Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Papal Flights

• Registered Users Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

In keeping with his humility, should he not be travelling via Ryanair?
    How is Ryanair any different to Aer Lingus these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

True, they're both budget airlines now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

How did the skoda and the pope mobile get between Dublin and Knock?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Presumably they had a set of each for each location.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭sjb25

Well the Dublin pope mobile was a Dodge I think the one in Mayo was an Isuzu so they wer different probably 2 separate skodas aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 12,817 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Silly question from my 12 year old daughter but anyway....

What is the arrangements for the Pope and his entourage regarding security clearance? Do they have to have their bags scanned before being taken on to the plane? Do they go through a security check themselves? Passport control?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭billie1b

mfceiling wrote: »

What is the arrangements for the Pope and his entourage regarding security clearance? Do they have to have their bags scanned before being taken on to the plane? Do they go through a security check themselves? Passport control?

Thats all done before any of them arrive at the airport, it’s all precleared, they just drive them straight up to the back entrance gate post and they get a garda escort all the way through no stopping until at the aircraft

• Registered Users Posts: 12,817 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

billie1b wrote: »
    Thats all done before any of them arrive at the airport, it’s all precleared, they just drive them straight up to the back entrance gate post and they get a garda escort all the way through no stopping until at the aircraft

How does that work? Are the bags checked externally then brought under guard to the plane? Is the Pope himself "frisked" at a location outside the airport then taken under guard to the plane?
    Security nowadays is huge at airports - do visiting heads of states/dignitaries get any leeway?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Backup aircraft is coming home
    How does that work? Are the bags checked externally then brought under guard to the plane? Is the Pope himself "frisked" at a location outside the airport then taken under guard to the plane?
    Security nowadays is huge at airports - do visiting heads of states/dignitaries get any leeway?

I think you are unlikely to get a detailed answer to such specific questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭faoiarvok

Diplomatic immunity

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diplomatic_bag

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭faoiarvok

It’s possible they went through a security check in the private terminal but I’d be inclined to believe it was forgone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

They would have their passports checked in the VIP terminal on arrival.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

According to the Vatican, the pope was in the cockpit for the landing in Rome at the pilots request. I know he is the pope but is that some kinda breach?

Maybe technically as it wasn’t a commercial flight it’s different?

Edit: should prob say at the pilots invitation, request makes it sound like they wanted his help.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,637 ✭✭✭Trampas

Who’s paying for the flights?

Any route suffer as a result?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

sjb25 wrote: »
    Well the Dublin pope mobile was a Dodge I think the one in Mayo was an Isuzu so they wer different probably 2 separate skodas aswell

2 different Skodas. Both going to charity now.

Trampas wrote: »
    Who’s paying for the flights?

Any route suffer as a result?

The Vatican charter the plane. I doubt EI have two spare A321’s on a Sunday in August so I guess they cancelled routes months ago or didn’t put them on sale to facilitate. The PR is too good to turn down.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,637 ✭✭✭Trampas

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    The Vatican charter the plane. I doubt EI have two spare A321’s on a Sunday in August so I guess they cancelled routes months ago or didn’t put them on sale to facilitate. The PR is too good to turn down.

I doubt it myself. So apart from sending two planes cost they’ve also lost revenue

Nah the Vatican pay for the plane, not the backup. But I suspect they would have made more in regular service.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,058 ✭✭✭afatbollix

With regards to the bags searches.

Everyone would be part of the bubble.

You would be checked when entering the bubble but once you are in the bubble that's it. When he landed it was onto buses and follow himself to each point then back onto the bus and onto the next point. Same for the return flights they would drive out onto the apron and on to the plane with little checks.

Im not sure of the pope but the president or the Taoiseach wouldn't have their passports checked. Its seen as rude when you get to that level.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

EIN2409 about to depart from Rome-CIA back to Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

afatbollix wrote: »

You would be checked when entering the bubble but once you are in the bubble that's it. When he landed it was onto buses and follow himself to each point then back onto the bus and onto the next point. Same for the return flights they would drive out onto the apron and on to the plane with little checks.

