Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D&D II Act One Scene VI - City of Gods

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Vrakrash thanks the wizard.

He turns to Wade.

'I shall set off immediately. I think... if this works - I might have found us a way into the temple for this priest's mission. I need to go to this non-temple first though. I have questions only one person in the world can answer truthfully. I would like you to come with me, but I understand if you have other things you wish to do.'

Vrakrash exits through the portal back to the city and takes off at speed towards the temple district, searching for the non-temple when he gets there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Banjo wrote: »
    "If I say 'heaven' are you gonna ask me to move him down? Cause as funny as that would be, that's not really how it works, we can't upend the system... I've seen what happens when people try. It's pretty cool but not if you're on the receiving end.
    "No just wondering which level, either of heaven or hell, we were a well to do family, so not one of the lower ones I hope"

OOC: It's high
    Ok peeps, it's really late - I appreciate you setting this place up and putting the hours in, your prayers have been heard. Feel free to go home. I'm gonna meditate in the corner if anyone wants to join me."
    "We shan't disturb you Lord Retula"

They leave quietly, walking backwards bowing"
    4hrs long rest, plus 4hrs worth of the following, depending on what's feasible
    Ritual : identify - the crystal skull (11 mins)
    Copy ritual "comprehend languages" from Jeremy's spellbook. (1-2hrs, Jeremy not around but have some experience with cypher)
    Read the remaining 2 vivimantic scrolls and tome which were beyond her understanding at L3.
    Check that first one with instructions for a basic vat, work up a shopping list.
    Chat to whomevers around in the morning about where to shop and what they do, see if anyone is interested in a road trip.
    The crystal skull is the skull of a psyker, stranded millennia ago from Athas, reworked as a device to grant psychic abilities. They persist as long as the skull is intact.

The vivimantic scrolls are both rituals. The first enhances any undead to posses projectile acid vomit. The second allows the creation of a melter blob, a goo of basteria that when stepped on eat flesh.

Working hard through the night she transcribes Jeremy's rituals.

In the morning the town locals inform her it is Donnie's for adventuring gear and Carrador's for familiars.

Karinth pops into Carrador's shop and places a hand on Wade.

"Wade, so this is where you and the dragon have gone to, where is he off to at such speed?"

Evade wrote: »
    "Indeed" Iuric hands over the gold and finds a chair to check his new pack and wait the two hours in. He acknowledges Sarric with a nod if he sees him.
    Donnie comes out with his armour.

"Here you go son, no better plate will ye find, oh and I carved this"

It's a little windup spinning water wheel.

"If it doesn't offend of course"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Retula pops to Carrador's, alas without retinue.

Carrador floats up to greet her as she enters on a different floor from Wade and Karinth.

"Retula, 37th Sigilite of the Raven Queen with an above average stability on her pact and lower god of the dead in Osinzir, for the last 1,800 years objectively, for only a few days subjectively, what can I do for you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,815 ✭✭✭Evade

Fourier wrote: »
    Donnie comes out with his armour.

"Here you go son, no better plate will ye find, oh and I carved this"

It's a little windup spinning water wheel.

"If it doesn't offend of course"
    Iuric looks at the wheel almost guiltliy "That... that's most kind however I fear it will break on my adventures. Perhaps it is best if you hold onto it."

Iuric finds a changing area or somewhere quiet in the shop to change into his new armour and goes back up to Donnie and places a bundle on the counter. "If you would be so kind as to dispose of these for me, if they are of any any value feel free to sell them." Iuric doesn't wait for an answer, turns and leaves in search of the rest of the party nodding to Sarric again if he's still there.

During his search for the others Iuric tries to determine if this new symbol will suffice to channel his magic.

OOC: The bundle contained Iuric's old armour with the holy symbol, censer, holy vestments, alms box, candles, and the greatsword that did the unpleasant deed.

"Ha! that is a question you might be better placed to answer than I, given you know more about me than I do and I know nothing of you. But... I'm a simple gal with simple tastes and modest means. My last familiar, he... Well he was a rare beast who ended up well done. I've tried to replace him but I'm about as popular as herpes in a swimsuit shop. So I'm looking to suborn something exotic for cash.

