Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What's your favourite city in Ireland and why?

In fairness, after decades of being the cesspit of Ireland (for a few years in the late 90s, Portadown probably made Limerick look civilised), Limerick has finally rescued its city back. It was consistently astonishing how long the middle classes in Limerick city allowed their house prices to be kept low due to crime gangs running amok.

Still, driving through the city about 5 years ago I came across a Hyde Road and the whole area was like Ballymun in 1985 with boarded-up windows in every third house (although that's probably unfair to the 'Mun).Something missing in the city's rulers that they think it's acceptable for such places to still exist.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Dublin is a medium sized city in global terms - but of course given our small population it is a behemoth. Belfast (where I was born) has come on in leaps and bounds since the peace process - and most Belfast people are very friendly. More time for a casual chat than Dubliners because Dublin has got so busy.

Galway is lovely but over-rated. Its suburbs are dreadfully planned and traffic is a nightmare for such a tiny regional city.

I like Cork a lot but some Corkonians really have a silly chip on their shoulders about Dublin. Get over it!

Waterford is nice - especially its setting - but it needs more quality jobs and investment - it stagnated for years and sort of missed the Celtic Tiger but good things are starting to happen.

I like Limerick the least - but it too has improved a lot and is making more of its location on the Shannon. A lot of redevelopment has taken place but the retail trade in the centre has suffered due to bad planning and the "doughnut effect."

None of our cities are complete kips - go to Hull, Middlesborough, Dundee, Coventry or even Liverpool in the UK and you'll see why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller Returns

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Dublin is a medium sized city in global terms - but of course given our small population it is a behemoth. Belfast (where I was born) has come on in leaps and bounds since the peace process - and most Belfast people are very friendly. More time for a casual chat than Dubliners because Dublin has got so busy.

Galway is lovely but over-rated. Its suburbs are dreadfully planned and traffic is a nightmare for such a tiny regional city.

I like Cork a lot but some Corkonians really have a silly chip on their shoulders about Dublin. Get over it!

Waterford is nice but nedds more quality jobs and investment - it stagnated for years and sort of missed the Celtic Tiger but good things are starting to happen.

I like Limerick the least - but it too has improved a lot and is making more of its location on the Shannon. A lot of redevelopment has taken place but the retail trade in the centre has suffered due to bad planning and the "doughnut effect."

None of our cities are complete kips - go to Hull, Middlesborough, Dundee, Coventry or even Liverpool in the UK and you'll see why.

Yes, don't like cork and find a lot of Corkonians to be annoying whingers. Like people from Donegal...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Stephen15 wrote: »
    I have to say many of our 'cities' particularly Cork and Limerick feel like they are just trying to imitate Dublin with the same shops and general atmosphere rather than being trying to be unique and different. Galway does try but the entire city centre of Galway just feels like Temple Bar.

In what sense? London has many of the shops dublin has,does that mean dublin is trying to copy london?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Ilovethe bonesofyou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I've lived in Cork now for nearly 5 years (plus 4 years of college) and do like it here. It's small enough for a city, which I like. Lots of good food. Good music, although Dublin is better of course. I do wish the airport was better with regards places to can fly to. The Aircoach is great but adds on so much time to the journey.

I used to like Dublin years ago when my ex lived there. Good craic on nights out. Good shopping. Now as I get older I just associate the place with being too expensive and busy.

Galway is nice, just so far away from everywhere. Same could be said about Cork I guess. Would like to visit soon actually, haven't been there in years.

Haven't been to Limerick in years. Same with Waterford. Kilkenny is nice, was there a few years ago. Never been up North so can't comment on the cities up there. Would love to visit Belfast. Just such a long drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Chopper83

Galway is number one by a mile for me, Belfast second. It's my home city so I'm biased but it's came on leaps and bounds the last decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

Taytoland wrote: »
    It's full of chavs, gangsters, terrorists, criminals, what are you on about? You must have missed them trying to burn the place down last month.