Im not sure of the pope but the president or the Taoiseach wouldn't have their passports checked. Its seen as rude when you get to that level.

Considering that our Taoiseach walked through T2 immigration only a few weeks ago and handed in his passport no problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭kevinandrew

The Vatican pay to charter the aircraft, journalists pay for their own seats probably via their employers accounts.

Aer Lingus probabaly made more on this flight than they would have on a normal scheduled service. The only loss would have been the second back up A321 which was probably decided by Aer Lingus. On a Sunday in late August I can only imagine an A321 would be on a Canaries run or to Spain/Portugal so maybe a loss there but worth it for the publicity and coverage they received.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

According to the Vatican, the pope was in the cockpit for the landing in Rome at the pilots request. I know he is the pope but is that some kinda breach?

Maybe technically as it wasn’t a commercial flight it’s different?

Edit: should prob say at the pilots invitation, request makes it sound like they wanted his help.

I believe unless in US airspace it’s the captains discretion on who can enter the flight deck unless airline procedure or guidelines state otherwise. I’m sure this was given the thumbs up by the EI security department or fleet captain etc

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Brennus335

This is an aviation forum, the topics being discussed is aviation. Thus debate about the operational aspect of this visit is expected. You don’t have to read this thread or take part.
    If you want to sprout claims and insults then go to Afterhours or Politics. You are welcome to your personal views but that doesn’t mean you can force them down people’s throats.

I’m typing this as a Irish person who has not engaged their children in the ‘mini wedding’ that is the annual Irish communion social occasion.

P.S. Currently the largest group of such activity apprehended is in the UK with approx 70K members

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭lambayire

As the Papal convoy arrived back to Dublin Airport yesterday, they drove in through one of the side entrance gates.
    There was an aerial shot of the arrival. I could not figure where it was on the perimeter. Anyone know?

The 2 planes were near the fire station, right?

So I am guessing they went in somewhere near there? So that's around the Boot Inn neck of the woods.

And then that got me thinking to what route they took from the Phoenix Park to the airport?

The kids were delighted to see that we were on the same plane going to Venice back in June.
    Sometimes it's the little things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

afatbollix wrote: »

Our resident immigration officer says otherwise, that heads of state still have to clear immigration and require passports.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭billie1b

Our resident immigration officer says otherwise, that heads of state still have to clear immigration and require passports.

If on private travel, most of them do go through the normal channels, i’ve checked many a TD’s, Taoiseach, Presidents credentials going onto the aircraft, when on state travel, it’s usually straight in and onto the aircraft with no checks

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭The Veteran

If on private travel, most of them do go through the normal channels, i’ve checked many a TD’s, Taoiseach, Presidents credentials going onto the aircraft, when on state travel, it’s usually straight in and onto the aircraft with no checks

Departing and arriving are two different things. Again, it’s an operational matter but arrangements in regard to embarkation are covered by the National Security Protocol.

Arrival procedures are determined by Immigration and Customs, with relevant liaison with AGS and Airport Police where relevant. The Pope did not use Platinum Servixes (the private terminal presumably as referenced above) in the normal sense but 3 of the people he shook hands with at the bottom of the steps on departure we’re Platinum staff. Platinum “manage” VIP movements for the airport with the Staturory Agencies setting out what they need.

The detail would have been planned in advance.

Also, most if not all of the Irish Cabinet make a point of arriving and departing as ordinary passengers. The President uses Platinum or has ramp Transfers (essentially what the Pope did).

Departing and arriving are two different things. Again, it’s an operational matter but arrangements in regard to embarkation are covered by the National Security Protocol.

Arrival procedures are determined by Immigration and Customs, with relevant liaison with AGS and Airport Police where relevant. The Pope did not use Platinum Servixes (the private terminal presumably as referenced above) in the normal sense but 3 of the people he shook hands with at the bottom of the steps on departure we’re Platinum staff. Platinum “manage” VIP movements for the airport with the Staturory Agencies setting out what they need.

The detail would have been planned in advance.