Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Go jolly hockey sticks!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

A great bunch of ladies.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Has as Irish team ever made a World Cup final before? In any sport?

Have a notion an underage egg-chasing team did? And we got to the U20 semis in football in 1997.

Can't think of a final though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Clareman wrote: »
    Fair play to them, first Irish team to get to a World Cup final

Nope we won the Quidditch WC 20 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,046 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Well done ladies.....

Strange penalties....looks like its advantage keeper on that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Revenge for 2002

Not really a valid comparison.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

cdeb wrote: »

Have a notion an underage egg-chasing team did? And we got to the U20 semis in football in 1997.

Elephant polo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Bravo the hockeyettes!

The bad news is that Shane "the incredible walking arsehole" Ross will be representing the Irish Government at the final, as Minister for Sport - unless President Stumpy fancies another junket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Irish U-19's with Brian O'Driscoll won the World Cup in France in 1997 iirc.

Hockey team are the first senior representative side to do it - an all-island team too :)

Yamanoto wrote: »

Hockey team are the first senior representative side to do it - an all-island team too :)

More prep work for the UI !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

1998 and BOD took the kicks back then.

Won the final 18-0 against France the host nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,837 ✭✭✭Allinall

Great bravery.

Are all the coaches men?

Volvos I think

Thought there was something like that alright.

We've also won the World Cup in snooker (1985, 86 and 87) and golf (1958 and 1997) actually. Though while those events were team events, they're not really team events and I suppose should be considered different. And technically I think the golf World Cup didn't have a final, which is the question here.

There is a quidditch world cup bizarrely, though it seems the first one was in 2012. (I've no idea what this is about though? Harry Potter in-reference? http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/1994_Quidditch_World_Cup)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

NIMAN wrote: »
    More prep work for the UI !!

But do we really want to re-join the United Kingdom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We won 3 Snooker World Cups in 80s

Just saying :)

Fantastic achievement by Girls today. Hope they get the Gold

We won 3 Snooker World Cups in 80s

Just saying :)
    Just got it in ahead of you! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Just got it in ahead of you! :)

Feck sake ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,608 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Delighted for them.

Reeling in the Years 2018, hope you're watching!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

4 professionals in the squad, the rest amateurs. Amazing achievement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Turnipman wrote: »
    But do we really want to re-join the United Kingdom?
    We do have a lot of Royalists !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭mrpdap

Well done to team and coaches. Great performance. Goalie is fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

This bandwagon is great COYGIG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Fantastic stuff, well done them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

That keeper is something else!
    She just oozes confidence in those shootouts.

Hoeofully all the many Irish living in London voice their support for the final tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

Try_harder wrote: »
    This bandwagon is great COYGIG

Where can we purchase a hockey jersey ;)
    I was shouting at the Telly like I knew what they should do :)

Ah no all messing aside it great achievement fair play to them and hopefully win or lose the final they get a homecoming they deserve

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

First team to reach a senior world cup final in an Olympic team sport

sjb25 wrote: »
    Where can we purchase a hockey jersey ;)
    I was shouting at the Telly like I knew what they should do :)

Ah no all messing aside it great achievement fair play to them and hopefully win or lose the final they get a homecoming they deserve

They wouldnt be very flattering on me! The Dutch will be very hard to beat

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Considering we didn't make the last Olympics and are the lowest ranked team in the tournament this is an absolutely amazing achievement

Fair play to them, great achievement.

What turned their fortunes around?

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

RTE couldnt get someone who knows about hockey to commentate so they wheeled out George Hamilton.

But ye'd still miss Ronnie Whelan who, I'm told, knows quite a bit about th'oul Protestant Camogie. Nevermind, c'mon ye girrrils in green, remember the Boyne and murder them Orange wagons!

Brian Kerr would be interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Tellyium

Magnificent achievement, well done to all concerned!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,940 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Congratulations on the hockey ball.

*Daft sport though - hitting a ball with a stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭kooga

Second semi just started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Great game to watch especially the nail biting penalty shoot-out - could almost be spun off as a sport in itself like T20 Cricket. :D

Thought there was something like that alright.

We've also won the World Cup in snooker (1985, 86 and 87) and golf (1958 and 1997) actually. Though while those events were team events, they're not really team events and I suppose should be considered different. And technically I think the golf World Cup didn't have a final, which is the question here.

