Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Announcement has being made: First After Hours Day!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

I have to say an absolutely boring thread, full of other lesser known posters producing very little quality, no entertainment, no serious discussion and the announcement was utterly rubbish. So this can only be described as a failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,649 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Good Lord.
    P_1 wrote: »
    Jaysis
    What the fuck is this shit?
    That is the definition of an anticlimax.
    What a flop.

Really lads... Poor enough to get a hype built up to announce you're asking your users to act as marketing tools.
    jamesbere wrote: »
    Booooooooooooooooooooo
    I flagged this. You should be embarrassed.
    Taytoland wrote: »
    I have to say an absolutely boring thread, full of other lesser known posters producing very little quality, no entertainment, no serious discussion and the announcement was utterly rubbish. So this can only be described as a failure.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

For fcuk sake.

It's not 'news', you want us to market Boards for you.

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

warsaw2018 wrote: »
    wow thats awesome

Easy knowing it's your first (?) post if you think that's awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

We are delighted to announce that Friday the 10th of August 2018 we'll be celebrating our first After Hours Day.

Crap Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,854 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Where do we get the balloon?

We were sending out balloons, bunting, party poppers, but because some people weren't able to wait. They had to be cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

I don't understand, like is the joke still going or is this the announcement or, or, or....???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Absolutely scarlet for yis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

MA5Zji7.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

We are delighted to announce that Friday the 10th of August 2018 we'll be celebrating our first After Hours Day.
    Share your experiences of After Hours.
    Tell us you story about why you came here in the first place.
    Has it changed your life?
    Get other non Boards.ie users to celebrate the joys of After Hours tell them about it over lunch or an announcement in the office.
    Decorate your work place or home with balloons and bunting.

Bake or Buy a cake and share it with others.
    Make it a day to remember.
    I know some will be disappointed with the news. I did explain it may make you happy,sad, etc. We had a lot more planned but due to certain individuals we had to move it forward because they couldn't wait.

...this is a joke, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Turnipman

Notices wrote:

We have received notice of planned works taking place in the datacentre on Saturday, August 11th. It is possible that this will result in errors and disruption from 6am until 8pm. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience.

More than just a coincidence? :confused:

Chewbacca wrote: »
    For fcuk sake.

It's not 'news', you want us to market Boards for you.

No.

For fcuk sake. You said you were out but keep posting in the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

What the ****ing ****??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Ilovethe bonesofyou

Jesus lads. If it's a pisstake it's not even a funny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

You should really be focusing on the declining numbe of users and lack of quality content.

There's a thread on reddit discussing this

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/95fuzq/whats_this_boardsie_announcement/?utm_source=reddit-android

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I'm speechless :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

First of all, what are the prizes?

Is it O.K. if I submit a drawing ,as I fell asleep reading the announcement and missed some of the suggestions?

For fcuk sake. You said you were out but keep posting in the thread.

Yeah, well you said...

"They'll be a big announcement made about the future of us here in the coming days. Only a select few know the details as of yet.".

Turns out we are both liars.

I did tell ye not everybody would be happy with the news.
    Don't shot the messenger!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

tenor.gif?itemid=4280620

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Lucy8080 wrote: »
    First of all, what are the prizes?

Is it O.K. if I submit a drawing ,as I fell asleep reading the announcement and missed some of the suggestions?

It's a portrait of yourself naked isn't it....

Is there not something else that Friday I think they are all taken at this stage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

It's like the safe thread all over again :(

77b6d02f-049a-4e17-b8f2-4f8719bc9f50_l.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

What the fùck ???

Seriously,what the fùck???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

tenor.gif?itemid=5069868

So this wasnt you acting the bollox?

This was a Boards HQ initiative?...they really want users to campaign and get people to sign up to the site?

Man, if this was you acting the ballbag just own up to it and we can all get past it and it will shut at least me up.

But by Jupiter, if Boards HQ actually thought we would go out and admit to being a user of Boards to 'normal' people.....fcuuuuk!

Dont shoot the messenger indeed. Id be on your side there Popcorn, you got slack for nothing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I saw this and knew not to expect much...
    Announcement has being made

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

So what is the News?

The big announcement is to supply feedback about After Hours which is normally done with a feedback thread and tell my boss that I spend all day on boards.ie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Lame.

Very, very lame.

I'd be expecting a fake out that this was a decoy and the real announcement will happen shortly but boards aren't that clever

Wow the boards HQ are so crap,get a new marketing team

I did tell ye not everybody would be happy with the news. Don't shot the messenger!

Is anybody happy with the news?

Find us 1 person who's happy about this....ONE!

fergus1001 wrote: »
    sum ppl thnk they betr dn us wi der spicebags

an cumin out wi news dey tink we dnt no or want ta no whn we cudnt give a shíte dey can stick der spicebags up der smelly asssessss
    i woz in lidel yday an dey were der takin all de big cocks for demselfs aswell de jammy bastrds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I hope Boards HQ didn't pay a marketing company to come up with this nonsense.

Chewbacca wrote: »
    So this wasnt you acting the bollox?

This was a Boards HQ initiative?...they really want users to campaign and get people to sign up to the site?

Man, if this was you acting the ballbag just own up to it and we can all get past it and it will shut at least me up.

But by Jupiter, if Boards HQ actually thought we would go out and admit to being a user of Boards to 'normal' people.....fcuuuuk!

Dont shoot the messenger indeed. Id be on your side there Popcorn, you got slack for nothing.

Why would I want to shut you up?
    I made ye aware that their was going to be an announcement.
    Some of ye got over worked up about and took it to seriously.(This is After Hours).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

That rug really held the room together.

I'm still waiting for the "Gotcha!"

I refuse to believe the team made a swing and a miss of this magnitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

This has being an absolute joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Pornhub did this a few years ago.

I won’t be fooled again.

Is anybody happy with the news?

Some people are happiest when they are complaining about something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

sexmag wrote: »
    Find us 1 person who's happy about this....ONE!

This guy signed up to express the awesomeness of the announcement
    wow thats awesome

But it could also be the janitor in Boards HQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Taytoland wrote: »

giphy.gif

Some people are happiest when they are complaining about something!

Some people get excited about things that are really really sheeeeit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Well it's Friday where I am...

Witchie wrote: »
    Well it's Friday where I am...

Thanks for that!

That's the spirit!

Going by freahpopcorns smart nonchalant remarks I believe this to be a psych.

If serious they are gving people less than 24 hours notice to plan and do the celebrating of after hours, it's stupid so I call bs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Oh dear :(

wow thats awesome

Ah jez, I can’t believe you’ve stooped to sock puppeting, freshpopcorn :pac:

If serious they are gving people less than 24 hours notice to plan and do the celebrating of after hours, it's stupid so I call bs

Most of here are carefree and happy. There's no need for a big celebration.
    Everything counts.
    Wish the person in the shop or the bus driver.
    Happy After Hours Day Tomorrow.
    It may even turn a few heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Lucky you with hours to plan. It's time for me to party now.

Just need to find an office, colleagues and a boss....