane would be more unacceptable!

Do you believe in real equality, in the dirtiest, most dangerous and lowest paid jobs done by men from refuge collectors to sewage workers ?
    and Jobs with the highest health and safety risks and death rates.
    You don't hear many demands for equal numbers of women in those jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,584 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

There's nothing stopping any woman or man applying for these jobs, they don't appeal to most people though.

Gets on my nerves a bit when people say that the canvassing, long hours, abuse, etc. make entering politics unattractive to most women. These things make it unattractive to most men too. There are many ways of earning as much or more with much greater job security and a lot less hassle.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭keffiyeh

There's an aussie bird that drinks in my local and she has a truly splendid arse on her.

Can you elaborate here because it seems there's more to this story. It's fine to think things like this, however going up to a person and sharing opinions like this with strangers has never been ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

And here's the paradox (I may have used that word wrong!!!) but I have to problem with anyone complimenting my arse.

It's just there's nothing complimentary about it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Nah, it's just that you don't get to call making someone feel uncomfortable "a compliment" any more.

People with unacceptable opinions are subconscious supporters of genocidal tendencies. They subconsciously want who they call bad people dead, and the only thing stopping them from making their hated people so is the consequences. Historically they were he ones supporting pogroms, genocides, mob rule. They want their war, and the lack of peace is an acceptable loss.

Well, you wanted an unacceptable opinion, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

People with unacceptable opinions are subconscious supporters of genocidal tendencies. They subconsciously want who they call bad people dead, and the only thing stopping them from making their hated people so is the consequences. Historically they were he ones supporting pogroms, genocides, mob rule. They want their war, and the lack of peace is an acceptable loss.

Is this an attempt at trolling? lol.

I could easily say those who support PC culture are really evil fascists/pedos/racists that hide behind the shield of PC culture to mask their true selves as that is basically what you are saying and it sounds crazy.

Yep. Lots of boards members would lock a whole lot of moderates, Muslims and other minorities in an oven this evening if they could, all the while screaming 'leftists' and 'terrorists'. It's scary how the hateful on this island have been given a platform like this but that's down to the terrible moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

keffiyeh wrote: »
    Yep. Lots of boards members would lock a whole lot of moderates, Muslims and other minorities in an oven this evening if they could, all the while screaming 'leftists' and 'terrorists'. It's scary how the hateful on this island have been given a platform like this but that's down to the terrible moderation.

*cough* antifa *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Women cherry pick professions that suit them. No labouring, climbing cranes, working sites.
    To be fair, I knew two women who wanted to get into labouring but were never given a chance due to being women. One was about 6'2, 220 and just naturally built like a brick ****house. The other is my now-girlfriend, and despite being 5'1 and 115lbs is one of the fittest people I know (more so than even a member of the Dublin football team, though obviously he has more brute strength), can squat over 250lbs and just spent this weekend hiking non-stop up and down the Scottish Highlands with about 70-80lbs of equipment on her back at all times, for 10-12 hours a day. It is generally true, but there are definitely plenty of examples of women who want to get into that kind of work but are rejected on the basis of not having a penis.

Ironically enough I work in admin, where the exact opposite is often very true.

Billy86 wrote: »
    To be fair, I knew two women who wanted to get into labouring but were never given a chance due to being women. One was about 6'2, 220 and just naturally built like a brick ****house. The other is my now-girlfriend, and despite being 5'1 and 115lbs is one of the fittest people I know (more so than even a member of the Dublin football team, though obviously he has more brute strength), can squat over 250lbs and just spent this weekend hiking non-stop up and down the Scottish Highlands with about 70-80lbs of equipment on her back at all times, for 10-12 hours a day. It is generally true, but there are definitely plenty of examples of women who want to get into that kind of work but are rejected on the basis of not having a penis.

Ironically enough I work in admin, where the exact opposite is often very true.

I knew a girl in school years ago, wanted to be a plumber - her dad took her on as an apprentice and she thrived.

Bloody lovely woman and hard as nails. I loved the expression on her face when anyone complained about breaking a nail - priceless!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There's nothing stopping any woman or man applying for these jobs, they don't appeal to most people though.

Gets on my nerves a bit when people say that the canvassing, long hours, abuse, etc. make entering politics unattractive to most women. These things make it unattractive to most men too. There are many ways of earning as much or more with much greater job security and a lot less hassle.

Other countries have a far higher percentage of female politicians than we do. And they have to do all that canvassing too. So it's not that. Women are willing to do that part of the job.
    There's something about our politics that is making it unattractive to women or preventing them from contributing.

We're way down the list of countries when it comes to the percentage of women in parliament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Grayson wrote: »
    Other countries have a far higher percentage of female politicians than we do. And they have to do all that canvassing too. So it's not that. Women are willing to do that part of the job.
    There's something about our politics that is making it unattractive to women or preventing them from contributing.

We're way down the list of countries when it comes to the percentage of women in parliament.

i dont get this opinion that politics is unattractive to women....its unattractive to men too.

In my youth I flirted with some political parties and went to a few meetings etc....