While I'm here, I have some junk to offload "
    She slaps out :
    Crystal skull that grants psychic powers or explodes your head
    Blue robe that refuses to submit to Identify
    Tardins vibrator
    Wand of Demiplanes, which she's not going to sell but wants to see if it still exists and feels like it'll function. If yes : "oh and I have something special but it may be a little .. uh ... dangerous."

During his search for the others Iuric tries to determine if this new symbol will suffice to channel his magic.
    A small flicker of the Light Cantrip and it seems it does. It isn't Mesharum he feels however. Is he hiding his presence, or does his power have a new source? He cannot yet determine.

While I'm here, I have some junk to offload "
    She slaps out :
    Crystal skull that grants psychic powers or explodes your head
    Blue robe that refuses to submit to Identify
    Tardins vibrator
    Wand of Demiplanes, which she's not going to sell but wants to see if it still exists and feels like it'll function. If yes : "oh and I have something special but it may be a little .. uh ... dangerous."
    "Quite a collection...the Blue Robes..."

He touches them

"An original...impossible, this will get you quite the familiar. That wand of Demiplanes looks unstable I'd be careful, ever go to the demiplane it creates?"

Carrador thinks for a bit.

"What personality do you want? Analytic, crude, kind,...."

He lists various qualities.

Necrominus wrote: »
    Vrakrash exits through the portal back to the city and takes off at speed towards the temple district, searching for the non-temple when he gets there.
    The museum of the history of Bandysia is easily found. It seems to have several floors, including some extending underground.

A helpful curate nods as he enters.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The museum of the history of Bandysia is easily found. It seems to have several floors, including some extending underground.

A helpful curate nods as he enters.

Vrakrash waves at the curate.

'Hello there sir. I was wondering what floor the bones of Citra might be housed on?'

He gestures to himself.

'I have made a pilgrimage from Zassan to see my ancestor. Pay my respects to the origin of my kind...of dragon anyways.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

"so 113 gold for rope, hamer, pitions, rations and flying contraption,
    when will the contraption be ready to collect?"

Vrakrash waves at the curate.

'Hello there sir. I was wondering what floor the bones of Citra might be housed on?'

He gestures to himself.

'I have made a pilgrimage from Zassan to see my ancestor. Pay my respects to the origin of my kind...of dragon anyways.'
    "Citra's bones are preserved on Floor -15 where she was slain, the exhibit there is probably one of the most popular parts of the whole museum. Though can I interest you in the ones on this floor. Fine earthen vessels dating back to pre-Elven settlement by gnomes. At this time gnomic culture did not yet possess writing and is identified through deposits of mole bone jewelry...."

He begins to drone on.

Vrakrash holds up his hand.

'Thanks. You should tell my friend Ser Boros about all this history, he's a real fan. He'll probably be along shortly. He'll be the guy wearing plate armour no matter what the weather.'

Vrakrash runs off towards floor -15.

"Quite a collection...the Blue Robes..."

He touches them

"An original...impossible, this will get you quite the familiar. That wand of Demiplanes looks unstable I'd be careful, ever go to the demiplane it creates?"

"Dear Ray ray, no! I mean not yet. Not without a backup plan. But I know a guy who did, and if you have an antimagic field handy I might be able to deliver you the armour of Jghis III, Ruler of ancient Kyrtin. Only problem is he's still in it and he's really pissed at me! But he can't open portals by himself and since knowing he's in there without knowing a little more about the contents he should still be there if you're interested.

But equally it might just lead to a negative energy plane, I guess.

So, you were saying about familiars?."

sKeith wrote: »
    "so 113 gold for rope, hamer, pitions, rations and flying contraption,
    when will the contraption be ready to collect?"
    "You can have it now"

Two large trolls wheel out the contraption, it's slightly taller than Sarric himself.

"You can have it now"

Two large trolls wheel out the contraption, it's slightly taller than Sarric himself.

"Instructions Donnie, how does on properly use this contraption of yours. "

Vrakrash holds up his hand.

'Thanks. You should tell my friend Ser Boros about all this history, he's a real fan. He'll probably be along shortly. He'll be the guy wearing plate armour no matter what the weather.'

Vrakrash runs off towards floor -15.
    Vrakrash reaches floor -15, where he sees the display the curate mentioned, with a large enough crowd around it.