Catch yourself on. You know fine well that it's a minority in a small area causing trouble. Wise up would ye.

When was the last time you were in Derry?

I went up for the clipper festival, first time in Derry for almost 2 years and I have to say the city has come a long way. Lots of business opening, bars restaurants and Ebrington looks well too. 2 years ago the city centre was pound shops and boarded up, a very quick turnaround and it was lovely to see. I really enjoyed being there as opposed to usually dreading it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

circadian wrote: »
    It's full of chavs, gangsters, terrorists, criminals, what are you on about? You must have missed them trying to burn the place down last month.

Catch yourself on. You know fine well that it's a minority in a small area causing trouble. Wise up would ye.

When was the last time you were in Derry?

I went up for the clipper festival, first time in Derry for almost 2 years and I have to say the city has come a long way. Lots of business opening, bars restaurants and Ebrington looks well too. 2 years ago the city centre was pound shops and boarded up, a very quick turnaround and it was lovely to see. I really enjoyed being there as opposed to usually dreading it.
    It's had these criminals running about the place for years. I visit it once a year for the Siege of Derry commemoration. The walls are like a shrine, so best thing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

In fairness, after decades of being the cesspit of Ireland (for a few years in the late 90s, Portadown probably made Limerick look civilised), Limerick has finally rescued its city back. It was consistently astonishing how long the middle classes in Limerick city allowed their house prices to be kept low due to crime gangs running amok.

Still, driving through the city about 5 years ago I came across a Hyde Road and the whole area was like Ballymun in 1985 with boarded-up windows in every third house (although that's probably unfair to the 'Mun).Something missing in the city's rulers that they think it's acceptable for such places to still exist.

In all my years reading different opinions on the different topics discussed on boards I don't think I have ever read an opinion as ridiculous as that one!

Limerick, (despite its image problems and economic turmoil) has consistently had the most stable house prices in this state, which is no mean achievement considering how utterly dysfunctional the Irish property market has been.

Its house prices increased the least over the boom, and decreased the least during the crash, the city provides the most affordable housing prices to its citizens in the country, and for that, it is attributed to crime/drug gangs, only in Ireland, let me tell you, the area you described (Hyde Road) has about 400 houses, out of a city wide stock of about 40,000....the houses on there rarely hit the property market for a variety of reasons so do not in any way impact on the median house price.

We Irish sometimes have no idea how snobbery has infiltrated our opinions on property, prosperity, culture etc, your post have is the clearest example of that snobbery I have seen in some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Limerick is experiencing a revival with lots of new office block's, shops and restaurants being built and opened. It has always been a bit saltier than other Irish cities but if you embrace that aspect it makes for an entertaining and welcoming place. My brother lives in the Dublin region and loves coming to visit and socialise in Limerick as he reckons it is so friendly. A previous poster nailed it, a small city full of country people.

Would definitely second Limerick as a friendly place. It's very noticeable to someone from the other side of the country. Have often been in a pub / chipper (at sensible hours when no-ones flootered btw) and people have just struck up conversations with me about the weather, hurling, rugby, where I'm from etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

I've never actually been to Belfast, been meaning to for ages but living in Cork it's fecking easier to take off to France or mainland UK for a weekend.

You're not missing much...short flight to the UK or mainland Europe is always a better choice! Same for Derry...an absolute bore fest. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

zetalambda wrote:
    You're not missing much...short flight to the UK or mainland Europe is always a better choice! Same for Derry...an absolute bore fest.

Did you even read the thread title? You have absolutely nothing positive to say about any Irish city. Are you just posting here for a wind up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 solid_crook

Agricola wrote: »
    Would definitely second Limerick as a friendly place. It's very noticeable to someone from the other side of the country. Have often been in a pub / chipper (at sensible hours when no-ones flootered btw) and people have just struck up conversations with me about the weather, hurling, rugby, where I'm from etc.

limerick folk have no airs or graces whasoever , the people are too modest however , the place lacks ambition as it has the foundations of a fine city , its far more interesting to look at than the likes of galway , limerick underperforms on every level

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 solid_crook

In all my years reading different opinions on the different topics discussed on boards I don't think I have ever read an opinion as ridiculous as that one!