The sheer amount of hours a politican has to do and the rubber chicken circuit put me off.
    Id pref to spend my evenings training or with my kids. Probably to the countries benefit :) but Im not alone.

Its not just woman put off...many capable men are too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

cantdecide wrote: »
    *cough* antifa *cough*

No...No...No...according to keffiyeh...Antifa are akin to French Resistance fighters....

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

Hmmm... so applying our social standards to other societies/minorities is the first step towards genocide?  I wonder do other societies/minorities apply their social standards to our society?

Not really sure how you can generalise about the historic subconscious desires of dead people you have never met.

keffiyeh wrote: »

Lots? Could you name a few?

No...No...No...according to keffiyeh...Antifa are akin to French Resistance fighters....

Better get those murderous fascist bastards before they get us... all in the name of kindness, understanding, sweetness, equality, liberty and inclusion of course. If you ask me, anyone who espouses these dodgy 'caution' sentiments are as bad than the people that have actually done a bit of light murderin'. They may be worse now that I think about it. Yeah, I've decided they're worse just now.

Better not mention the millions that died at the hands of the socialists and communists. Could get awkward.

*cough* antifa *cough*

Yes that's another thing they could be screaming as they shoved moderates in to the ovens. That and shrieking 'ESSSJAYDOUBLEUUUUS'.

Bootlegger wrote: »
    First time a post here has made me cringe.

Welcome :)

Bootlegger wrote: »
    First time a post here has made me cringe.

I found this interesting so I took a look at your post history.

Oh look, right at the top there, anti-islamic/immigrant rhetoric.

And then I scrolled down to the bottom. Anti-traveller rhetoric.

Then I went through the next few pages. It kinda continues like that.

How shocking.

Looking at your post history makes me kind of proud you don't like anything I have to say. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

i dont get this opinion that politics is unattractive to women....its unattractive to men too.

In my youth I flirted with some political parties and went to a few meetings etc....

The sheer amount of hours a politican has to do and the rubber chicken circuit put me off.
    Id pref to spend my evenings training or with my kids. Probably to the countries benefit :) but Im not alone.

Its not just woman put off...many capable men are too.

but the point is that it's similar for politicians everywhere. So there has to be something different about Ireland that makes us have such low female participation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Gender quotas are a nonsense.

I believe a job should be awarded on the suitability and track record of the candidate. Novel I know.

Gender quotas are a nonsense.

I believe a job should be awarded on the suitability and track record of the candidate. Novel I know.

If ever there was an opinion that SHOULD NOT be unacceptable, that's the one.

And for jobs where physicality may likely be an issue - no difference in tests for women.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3521538/Army-fitness-tests-written-make-sure-female-soldiers-qualify-line-duty.html

The kip of the ban Garda walking down the Quays the other day - made Kylie look like a brick ****house.

If ever there was an opinion that SHOULD NOT be unacceptable, that's the one.

And for jobs where physicality may likely be an issue - no difference in tests for women.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3521538/Army-fitness-tests-written-make-sure-female-soldiers-qualify-line-duty.html

The kip of the ban Garda walking down the Quays the other day - made Kylie look like a brick ****house.

Not to mention Fire fighters.
    Rebecca Wax, 33, is set to graduate Tuesday from the Fire Academy without passing the Functional Skills Training test, a grueling obstacle course of job-related tasks performed in full gear with a limited air supply, an insider has revealed.

two other female probies in the graduating class passed the FST with flying colors.

“They’re kicking butt. They’re doing better than 50 percent of the class,” the insider said. “When they get assigned to a firehouse, they’ll be welcomed with open arms because they’ve done what everyone else has gone through.”

Other female firefighters aren’t pleased about Wax’s treatment, either.

Meanwhile, half of my teachers between junior infants and 6th class were male and these days you'd be lucky to find a single one. But that's grand altogether, so it is.

Not to mention Fire fighters.

Meanwhile, half of my teachers between junior infants and 6th class were male and these days you'd be lucky to find a single one. But that's grand altogether, so it is.

Fair play to the other two, bloody good on them - but her ? No f**king way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Grayson wrote: »
    but the point is that it's similar for politicians everywhere. So there has to be something different about Ireland that makes us have such low female participation.

im not gonna claim too much knowledge of other countries policies but I dont think MPs in the UK are sorting out passports and forms for constituants etc...or having nicknames like "the bishop" due to the number of funerals they attend.

It may be cultural...but there are no.barriers to women running for the dail.than there are for men.
    The lack of female TDs is just down to the voting in a popularity contest.
    We have women party leaders and ministers....and 2 female presidents...
    we arent that bad...

maybe politics is a poor career choice and irish women are smart ...i earn a TDs salary (excluding expenses) working a 9 to 5.30
    I work with women in similar positions...cant see them giving changing careers to the dail for more hours and constant grief off the public.

a

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Fair play to the other two, bloody good on them - but her ? No f**king way.

They'll probably stick her in an office at the Firehouse on the same pay as the firefighters who risk their lives.

Any man or woman who can't pass the physical shouldn't be in an ass's roar of the Fire Service. It's not some game, peoples lives are at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,173 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Luke Kelly was no more than an average folk singer with a drink problem.