The reassembled skeleton of Citra herself stands over a diarama of fight with the dwarven god Bandylegs and another diarama of a Nerosian warrior striking a figure in imposing armour.

Between the diaramas lie a magically sealed tomb of the armoured figure, Styosiplicaliculapus, or the "Judge" as he is more commonly known.

In front of the tomb, in a glass case:
    "Yellow Book of the Shire: Being a tale of the defeat of the Outer Being Soet and his followers by the friends of Ilberic Goodenough"

To its right a partially preserved "Scroll of Rolz".

"Instructions Donnie, how does on properly use this contraption of yours. "
    "Run and jump...hahahahahaha"

He stops laughing quickly.

"Sorry, I am a common wood elf, no offense sir, I mean Master high elf. Simply supply a bit of ki and it'll power the engine"

OOC: 1 Ki point

Iuric sees Vrakrash head for the museum.

Vrakrash reaches floor -15, where he sees the display the curate mentioned, with a large enough crowd around it.

The reassembled skeleton of Citra herself stands over a diarama of fight with the dwarven god Bandylegs and another diarama of a Nerosian warrior striking a figure in imposing armour.

Between the diaramas lie a magically sealed tomb of the armoured figure, Styosiplicaliculapus, or the "Judge" as he is more commonly known.

In front of the tomb, in a glass case:
    "Yellow Book of the Shire: Being a tale of the defeat of the Outer Being Soet and his followers by the friends of Ilberic Goodenough"

To its right a partially preserved "Scroll of Rolz".

Vrakrash approaches the skeleton, looking around him carefully.

'Mother.'

He begins, taking the scroll of total resurrection from his pack.

'I need answers. I need the truth. But more importantly... I need... help.'

He unfurls the scroll and begins to read it.

"Dear Ray ray, no! I mean not yet. Not without a backup plan. But I know a guy who did, and if you have an antimagic field handy I might be able to deliver you the armour of Jghis III, Ruler of ancient Kyrtin. Only problem is he's still in it and he's really pissed at me! But he can't open portals by himself and since knowing he's in there without knowing a little more about the contents he should still be there if you're interested.

But equally it might just lead to a negative energy plane, I guess.

So, you were saying about familiars?."
    "Jghis III, are you serious? I'd leave things as they are then. I could destroy him with next to no effort, but it would be a bit of trouble for your area of your plane.

Yes familiars, personality what do you desire. In the upper range I have mythical beasts, Manticores, Basilisks, etc Young ones of course, as the familiar spell of your abilities demands"

"Run and jump...hahahahahaha"

He stops laughing quickly.

"Sorry, I am a common wood elf, no offense sir, I mean Master high elf. Simply supply a bit of ki and it'll power the engine"

OOC: 1 Ki point

Sarric thanks and pays Donnie, then equips the contraption and heads out of the store.

He then heads to a clearing and begins to practise with the contraption, running and flapping his arms like a mad man.

Sarric thanks and pays Donnie, then equips the contraption and heads out of the store.

He then heads to a clearing and begins to practise with the contraption, running and flapping his arms like a mad man.
    He finds a clearing just outside the city gates and begins to rise into the air, high enough to see most of the city. He can still go higher though.

Iuric sees Vrakrash head for the museum.
    Iuric follows Vrakrash to the museum while wondering what the job that cleric offered him in the tavern was and once he gets there he asks around to see if anyone saw which way a large Dragonborn went.

"Jghis III, are you serious? I'd leave things as they are then. I could destroy him with next to no effort, but it would be a bit of trouble for your area of your plane.

Yes familiars, personality what do you desire. In the upper range I have mythical beasts, Manticores, Basilisks, etc Young ones of course, as the familiar spell of your abilities demands"

Ooc : that's a very wide ranging menu. Something that can fly and see in the dark, ideally. Ditching the tentacle-hair-helmet, tentacles are Mogs' thing now! Recommendations?

Iuric follows Vrakrash to the museum while wondering what the job that cleric offered him in the tavern was and once he gets there he asks around to see if anyone saw which way a large Dragonborn went.
    Iuric meets the same Cleric.

"He is on Floor -15, the old battle diarama. Can I interest you in an era spanning tale of gnomic pottery?"