Limerick, (despite its image problems and economic turmoil) has consistently had the most stable house prices in this state, which is no mean achievement considering how utterly dysfunctional the Irish property market has been.

Its house prices increased the least over the boom, and decreased the least during the crash, the city provides the most affordable housing prices to its citizens in the country, and for that, it is attributed to crime/drug gangs, only in Ireland, let me tell you, the area you described (Hyde Road) has about 400 houses, out of a city wide stock of about 40,000....the houses on there rarely hit the property market for a variety of reasons so do not in any way impact on the median house price.

We Irish sometimes have no idea how snobbery has infiltrated our opinions on property, prosperity, culture etc, your post have is the clearest example of that snobbery I have seen in some time.

you are quite wrong in thinking property prices didnt fall as hard in limerick , they absolutely did , at the bottom , it was possible to buy a one bed apartment in harveys quay for around 60 k , a four bed house in a middle class estate like kilteragh in dooradoyle for around 150 k

those prices were not seen in any other city

you are quite wrong in thinking property prices didnt fall as hard in limerick , they absolutely did , at the bottom , it was possible to buy a one bed apartment in harveys quay for around 60 k , a four bed house in a middle class estate like kilteragh in dooradoyle for around 150 k

I am absolutely not wrong.

You are aware that the Irish property market is one of the most dysfunctional property markets in the OECD right, that dysfunction is particularly felt in the cities.

https://www.google.ie/search?source=hp&ei=YsxlW_72FcnYgAbH4bu4CA&q=irish+property+market+dysfunctional+&oq=irish+property+market+dysfunctional+&gs_l=psy-ab.3...53.10501.0.13150.36.32.0.4.4.0.229.2819.25j6j1.32.0....0...1c.1.64.psy-ab..0.30.2483...0j0i131k1j0i10k1j0i22i30k1j0i22i10i30k1j33i22i29i30k1j33i21k1j33i160k1.0.2dqLywiPy14

https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/revealed-this-is-the-most-affordable-urban-area-in-ireland-to-rent-and-buy-property-37078338.html

Limerick remains the least dysfunctional.

Do not buy into the media narrative that the higher the price of homes the more successful the property market, housing is and always should be about affordability.

limerick folk have no airs or graces whasoever , the people are too modest however , the place lacks ambition as it has the foundations of a fine city , its far more interesting to look at than the likes of galway , limerick underperforms on every level

This old chestnut...not a stitch of truth to it however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

When I bought in 2015 a budget 100k to 150k had tonnes of options.

Limericks biggest issue in my opinion is the tendancy of the natives to have a low sense of esteem about their city and are too willing to run the place down. Blow ins wax lyrical about the place, like myself. Google the Munchins curse, It tends to ring quite true.

For anybody reading and wondering about visiting Limerick, especially culture vultures and historians, we have the Hunt Musuem, the Georgian quarter, King John's castle, Adare, Lough Gur, the milk market and lot's more. Fine hotels, a great selection of very decent high end restaurants as well as countless other options.

sorry , dont go in for that kind of ideology , i deal with the property market as it is , i dont dream about how it should be

That is your perogative.

Reckless lending, media hype are not enough to cause a dysfunctional property market, it also requires the citizen to buy into it.

you cant change this overnight so you have to just run with it

Classic group think ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Ahh here we go again

They despise Derry because it's where the rotten orange statelet they created for themselves began to fall apart. The Free Derry period is one of Ireland's proudest examples of resistance to the British and their proxies in Ireland.

When the British leave they should be made hand over the deeds in the Bogside of Derry.

