Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oberstown Ice Cream Controversy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭J. Smith

Steve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,022 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Do you want to lick my cornetto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Won't someone please think of the children !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I'd have given them a right good crack on the arse.

Not ice cream.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Anyone reading that is going to think we're taking the piss.

Referring to a prison for junior scumbags as a "campus" and getting them f**king ice cream as a "treat".

Given it takes some going to actually get behind bars - it's a bit of a piss take to see how cushy it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,386 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Do you want to lick my cornetto?

Nibble on my flake?

Seriously, it sounds like they have a rocky road ahead.

D3V!L wrote: »
    Won't someone please think of the children !!

Absolutely - let's start with wee Ana Kriegal. Her alleged murderer got BAIL ffs!!!!!

Grayson wrote: »
    Nibble on my flake?

Seriously, it sounds like they have a rocky road ahead.

Ba dum tsssh! :D:D:D

Absolutely - let's start with wee Ana Kriegal. Her alleged murderer got BAIL ffs!!!!!

That's the word that matters. people are only refused bail if they are at a risk of reoffending or are a flight risk. I assume that kid was deemed to be neither.
    Now if you have any information about it, keep it to yourself. It's an ongoing court case involving a minor. Both our posts are breaking rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Due to the centre’s Children First policy, any complaints made by the detainees must be fully investigated, regardless of their severity.
    Think I found the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Surely the Ice-cream treat should be for those who are behaving themselves?

Not those who are acting up and causing havoc?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Think I found the problem

They should have that though. These are children and we've had more than enough scandals involving children in care.

Whether or not a kid gets icecream is a separate issue, because I think most people would agree that every single complaint should be fully investigated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Referring to a prison for junior scumbags as a "campus"

A campus is just a set of buildings belonging to an institution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Tax taken from what I earn pays for the prison.

Then the prison takes some of that money and pays it to a PR firm, according to this article.

Presumably the PR firm is needed to deliver a good impression of the prison and its running to me and the others who pay for it.

The kids get their icecream. Regardless of behaviour.

Everyone's a winner here except ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Management sound like a bunch of Jobsworths!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Whether or not a kid gets icecream is a separate issue, because I think most people would agree that every single complaint should be fully investigated.
    Time wasting nonsense.
    'Send in the investigators, something they didn't like was on telly.'

For alleged abuse and assaults sure. Not getting ice cream or the rest of it? No.

Who's the prison governor at Oberstown? Mr Softy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Time wasting nonsense.
    'Send in the investigators, something they didn't like was on telly.'

For alleged abuse and assaults sure. Not getting ice cream or the rest of it? No.
    Same policy exists in every school and creche. Welcome to ireland, zappone style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Can they get Choc Ices or is it cones only?

A campus is just a set of buildings belonging to an institution.

Cheers - :DI've worked in education these last 16 years, it automatically evokes that to me.

I'd still prefer "gulag"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Same policy exists in every school and creche. Welcome to ireland, zappone style.
    Lovely.
    Can they get Choc Ices or is it cones only?
    Hey they aren't animals, give them a cone for feck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

A good swift kick up the hole is what’s needed.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    A good swift kick up the hole is what’s needed.

An ice cream isn't much to ask for. I mean, some of these kids have been put a wafer a long time. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

An ice cream isn't much to ask for. I mean, some of these kids have been put a wafer a long time. :(

You were walking on ice(cream) with that one ;)

I wish I could embed but, this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04clpd7h0b0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

They should have that though. These are children and we've had more than enough scandals involving children in care.

When the official complaint is "I didn't get icecream" it should be ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

I think most people would agree that every single complaint should be fully investigated.

:eek: Some little lump of crap complains because he is denied a ice cream cone and you genuinely believe that an investigation is required!

You're pulling my leg! Alternatively, you're a grade 1 eejit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,733 ✭✭✭Glebee

"Every Thursday, an ice cream van arrives at the campus in north Dublin and the detainees are brought to receive a treat."

Fcuk me, were doing it all wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

They'll want to be brought out for brunch next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

This is why the scumbags are laughing at the rest of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Firstly, you obviously haven't met some of these 'children'. It takes a fair bit of effort to get incarcerated when you're 15, 16 or 17. 99% of them have already been down the hug a thug route but to no avail. Some of these 'children' by the way are over 6 feet tall and built like brick swit houses and have been in trouble since the day they were born. Once they manage to reach Oberstown the gloves should be off - they've already been given just about every chance they can get.

