Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 [Mod note 31-Aug-18]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Weepsie wrote: »
    Well that's all about he was back training after 7 months? So you're arguing against yourself with that one

Plus it's just the opinion of someone who had a similar injury, not a technical breakdown of the actual training he was doing as you know, it's behind closed doors mostly. As far as it was reported, he was back in training with the first team, which is what many would define as full training.

Please don't help him to move the goalposts. He made a claim in post 5884 that was wildly inaccurate, he would definitely like people to follow him down this rabbit hole so that he doesn't have to defend that original claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,564 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We should probably ask Mata's dad for the inside track on Shaw.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

bangkok wrote: »
    6 months of being barely able to walk.

Probably another 9 months to a year to get back to full training and then another few months to get over the mental issue of a leg break. Niggley injuries then after that as what usually happens.

Dead right, luckily he has a manager now who understood what he needed and through his methods, which are totally vindicated of course he seems to be finally in a good place both physically and mentally.

If it continues I guess you could say he owes Mourinho a pretty big debt for how he helped him get his career back on track, a real vindication in spite of some who were quick to criticize.

Wonder would you have the stones to admit you were wrong about how Mourinho was handling Shaw? Vindication all round.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• If Shaw is so marvel, why spend all summer and last winter trying for replacement?

Jose actually deserves a special award for his treatment of Shaw and his clear path towards Shaw's progression. An absolutely fantastic man our Jose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Jose actually deserves a special award for his treatment of Shaw and his clear path towards Shaw's progression. An absolutely fantastic man our Jose

Yep.

He can feel fully vindicated tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Interested in signing harry maguire...would have been an instant upgrade on our defence and majority in here didnt even want him!!!!

He is a good player no question and on current form he would be instant upgrade.

But I still have questions marks about just how good he automatically would have been. Few of those England players over achieved at the WC and I think he was one.

It's takes a special type of CB to come in and make a difference. Stam, Rio and Vidic all even needed bit of time to settle, I'm pretty certain it be same with Maguire.

Maguire was type of purchase you make after you have got that real top quality CB. If that makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Chong is some savage for only 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

If Shaw is so marvel, why spend all summer and last winter trying for replacement?

There was no serious link to a left back in either window.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Please don't help him to move the goalposts. He made a claim in post 5884 that was wildly inaccurate, he would definitely like people to follow him down this rabbit hole so that he doesn't have to defend that original claim.

I was doing the opposite if you'd bothered reading it properly. His link basically said he was back training within 7 months as you claimed and he disputed. It's why I said he had contradicted himself

It's a wonder the soccer forum is volatile as people are too busy having o!swing competitions with each other and getting too worked up to actually pause and read what's in front of them

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Promising signs!

He can attempt to cross the ball off the ground....

He can attempt to beat a man......

He isn't afraid of his left foot......

Put him in the first team now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Well that's all about he was back training after 7 months? So you're arguing against yourself with that one

Plus it's just the opinion of someone who had a similar injury, not a technical breakdown of the actual training he was doing as you know, it's behind closed doors mostly. As far as it was reported, he was back in training with the first team, which is what many would define as full training.

So running on a threadmill in a swimming pool is considered being back to full training?

If thats what you consider to be full training then so be it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

So running on a threadmill in a swimming pool is considered being back to full training?

https://twitter.com/ManUtd/status/715916743902904320?s=20

He was back in training in early April on the pitch with a physio. Not quiet a swimming pool but not full training either. Maybe your both wrong
    6 months of being barely able to walk.

Probably another 9 months to a year to get back to full training and then another few months to get over the mental issue of a leg break. Niggley injuries then after that as what usually happens.

If 15-18 months is when you think he got back to full training then the preseason games in July don't count along with his own video of full training in June 2016. 9 months after the injury.

He played preseason games in July, your definitely wrong on your timeline

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

It was reported that he was back training with the first team. Again youre someone who doesn't seem to read what you oureself write and get tourself stuck in some sort of mornic self circlejerk., he was past the gym, pool treadmill stage
    Getting out onto the grass after six months stuck in a gym or swimming pool is a huge landmark

And anyway, these are the musings of a third party who has absolutely no idea what training he was doing and it proves neither side correct, it just shows that you're incapable of comprehending what was actually written.

You've approaches "proof" like a junior cert history essay. Take a line, use it out of context and then bam. Your opinion is worthless if that's what you're doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

You've approaches "proof" like a junior cert history essay. Take a line, use it out of context and then bam. Your opinion is worthless if that's what you're doing

Can't say you weren't warned.

It was reported that he was back training with the first team. Again youre someone who doesn't seem to read what you oureself write and get tourself stuck in some sort of mornic self circlejerk., he was past the gym, pool treadmill stage

And anyway, these are the musings of a third party who has absolutely no idea what training he was doing and it proves neither side correct, it just shows that you're incapable of comprehending what was actually written.

Fair enough. We'll move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

When it comes to injuries the only people who know the full extent of a players' readiness are the staff assigned to the players rehabilitation and re-induction.

Journalists don't. They often make assumptions based on hearsay and indirect reports from their club sources who are often not qualified enough to know a players full condition and state of preparedness.

The players themselves often don't. Their understanding of their own situation can very often be construed in too pessimistic a manner or an overly optimistic one.

Even when a player is training with his squad. Caveats apply. For example, it could be a probationary period that only the medical staff and head coach know about.

In this context "full" training could mean different things by people and different publications. You could both be right, you could both be wrong or one of you is right. Either way you'll never know. Best to probably just move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,558 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Fair enough. We'll move on

Probably best for you anyways :D

Can't say you weren't warned.