It's had these criminals running about the place for years. I visit it once a year for the Siege of Derry commemoration. The walls are like a shrine, so best thing about it.

You visit once a year for an Apprentice Boys event and you've developed an in depth knowledge of how a whole city is run by criminals, gangsters and is on the whole unsafe.

If I remember correctly, the Apprentice Boys parades pass off without any incident and usually don't have the perspex barriers associated with other Orange parades in the city.

I'll go ahead and say you are not in the best position to be offering such a "firm" opinion on the place.

Ahh here we go again

They despise Derry because it's where the rotten orange statelet they created for themselves began to fall apart. The Free Derry period is one of Ireland's proudest examples of resistance to the British and their proxies in Ireland.

When the British leave they should be made hand over the deeds in the Bogside of Derry.
    Don't forget the Protestant exodus.
    circadian wrote: »

You visit once a year for an Apprentice Boys event and you've developed an in depth knowledge of how a whole city is run by criminals, gangsters and is on the whole unsafe.

If I remember correctly, the Apprentice Boys parades pass off without any incident and usually don't have the perspex barriers associated with other Orange parades in the city.

I'll go ahead and say you are not in the best position to be offering such a "firm" opinion on the place.
    The evidence is on TV, news articles on the crimes in the city, the petrol bombs, the IED explosives, trying to murder police, drug gangs etc.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Did you even read the thread title? You have absolutely nothing positive to say about any Irish city. Are you just posting here for a wind up?

Oh yeah, in that case it would have to be AirtriCity!

Because of the competitive prices and clean energy.

The evidence is on TV, news articles on the crimes in the city, the petrol bombs, the IED explosives, trying to murder police, drug gangs etc.

The Protestant exodus. I'll tell you what. I'm from a mixed background. My mother grew up in Creggan in a Protestant family when that happened and it was nothing more than scaremongering and my grandfather saw through it and lived there until his death in the 90's. If I remember correctly, my uncle told me Gregory Campbell had a big part to play in that. No surprises.

As for the stuff on the news. See my earlier response. A minority, with no support locally causing trouble in a small area does not equate to what you're saying. You know this but still you try to be disingenuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭Liamalone

road_high wrote: »
    I hate to agree with this- but I didn't like Derry at all- again a day trip from Donegal for me too. I was sort of taken aback at the amount of pawn shops, cash converters and tough looking people everywhere. To find a decent restaurant for lunch wasn't easy. I live in Kilkenny which is a much smaller place but reckoned it was leagues ahead in terms of pubs, nice shops and restaurants and ambience.

You must be one picky eater if you had trouble finding somewhere decent to eat in Derry, place is full of good eateries on both sides of the river.

Hmmm. Not sure why you can't see the link between low property prices and the city's reputation for crime. Low house prices = low demand. Did it ever occur to you that at a time of growing house prices in similar urban centres in rural Ireland, that Limerick's "stable" house prices staying significantly below them might be a sign that the old image of this city as a crime hot spot might help explain the lack of demand for houses there, and thus why prices are "stable" at such a low level, otherwise known as "depressed"?

Don't take my word for it. Be outraged at this 'ridiculous' view from Limerick Regeneration itself in Chapter 4: Economic Regeneration (p. 74):
    House Price Impact
    In recent years, house prices in Limerick City and environs have typically been below both the national average and the
    average evident in the other major provincial cities of Cork, Galway and Waterford.
    In 2007, for example, the average
    second-hand house price in Limerick was nearly €274,000, which was 26% lower than in Cork (€369,000), 21% lower than in Galway (€345,000) and 5% lower than in Waterford (€287,000).
    Differences in the housing mix could partially explain differences in house prices. However, the negative image attached to Limerick City and environs, which is due in part to the image of the Limerick Northside and Limerick Southside areas, most likely also places a downward pressure on prices. Therefore, the regeneration of the two areas could improve the image of the city generally, thus providing an uplift in prices and an increase in the value of the housing stock.