Secondly, I'd disagree that every complaint should be investigated. Obviously frivolous and vexatious ones should carry a punishment and whoever receives these complaints should have the power to tell them where to go and to punish them accordingly. As it is all you're doing is handing the power and control to the criminals.. (That's what they are BTW, 'children' or not..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

One of these little bastards, and yes he was a bastard child with a deadbeat father, threatened to kill one of my family a few years ago. The scumbag attacked them and tried to strangle them.

At 12 years of age it was clear he was heading straight for prison.

At 16 he was an animal and beyond rehab

At 21 he was jailed for 10 years for attempted murder after shooting at a crowd of people.

All this liberal bull**** has made our justice system a complete ****ing joke

He was a graduate of this jokeshop campus by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

One of these little bastards, and yes he was a bastard child with a deadbeat father, threatened to kill one of my family a few years ago. The scumbag attacked them and tried to strangle them.

At 12 years of age it was clear he was heading straight for prison.

At 16 he was an animal and beyond rehab

At 18 he was jailed for 10 years for attempted murder after shooting at a crowd of people.

All this liberal bull**** has made our justice system a complete ****ing joke

All very unfortunate, but the most important thing (for some) is what flavour of ice cream does he prefer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,597 ✭✭✭brevity

Someone should drive past the building every day playing the ice-cream van tune through a loudspeaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,576 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Kid should sue, for hundreds and thousands

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

No good for hard cases !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Kid should sue, for hundreds and thousands

Exactly, given the nature of a lot of our legal profession nowadays it would be a Feast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Sounds like the staff know what's needed but the management are very much softly-softly with these kids. From family involvement in Oberstown, whoever goes there comes out worse thanks to the policies from high up.

Go in for assault, you come out and commit murder.
    Go in for marijuana, you come out addicted to heroin.

etc.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭beertons

He's gone. Mr Whippy is there now. Alas, not doing a whole lot of whipping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Some time in the Cooler might be more effective !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It's political correctness gone mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,650 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

This place should be run like an American boot camp. A job for our tough army lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭seagull

The facilities there are apparently significantly better than most schools. Someone was saying some of the private schools would be envious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

seagull wrote: »
    The facilities there are apparently significantly better than most schools. Someone was saying some of the private schools would be envious.

The pendulum has swung a very long way from what used to happen in places like Letterfrack, Dangean and Artane. Which is right and proper; but the contemporary way of handling nasty little criminals seems to place a far greater emphasis on individual rights rather than on their responsibility to respect the conventions of the society in which they wish to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,650 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The problem here originated when upper management tried to bully those working at the coal face. If there are no sanctions for these young people then they will never change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bob Harris wrote: »
    They'll want to be brought out for brunch next.

And a feast after that.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,739 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Are they in care or in detention?

Should there be a difference between the two?

It seems that some believe that those in care because of neglect or other reasons and those in detention for serious crimes should be treated the same. Something wrong about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,672 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

blanch152 wrote: »
    Are they in care or in detention?

Should there be a difference between the two?

It seems that some believe that those in care because of neglect or other reasons and those in detention for serious crimes should be treated the same. Something wrong about that.

The problem is how do you distinguish between those who have committed crimes or acted out because of some conductive disorder or mental health issue that may or may not be treatable, verse someone who committed crimes or acted out for no apparent reason except they perceive themselves to be exempt for the norms of society.

Even though it irritates people background has to be considered coming from a home that consists of people drinking cans and smoking weed every day, dogs wrecking the palace, noise, chaos, and dirt is not conducive to becoming a productive member of society, it's not an excuse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,739 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

mariaalice wrote: »
    The problem is how do you distinguish between those who have committed crimes or acted out because of some conductive disorder or mental health issue that may or may not be treatable, verse someone who committed crimes or acted out for no apparent reason except they perceive themselves to be exempt for the norms of society.

Even though it irritates people background has to be considered coming from a home that consists of people drinking cans and smoking weed every day, dogs wrecking the palace, noise, chaos, and dirt is not conducive to becoming a productive member of society, it's not an excuse though.

Again, no distinction appears to be made in Oberstown between any of those categories. In fact, the residents seem to be treated much better than other kids in care for non-criminal reasons.