Warned about what?

Having a discussion with someone on a discussion forum?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Just the 9 points off the top now. But that's not what's important to us. What's important now, starting tomorrow at Burnley is putting a run together to move into the EL spots. Them being one our rivals for them,it'd be huge if we could nab all 3 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Liverpool have almost been as bad as us from the stuff I’ve watched yet have world class finishers in the front 4.

That’s the difference

Liverpool have almost been as bad as us from the stuff I’ve watched yet have world class finishers in the front 4.

That’s the difference

their defence is very good now as well, only 1 goal conceded and that was today and they play like a proper team

Bret Hart wrote: »
    Just the 9 points off the top now. But that's not what's important to us. What's important now, starting tomorrow at Burnley is putting a run together to move into the EL spots. Them being one our rivals for them,it'd be huge if we could nab all 3 points.

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

their defence is very good now as well, only 1 goal conceded and that was today and they play like a proper team

Ya after going a goal up they set deep for most of the game looking to hit Lecister on the counter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

That’s the difference

You must have watched very, very, very little of them then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

J. Marston wrote: »

I watched today’s game and the last game, to say it was miles better than us would be a lie. The difference is they put the ball in the net when it mattered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Are bailly and lindelof injured or out of favor

Two expensive cbs and Jose doesn't trust them

I get you can't get it right every signing but come on

Playing Jones and smalling is criminal

Two players playing at a level that neither of them can aspire to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

J. Marston wrote: »

They haven’t really been pleasing in the eye so far this season but they have won “ugly”..

Bret Hart wrote: »

You can do better than that surely?

Relegation six pointer was the way to go.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

I watched today’s game and the last game, to say it was miles better than us would be a lie. The difference is they put the ball in the net when it mattered

They haven't been great, they have been clinical in front of goal though which is the difference.

Since your in a giving credit where it's due mood, (the board, Liverpool etc) wouldn't you say Mourinhos handling of Shaw has been completely vindicated despite your vocal opposition to how he was managing the situation?

Still haven't seen you acknowledge you got it completely wrong and that the manager was completely vindicated. Are you not big enough to give him credit too?

Since your in a giving credit where it's due mood, (the board, Liverpool etc) wouldn't you say Mourinhos handling of Shaw has been completely vindicated despite your vocal opposition to how he was managing the situation?

Still haven't seen you acknowledge you got it completely wrong and that the manager was completely vindicated. Are you not big enough to give him credit too?

his handling of him has been awful!

he wouldnt have started the season for us only we had no other left back.

Shaw was motm last season twice or 3 times in a row and was quickly dropped by jose when young was back from suspension

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Lads having the craic about Munich in a certain thread. Suppose they’re emotional after losing... oh wait.

his handling of him has been awful!

he wouldnt have started the season for us only we had no other left back.

Shaw was motm last season twice or 3 times in a row and was quickly dropped by jose when young was back from suspension

Too petty to even give him the credit when his methods have been completely, and totally, vindicated.

Such a shame.

Too petty to even give him the credit when his methods have been completely, and totally, vindicated.

Such a shame.

same methods he is using on Martial and Bailly as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Your team are Top of the League but you have to talk about rivals tragedy that happened 60 years ago.

How delightful

same methods he is using on Martial and Bailly as well?

Maybe, who knows?

What we do know for absolute certainty is that his handling of Shaw, has been completely vindicated.

That you can't even bring yourself to admit it only serves to highlight how biased or blind you are.

You can see how much Shaw appreciates what Jose has done for him too. Delighted for the lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

tenor.gif?itemid=10927452

Are bailly and lindelof injured or out of favor

Two expensive cbs and Jose doesn't trust them

I get you can't get it right every signing but come on

Playing Jones and smalling is criminal

Two players playing at a level that neither of them can aspire to

ah they be grand, like shaw jose will get the best out of them by not playing them

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Such a shame.

I'd say congrats to Jose for finally getting Shaw playing well, lets see will it last but its going into his 3rd season with him, couldn't he gotten Shaw on board and on his side and preforiming earlier? the team would have benefitted . Some of his comments to the press on Shaw's intelligence previously were terrible and in any other job a claim for bullying would not have been out of place.

We can all be happy Shaw looks to be back and I said he was motm against Spurs and it was nice to see Jose pat him on the back at full time but to say Jose has been totally vinidcated is jumping the gun completely. We still have to see it play out and Jose's treatment of Shaw in the past left a lot to be desired.

ah they be grand, like shaw jose will get the best out of them by not playing them

You can doubt his methods all you like, he has been fully vindicated. That's the proof right in front of your eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Lads having the craic about Munich in a certain thread. Suppose they’re emotional after losing... oh wait.

Are you on drugs? No one mentioned anything about Munich?

TitianGerm wrote: »
    Are you on drugs? No one mentioned anything about Munich?

Incorrect.

yabadabado wrote: »
    Incorrect.

If your on about Niallo (I think) he's flying to Korea and is on a stop over there. I assume he was saying he's drunk and enjoying the result but yes assume he's referring to a tragedy.

I thought you said no one mentioned Munich?
    I assumed nothing and made no reference to a tragedy.

From looking at your thread to see I doubt it was niallos post that bothered anyone but the one after it which highlighted the blazing in Munich part to make a joke is my bet for the one that was referred to

yabadabado wrote: »
    I thought you said no one mentioned Munich?
    I assumed nothing and made no reference to a tragedy.

Whatever, you know exactly what i meant.

That's pathetic what Will I Am posted.

Some good posters in here but bull**** like that just looking to stir **** causes problems out of absolutely nothing

Except nobody is.