Hmmm. Not sure why you can't see the link between low property prices and the city's reputation for crime. Low house prices = low demand. Did it ever occur to you that at a time of growing house prices in similar urban centres in rural Ireland, that Limerick's "stable" house prices staying significantly below them might be a sign that the old image of this city as a crime hot spot might help explain the lack of demand for houses there, and thus why prices are "stable" at such a low level, otherwise known as "depressed"?

Don't take my word for it. Be outraged at this 'ridiculous' view from Limerick Regeneration itself in Chapter 4: Economic Regeneration (p. 74):

Quoting a report, justifying a huge unnecessary spend/waste of tax payers money, is absolutely ridiculous, Regeneration has been a complete joke of a body, the CEO is now Deputy CEO of Dublin City Council, with responsibility for housing and community development, how is that working out?

Where in that report does it allude to Irelands dysfunctional property market, the housing in those regeneration areas do not impact on the private property market by and large, there are outliers but that is what people like you focus on, but they are outliers, they are not nowhere near the norm?

By percentage increase/decrease, the housing market increased the least, and decreased the least during the boom/crash, making it most stable property market. The housing remained, and still is, the most affordable in this state.

Only in Ireland, where, when it comes to our property price obsession, we are thundering simpletons!

As evidenced by your belief that Limericks Middle Classes should never have let gangs drag down house prices!!!! Limericks Middle Classes would then have had to pay more for their comfortable 3/4 bed semis!!! What kind of an idiot would do that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Mine has to be Derry.

Me and my gf from Belfast both love it.

The peace bridge, all the shopping, little-to-no chavs, the walls, the guildhalll, the boats, the lack of smokers, insane amount of good restaurants, cityside and waterside, lots of history, the walls, really friendly people. I could go on.

Coming from Belfast to Derry every 3 months it's insane the difference. It's just so peaceful and quiet there. Stressfree.

I've never been to Derry.

There won't be a Protestant exodus, although there may be a Loyalist exodus; the Johnny Adair types will go to some council estate in Scotland or the north of England. The political representatives of middle class Unionists will make as good a deal as they can before demographic change turns them into a minority and Brexit turns their economy into a wasteland. The smart ones know that as time goes on, their negotiating hand becomes weaker, not stronger.

Here's some light reading, bearing in mind not just the similar settler-colonial nature of British rule in NI and French rule in Algeria, but also that, in precisely the same way that Ireland/NI was declared to be 'integral to the UK' under British law, under French law Algeria was declared to be "an integral part of France" with the same status as a French department/administrative area:
    Exodus

The exodus began once it became clear that Algeria would become independent.[7] In Algiers, it was reported that by May 1961 the Pieds-Noirs' morale had sunk because of violence and allegations that the entire community of French nationals had been responsible for "terrorism, torture, colonial racism, and ongoing violence in general" and because the group felt "rejected by the nation as Pieds-Noirs ".[7] These factors, the Oran Massacre, and the referendum for independence caused the Pied-Noir exodus to begin in earnest.[3][5][7]

The number of Pieds-Noirs who fled Algeria totalled more than 800,000 between 1962 and 1964.[30] Many Pieds-Noirs left only with what they could carry in a suitcase.[5][30] Adding to the confusion, the de Gaulle government ordered the French Navy not to help with transportation of French citizens.[19] By September 1962, cities such as Oran, Bône, and Sidi Bel Abbès were half-empty. All administration-, police-, school-, justice-, and commercial activities stopped within three months after many Pieds-Noirs were told to choose either "la valise ou le cercueil" (the suitcase or the coffin).[26] 200,000 Pieds-Noirs chose to remain, but they gradually left through the following decade; by the 1980s only a few thousand Pieds-Noirs remained in Algeria.[6][18]