He finds a clearing just outside the city gates and begins to rise into the air, high enough to see most of the city. He can still go higher though.

Sarric pleased with the height, attempts to do a controlled landing.

Ooc : that's a very wide ranging menu. Something that can fly and see in the dark, ideally. Ditching the tentacle-hair-helmet, tentacles are Mogs' thing now! Recommendations?
    "I think a Manticore would suit you well. Well behaved creatures, of an evil disposition in the wild, but not so if raised apart from their kind.

A natural Manticore or an extraplanar being in the form of one?"

OOC: This last point will have story effects not mechanical

Iuric meets the same Cleric.

"He is on Floor -15, the old battle diarama. Can I interest you in an era spanning tale of gnomic pottery?"
    "Perhaps later, I must find my companion" Iuric leaves to find floor -15.

Sarric pleased with the height, attempts to do a controlled landing.
    OOC: DEX(Acrobatics) check

"I think a Manticore would suit you well. Well behaved creatures, of an evil disposition in the wild, but not so if raised apart from their kind.

A natural Manticore or an extraplanar being in the form of one?"

OOC: This last point will have story effects not mechanical

Ooc : ah you can't offer a hook and ask me not to bite!

"Extra planar!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

Vrakrash thanks the wizard.

He turns to Wade.

'I shall set off immediately. I think... if this works - I might have found us a way into the temple for this priest's mission. I need to go to this non-temple first though. I have questions only one person in the world can answer truthfully. I would like you to come with me, but I understand if you have other things you wish to do.'

I chase the dragon.

Ooc : ah you can't offer a hook and ask me not to bite!

"Extra planar!"
    He holds his fingers to his temple.

"...ah we have a taker, an Modron from Acheron"

A manticore suddenly appears in the room after sort of pouring out of a small black hole.

"Greetings, good to be away from the post. I have always wanted to see a material plane"

Wade and Iuric converge and meet each other on floor -15.

As the run forward they see Vrakrash reading the final lines of the scroll and cutting his finger, dropping blood onto the parchment. The crowds are shouting with fear.

Wade nearly reaches the dragonborn before a concussive blast rips apart the display, the crowds, viscera flying all over the floor and flays Vrakrash's skin and clothes leaving him rolling in pain.

He gets to his feet, vision blurred and ears ringing.

As he stands he sees Iuric embedded in a display cabinet pulling himself out and the viscera reassemble into a shocked group of people trembling from the experience. Vrakrash's skin regrows in the blink of an eye.

In their midst, calm, is an unclothed golden haired woman, who stands slowly and confused.

"A Drow? Do I have you to thank for my new life?"

On the ground a tomb lid, the tomb itself empty with thick incense rising out of it.

OOC: Last post

"So what do you think Retula it...wait, he didn't, excuse..."

Carrador is frozen in place and a portal opens up, out of which flies a raven. A message from the Queen.

Retula has a new task, undo a series of resurrections in the Temple district.

In their midst, calm, is an unclothed golden haired woman, who stands slowly and confused.
    A blonde. Iuric is immediately interested in aiding this woman, among other things.

He holds his fingers to his temple.

"...ah we have a taker, an Modron from Acheron"

A manticore suddenly appears in the room after sort of pouring out of a small black hole.

"Greetings, good to be away from the post. I have always wanted to see a material plane"

Ooc : arcana / insight tell me anything about Acheron or Modrons?

"Good to have you aboard. Got a name?

Carrador, what else you got for the international Warlock psychopomp on the go? Wands? Talking daggers? Spell-expanding apples? Glyph covered stimulation devices? Actually I have one of those, I should probably give it back to those damned pervs. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Jack Moore

Wade and Iuric converge and meet each other on floor -15.

As the run forward they see Vrakrash reading the final lines of the scroll and cutting his finger, dropping blood onto the parchment. The crowds are shouting with fear.

Wade nearly reaches the dragonborn before a concussive blast rips apart the display, the crowds, viscera flying all over the floor and flays Vrakrash's skin and clothes leaving him rolling in pain.

He gets to his feet, vision blurred and ears ringing.

As he stands he sees Iuric embedded in a display cabinet pulling himself out and the viscera reassemble into a shocked group of people trembling from the experience. Vrakrash's skin regrows in the blink of an eye.