There is a quidditch world cup bizarrely, though it seems the first one was in 2012. (I've no idea what this is about though? Harry Potter in-reference? http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/1994_Quidditch_World_Cup)

Also, while not officially a World Cup, an Irish team of Eamonn Darcy, Ronan Rafferty and Des Smyth won the Dunhill Cup golf tournament in 1988 which really was a World Cup in all but name with the top players of the time all involved.

Joe prim wrote: »
    But ye'd still miss Ronnie Whelan who, I'm told, knows quite a bit about th'oul Protestant Camogie. Nevermind, c'mon ye girrrils in green, remember the Boyne and murder them Orange wagons!

But what if they end up playing the Aussies instead?

Also, while not officially a World Cup, an Irish team of Eamonn Darcy, Ronan Rafferty and Des Smyth won the Dunhill Cup golf tournament in 1988 which really was a World Cup in all but name with the top players of the time all involved.
    Won it in 1990 too apparently.

I guess that gets an asterisk. There was a final, but it was a World Cup rather than the World Cup, cos there was already a golf World Cup.

Strange sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Well done Ireland. Just great to see.
    Really hope they can beat the cloghoppers in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

It's a great achievement for players who have regular day jobs and play during their Annual Leave.

While receiving almost nothing in grants, compared to other nations.

The coach Graham Shaw is a brilliant interviewee. So convincing and articulate. He's passionate about developing the sport.

The football analogy would be the 1988 FA Cup final between Liverpool and Wimbledon. The wealthy club against a shoestring club with little resources and a lot of heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

All good well done the girls hopefully this press coverage might get more people playing it already seeing more people on fb talk about it other than the hockey ones i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Won it in 1990 too apparently.

I guess that gets an asterisk. There was a final, but it was a World Cup rather than the World Cup, cos there was already a golf World Cup.

Strange sport.

Won the actual world cup in 97 alright. But it's not a knockout comp either.

Great achievement, doesn't matter what's gone on with other sports before. Huge support now

Congratulations on the hockey ball.

*Daft sport though - hitting a ball with a stick.

Daft sports that involve hitting a ball or puck with some form of stick;

Hockey
    Hurling
    Golf
    Ice Hockey
    Cricket
    Baseball
    Polo

Any other daft sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Daft sports that involve hitting a ball or puck with some form of stick;

Hockey
    Hurling
    Golf
    Ice Hockey
    Cricket
    Baseball
    Polo

Any other daft sports?

Tennis maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

anywhere that I can watch a repeat of the penalty shoot out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

A wee bit of reading material ahead of tomorrow

http://www.fih.ch/media/12236728/fih-rules-of-hockey-2017.pdf

12 Penalties

12.1 Advantage: a penalty is awarded only when a player or team has been disadvantaged by an opponent breaking the Rules.

12.2 A free hit is awarded to the opposing team:
    a for an offence by any player between the 23 metres areas
    b for an offence by an attacker within the 23 metres area their opponents are defending
    c for an unintentional offence by a defender outside the

12.3 A penalty corner is awarded:
    a for an offence by a defender in the circle which does not prevent the probable scoring of a goal
    b for an intentional offence in the circle by a defender against an opponent who does not have possession of the ball or an opportunity to play the ball
    c for an intentional offence by a defender outside the circle but within the 23 metres area they are defending
    d for intentionally playing the ball over the back-line by a defender Goalkeepers or players with goalkeeping privileges are permitted to deflect the ball with their stick, protective equipment or any part of their body in any direction including over the back-line.
    e when the ball becomes lodged in a player’s clothing or equipment while in the circle they are defending.

12.4 A penalty stroke is awarded:
    a for an offence by a defender in the circle which prevents the probable scoring of a goal
    b for an intentional offence in the circle by a defender against an opponent who has possession of the ball or an opportunity to play the ball

12.5 If there is another offence or misconduct before the awarded penalty has been taken:
    a a more severe penalty may be awarded
    b a personal penalty may be awarded
    c the penalty may be reversed if the subsequent offence was committed by the team first awarded the penalty

We'll all be cheering on the Aussies apparently (which is something I could never see myself doing), cos supposedly we could beat them, whereas the Dutch would spank us in the final.

20 minutes to go and it's 1-0 Holland.

In the groups, Holland beat South Korea 7-0 (having been 7-0 up after 25 minutes), China 7-1 and Italy 12-1.

Given we're the second lowest seed, I think it's fair to say we would very much like Australia in the final!