The flight of the Pieds-Noirs dwarfed that of the Muslim harkis who had fought on the French side during the Algerian War. Of approximately 250,000 Muslim loyalists only about 90,000, including dependents, were able to escape to France; and of those who remained many thousands were killed by lynch mobs or executed as traitors by the FLN. In contrast to the treatment of the European Pieds-Noirs, little effort was made by the French government to extend protection to the harkis or to arrange their organised evacuation.[32]

Flight to mainland France
    The French government claimed that it had not anticipated that such a massive number would leave; it believed that perhaps 300,000 might choose to depart temporarily and that a large portion would return to Algeria.[7] The administration had set aside funds for absorption of those it called repatriates to partly reimburse them for property losses.[19] The administration avoided acknowledging the true numbers of refugees to avoid upsetting its Algeria policies.[19] Consequently, few plans were made for their return, and, psychologically at least, many of the Pieds-Noirs were alienated from both Algeria and France.[3][5]

Source: French Decolonisation of Algeria: the Exodus, 1962-1964

Quoting a report, justifying a huge unnecessary spend/waste of tax payers money, is absolutely ridiculous, Regeneration has been a complete joke of a body, the CEO is now Deputy CEO of Dublin City Council, with responsibility for housing and community development, how is that working out?

Where in that report does it allude to Irelands dysfunctional property market, the housing in those regeneration areas do not impact on the private property market by and large, there are outliers but that is what people like you focus on, but they are outliers, they are not nowhere near the norm?

By percentage increase/decrease, the housing market increased the least, and decreased the least during the boom/crash, making it most stable property market. The housing remained, and still is, the most affordable in this state.

Only in Ireland, where, when it comes to our property price obsession, we are thundering simpletons!

As evidenced by your belief that Limericks Middle Classes should never have let gangs drag down house prices!!!! Limericks Middle Classes would then have had to pay more for their comfortable 3/4 bed semis!!! What kind of an idiot would do that???

You're gone off on a tangent now.
    Question: Did Limerick's reputation for crime reduce demand for homes there, and thus help keep house prices low?
    Answer: Yes.

That is all.

You're gone off on a tangent now.
    Question: Did Limerick's reputation for crime reduce demand for homes there, and thus help keep house prices low?
    Answer: Yes.

That is all.

Limericks population didn't decline (pay no attention to the old city boundary, suburban Limerick expands into two counties and Co Limerick and has done for decades) so no, not particularly.

It did have an impact on our ability to attract tourism, retail, and in some cases investment, but the region is full of indigenous companies and long standing FDI that helped alleviate that, until of course Dell pulled out in 2010.

You are clearly struggling with the complexities of a domestic property market so we should probably park it at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

I've never actually been to Belfast, been meaning to for ages but living in Cork it's fecking easier to take off to France or mainland UK for a weekend.

Anyways, Cork, hence the living here.

The EU is the mainland, the UK is just an island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

Cork is top for me, then Dublin, Limerick, Derry and Galway.

Limerick is underrated, never felt unsafe there any more than anywhere else. Galway overrated, like it's trying to be what a tourist thinks Ireland should be like.

have to lol at people from Donegal talking down on Derry. i live in Donegal and it is useless, there is nothing here of value, no cities, no arts or culture venues, nothing but pubs, bookies, hotels and takeaways. i actually hope Tyrone win tomorrow i hate it here so much.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Dublin as its my home.

Lived in Belfast for years and really like it too.

From the rest of Irish cities, the only one I really like is Cork.

I don't really see anywhere else as qualifying as a city even though Ireland has some nice towns.

Galway is a pleasant spot for a weekend but its a large town basically.

Limerick has its charms and I like going out there but it has a certain provincial grimness and it needs more investment and footfall I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭sm3ar

Dublin as its my home.

Lived in Belfast for years and really like it too.

From the rest of Irish cities, the only one I really like is Cork.

I don't really see anywhere else as qualifying as a city even though Ireland has some nice towns.