On the ground a tomb lid, the tomb itself empty with thick incense rising out of it.

“No beautiful lady it was my friend Vrakrash. “

Vrakrash staggers to his feet and looks at the golden haired woman.

'Mother? Is it you?'

OOC: Last post

"So what do you think Retula it...wait, he didn't, excuse..."

Carrador is frozen in place and a portal opens up, out of which flies a raven. A message from the Queen.

Retula has a new task, undo a series of resurrections in the Temple district.

Retula hollers back into the portal "City this size, Dont they have a local guy who can handle this or.... Does this mean you're extending my jurisdiction?

I mean you know it's a yes Ma'am either way, but if I wasn't a greedy bitch I'd still be dead in a alley. Don't hate the slayer, babe!"

**Hey Vrakie, duty calls - grab who you can and get to the temple district, I don't want to hog all the fun. Or get killed.**

Ok, no time for niceties, your name is Patinkin and we're going to work. Punch in! Hetyaro, meet me out front, I'll dive out the window and you can catch me, like we practiced, it'll be cool. Carrador. Carrador? Ok he's stuck. Patinkin, if you can sense something that will amplify or expand my spellcasting, grab it - I'll settle up with him after. "

Retula gathers up her gear and runs, leaping out a window to be caught if there is one. And then reverse the manouevre into the back of her temple to ask for backup - working on the premise that having followers nearby keeps her powers switched on. And out the window and off to the scrap!

Banjo wrote:
    **Hey Vrakie, duty calls - grab who you can and get to the temple district, I don't want to hog all the fun. Or get killed.**

**Temple....? Oh, er.... That might have been my fault. I'm here already...**

**i should have ****ing known. What did you do? Was there a button? Is this a Code Jeremy situation?**

Banjo wrote:
    **i should have ****ing known. What did you do? Was there a button? Is this a Code Jeremy situation?**

**It's a code something alright... Code Dragon.. is there a Code Dragon? There's probably a Dragon Code somewhere, should look that up someday... Oh, I'm rambling, sorry Rettie!! I got this total resurrection scroll from this wizard.
    Finally got rid of that big gem I've been lugging around since the desert for it.
    I... er... I decided to bring back some... er... family? with it. Lemme see... ever heard of Citra? There were people here and they kinda went all explodey at the same time but then they were resurrected as well....

Oh and there's some open grave here too, name on it... doesn't ring a bell with me... Judge? Dunno about first name and I'm not pronouncing his full name here in my mind for ya.

So yeah... might have messed up. Whoops!**

**ok these questions are very important.
    Was it Judge the Dog, or Judge the former high priest of Kyrtin who makes that psychotic armour suit we dropped off a cliff in the inner world look like a slightly cynical cheese grater? The guy who marched an army of the dead across this continent and conquered this city, just to get a rise out of some blowhard he took a disliking to?

Wait, it can't be him, his ****ing head is in some dwarvish ale-hall in the sky, I've seen pictures, they wear it like a hat and do skull-chugs out of it.

And

You ****ing WHAT? Why would you do that? You can't bring creatures of great power back to life on a whim - Don't you people read? Even the kids books have warnings, did your mother never read you the Gruffalich?**

**Don't think he was a dog, Rettie. I think I might have fcuked up, would you say that? I need answers from Citra, about my real lineage, but more than that I need her help for... reasons. And no it's not to fly into the sky and find buttons to press.

I'm in trouble with your Queen aren't I?**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

He arrives at the Temple, the guards ask him to perform a quick test of guessing the tone of an ancient bell to see if he is a Bard. He is then led inside to meet a small frog like being.

"Hello there, I am the master of this temple, you are here for the cleansing rite?"
    Mags bows respectfully to the frog then gives him a big ol' Buddy Jesus greeting, 'thumbs up and finger gun'*. With a finger pointing at the frog he cantrips True Strike to get some insight on this being. He also racks through his memories for any references to frog people he may have come across in his past**
    "Hi there. So, whats the routine here? I set up, play a tune and we are good to go or is there anything else I should know about before kicking this off, anything , you know, life threatening or such?"

*300px-Buddy_christ.jpg

** History check 17.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

**Also Rettie... funny story about my mother, she couldn't read me any bedtime stories because well... she wasn't alive... until now anyways.**