Galway is a pleasant spot for a weekend but its a large town basically.

Limerick has its charms and I like going out there but it has a certain provincial grimness and it needs more investment and footfall I think.

Grimness...try basically 3/4 of Dublin city for that. There isn’t a place n Ireland as grim as around o’connell Bridge and street and don’t get me started on Abbey street. These are the main thoroughfares of Dublin.

I've never been to Derry.

Consider yourself lucky. The average Derry person is like an irritating Cork person on steroids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

sm3ar wrote: »
    Grimness...try basically 3/4 of Dublin city for that. There isn’t a place n Ireland as grim as around o’connell Bridge and street and don’t get me started on Abbey street. These are the main thoroughfares of Dublin.

Naw. Those are not grim. Perhaps “vibrant” would be a better word. With the deliberate scare quotes.

There won't be a Protestant exodus, although there may be a Loyalist exodus; the Johnny Adair types will go to some council estate in Scotland or the north of England. The political representatives of middle class Unionists will make as good a deal as they can before demographic change turns them into a minority and Brexit turns their economy into a wasteland. The smart ones know that as time goes on, their negotiating hand becomes weaker, not stronger.

Here's some light reading, bearing in mind not just the similar settler-colonial nature of British rule in NI and French rule in Algeria, but also that, in precisely the same way that  Ireland/NI was declared to be 'integral to the UK' under British law, under French law Algeria was declared to be "an integral part of France" with the same status as a French department/administrative area:
    Exodus

The exodus began once it became clear that Algeria would become independent.[7] In Algiers, it was reported that by May 1961 the Pieds-Noirs'  morale had sunk because of violence and allegations that the entire community of French nationals had been responsible for "terrorism, torture, colonial racism, and ongoing violence in general" and because the group felt "rejected by the nation as Pieds-Noirs ".[7] These factors, the Oran Massacre, and the referendum for independence caused the Pied-Noir exodus to begin in earnest.[3][5][7]

The number of Pieds-Noirs who fled Algeria totalled more than 800,000 between 1962 and 1964.[30] Many Pieds-Noirs left only with what they could carry in a suitcase.[5][30] Adding to the confusion, the de Gaulle government ordered the French Navy not to help with transportation of French citizens.[19] By September 1962, cities such as Oran, Bône, and Sidi Bel Abbès were half-empty. All administration-, police-, school-, justice-, and commercial activities stopped within three months after many Pieds-Noirs were told to choose either "la valise ou le cercueil" (the suitcase or the coffin).[26] 200,000 Pieds-Noirs chose to remain, but they gradually left through the following decade; by the 1980s only a few thousand Pieds-Noirs remained in Algeria.[6][18]

The flight of the Pieds-Noirs dwarfed that of the Muslim harkis who had fought on the French side during the Algerian War. Of approximately 250,000 Muslim loyalists only about 90,000, including dependents, were able to escape to France; and of those who remained many thousands were killed by lynch mobs or executed as traitors by the FLN. In contrast to the treatment of the European Pieds-Noirs, little effort was made by the French government to extend protection to the harkis or to arrange their organised evacuation.[32]

Flight to mainland France
    The French government claimed that it had not anticipated that such a massive number would leave; it believed that perhaps 300,000 might choose to depart temporarily and that a large portion would return to Algeria.[7] The administration had set aside funds for absorption of those it called repatriates to partly reimburse them for property losses.[19] The administration avoided acknowledging the true numbers of refugees to avoid upsetting its Algeria policies.[19] Consequently, few plans were made for their return, and, psychologically at least, many of the Pieds-Noirs were alienated from both Algeria and France.[3][5]

Source: French Decolonisation of Algeria: the Exodus, 1962-1964

It already happened, it wasn't referring to the future whatsoever. A very odd post from you, again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Limerick is experiencing a revival with lots of new office block's, shops and restaurants being built and opened. It has always been a bit saltier than other Irish cities but if you embrace that aspect it makes for an entertaining and welcoming place. My brother lives in the Dublin region and loves coming to visit and socialise in Limerick as he reckons it is so friendly. A previous poster nailed it, a small city full of country people.

I agree completely. The last time I was there one of the local girls gave me a friendly headlock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I agree completely. The last time I was there one of the local girls gave me a friendly headlock.

Someone was saying that Waterford was the second city of the empire at one stage. Who's empire that was I'm not quite sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Strabanimal

Went home this weekend and visited Derry again yesterday. No smokers at all in about 5 hours in the city, people constantly saying hi to you, lots of top class places to eat. My gf from Belfast is in love with the place shopping wise, the foyleside and waterside big stores like tk maxx etc.

ToddyDoody wrote: »

Someone was saying that Waterford was the second city of the empire at one stage. Who's empire that was I'm not quite sure.

I doubt if anybody ever said that.

I like the approach to Waterford from Dublin or the west. You basically hit the city quays proper without any driving through suburbs. That’s a pretty cool entrance to a city.
    Limerick is the opposite. You hit the grey suburbs first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Dublin x 100000, while it has its 'colour', its a compact enough city that has links to pretty much everywhere, and an ok city to get around for those of us not safe to drive.

Waterford, a bit like where I grew up but has that seaside smell and feels homely(the men are yummy too), the same kind of feeling I get in Wexford as well as Wicklow town/Bray and Kilkenny.

Belfast, edgy feeling to me, good links to other places, feels like London but with the more Irish pace of life. LOVE the buildings.

* Not cities but favourite places just the same, Kilkee Co Clare, Portrush/Portmagee in NI, compact places that are evocative.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭gw80

I doubt if anybody ever said that.

I think it was the second city in ireland after Dublin in order of importance within the British empire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

I was in Waterford recently and one thing that surprised me was the amount of forgeiners there and also the amount of Polish shops, Asian Supermarkets and Halal shops that were there. I didn't understand it people of all races were there Polish, Chinese, Indian, Arabs and Africans all nearly had the Irish outnumbered in some parts of the city even in Dublin city centre apart from the likes of Capel Street or Parnell Street you see as many as in what it felt like in Waterford.

What's the draw for them in Waterford seems like an odd place for them to be considering it's not exactly the first port of call for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I like the approach to Waterford from Dublin or the west. You basically hit the city quays proper without any driving through suburbs. That’s a pretty cool entrance to a city.
    Limerick is the opposite. You hit the grey suburbs first.

Waterford has soooo much potential, the mountains all around it, huge big river, but they have a big depressing ****ing car park overlooking the water and an ugly bridge, it should be a beautiful and interesting design at such an important location, and it being the only bridge into the city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

wakka12 wrote: »
    Waterford has soooo much potential, the mountains all around it, huge big river, but they have a big depressing ****ing car park overlooking the water and an ugly bridge, it should be a beautiful and interesting design at such an important location, and it being the only bridge into the city

I agree it has the potential to be a nice place for a short break especially now with the greenway. The waterfront needs to improve as it feels too car oriented as for the city itself they've done a nice on making it modern but the shops feel a little too down market and there's quite a lot of skangery looking types hanging about. If they got in a few nice cafes/restaurants and some nice shops it could be an attractive place to visit and in my view it could even be nicer than Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

Cork is top for me, then Dublin, Limerick, Derry and Galway.

Limerick is underrated, never felt unsafe there any more than anywhere else. Galway overrated, like it's trying to be what a tourist thinks Ireland should be like.

have to lol at people from Donegal talking down on Derry. i live in Donegal and it is useless, there is nothing here of value, no cities, no arts or culture venues, nothing but pubs, bookies, hotels and takeaways. i actually hope Tyrone win tomorrow i hate it here so much.
    This just isn't true.....the RCC gets decent events all year 'round (Link), and the Earagail Arts Festival is excellent.